Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 11, 12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zohar et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0080584), referred herein as Zohar.
Regarding claim 1, Zohar teaches a computer-implemented method to modify three-dimensional (3D) avatar bodies, the computer-implemented method comprising: identifying a first avatar body having a first body cage; identifying a target avatar body having a target body cage (figs 7 and 8; paragraph 36, lines 4-9; paragraph 37, lines 5-13; paragraph 38, lines 1-15; paragraph 58, lines 1-12; a first avatar body with a first body cage mesh, and a target avatar body with a target body cage mesh are identified);
and performing an interpolation between the first body cage and the target body cage to obtain a second body cage corresponding to a second avatar body to provide a transformation of the first avatar body into the second avatar body (figs 7 and 8; paragraph 37, lines 1-5 and 13-20; paragraph 38, lines 1-20; paragraph 58, the last 10 lines; paragraph 59, lines 1-14; paragraph 131; morphing [i.e. interpolation] is performed between the first body cage and target body cage to obtain a second body cage such that a transformation is provided from the first avatar to the second avatar).
Regarding claim 2, Zohar teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein performing the interpolation comprises performing the interpolation to generate the second body cage that completely matches the target body cage to provide a full transformation (fig 7; paragraph 37, lines 1-13; paragraph 59, the last 13 lines; paragraph 131).
Regarding claim 3, Zohar teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein performing the interpolation comprises transforming the first avatar body into the second avatar body that is a blend between the first avatar body and the target avatar body to provide a partial transformation (fig 8; paragraph 37, the last 15 lines; paragraph 58, lines 1-15; paragraphs 132 and 134).
Regarding claim 4, Zohar teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein performing the interpolation comprises morphing a portion of the first avatar body that is less than an entirety of the first avatar body (fig 8; paragraph 37, the last 15 lines; paragraph 58, lines 1-15; paragraphs 132 and 134).
Regarding claim 5, Zohar teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 4, wherein morphing the portion of the first avatar body that is less than the entirety of the first avatar body comprises morphing the portion of the first avatar body to perform a partial transformation of the portion of the first avatar body (fig 8; paragraph 37, the last 15 lines; paragraph 58, lines 1-15; paragraphs 132 and 134).
Regarding claim 6, Zohar teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first avatar body is part of a virtual experience, performing the interpolation is performed while the avatar participates in the virtual experience, and the target avatar body is selected from a plurality of target avatar bodies in the virtual experience (paragraph 29, the last 10 lines; paragraph 37, lines 1-13; paragraph 111, lines 1-7 and 14-25).
Regarding claim 7, Zohar teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein performing the interpolation is performed in a configuration environment and the target avatar body is selected from a plurality of target avatar bodies in a library in the configuration environment (fig 5; paragraph 29, the last 10 lines; paragraph 37, lines 1-13; paragraph 104, lines 1-10; paragraph 111, lines 1-7 and 14-25).
Regarding claim 8, Zohar teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein the configuration environment includes a transformation tool that enables a user to control an amount of the transformation of the first avatar body to obtain the second avatar body, and wherein performing the interpolation is based on the amount of the transformation (paragraph 37, lines 13-17; paragraph 58, the last 7 lines; paragraph 104, lines 1-10; paragraph 131).
Regarding claim 11, Zohar teaches a computer-implemented method to modify three-dimensional (3D) avatar bodies, the computer-implemented method comprising: identifying a first avatar body having a corresponding first body cage (figs 7 and 8; paragraph 36, lines 4-9; paragraph 37, lines 5-13; paragraph 38, lines 1-15; paragraph 58, lines 1-12; a first avatar body with a first body cage mesh is are identified); and
performing a manipulation of the first body cage to generate a second body cage corresponding to a second avatar body to provide a transformation of the first avatar body into the second avatar body (figs 7 and 8; paragraph 37, lines 1-5 and 13-20; paragraph 38, lines 1-20; paragraph 58, the last 10 lines; paragraph 59, lines 1-14; paragraph 131; morphing [i.e. manipulation] is performed to generate a second body cage such that a transformation is provided from the first avatar to the second avatar),
wherein the manipulating comprises repositioning portions of the first body cage (fig 8; paragraph 37, the last 15 lines; paragraph 39; paragraph 58, lines 1-15; paragraph 130, the last 12 lines; paragraphs 132 and 134; portions of the body cage are morphed and repositioned when generating the second body cage).
Regarding claim 12, Zohar teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 11, wherein performing the manipulation is performed in a configuration environment (fig 5; paragraph 29, the last 10 lines; paragraph 37, lines 1-13; paragraph 104, lines 1-10; paragraph 111, lines 1-7 and 14-25), and
wherein the configuration environment includes a transformation tool that enables a user to control aspects of the manipulation of the first body cage to obtain the second body cage, and wherein performing the manipulation is based on the aspects of the manipulation (paragraph 37, lines 13-17; paragraph 58, the last 7 lines; paragraph 104, lines 1-10; paragraph 131).
Regarding claim 15, Zohar teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein transforming the first avatar body into the second avatar body comprises performing an interpolation between the first body cage and the second body cage (figs 7 and 8; paragraph 37, lines 1-5 and 13-20; paragraph 38, lines 1-20; paragraph 58, the last 10 lines; paragraph 59, lines 1-14; paragraph 131).
Regarding claim 16, Zohar teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein transforming the first avatar body into the second avatar body comprises morphing a portion of the first avatar body that is less than an entirety of the first avatar body (fig 8; paragraph 37, the last 15 lines; paragraph 58, lines 1-15; paragraphs 132 and 134).
Regarding claim 17, the limitations of this claim substantially correspond to the limitations of claim 1 (except for the memory, instructions, and processing device, which are disclosed by Zohar, paragraph 143); thus they are rejected on similar grounds.
Regarding claims 18-20, the limitations of these claims substantially correspond to the limitations of claims 2-4, respectively; thus they are rejected on similar grounds as their corresponding claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 10, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zohar, in view of Wedig (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0260156), referred herein as Wedig.
Regarding claim 9, Zohar teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying a skeleton of the first avatar body and a skinning of the first avatar body; after performing the interpolation, updating the first avatar body to correspond to the second body cage; and animating the first avatar body by moving and deforming a skinning of the updated avatar (figs 7 & 8; paragraph 36, lines 4-9; paragraph 37, lines 1-17; paragraph 38, lines 1-15; paragraph 58, lines 1-15; paragraph 109).
Zohar does not explicitly teach identifying a rig of the first avatar body, the rig comprising identifying a skeleton of the first avatar body, updating the rig of the first avatar body to correspond to the second body cage, and animating the first avatar body by moving a skeleton of the updated rig and deforming a skinning of the updated rig.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Wedig teaches a method for modifying 3D avatar bodies, comprising identifying a first avatar body with a first body cage, and performing an interpolation deformation between the first body cage and a second body cage to transform the first avatar body into a second avatar body (paragraph 121; paragraph 142; paragraph 145, lines 1-11), and further comprising identifying a rig of the first avatar body, the rig comprising identifying a skeleton of the first avatar body, updating the rig of the first avatar body to correspond to the second body cage, and animating the first avatar body by moving a skeleton of the updated rig and deforming a skinning of the updated rig (paragraphs 146 and 147; paragraphs 155 and 157).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the rigging and body cage deformation of Wedig with the body cage deformation of Zohar because rigging provides more accurate movement in association with the body cage, which greatly improves the mesh deformations such that higher quality animation output can be produced (see, for example, Wedig, paragraphs 151 and 163).
Regarding claim 10, Zohar in view of Wedig teaches the computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein moving the skeleton of the updated rig and deforming the skinning of the updated rig comprises reusing skin weights from the skinning of the first avatar body based on determining areas of skinning of the updated rig that are influenced by bones in the skeleton of the first avatar body (Wedig, paragraph 155, lines 1-13; paragraphs 157 and 158; the motivation to combine is substantially similar to that discussed above in the rejection of claim 9).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, the limitations of these claims substantially correspond to the limitations of claims 9 and 10, respectively; thus they are rejected on similar grounds as their corresponding claims.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Appleboim (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0090209); Virtual presentations without transformation-induced distortion of shape-sensitive areas.
Zohar (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0090645); Deforming real-world object using an external mesh.
Carter (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2025/0131669); Efficient avatar creation with mesh penetration avoidance.
Stemple (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0193838); Computer-implemented method for controlling a virtual avatar.
Cooper (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0331330); System and method for dynamically improving the performance of real-time rendering systems via an optimized data set.
Feng (Avatar Reshaping and Automatic Rigging Using a Deformable Model); ACM; 2015.
DAVID T. WELCH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2613
/DAVID T WELCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2613