DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le (Us PGPub No. 2015/0004018) in view of Bamberger (US Patent No. 7,101,157) and Matsuo (JP 58-173393 A).
Regarding claim 1, Le discloses a motor support (module housing 155, a housing cover 160 and base plate 165, Fig. 1) for a motor (110) for driving a fan impeller (105) of a motorized fan unit (fan module 100) for a heating, ventilation and/or air-conditioning system of a motor vehicle (the fan module 100 is fastened to a ventilation system, paragraph 0029, and the fan module 100 is capable to a ventilation system of a motor vehicle), the motor support comprising a base (module housing 155 and housing cover 160) comprising:
an annular internal structure which is configured for fastening of the motor (an annular structure receiving or fastening a bottom of the motor 110, see annotated figures 2a and 4 below),
wherein the base defines a cooling channel (cooling air ducting 180) around the annular internal structure (the cooling air ducting 180 is partially around the internal structure, see Figs. 3 and 4), in which channel an air flow is configured to circulate for cooling the motor and/or a control module of the motor fastened to the motor support (the ducting 180 channels the air to cool the motor), the cooling channel having at least one air inlet (at diverting element 175 where cooling air enters, Fig. 3) and at least one air outlet (air outlet immediately before axial diverting elements 405 to direct air to above brushes 150, paragraph 0037),
wherein the annular internal structure has a protrusion (diverting element 410, Fig. 4) which is arranged facing the air inlet (an end of the diverting element 410 faces the diverting element 175),
wherein the protrusion extends from the annular internal structure towards the air inlet so as to divide the air flow that comes from the air inlet and circulate in the cooling channel (the diverting element 410 extends from Y shaped end towards the diverting element 175 to divert air flow in the ducting 180 coming from the diverting element 175).
Le fails to explicitly disclose wherein the base defines a cooling channel around the internal structure;
Le fails to disclose wherein the base comprises at least one rib extending from a side of the base opposite the cooling channel and arranged at least partly facing the air outlet; and
Le fails to explicitly disclose wherein the protrusion has two concave surfaces extending on either side of an end of the protrusion.
Bamberger discloses wherein the base defines a cooling channel around the internal structure (cool air stream 10 flowing in a cooling channel around a center of the cooling attachment 16, Fig. 7); and
the base (cooling attachment 16) comprises at least one rib (guide ribs 42) extending from a side of the base opposite the cooling channel (from ends or sides closest to the center to the cooling attachment 16 and opposite chamber 34 closer to an inlet 32) and arranged at least partly facing the air outlet (the end of the ribs 42 closest to the center faces towards the center of the cooling attachment 16).
Therefore, the cooling air ducting 180 may extend around the circular structure and further include ribs 42 to divide the cooling air flow into multiple outlets around the circular structure. Further openings immediately downstream the outlets may deliver the air stream towards the motor 110. As a result, the right half side in Fig. 4 of circular structure may be directly supplied with a uniform amount of cooling air in order for increased or improved cooling of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the base defines a cooling channel around the internal structure; and wherein the base comprises at least one rib extending from a side of the base opposite the cooling channel and arranged at least partly facing the air outlet in Le as taught by Bamberger in order to directly and uniformly deliver a cooling air over the circumference if the motor for increased or improved cooling.
Matsuo discloses wherein the protrusion (guide board 17) has two concave surfaces (concave surfaces of the guide board 17 in Fig. 3) extending on either side of an end of the protrusion (left and right sides of a top end of the guide board 17).
Therefore, the triangular shaped diverting element 410 of Le may be replaced with two concave surfaces as taught by Matsuo.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided wherein the protrusion has two concave surfaces extending on either side of an end of the protrusion in Le as taught by Matsuo. It has been held that a "simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results” is obvious. In this instance the prior art provides for the element of a diverting element to divide a flow. It is known in the art to substitute the triangular shaped diverting element 410 in Le for guide board 17 with curved surfaces in Matsuo. The result of the substitution would have been predictable. MPEP 2143 B. Further, the curved surface provided to the structure of Le eliminates corners that further decreases flowing resistance as a result.
Regarding claim 2, Le in claim 1 further discloses wherein the protrusion has a form which tapers in a direction of the air inlet (the Y shaped end of the diverting element 410 tapers toward the inlet at 175).
Regarding claim 4, Le in claim 1 further discloses wherein the base has a form (the housing cover 160 has a generally circular form) generated by revolution about an axis (the circular form is generated or centered about an axis 115), and the protrusion extends radially relative to the axis (an end of the diverting element 410 extends radially away from the axis 115).
Regarding claim 5, Le in claim 4 further discloses wherein the cooling channel has a depth (“depth”, see annotated Fig. 2a above), along the axis of the base (parallel to the axis 115), which decreases between the air inlet and the air outlet (see longer depth closer to the inlet axially away from the axis 115 and shorter depth closer to the outlet axially closer to the axis 115).
Regarding claim 7, Le in claim 1 further discloses wherein at least one orifice is provided in a wall of the base (a channel or orifice at the axially diverting elements 405 to direct air into an axial direction immediately after the outlet of the duct 180. Such channel or orifice in the wall of the housing cover 160 inherently exists to deliver cooling air to the brushes 150, see paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 8, Le in claim 7 further discloses wherein the at least one orifice is arranged at a distance of less than or equal to 20 mm from the air outlet (the channel or orifice is immediately adjacent the outlet of the duct 180).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Le (Us PGPub No. 2015/0004018) in view of Bamberger (US Patent No. 7,101,157) and Matsuo (JP 58-173393 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takahashi (JP 2002-112504 A).
Regarding claim 9, Le in claim 1 fails to disclose a heat sink fastened to the base and extending facing the cooling channel, the heat sink comprising:
a housing extending from a first side of the heat sink, mounted in the internal structure of the base and configured to receive an element of the motor, and
a second side opposite the first side, a slot configured to receive the control module.
Takahashi discloses a heat sink (heat sink 31, Figs. 1 and 2) fastened to the base (the heat sink 31 fastens to the bottom side of mounting frame 33 that supports stator 3 and rotor 2 of a motor) and extending facing the cooling channel (the top side of the heat sink 31 extends and faces the cooling air passage 5), the heat sink comprising:
a housing (circuit case 4) extending from a first side of the heat sink (downwardly from top side of the heat sink 31), mounted in the internal structure of the base (the top side of the circuit case 4 extends around recess 14 that receives lower end of the motor, see Fig. 1) and configured to receive an element of the motor (the top side of the circuit case 4 is configured to receive fins 31b that cools control circuit 28 of the motor), and
a second side opposite the first side, a slot configured to receive the control module (the case 4 has a slot shaped cavity on bottom side of the heat sink 31 opposite the top side that receives the control circuit 28 of the motor).
Le further discloses an aperture 310 (Fig. 3) to receive an electronic control circuit to control the electric motor 110 (paragraph 0035).
Therefore, the aperture 310 may be relocated to the duct 180 of the housing cover 160, and the relocated aperture 310 in the housing cover 160 may be modified to include a heat sink 31 mounted onto the housing cover 160 having fins 31b within the duct 180; and further include a circuit case 4 on bottom side of the heat sink 31. The circuit case 4 attached onto the housing cover 160 at the region of “internal structure” as indicated in the annotated figure above and include the first and second sides noted above that respectively receive fins 31b and control circuit 28 of the motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a heat sink fastened to the base and extending facing the cooling channel, the heat sink comprising: a housing extending from a first side of the heat sink, mounted in the internal structure of the base and configured to receive an element of the motor, and a second side opposite the first side, a slot configured to receive the control module in Le as taught by Takahashi in order to provide full cooling air can be given to the circuit 28 without giving to the circuit 28 harmful effects due to the moisture, dust and the like contained in the cooling air (see abstract of Takahashi).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument (the teaching of a concave diverting element as taught by Matsuo, JP 58-173393 A).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763