DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 1 contains four separate views. Each figure should only include a single view. Each of the four views of Fig. 1 should be renumbered (i.e. Figs. 1A - 1D) and the specification should be amended accordingly. Figs. 2 - 8 contain similar issues.
Regarding Figs. 1 - 11, each of the figures should include at least one reference character to designate the various structural element(s) illustrated in the figure.
Regarding Figs. 9 - 11, the markings are too dark and blurry. Examiner is unable to identify and distinguish between the structural elements illustrated in the figures.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract described purported merits or speculative applications of the invention. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 2 of paragraph 0019, the term “Calcium” should not be capitalized.
In line 4 of paragraph 0026, the meaning of the term “terMediterranean” is unclear.
In line 3 of paragraph 0039, the term “Bioreactive” should not be capitalized.
The term or abbreviation “RA” should be defined at least one specification (see lines 2 and 3 of paragraph 0040).
In line 2 of paragraph 0043, the term “Calcium” should not be capitalized.
The abbreviation “DNV” (see line 6 of paragraph 0056) should be defined at least once in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 - 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 1 of claim 2, “A system” should be changed to “The system”. Similar changes should be made in claims 3 - 15.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 - 4, 7, 8, 10, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “the average weight of said plurality of units is at least about 2000 kg” is confusing because it is unclear whether the aforementioned limitation requires the average weight of each unit is at least about 2000 kg or if the limitation requires the average weight of the sum of all of the plurality of units is at least about 2000 kg.
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following limitations in the claims:
Claim 2, line 1: “the average weight” and “said unit”; It is unclear as to which of the “plurality of units” as recited in claim 1, from which claim 2 depends, “said unit” refers.
Claim 3, line 1: “the average weight”
Claim 3, lines 1 - 2: “said unit”
Claim 4, lines 1 - 2: “the average weight”
Claim 7, line 2: “said unit”
Claim 8, line 1: “the thickness” and “said surface”
Claim 10, line 2: “said unit”
Claim 13, line 2: “the Portland cement”
Claim 15, line 2: “the marine fauna and flora”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Birbeck et al. (US 2020/0149238).
Regarding claim 1, Birbeck discloses a system comprising a plurality of units (blocks 18), wherein each unit comprises a concrete matrix having a pH of less than 12 (pH of around 8.3); and wherein each unit can interlock with another unit (via male and female formations 20 and 22); wherein said system is a scour protection system for an aquatic infrastructure (Figs. 5, 6A, and 6B; paragraphs 0001, 0042, 0043, 0056, 0058, and 0059). Examiner takes the position that Birbeck teaches all of the limitations as explicitly recited in claim 1, but if “a plurality of units” comprises at least 300 units as described in the specification, Examiner takes the position that it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the plurality of units as disclosed by Birbeck to include at least 300 units as a design consideration within the skill of the art based upon the surface area of the coastline or seabed to be covered by the system and the depth of the water in which the system is to be used when the system is placed on the bottom of a body of water such as a lake or adjacent a shoreline.
Regarding claim 5, Birbeck further discloses said pH is less than about 11 (pH of around 8.3) (paragraph 0043).
Regarding claim 15, Birbeck further discloses said concrete matrix is capable of promoting marine fauna and flora (paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 17, Birbeck discloses a method of scour protecting an aquatic infrastructure comprising providing a system comprising a plurality of units (18), wherein each unit comprises a concrete matrix having a pH of less than 12 (pH of around 8.3); and wherein each unit can interlock with at least one other unit of said plurality of units (via male and female formations 20 and 22) (Figs. 5, 6A, and 6B; paragraphs 0001, 0042, 0043, 0056, 0058, and 0059). Examiner takes the position that Birbeck teaches all of the limitations as explicitly recited in claim 17, but if “a plurality of units” comprises at least 300 units as described in the specification, Examiner takes the position that it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the plurality of units as disclosed by Birbeck to include at least 300 units as a design consideration within the skill of the art based upon the surface area of the coastline or seabed to be covered by the system and the depth of the water in which the system is to be used when the system is placed on the bottom of a body of water such as a lake or adjacent a shoreline.
Claims 2 - 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birbeck et al. in view of DeShaw et al. (US 8,123,435).
Regarding claim 2, Birbeck further discloses each of the plurality of units (18) has the same size (Figs. 6A and 6B). Birbeck fails to disclose the average weight of said unit is between about 20 kg to about 150 kg. DeShaw teaches a weight of a unit (block) is between about 20 kg to about 150 kg (25 kg to 52 kg) (col. 2, lines 20 - 32) to allow the blocks to be carried by hand rather than requiring additional equipment such as a wheeled cart to transport the blocks to a work site. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the each of the units as disclosed above with the weight of the unit as taught by DeShaw to allow the units to be carried by hand rather than requiring additional equipment such as a wheeled cart to transport the units to a work site.
Regarding claim 3, Birbeck further discloses each of the plurality of units (18) has the same size (Figs. 6A and 6B). Birbeck fails to disclose the average weight of said unit is at least about 50 kg. DeShaw teaches a weight of a unit (block) is at least about 50 kg (52 kg) (col. 2, lines 20 - 32) ) to allow the blocks to be carried by hand rather than requiring additional equipment such as a wheeled cart to transport the blocks to a work site. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the each of the units as disclosed above with the weight of the unit as taught by DeShaw to allow the units to be carried by hand rather than requiring additional equipment such as a wheeled cart to transport the units to a work site.
Regarding claim 4, Birbeck in view of DeShaw discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the average weight of said plurality of units is at least about 2000 kg. Birbeck teaches a system comprising a plurality of units (Figs. 6A and 6B) and it would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the system as disclosed by Birbeck to include a number of blocks required to produce a system having an average weight of at least about 2000 kg as a design consideration within the skill of the art based upon the surface area of the coastline or seabed to be covered by the system and the depth of the water in which the system is to be used when the system is placed on the bottom of a body of water such as a lake or adjacent a shoreline.
Claims 6 - 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birbeck et al. in view of Finkel et al. (US 2015/0366170).
Regarding claim 6, Birbeck discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the pH is between about 9 and 10.5. Finkel teaches a concrete matrix having a pH between about 9 and 10.5 (paragraph 0047). Birbeck is silent regarding the pH of the concrete matrix. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the concrete matrix as disclosed by Birbeck with the pH of between about 9 and 10.5 as taught by Finkel to promote growth of fauna and flora in aquatic environments such as artificial reefs.
Regarding claim 7, Birbeck fails to disclose the pH of the concrete matrix is the pH of the top surface of the unit. Finkel teaches the pH of the concrete matrix is the pH of the top surface of the unit (paragraph 0048). Birbeck is silent regarding the pH of the concrete matrix. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the concrete matrix as disclosed by Birbeck with the pH as taught by Finkel to promote growth of fauna and flora in aquatic environments such as artificial reefs.
Regarding claim 8, Birbeck fails to disclose the thickness of said surface is at least about 5 cm. Finkel teaches a thickness of a surface is at least about 5 cm (paragraph 0048). Birbeck is silent regarding the thickness of the surface. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the thickness of the surface as disclosed above with a thickness of at least about 5 cm as taught by Finkel to provide a predetermined amount of structural stability and to promote a predetermined amount of growth of fauna and flora in aquatic environments by controlling the amount of concrete matrix that is available to promote fauna and flora growth.
Regarding claim 9, Birbeck fails to disclose salinity of aquatic environment is between about 0 to 45 ppt. Finkel teaches a salinity of an aquatic environment is between about 0 to 45 ppt (paragraph 0049). Birbeck is silent regarding the salinity of aquatic environment. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the system as disclosed above with the salinity of between about 0 to 45 ppt as taught by Finkel to control the types of aquatic organisms that can survive in the aquatic environment.
Regarding claim 10, Birbeck fails to disclose the unit has a surface roughness grade of at least 12. Finkel teaches a unit has a surface roughness grade of at least 12 (paragraph 0051). Birbeck is silent regarding the surface roughness grade. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the system as disclosed above with the surface roughness grade of at least 12 to control how the system interacts with flowing water, thereby influencing erosion resistance and long-term stability of the system.
Regarding claim 11, Birbeck fails to disclose said concrete matrix has a weight per volume of between about 1100 to 2700 Kg/m3. Finkel teaches said concrete matrix has a weight per volume of between about 1100 to 2700 Kg/m3 (paragraph 0052). Birbeck is silent regarding the weight per volume of the concrete matrix. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the concrete matrix as disclosed above with the weight per volume between about 1100 to 2700 kg/m3 as taught by Finkel to provide a desired amount of structural stability to the system.
Regarding claim 12, Birbeck fails to disclose said concrete matrix has a weight per volume of between about 1100 to 1800 Kg/m3. Finkel teaches said concrete matrix has a weight per volume of between about 1100 to 1800 Kg/m3 (paragraph 0052). Birbeck is silent regarding the weight per volume of the concrete matrix. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the concrete matrix as disclosed above with the weight per volume between about 1100 to 1800 kg/m3 as taught by Finkel to provide a desired amount of structural stability to the system.
Regarding claim 13, Birbeck discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the concrete matrix comprises between 0 to about 90% Portland cement. Finkel teaches the concrete matrix comprises between 0 to about 90% Portland cement (paragraph 0053). Birbeck is silent regarding the amount of Portland cement in the concrete matrix. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the concrete matrix as disclosed above such that the concrete matrix comprises between 0 to about 90% Portland cement to control vegetation growth by controlling nutrient availability in the concrete matrix.
Regarding claim 14, Birbeck discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the concrete matrix has average compressive strength of between about 30 to 80 Mpa. Finkel teaches the concrete matrix has average compressive strength of between about 30 to 80 Mpa (paragraph 0055). Birbeck is silent regarding the average compressive strength of the concrete matrix. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the concrete matrix as disclosed above with the average compressive strength of between about 30 to 80 Mpa to provide the concrete matrix with a predetermined durability by controlling the axial compressive loads that can be supported by the concrete matrix.
Conclusion
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
6/2/2026