DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071)
Regarding claim 1, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses a method for controlling a powertrain [parallel (e.g., P1-P4) hybrid powertrains, a power-split (“PS”) hybrid powertrain, or the like.; sec 0034] in a vehicle (vehicle 10; sec 0034) having a synchronous reluctance machine (motor-generators 12; sec 0034, 0068) coupled to drive one or more wheels (one or more wheels 38; fig. 1; sec 0043) via a transmission (transmission 18; Fig. 1 & 2; sec 0034), comprising:
determining, for given values of axle torque and output speed, a plurality of different sets of values for a gear ratio (plurality of gear rations; sec 0048) of the transmission (transmission 18; Fig. 1 & 2; sec 0034) and for a motor speed (RPM; sec 0039) of the synchronous reluctance machine (sec 0039, 0040, 0068);
determining an optimal set of the plurality of different sets of values for the gear ratio (sec 0040) of the transmission (transmission 18; Fig. 1 & 2; sec 0034) and for the motor speed (RPM; sec 0039) of the synchronous reluctance machine (sec 0039, 0040, 0068);
operating the synchronous reluctance machine (sec 0039, 0040, 0068) in accordance with the optimal set of values for the motor speed (sec 0039, 0040, 0068); and
operating the transmission in accordance with the optimal set of values for the gear ratio (sec 0034, 0036, 0039, 0040, 0068).
Regarding claim 2, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the transmission includes a continuously variable transmission (CVT; sec 0040).
Regarding claim 3, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the transmission is a multi-geared transmission (plurality of gear rations; sec 0048) including an input shaft (fig. 1; 26; sec 0036), an output shaft (fig. 1; 36; sec 0036), and plurality of gears (plurality of gear rations; sec 0048), with each of the plurality of gears providing a fixed gear ratio between the input shaft and the output shaft (sec 0036, 0048).
Regarding claim 4, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the method of Claim 3, wherein the transmission is configured to continuously transmit torque between the input shaft and the output shaft while shifting between two gears of the plurality of gears to provide a different gear ratio between the input shaft and the output shaft (fig. 1, sec 0034, 0036, 0040, 0041, 0042, 0048).
Regarding claim 5, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein the synchronous reluctance machine includes:
a rotor (fig. 2; rotor 204; sec 0046) having a rotor core defining a plurality of recesses (layers 220A-220C; fig. 2; sec 0049-0053), and a permanent magnet disposed in a recess of the plurality of recesses (layers 220A-220C; fig. 2; sec 0049-0053).
Regarding claim 6, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the method of Claim 5, wherein the permanent magnet includes a ferrite magnet or the permanent magnet includes at least one of Neodymium (Nd-Fe-B) and Samarium Cobalt (SmCo; fig. 2&3B; sec 0051, 0052).
Regarding claim 7, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein operating the synchronous reluctance machine in accordance with the optimal set of values for the motor speed includes generating and sending, by a controller (sec 0044), a speed command to a motor drive (battery pack 22; sec 0035) to supply an alternating current power (AC; citing, “phases of electrical current, such as three, five, six, or seven phases”; sec 0046) to cause the synchronous reluctance machine (motor-generators 12; sec 0034, 0068) to rotate a rotor (rotor body 204; sec 0045) thereof at the motor speed in accordance with the optimal set of values for the motor speed (sec 0036-0045).
Regarding claim 8, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses a powertrain system [parallel (e.g., P1-P4) hybrid powertrains, a power-split (“PS”) hybrid powertrain, or the like.; sec 0034] for a vehicle (vehicle 10; sec 0034), comprising:
a synchronous reluctance machine (motor-generators 12; sec 0034, 0068) having a rotor (fig. 2; rotor 204; sec 0046) defining a plurality of circumferentially- spaced regions having relatively low reluctance interspaced with regions having relatively high reluctance (fig. 2; sec 0045-0051);
a transmission operatively disposed between the synchronous reluctance machine and one or more wheels (fig. 1; sec 0033, 0040-0044); and
a controller (sec 0044) configured to:
determining, for given values of axle torque and output speed, a plurality of different sets of values for a gear ratio (plurality of gear rations; sec 0048) of the transmission (transmission 18; Fig. 1 & 2; sec 0034) and for a motor speed (RPM; sec 0039) of the synchronous reluctance machine (sec 0039, 0040, 0068);
determining an optimal set of the plurality of different sets of values for the gear ratio (sec 0040) of the transmission (transmission 18; Fig. 1 & 2; sec 0034) and for the motor speed (RPM; sec 0039) of the synchronous reluctance machine (sec 0039, 0040, 0068); and
operate the synchronous reluctance machine (sec 0039, 0040, 0068) and the transmission in accordance with the optimal set of values for the gear ratio of the transmission and for the motor speed of the synchronous reluctance machine (sec 0034, 0036, 0039, 0040, 0068).
Regarding claim 9, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the powertrain system of Claim 8, wherein the transmission includes a continuously variable transmission (CVT; sec 0040).
Regarding claim 10, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the powertrain system of Claim 8, wherein the transmission is a multi-geared transmission (plurality of gear rations; sec 0048) including an input shaft (fig. 1; 26; sec 0036), an output shaft (fig. 1; 36; sec 0036), and plurality of gears (plurality of gear rations; sec 0048), with each of the plurality of gears providing a fixed gear ratio between the input shaft and the output shaft (sec 0036, 0048).
Regarding claim 11, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the powertrain system of Claim 10, wherein the transmission is configured to continuously transmit torque between the input shaft and the output shaft while shifting between two gears of the plurality of gears to provide a different gear ratio between the input shaft and the output shaft (fig. 1, sec 0034, 0036, 0040, 0041, 0042, 0048).
Regarding claim 12, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the powertrain system of Claim 8, wherein the rotor of the synchronous reluctance machine includes:
a rotor core (fig. 2; rotor 204 having a rotor core; sec 0046) defining a plurality of recesses (layers 220A-220C; fig. 2; sec 0049-0053), and a permanent magnet disposed in a recess of the plurality of recesses (layers 220A-220C; fig. 2; sec 0049-0053).
Regarding claim 13, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the powertrain system of Claim 12, wherein the permanent magnet includes a ferrite magnet (sec 0051, 0052).
Regarding claim 14, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the powertrain system of Claim 12, wherein the permanent magnet includes at least one of Neodymium (Nd-Fe-B) and Samarium Cobalt (SmCo; (sec 0051, 0052).
Regarding claim 15, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the powertrain system of Claim 8, further comprising:
a motor drive configured to supply an alternating current (AC) power (AC; citing, “phases of electrical current, such as three, five, six, or seven phases”; sec 0046) to the synchronous reluctance machine (motor-generators 12; sec 0034, 0068); and
wherein operating the synchronous reluctance machine (motor-generators 12; sec 0034, 0068) in accordance with the optimal set of values for the motor speed includes generating and sending, by the controller (sec 0044), a speed command to the motor drive (battery pack 22; sec 0035) to cause the motor drive to generate the alternating current (AC) power (AC; citing, “phases of electrical current, such as three, five, six, or seven phases”; sec 0046) to cause the synchronous reluctance machine to rotate the rotor (fig. 2; rotor 204; sec 0046) at the motor speed in accordance with the optimal set of values for the motor speed (sec 0036-0045).
Regarding claim 16, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the method of Claim 5, wherein the permanent magnet includes a rare Earth material (sec 0051, 0052).
Regarding claim 17, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the method of Claim 5, wherein each recess of the plurality of recesses includes:
a flat center section that extends in a generally annular orientation, and two straight wing portions each extending generally radially outwardly from respective ends of the flat center section (fig. 2; sec 0046-0051), wherein the permanent magnet is disposed in one of the straight wing portions (fig. 2; sec 0047-0053), and wherein the permanent magnet does not extend through the flat center section (fig. 2; sec 0047-0053).
Regarding claim 18, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the method of Claim 17, further including another permanent magnet disposed in another one of the straight wing portions of each recess of the plurality of recesses (fig. 2; sec 0047-0053).
Regarding claim 19, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the powertrain system of Claim 12, wherein the permanent magnet includes a rare Earth material (sec 0047-0053).
Regarding claim 20, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the powertrain system of Claim 12, wherein each recess of the plurality of recesses includes:
a flat center section that extends in a generally annular orientation, and two straight wing portions each extending generally radially outwardly from respective ends of the flat center section (fig. 2; sec 0046-0053), wherein the permanent magnet is disposed in one of the straight wing portions, and wherein the permanent magnet does not extend through the flat center section (fig. 2; sec 0046-0053).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argues that prior art does not disclose the limitations of the claims because the prior art, Fatemi discloses isolated disclosures of gear ratios and RPM. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant does not explain what the mean by, “isolated disclosures of gear ratios and RPM” because the claim does not call for the gear ratios and the RPM to be linked or isolated. The argument is not clear because the claim calls for “determining……, a plurality of different sets of values for a gear ratio” and also “determining, ………. a plurality of different sets of values for a motor speed of the synchronous reluctance machine”. The claim language did not call for, “determining multiple paired gear-ratio/motor-speed operating points for a given axle torque and output speed, comparing those paired sets, selecting an optimal paired set, or implementing both selected values as claimed” as insisted by the applicant. Rather the applicant is arguing about limitations that are not supported in the claims.
Applicant’s argument that the prior art controller, “….only generically governs vehicle components; it does not supply the missing claimed determination of plural paired values, selection of an optimal pair, or coordinated operation according to that selected pair” is respectfully believed to be flawed because the claim limitations do not call for, “determination of plural paired values” as insisted by the applicant. It is respectfully submitted that applicant’s argument are contrary to the last two paragraphs of claim 1 wherein the claim recites,
“operating the synchronous reluctance machine in accordance with the optimal set of values for the motor speed; and
operating the transmission in accordance with the optimal set of values for the gear ratio” showing that the claimed, “set of values for the motor speed” is separate from the claimed, “set of values for the gear ratio”.
Applicant’s further argument that the prior art does not disclose claims 17 and 20 is not convincing. The prior art fig. 2 is similar to the applicant’s fig. 1 both structurally and performance-wise.
As such the prior art reads on claim 17 and 20.
Regarding claim 17, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the method of Claim 5, wherein each recess of the plurality of recesses includes:
a flat center section that extends in a generally annular orientation, and two straight wing portions each extending generally radially outwardly from respective ends of the flat center section (fig. 2; sec 0046-0051), wherein the permanent magnet is disposed in one of the straight wing portions (fig. 2; sec 0047-0053), and wherein the permanent magnet does not extend through the flat center section (fig. 2; sec 0047-0053).
Regarding claim 18, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the method of Claim 17, further including another permanent magnet disposed in another one of the straight wing portions of each recess of the plurality of recesses (fig. 2; sec 0047-0053).
Regarding claim 19, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the powertrain system of Claim 12, wherein the permanent magnet includes a rare Earth material (sec 0047-0053).
Regarding claim 20, Fatemi (US Pub 20200195071) discloses the powertrain system of Claim 12, wherein each recess of the plurality of recesses includes:
a flat center section that extends in a generally annular orientation, and two straight wing portions each extending generally radially outwardly from respective ends of the flat center section (fig. 2; sec 0046-0053), wherein the permanent magnet is disposed in one of the straight wing portions, and wherein the permanent magnet does not extend through the flat center section (fig. 2; sec 0046-0053).
It is believed that the rejections are proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657