DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Priority
Application 19/108,847 filed on 03/05/2025 is a 371 of PCT/AU2023/050859 09/05/2023 and claims benefit of AUSTRALIA 2022902559 09/05/2022.
Examiner Request
The Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should Applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or § 112 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. The Examiner thanks the Applicant in advance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. (MPEP 2106). The claims are directed to a method and apparatus which is one of the statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES). The recitation of the claimed invention is analyzed as follows, in which the abstract elements are boldfaced.
Claim 1 recites the limitations of:
An automated computer implemented method to provide dynamic, adaptable and secure payment transaction interfaces based on a runtime environment, the method comprising: receiving, by a client device, a data object that comprises a transaction request;
executing, the data object, from an active application on the client device to trigger an adaptable transaction determination process, comprising: determining, the active application that triggered the adaptable transaction determination process;
detecting, a default payment mechanism associated with the active application; and
displaying, on the client device, the default payment mechanism on an adaptable transaction interface.
Claim 13 recites the limitations of:
A method to transmit a batch dynamic transaction request to a plurality of client devices, comprising: transmitting, via a server, a plurality of data objects to the plurality of client devices, wherein a data object of the plurality of data objects, upon execution on a client device is configured to:
detect, a runtime environment of an active application the data object is executed in;
determine, based on the detection of the runtime environment, the active application that the data object is executed in; and
detect, a default payment mechanism associated with the active application.
Claim 19 recites the limitations of:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied thereon a program, the program being executable by a processor to perform a method comprising: determining, an active application wherefrom a data object was executed; and
detecting, a default payment mechanism associated with the active application.
The claim as a whole recites a method that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data to facilitate payment transactions such as for splitting-bills and other payments. This is a fundamental economic practice of a financial transaction; a commercial interaction, such as for business relations; and managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, which are certain methods of organizing human activity.
Furthermore, the claims cover the use of a computer system to provide collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data to facilitate payment transactions such as for splitting-bills and other payments. As the steps could be performed by a human without a computer, the claim limitations fall within the mental processes grouping, and the claim recites an abstract idea.
Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea. (Step 2A, prong 1: YES).
Moreover, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Other than reciting a “computer”, “interfaces based on a runtime environment”, “a client device”, “an active application on the client device”, “an adaptable transaction interface”, “plurality of client devices”, “a server”, “a runtime environment of an active application”, and “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied thereon a program, the program being executable by a processor to perform a method comprising:”, to perform the steps of “executing”, “determining”, “detecting”, and “displaying”, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being a certain method for organizing human activity or mental process. The claim as a whole does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data to facilitate payment transactions such as for splitting-bills and other payments in a computer environment. The additional computer elements recited in the claim limitations are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception utilizing generic computer components.
For example, the Specification discloses “[0048] As used herein, the term "computing device" or "computer device" may refer to one or more electronic devices that are configured to directly or indirectly communicate with or over one or more networks. A computing device may be a mobile device, a desktop computer, and/or the like. As an example, a mobile device may include a cellular phone (e.g., a smartphone or standard cellular phone), a portable computer, a wearable device (e.g., watches, glasses, lenses, clothing, and/or the like), a personal digital assistant (PDA), and/or other like devices. The computing device may not be a mobile device, such as a desktop computer. Furthermore, the term "computer" may refer to any computing device that includes the necessary components to send, receive, process, and/or output data, and normally includes a display device, a processor, a memory, an input device, a network interface, and/or the like. [0049] As used herein, the term "server" may include one or more computing devices which can be individual, stand-alone machines located at the same or different locations, may be owned or operated by the same or different entities, and may further be one or more clusters of distributed computers or "virtual" machines housed within a data center. It should be understood and appreciated by a person of skill in the art that functions performed by one "server" can be spread across multiple disparate computing devices for various reasons. As used herein, a "server" is intended to refer to all such scenarios and should not be construed or limited to one specific configuration. Further, a server as described herein may, but need not reside at (or be operated by) a merchant, a payment network, a financial institution, a healthcare provider, a social media provider, a government agency, or agents of any of the aforementioned entities.”
Merely implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. The claim as a whole, in viewing the additional elements both individually and in combination, does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2A prong two: No)
The claim does not include additional elements, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of using “computer”, “interfaces based on a runtime environment”, “a client device”, “an active application on the client device”, “an adaptable transaction interface”, “plurality of client devices”, “a server”, “a runtime environment of an active application”, and “A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied thereon a program, the program being executable by a processor to perform a method comprising:”, to perform the steps of “executing”, “determining”, “detecting”, and “displaying”, amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer component. The claim merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of collecting, analyzing, and transmitting data to facilitate payment transactions such as for splitting-bills and other payments in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e. an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Such additional elements are determined to not contain an inventive concept according to MPEP 2106.05(f). It should be noted that (1) the “recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words “apply it”, and (2) “Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice, commercial interaction, or managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, mental process, or mathematical calculation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more”.
Dependent claims 2-12, 14-18, and 20 merely limit the abstract idea and do not recite any further additional elements beyond the cited abstract idea and the elements addressed above, thus, they do not amount to significantly more. The dependent claims are abstract for the reasons presented above because there are no additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. Thus, the dependent claims are directed to an abstract idea. (Step 2B: No)
Therefore, claims 1-20 are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Burnam, U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2022/0374846.
As per claim 1,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
An automated computer implemented method to provide dynamic, adaptable and secure payment transaction interfaces based on a runtime environment, the method comprising: receiving, by a client device, a data object that comprises a transaction request;
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0060] At step 446, the payment delegation server 120 may generate a delegation request for each delegate identified in the delegation information. The delegation request may be associated with the transaction being delegated and may include information, from the received delegation information, that pertains to the particular delegate." "[0061] At step 448, the payment delegation server 120 may generate a payment URL for each of the generated delegation requests." "[0061] In some instances, rather than include all of the aforementioned information in various URL parameters, the payment token itself, included in a parameter of the payment URL, may comprise a URL link to a script configured to request or retrieve the aforementioned information. For instance the payment token link may execute a script configured to request or retrieve, from the payment delegation server 120 or the database 130, some or all of the aforementioned information, such as from the stored delegation request. The payment URL may additionally execute a script configured to initiate a payment process from the delegate to the user. [0062] At step 450, the payment delegation server 120 may transmit the generated payment URLs back to the user computing device 140 for transmission to each of the corresponding delegates; and at step 452, the user computing device 140 may receive the generated payment URLs.")
executing, the data object, from an active application on the client device to trigger an adaptable transaction determination process, comprising: determining, the active application that triggered the adaptable transaction determination process;
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0065] At step 456, the delegate may receive the delegation message transmitted from the payment delegation server 120 at a device used by the delegate, such as the delegate computing device 150. For instance, the delegate computing device 150 may receive a delegation message, such as delegation message 500g shown in FIG. 5G. In the case where the delegate also has the banking application 111 installed at the delegate computing device 150 or has website access to the banking application 111, the delegation message may be output via a user interface of the banking application 111. Alternatively or additionally, the delegation message may be received as an email, a text, via social media, or the like." "[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed. Alternatively or additionally, the script may cause a request to be output at the delegate computing device 150 for the delegate to select a preferred payment method application for using in making payment to the user.")
detecting, a default payment mechanism associated with the active application; and
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed. Alternatively or additionally, the script may cause a request to be output at the delegate computing device 150 for the delegate to select a preferred payment method application for using in making payment to the user." "[0067] At step 460, the delegate computing device 150 may execute the application or website associated with the default or selected payment method, such as shown in FIG. 5H. The script may call one or more APIs for interfacing with the payment application or website.")
displaying, on the client device, the default payment mechanism on an adaptable transaction interface.
(Burnam US20220374846 at Fig. 5H, paras. 60-70) ("[0067] At step 460, the delegate computing device 150 may execute the application or website associated with the default or selected payment method, such as shown in FIG. 5H. The script may call one or more APIs for interfacing with the payment application or website. The script and/or the API may cause one or more fields associated with the payment application or website to be prepopulated with the payment information associated with the delegation request, such as a payment amount and recipient information identifying where payment should be made. The recipient information need not be sensitive financial information, such as a bank account or credit card number of the user, and instead may be information identifying the user who initiated the delegation request by an email address or a phone number associated with the user, which may later be used at a secure source device, such as the transaction server 110, to access the user's financial information. The delegate may adjust the prepopulated fields as needed. For instance the delegate may adjust the payment amount to enter a different amount.")
As per claim 2,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the determining the active application comprises: detecting a runtime environment or app container of the active application; and determining the active application based on the runtime environment or app container.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0065] At step 456, the delegate may receive the delegation message transmitted from the payment delegation server 120 at a device used by the delegate, such as the delegate computing device 150. For instance, the delegate computing device 150 may receive a delegation message, such as delegation message 500g shown in FIG. 5G. In the case where the delegate also has the banking application 111 installed at the delegate computing device 150 or has website access to the banking application 111, the delegation message may be output via a user interface of the banking application 111. Alternatively or additionally, the delegation message may be received as an email, a text, via social media, or the like." "[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed. Alternatively or additionally, the script may cause a request to be output at the delegate computing device 150 for the delegate to select a preferred payment method application for using in making payment to the user.")
As per claim 3,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: displaying a plurality of payment mechanisms in addition to the default payment mechanism.
(Burnam US20220374846 at Fig. 5H, paras. 60-70) ("[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed. Alternatively or additionally, the script may cause a request to be output at the delegate computing device 150 for the delegate to select a preferred payment method application for using in making payment to the user." "[0067] At step 460, the delegate computing device 150 may execute the application or website associated with the default or selected payment method, such as shown in FIG. 5H. The script may call one or more APIs for interfacing with the payment application or website. The script and/or the API may cause one or more fields associated with the payment application or website to be prepopulated with the payment information associated with the delegation request, such as a payment amount and recipient information identifying where payment should be made. The recipient information need not be sensitive financial information, such as a bank account or credit card number of the user, and instead may be information identifying the user who initiated the delegation request by an email address or a phone number associated with the user, which may later be used at a secure source device, such as the transaction server 110, to access the user's financial information. The delegate may adjust the prepopulated fields as needed. For instance the delegate may adjust the payment amount to enter a different amount.")
As per claim 4,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the adaptable transaction determination process further comprises: determining, installation status of a default payment application on the client device; and executing, the default payment application; based on the determining that the default application is installed on the client device.
(Burnam US20220374846 at Fig. 5H, paras. 60-70) ("[0065] At step 456, the delegate may receive the delegation message transmitted from the payment delegation server 120 at a device used by the delegate, such as the delegate computing device 150. For instance, the delegate computing device 150 may receive a delegation message, such as delegation message 500g shown in FIG. 5G. In the case where the delegate also has the banking application 111 installed at the delegate computing device 150 or has website access to the banking application 111, the delegation message may be output via a user interface of the banking application 111." "[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed.")
As per claim 5,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the determining of the installation status comprises calling a URI handler of the default application.
(Burnam US20220374846 at Fig. 5H, paras. 60-70) ("[0065] At step 456, the delegate may receive the delegation message transmitted from the payment delegation server 120 at a device used by the delegate, such as the delegate computing device 150. For instance, the delegate computing device 150 may receive a delegation message, such as delegation message 500g shown in FIG. 5G. In the case where the delegate also has the banking application 111 installed at the delegate computing device 150 or has website access to the banking application 111, the delegation message may be output via a user interface of the banking application 111." "[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed.")
As per claim 6,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the adaptable transaction determination process further comprises: detecting, an operating system of the client device; detecting available payment methods associated with the operating system, in response to detecting no default payment mechanism is associated with the active application; and setting at least one of the available payment methods as the default payment mechanism.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed. Alternatively or additionally, the script may cause a request to be output at the delegate computing device 150 for the delegate to select a preferred payment method application for using in making payment to the user." "[0067] At step 460, the delegate computing device 150 may execute the application or website associated with the default or selected payment method, such as shown in FIG. 5H. The script may call one or more APIs for interfacing with the payment application or website. The script and/or the API may cause one or more fields associated with the payment application or website to be prepopulated with the payment information associated with the delegation request, such as a payment amount and recipient information identifying where payment should be made. The recipient information need not be sensitive financial information, such as a bank account or credit card number of the user, and instead may be information identifying the user who initiated the delegation request by an email address or a phone number associated with the user, which may later be used at a secure source device, such as the transaction server 110, to access the user's financial information. The delegate may adjust the prepopulated fields as needed. For instance the delegate may adjust the payment amount to enter a different amount." "[0070] Referring to FIG. 4F, at step 466, upon receiving an indication at the delegate computing device 150 that the delegate has submitted payment, the delegate computing device 150 may transmit the payment transaction record to the payment processing system 160.")
As per claim 7,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the method further comprises: completing the transaction, via the default payment mechanism, in response to the transaction request.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed. Alternatively or additionally, the script may cause a request to be output at the delegate computing device 150 for the delegate to select a preferred payment method application for using in making payment to the user." "[0067] At step 460, the delegate computing device 150 may execute the application or website associated with the default or selected payment method, such as shown in FIG. 5H. The script may call one or more APIs for interfacing with the payment application or website. The script and/or the API may cause one or more fields associated with the payment application or website to be prepopulated with the payment information associated with the delegation request, such as a payment amount and recipient information identifying where payment should be made. The recipient information need not be sensitive financial information, such as a bank account or credit card number of the user, and instead may be information identifying the user who initiated the delegation request by an email address or a phone number associated with the user, which may later be used at a secure source device, such as the transaction server 110, to access the user's financial information. The delegate may adjust the prepopulated fields as needed. For instance the delegate may adjust the payment amount to enter a different amount." "[0070] Referring to FIG. 4F, at step 466, upon receiving an indication at the delegate computing device 150 that the delegate has submitted payment, the delegate computing device 150 may transmit the payment transaction record to the payment processing system 160.")
As per claim 8,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the completing the payment comprises: calling an API of the active application to initiate a payment via the default payment mechanism.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed. Alternatively or additionally, the script may cause a request to be output at the delegate computing device 150 for the delegate to select a preferred payment method application for using in making payment to the user." "[0070] Referring to FIG. 4F, at step 466, upon receiving an indication at the delegate computing device 150 that the delegate has submitted payment, the delegate computing device 150 may transmit the payment transaction record to the payment processing system 160.")
As per claim 9,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the data object comprises a weblink.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0065] Alternatively or additionally, the delegation message may be received as an email, a text, via social media, or the like. The delegation message may display the details of the delegation request and the payment URL. In some instances, the details of the delegation request may be displayed upon accessing the payment URL.")
As per claim 10,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the transaction request is a request to split a bill or payment.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 15-17) ("[0016] The user may make a selection of a transaction, via the banking application, and may request that the selected transaction be split amongst one or more other individuals. For instance, the user may wish to split the cost of a lunch purchased for himself and some friends. The user may select one or more contacts from his user device, or from an account, such as a social media account, associated with the user, or may enter contact information for individuals with whom he would like to split the selected transaction.")
As per claim 11,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the active application is at least one of a social media application, a browser, or a messaging application.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0065] Alternatively or additionally, the delegation message may be received as an email, a text, via social media, or the like. The delegation message may display the details of the delegation request and the payment URL. In some instances, the details of the delegation request may be displayed upon accessing the payment URL.")
As per claim 12,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the data object is transmitted as part of a batch request sent to multiple client devices.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0060] At step 446, the payment delegation server 120 may generate a delegation request for each delegate identified in the delegation information. The delegation request may be associated with the transaction being delegated and may include information, from the received delegation information, that pertains to the particular delegate." "[0061] At step 448, the payment delegation server 120 may generate a payment URL for each of the generated delegation requests.")
As per claim 13,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
A method to transmit a batch dynamic transaction request to a plurality of client devices, comprising: transmitting, via a server, a plurality of data objects to the plurality of client devices, wherein a data object of the plurality of data objects, upon execution on a client device is configured to:
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0060] At step 446, the payment delegation server 120 may generate a delegation request for each delegate identified in the delegation information. The delegation request may be associated with the transaction being delegated and may include information, from the received delegation information, that pertains to the particular delegate." "[0061] At step 448, the payment delegation server 120 may generate a payment URL for each of the generated delegation requests." "[0061] In some instances, rather than include all of the aforementioned information in various URL parameters, the payment token itself, included in a parameter of the payment URL, may comprise a URL link to a script configured to request or retrieve the aforementioned information. For instance the payment token link may execute a script configured to request or retrieve, from the payment delegation server 120 or the database 130, some or all of the aforementioned information, such as from the stored delegation request. The payment URL may additionally execute a script configured to initiate a payment process from the delegate to the user. [0062] At step 450, the payment delegation server 120 may transmit the generated payment URLs back to the user computing device 140 for transmission to each of the corresponding delegates; and at step 452, the user computing device 140 may receive the generated payment URLs.")
detect, a runtime environment of an active application the data object is executed in;
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0065] At step 456, the delegate may receive the delegation message transmitted from the payment delegation server 120 at a device used by the delegate, such as the delegate computing device 150. For instance, the delegate computing device 150 may receive a delegation message, such as delegation message 500g shown in FIG. 5G. In the case where the delegate also has the banking application 111 installed at the delegate computing device 150 or has website access to the banking application 111, the delegation message may be output via a user interface of the banking application 111. Alternatively or additionally, the delegation message may be received as an email, a text, via social media, or the like." "[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser.")
determine, based on the detection of the runtime environment, the active application that the data object is executed in; and
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed. Alternatively or additionally, the script may cause a request to be output at the delegate computing device 150 for the delegate to select a preferred payment method application for using in making payment to the user.")
detect, a default payment mechanism associated with the active application.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed. Alternatively or additionally, the script may cause a request to be output at the delegate computing device 150 for the delegate to select a preferred payment method application for using in making payment to the user." "[0067] At step 460, the delegate computing device 150 may execute the application or website associated with the default or selected payment method, such as shown in FIG. 5H. The script may call one or more APIs for interfacing with the payment application or website.")
As per claim 14,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
where the data object upon execution on the client device is further configured to: cause a displaying, on the client device, of the default payment mechanism on an adaptable transaction interface.
(Burnam US20220374846 at Fig. 5H, paras. 60-70) ("[0067] At step 460, the delegate computing device 150 may execute the application or website associated with the default or selected payment method, such as shown in FIG. 5H. The script may call one or more APIs for interfacing with the payment application or website. The script and/or the API may cause one or more fields associated with the payment application or website to be prepopulated with the payment information associated with the delegation request, such as a payment amount and recipient information identifying where payment should be made. The recipient information need not be sensitive financial information, such as a bank account or credit card number of the user, and instead may be information identifying the user who initiated the delegation request by an email address or a phone number associated with the user, which may later be used at a secure source device, such as the transaction server 110, to access the user's financial information. The delegate may adjust the prepopulated fields as needed. For instance the delegate may adjust the payment amount to enter a different amount.")
As per claim 15,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
where the data object upon execution on the client device is further configured to: complete a payment, via the default payment mechanism, in response to the batch dynamic transaction request.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed. Alternatively or additionally, the script may cause a request to be output at the delegate computing device 150 for the delegate to select a preferred payment method application for using in making payment to the user." "[0070] Referring to FIG. 4F, at step 466, upon receiving an indication at the delegate computing device 150 that the delegate has submitted payment, the delegate computing device 150 may transmit the payment transaction record to the payment processing system 160.")
As per claim 16,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
where the data object upon execution on the client device is further configured to: detect, an operating system of the client device; detect available payment methods associated with the operating system; and set the available payment methods as the default payment mechanism.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed. Alternatively or additionally, the script may cause a request to be output at the delegate computing device 150 for the delegate to select a preferred payment method application for using in making payment to the user." "[0067] At step 460, the delegate computing device 150 may execute the application or website associated with the default or selected payment method, such as shown in FIG. 5H. The script may call one or more APIs for interfacing with the payment application or website.")
As per claim 17,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the data object comprises a weblink.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0065] Alternatively or additionally, the delegation message may be received as an email, a text, via social media, or the like. The delegation message may display the details of the delegation request and the payment URL. In some instances, the details of the delegation request may be displayed upon accessing the payment URL.")
As per claim 18,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the active application is at least one of a social media application, a browser, and a messaging application.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0065] Alternatively or additionally, the delegation message may be received as an email, a text, via social media, or the like. The delegation message may display the details of the delegation request and the payment URL. In some instances, the details of the delegation request may be displayed upon accessing the payment URL.")
As per claim 19,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having embodied thereon a program, the program being executable by a processor to perform a method comprising: determining, an active application wherefrom a data object was executed; and detecting, a default payment mechanism associated with the active application.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed. Alternatively or additionally, the script may cause a request to be output at the delegate computing device 150 for the delegate to select a preferred payment method application for using in making payment to the user." "[0067] At step 460, the delegate computing device 150 may execute the application or website associated with the default or selected payment method, such as shown in FIG. 5H. The script may call one or more APIs for interfacing with the payment application or website.")
As per claim 20,
Burnam explicitly teaches:
wherein the embodied program is executable to perform a method further comprising at least one of the following: detecting, an application container or framework of the active application; completing a payment, via the default payment mechanism; displaying on a client device an adaptable transaction interface to facilitate a payment via the default payment mechanism; detecting an installation status of a default application on the client device; detecting, upon determination that the default application is not installed on the client device, an operating system of the client device; detecting available payment methods associated with the operating system; and calling an API of the active application to initiate a payment via the default payment mechanism.
(Burnam US20220374846 at paras. 60-70) ("[0066] At step 458, if the delegate decides the accept the delegation request, the delegate may access the payment URL by clicking on the link displayed in the delegation message, such as link 529 shown in FIG. 5G, or by copying and pasting the link into a web browser. Accessing the link may cause a payment process to be initiated for submitting payment from the delegate to the requesting user. For instance, accessing the link may trigger the execution of a script at the delegate computing device 150. The script may cause an application or website associated with a default payment method associated with the delegate computing device 150 to be identified and executed. Alternatively or additionally, the script may cause a request to be output at the delegate computing device 150 for the delegate to select a preferred payment method application for using in making payment to the user." "[0070] Referring to FIG. 4F, at step 466, upon receiving an indication at the delegate computing device 150 that the delegate has submitted payment, the delegate computing device 150 may transmit the payment transaction record to the payment processing system 160.")
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is available for review on Form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
/MERRITT J HASBROUCK/Examiner, Art Unit 3695
/CHRISTINE M Tran/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3695