DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The reply filed on 07 April 2026 has been entered. New claim 5 has been added. Claims 1-5 are pending in the application.
Newly cited references were relied upon in this action so the action is made non-final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020-007910 A to Ogawa et al. (Ogawa) in view of JP 2019/112987 A to Takabe. Machine translations of both references were relied upon for the basis of this rejection (the translation of Takabe being previously provided).
In reference to claim 1, Ogawa discloses an electric compressor comprising: a stator housing (10; Figs. 1-19) in a cylindrical shape having one end opened (closed by element 60); and a rear casing (60) joined to an opening of the stator housing, wherein a stator (21) of a motor is housed from the opening of the stator housing (see Figs.), and the stator is fixed to an inner surface of the stator housing by shrink fitting (interpreted as a product-by-process; however, see par. 0017), the electric compressor includes a plurality of shrink-fit fixing surfaces (inner wall of 10) formed on the inner surface of the stator housing and to which the stator is fixed (par. 0017), a gasket sealing surface (at symbol 63), and a plurality of ribs (92) formed on the opening side of an outer surface of the stator housing corresponding to the shrink-fit fixing surface (“corresponding” is interpreted as its plain meaning of “related” as the ribs are on the outside of the housing wall whereas the shrink-fit fixing surface is on the inside), but fails to explicitly disclose the gasket sealing surface is formed on an opening end surface of the stator housing. However, Takabe discloses a similar compressor comprising a stator housing (2; Fig. 1) and a rear casing (3) joined to an opening of the stator housing via a gasket (16). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the known gasket arrangement disclosed by Takabe for the known gasket arrangement of Ogawa. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, as it has been held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is obvious (see MPEP 2141).
In reference to claim 2, the modified Ogawa teaches the electric compressor according to claim 1, further comprising a center plate (Ogawa; 30) accommodated in the stator housing and positioned on the opening side of the motor, wherein a fitting surface (Ogawa; 15) to which the center plate is fitted is formed on an inner surface of the stator housing on the opening side of the shrink-fit fixing surface.
In reference to claim 3, the modified Ogawa teaches electric compressor according to claim 2, wherein a scroll compression mechanism (Ogawa; 40, 50) is provided in a space formed by the center plate and the rear casing (Ogawa; par. 0015).
In reference to claim 5, the modified Ogawa teaches the electric compressor according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of ribs is formed so as to protrude outward from the outer surface of the stator housing (see Ogawa; Fig. 15).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modified Ogawa as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of JP 2016-220424 A to Iketaka (Iketaka). A machine translation (previously provided) was relied upon for the basis of this rejection.
In reference to claim 4, the modified Ogawa teaches the electric compressor according to claim 3, comprising a suction port (Ogawa; 13) formed at the other end portion of the stator housing and a refrigerant path (25, 34) communicating the suction port with a suction portion of the scroll compression mechanism (40, 50) but fails to explicitly disclose the refrigerant path formed between the shrink-fit fixing surfaces. However, Iketaka teaches a similar compressor comprising a suction port (16; Fig. 1) formed at the other end portion of the stator housing; and a refrigerant path (15) formed between the shrink-fit fixing surfaces and communicating the suction port with a suction portion of the scroll compression mechanism (exiting at 6). It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the refrigerant path disclosed by Iketaka into the compressor of the modified Takabe. A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, as refrigerant flowing through the path advantageously provides for cooling, as taught by Iketaka (pp. 0038-0039)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN R MATTHIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
23 April 2026