DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carr (US Pat. No. 8, 678, 523) in view of Newville et al. (US Pat. No. 12, 295, 493 hereinafter referred as Newville).
Regarding claim 1, Carr discloses a method for controlling a movable TV (see abstract a universal television lift and enclosure suitable for outdoor use; see col. 9 lines 20-34 the media apparatus includes a sensor configured to receive a signal from a remote control device, and the lift device is operable to move the television between the storage position and the viewing position), the method comprising:
recognizing at least one mobile device by a proximity sensor attached to a casing (see figure 3, col. 9 lines 35-67, safety device include proximity sensor such as but not limited to a capacitive, inductive, photoelectronic, acoustic, or infra-red beam type sensor);
changing a state of the casing to an open state at a first time point when the at least one mobile device is recognized (see col. 10 lines 1-25 the media apparatus is operated to move the television from a storage position in which the television is inside the enclosure for weatherproof storage to a viewing position);
controlling a display module to face the casing at a second time point see (col. 10 lines 1-52 moving the television in any direction).
Claim 1 differs from Carr in that the claim further requires outputting a message inquiring about a state of connection with the at least one mobile device on the display module.
In the same field of endeavor Newville discloses movable TV (see figures 1-2), and outputting a message inquiring about a state of connection with the at least one mobile device on the display module (see col. 26 lines 41-67 interfaces providing input to the processors to notify it of actions from a user; the actions can be mediated by a hardware controller that interprets the signals received from input device and communication information to the processor using communication protocol; display outputting various types of output such as network settings). See also col. 25 lines 51-67 the controller can be a phone, tablet, computer, or other suitable electronic device for controlling components and col. 25 lines 16-28.
Therefore, in light of the teaching in Newville it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Carr by specifically adding the feature of outputting message inquiring about a state of connection in order to notify actions and to distribute operations across multiple network devices.
Regarding claim 2, Carr discloses the second time point arrives after the first time point, a state of controlling the display module to face the casing includes a state having an angle formed by the display module and the casing of 180 degrees (see col. 2 lines 41-45 and col. 10 lines 42-61).
Regarding claim 3, Carr discloses receiving a power-off signal while the at least one mobile device is being charged via the TV; and setting a lock for a motion of the casing (see col. 7 lines 5-13 and col. 11 lines 6-49). See also Newville’s col. 15 lines 31-52 and col. 25 lines 16-28.
Regarding claim 4, Newville discloses receiving a power-off signal while the at least one mobile device is in contact with the display module; and outputting a guide voice via a speaker installed in the casing (see col. 20 lines 34-43; col. 24 lines 13-44 and line 65-col. 25 line 16).
The motivation to combine the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 5, Carr discloses when the mobile device includes a plurality of mobile devices, outputting a screen identical to a screen of a first mobile device on the display module; and outputting only a specific event that occurred in a second mobile device on a partial area of the display module (see col. 8 lines 55-67; col. 9 lines 20-24 and col. 11 lines 24-38). See also Carr’s col. 25 lines 50-67 and col. 26 lines 24-57.
Regarding claim 6, Newville discloses the proximity sensor operates by near field communication (NFC) (see col. 9 lines 35-66).
The motivation to combine the references has been discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation of claim 7 can be found in claim 1 above. Therefore, claim 7 is analyzed and rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claims 8-12 are rejected for the same reasons as discussed in claims 2-6 respectively above.
Conclusion
/HELEN SHIBRU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2484 February 19, 2026