DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the preliminary amendments filed on 3/3/2025 and 4/1/2025. Claims 1-15 are pending and have been examined. Claims 3, 5, 8, 11, 13 and 15 have been amended.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regard to claim 1, last line amend “associated to the integrated circuit” to “associated with [[to]] the integrated circuit” as to improve grammar.
In regard to claim 8, last line amend “associated to the integrated circuit” to “associated with [[to]] the integrated circuit” as to improve grammar.
In regard to claim 9, last line amend “associated to the integrated circuit” to “associated with [[to]] the integrated circuit” as to improve grammar
In regard to claim 15, last line amend “associated to the integrated circuit” to “associated with [[to]] the integrated circuit” as to improve grammar
Claims 2-7 and 10-14 are dependent upon one of the claims above and therefore are similarly objected to for including the deficiencies of one of the claims above.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “the first sub-block is configured to transmit” and “at least a first sub-block of the plurality of interconnected sub-blocks is configured to transmit” in claims 8-9, 11, 13 and 15. The examiner interprets each sub-block to be a hardware device of an integrated circuit/SoC as disclosed in paragraph [0031].
7. Claims 1 and 8 recite the following contingent limitations: “…transmitting a message from a first sub-block to at least one sub-block of the plurality of interconnected sub-blocks, in response to an event on the integrated circuit” and “wherein, in response to an event on the integrated circuit, the first sub-block is configured to transmit a message to the second sub-block”
The contingent limitations use the language “in response to” and are contingent because they precede steps that are only required to be performed in response to (i.e. if) a condition is met. For example, the steps of “transmitting a message” are only required to be performed in response to (e.g. “if”) an event occurring on the integrated circuit. However, if the event does not occur (e.g. a specific event never occurs) the steps of “transmitting a message” are not required to occur based on the broadest reasonable interpretation given to contingent limitations in method claims (See MPEP 2111.04(II) See Ex parte Schulhauser, Appeal 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016)).
The examiner suggests amending the claim to remove the contingent limitations stating, “in response to” and to positively recite each step of the method claim. For example, the limitation could be amended to state “…transmitting an event message from a first sub-block to at least one sub-block of the plurality of interconnected sub-blocksn event message to the second sub-block”.
Double Patenting
9. Claims 8 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-8 and 14 of copending Application No. 19/108,309 in view of Berenbaum, PGPUB No. 2008/0005379. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each of the above claims of the instant application is an obvious variant of a corresponding claim of reference application 19/108,309. (Note: This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.)
However, claims 1 and 7 of reference application 19/108,309 do not disclose “…wherein, in response to an event on the integrated circuit, the first sub-block is configured to transmit a message to the second sub-block, and wherein the first signal comprises information identifying a class of the event based on a classification of events associated to the integrated circuit into one or more classes”.
Berenbaum discloses wherein, in response to an event on the integrated circuit, the first sub-block is configured to transmit a message to the second sub-block ([0056-0059 and 0062-0064]: wherein a slave device transmits a message/packet to a master device in response to an event. Also, a master device may forward (transmit) message/packet to CPU (See Fig. 5)) and wherein the first signal comprises information identifying a class of the event based on a classification of events associated to the integrated circuit into one or more classes. ([0048, 0051, 0056-0057, 0062-0063]: wherein a signal (a bit or subset of bits) of event information is transmitted to a master device from slave device; or from master device to CPU. Wherein the signal comprises information identifying a type (class) of asynchronous event associated with multiple types (classes) of asynchronous events (see [0046-0047))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first signal indicating information of an event message of reference application 19/108,309 to include event type information of events as taught in Berenbaum. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because it would have been the simple substitution of one known element (a first signal comprising event type information as taught in Berenbaum) for another (first signal comprising event transmission information) to yield predictable results (a first signal comprising information identifying event type/class of an event) (MPEP 2143, Example B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Berenbaum, PGPUB No. 2008/0005379 (cited on IDS filed on 3/3/2025).
In regard to claim 1, Berenbaum discloses A method for an integrated circuit comprising a plurality of interconnected sub-blocks in a System-on-Chip (SoC) arrangement ([0032, 0034 and 0042]: wherein a system on a chip comprises interconnected master device, a slave device, and a CPU(See Figs. 3-4))
the method comprising: transmitting a message from a first sub-block to at least one sub-block of the plurality of interconnected sub-blocks, in response to an event on the integrated circuit ([0056-0059 and 0062-0064]: wherein a slave device transmits a message/packet to a master device in response to an event. Also, a master device may forward (transmit) message/packet to CPU (See Fig. 5))
and transmitting a signal from the first sub-block to the at least one sub-block of the plurality of interconnected sub-blocks, wherein the signal comprises information identifying a class of the event based on a classification of events associated to the integrated circuit into one or more classes. ([0048, 0051, 0056-0057, 0062-0063]: wherein a signal (a bit or subset of bits) of event information is transmitted to a master device from slave device; or from master device to CPU. Wherein the signal comprises information identifying a type (class) of asynchronous event associated with multiple types (classes) of asynchronous events (see [0046-0047))
Claim 9 is similarly rejected on the same basis as claim 1 above.
In regard to claim 2, Berenbaum discloses The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) wherein the event is a local event in a subsystem of one or more sub-blocks of the plurality of interconnected sub-blocks in the integrated circuit. ([0034, 0048 and 0056-0057]: wherein an event is a local event to a subsystem (combination of a master device and a slave device) of the integrated circuit of the SoC)
Claim 10 is similarly rejected on the same basis as claim 2 above.
In regard to claim 3, Berenbaum discloses The method of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above) wherein the transmitting of the message and the transmitting of the signal to the at least one sub-block of the plurality of interconnected sub-blocks comprises transmitting the message and transmitting the signal to every sub-block of the plurality of interconnected sub-blocks in the subsystem. ([0033-0034 and 0057-0058]: wherein Fig. 3 can include any number of slave devices, and examiner interprets the integrated circuit of Fig. 3 to include a single slave device. Thus, when an interrupt event for an embedded processor is detected the message and included subset of bits are transmitted from the slave device to the master device. Thus, the message and signal are transmitted to every sub-block interconnected in the subsystem consisting of a master and slave device)
Claim 11 is similarly rejected on the same basis as claim 3 above.
In regard to claim 4, Berenbaum discloses The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) wherein the event is a global event ([0059-0060]: wherein a SIRQ or DMA event is a global event as it must be processed by an external device (e.g. CPU). Thus, the event triggers passing information from slave device to master device then to CPU, and thus the event is global as it relates to the whole of the system of Fig. 3)
Claim 12 is similarly rejected on the same basis as claim 4 above.
In regard to claim 5, Berenbaum discloses The method of claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above) wherein the transmitting of the message and the transmitting of the signal to the at least one sub-block of the plurality of interconnected sub-blocks comprises transmitting the message and transmitting the signal to every sub-block of the plurality of interconnected sub-blocks in the integrated circuit. ([0033-0034 and 0057-0060]: wherein Fig. 3 can include any number of slave device, and examiner interprets the integrated circuit of Fig. 3 to include a single slave device. Thus, when an event message includes an SIRQ event or DMA event the message and included subsets of bits are transmitted from the slave device to the master device and then to a CPU. Thus, the message and signal are transmitted to every sub-block interconnected in the integrated circuit of the SoC)
Claim 13 is similarly rejected on the same basis as claim 5 above.
In regard to claim 6, Berenbaum discloses The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) wherein the information identifying the class of the event comprises an encoding of the class of the event in one or more data bits for transmission in the signal. ([0057 and 0062-0063]: wherein one or more bits identify the type (class) of event for transmission)
Claim 14 is similarly rejected on the same basis as claim 6 above.
In regard to claim 7, Berenbaum discloses The method of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above) wherein the signal is a signal in a communication protocol between the first sub-block and the at least one sub-block of the plurality of interconnected sub-blocks. ([0033, 0053-0054, 0056-0057 and 0062-0063]: wherein signal is a signal communicated with use of a bus protocol used to communicate between slave and master devices)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claim(s) 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berenbaum, and further in view of Jeong, PGPUB No. 2014/0208071 (cited on IDS filed on 3/3/2025).
In regard to claim 8, Berenbaum discloses A method for an integrated circuit comprising at least two interconnected sub-blocks in a System-on-Chip (SoC) arrangement (See Fig. 3 and [0032 and 0042]) the method comprising: transmitting, from a first sub-block to a second sub-block of the at least two interconnected sub-blocks, a first signal ([0048, 0051, 0056-0057, 0062-0063]: wherein a signal (a bit or subset of bits) of event information is transmitted to a master device from slave device) and transmitting data via a third signal from the first sub-block to the second sub-block ([0056-0057, 0064 and 0071]: wherein data (one or more bits) of one or more packets are transmitted from a slave device to a master device) wherein, in response to an event on the integrated circuit, the first sub-block is configured to transmit a message to the second sub-block ([0056-0059 and 0062-0064]: wherein a slave device transmits a message/packet to a master device in response to an event (See Fig. 5)) and wherein a first signal comprises information identifying a class of the event based on a classification of events associated to the integrated circuit into one or more classes. ([0048, 0051, 0056-0057, 0062-0063]: wherein a signal (a bit or subset of bits) of event information is transmitted to a master device from slave device. Wherein the signal comprises information identifying a type (class) of asynchronous event associated with multiple types (classes) of asynchronous events (see [0046-0047))
Berenbaum does not disclose transmitting, from a first sub-block to a second sub-block of the at least two interconnected sub-blocks, a first signal asserting that the first sub-block is ready to transmit data to the second sub-block; receiving, at the first sub-block from the second sub-block, at the first sub-block, a second signal, the second signal asserting that the second sub-block is ready to receive data from the first sub-block.
Jeong discloses transmitting, from a first sub-block to a second sub-block of the at least two interconnected sub-blocks, a first signal asserting that the first sub-block is ready to transmit data to the second sub-block ([0105-0108]: wherein a device asserts a valid signal to indicate it is ready to transmit data to another device)receiving, at the first sub-block from the second sub-block, at the first sub-block, a second signal, the second signal asserting that the second sub-block is ready to receive data from the first sub-block. ([0105-0108]: wherein a ready signal is asserted by the other device to indicate it is ready to receive data from the first device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the communication between interconnected devices on the SoC of Berenbaum to use an AXI handshaking protocol as the interconnected devices of the SoC of Jeong. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art because it allows for flexible flow between devices that avoids a fixed timing relationship (e.g. transfers only happen when both valid and ready are high, and neither device must lock into a rigid clock cycle count) and provides a simple communication design.
Claim 15 is similarly rejected on the same basis as claim 8 above.
Conclusion
14. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Nore, PGPUB No. 2021/0034442 for teaching communicating event signals between two subsystems of an integrated circuit device
Robbins, PGPUB No. 2018/0004706 for teaching communicating event messages between a processor subsystem and a hardware logic subsystem of a SoC
Horst, USPAT No. 6,157,967 for teaching communicating messages within and between sub-processor systems
/COURTNEY P SPANN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183