DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
1. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted and are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. According, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Objection
2. Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 3, line 4, “second which” should be changed to --- second switch ---.
Examiner Notes
3. Examiner cites particular paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR- 20190139066; hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a battery pack voltage measurement circuit (a voltage measuring device in Fig. 2), comprising: a relay circuit (SW1-SW3) controlling battery pack voltage measurement; first and second branches (three branches, at nodes N1-N3, comprise resistors R1-R3 and configure to receive a battery package voltage from a positive input terminal of a battery pack 10, see Fig. 2) provided between a battery pack voltage input terminal (a positive input terminal of the battery pack 10) and the relay circuit (see Fig. 2), wherein a battery pack voltage (10) is branched into different paths along the first and second branches according to the battery pack voltage (see Fig. 2); and a voltage distributor (a voltage divider forms by resistors R2, R3) configured to divide the battery pack voltage supplied through the relay circuit and output the divided battery pack voltage to an output terminal (an output terminal at node N4).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the battery pack voltage measurement circuit of claim 1, wherein the first branch comprises a first resistor (R1) and a first switch (SW1) connected in series between the battery pack voltage input terminal and the relay circuit (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the battery pack voltage measurement circuit of claim 2, wherein the second branch comprises a second resistor (R2) and a second switch (SW2) connected in series between the battery pack voltage input terminal and the relay circuit, and wherein the second resistor and second which are connected in parallel with the first resistor and the first switch (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses a battery pack voltage measurement circuit (a voltage measuring device in Fig. 2), comprising: a first branch (a first branch such as a branch at node N1 including a resistor R1) positioned to provide a first electrical path between a battery pack voltage input terminal (a positive input terminal of the battery pack 10) and a first node (N5) for a first battery pack voltage (see Fig. 2); a second branch (a second branch such as a branch at node N2 including a resistor R2) positioned to provide a second electrical path between the battery pack voltage input terminal (a positive input terminal of the battery pack 10) and the first node (N5) for a second battery pack voltage, wherein the second branch is in parallel with the first branch (see Fig. 2); a relay circuit (SW1-SW2) disposed between the first node (N5) and a second node (any nodes such as N1, N2. See Fig. 2) and configured to control measurement of a battery pack voltage according to a switching operation; and a voltage distributor (a voltage divider forms by resistors R2, R3) disposed between the second node and a ground terminal (G terminal), and configured to divide a battery pack voltage supplied through the first or second branch and the relay circuit and to output the divided voltage to an output terminal (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the battery pack voltage measurement circuit of claim 8, wherein the first branch comprises a first resistor (R1) and a first switch (SW1) connected in series between the battery pack voltage input terminal and the first node.
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the battery pack voltage measurement circuit of claim 9, wherein the second branch comprises a second resistor (R2) and a second switch (SW2) connected in series between the battery pack voltage input terminal and the first node.
6. Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sang-Hyeok Ham (US-20220203838; hereinafter “Ham”).
Regarding claim 1, Ham discloses, in Fig. 1, a battery pack voltage measurement circuit (an electric leakage detection circuit 100 for determining occurrence of an electric leakage of a battery pack 10 based on a voltage measured by the analog-digital converter in an electric leakage detection mode), comprising: a relay circuit (S2-S3, or 122, 142) controlling battery pack voltage measurement; first and second branches (two branches, at node N3, comprise resistors 121 and 141 and configure to receive a battery package voltage from a positive input terminal N3 of a battery pack 10, see Fig. 1) provided between a battery pack voltage input terminal (a positive input terminal N3 of the battery pack 10) and the relay circuit (see Fig. 1), wherein a battery pack voltage (10) is branched into different paths along the first and second branches according to the battery pack voltage (see Fig. 1); and a voltage distributor (a voltage divider forms by resistors 131, 132) configured to divide the battery pack voltage supplied through the relay circuit and output the divided battery pack voltage to an output terminal (an output terminal at node N2 to the ADC 150).
Regarding claim 8, Ham discloses a battery pack voltage measurement circuit (an electric leakage detection circuit 100 for determining occurrence of an electric leakage of a battery pack 10 based on a voltage measured by the analog-digital converter in an electric leakage detection mode), comprising: a first branch (a first branch such as a branch at node N3 including a resistor 121) positioned to provide a first electrical path between a battery pack voltage input terminal (a positive input terminal N3 of the battery pack 10) and a first node (N2) for a first battery pack voltage (see Fig. 1); a second branch (a second branch such as a branch at node N3 including a resistor 141) positioned to provide a second electrical path between the battery pack voltage input terminal (N3) and the first node (N2) for a second battery pack voltage, wherein the second branch is in parallel with the first branch (see Fig. 2); a relay circuit (S2-S3) disposed between the first node (N2) and a second node (N3) and configured to control measurement of a battery pack voltage according to a switching operation; and a voltage distributor (a voltage divider forms by resistors 131, 132) disposed between the second node and a ground terminal (a ground terminal 2), and configured to divide a battery pack voltage supplied through the first or second branch and the relay circuit and to output the divided voltage to an output terminal (see Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jong Kim (KR20140136845 cited from IDS; hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Moon et al. (US-20200153055 cited from IDS; hereinafter “Moon”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses, in Fig. 3, a battery pack voltage measurement circuit (3), comprising: a relay circuit (21) controlling battery pack voltage measurement; a first branch (SW1, R1, R2) provided between a battery pack voltage input terminal (a positive terminal of a battery pack 1) and the relay circuit, and supplying the branched voltage to the relay unit; and a voltage distributor (40) configured to divide the battery pack voltage supplied through the relay circuit (resistors R1-R3, or R6-R8 formed a battery voltage divider) and output the divided battery pack voltage to an output terminal (at an output of the amplifier 41).
Kim does not disclose that a second branch provided between the battery pack
voltage input terminal and the relay circuit, and branching a battery pack voltage
into different paths along the first and second branches according to the battery pack voltage.
Moon discloses, for the same technical problem of reducing leakage currents in a battery voltage sensing circuit at high/varying battery voltages, the use of multiple selectable/switchable resistor paths (branching paths) between the battery terminals and the sensing/relay circuitry, explicitly to minimize leakage while maintaining sensing functionality (see Figs. 6A-7B, 11, 12;
and corresponding paragraphs of the description).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the battery voltage measurement circuit of Kim by a second branch and branching a battery pack voltage into different paths along the first and second branches according to the battery pack voltage as taught by Moon for purpose of ensuring quick, precise and stable charging of battery cells, prevent and/or reduces performance deterioration of or damage to battery since protection circuit module performs pre-cutoff function, reducing magnitude of leakage current from battery cell to sensing circuit since current is transferred through first path corresponding to relatively high resistance and allow measurement of voltage of battery cell through path which may reduce leakage current when battery is over-discharged while preventing extra discharging of battery.
Regarding claim 2, Kim and Moon disclose the battery pack voltage measurement circuit of claim 1, Kim further teaches wherein the first branch comprises a first resistor (R1) and a first switch (SW1) connected in series between the battery pack voltage input terminal and the relay circuit (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Moon disclose the battery pack voltage measurement circuit of claim 2, Moon further teaches wherein the second branch comprises a second resistor (such as 623 in Fig. 6A of Moon) and a second switch (622 in Fig. 6A of Moon) connected in series between the battery pack voltage input terminal and the relay circuit, and wherein the second resistor and second which are connected in parallel with the first resistor and the first switch (see Fig. 3 of Kim in view Fig. 6A of Moon). Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses, in Fig. 3, a battery pack voltage measurement circuit (3), comprising: a first branch (SW1, R1, R2) positioned to provide a first electrical path between a battery pack voltage input terminal (a positive terminal of a battery pack 1) and a first node (a first node such as a node at a shared connection of SW3, SW5 and C) for a first battery pack voltage; a relay circuit (21) disposed between the first node and a second node and configured to control measurement of a battery pack voltage according to a switching operation (see Fig. 3); and
a voltage distributor (40) disposed between the second node and a ground terminal, and configured to divide a battery pack voltage (resistors R1-R3, R6-R8 formed a battery voltage divider) supplied through the first or second branch and the relay circuit and to output the divided voltage to an output terminal (at an output of the amplifier 41).
Kim does not disclose that a second branch positioned to provide a second electrical path between the battery pack voltage input terminal and the first node for a second battery pack voltage, wherein the second branch is in parallel with the first branch.
Moon discloses, for the same technical problem of reducing leakage currents in a battery voltage sensing circuit at high/varying battery voltages, the use of multiple selectable/switchable resistor paths (branching paths) between the battery terminals and the sensing/relay circuitry, explicitly to minimize leakage while maintaining sensing functionality (see Figs. 6A-7B, 11, 12;
and corresponding paragraphs of the description).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the battery voltage measurement circuit of Kim by a second branch and branching a battery pack voltage into different paths along the first and second branches according to the battery pack voltage as taught by Moon for purpose of ensuring quick, precise and stable charging of battery cells, prevent and/or reduces performance deterioration of or damage to battery since protection circuit module performs pre-cutoff function, reducing magnitude of leakage current from battery cell to sensing circuit since current is transferred through first path corresponding to relatively high resistance and allow measurement of voltage of battery cell through path which may reduce leakage current when battery is over-discharged while preventing extra discharging of battery.
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Moon disclose the battery pack voltage measurement circuit of claim 8, Kim further teaches wherein the first branch comprises a first resistor (R1) and a first switch (SW1) connected in series between the battery pack voltage input terminal and the first node (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Kim and Moon disclose the battery pack voltage measurement circuit of claim 9, wherein the second branch comprises a second resistor (such as 623 in Fig. 6A of Moon) and a second switch (622 in Fig. 6A of Moon) connected in series between the battery pack voltage input terminal and the first node switch (see Fig. 3 of Kim in view Fig. 6A of Moon).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 4-7 and 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the cited references, alone or in combination, do not disclose nor fairly suggest:
“ … the relay circuit comprises a relay switch and a third resistor connected in parallel to one another, wherein the relay switch and the third resistor are positioned between (i) a connection point of the relay circuit to the first and second branches and (ii) the voltage distribution unit” in combination with all other elements as claimed in claim 1. Regarding claim 11, the cited references, alone or in combination, do not disclose nor fairly suggest:
“ …the relay circuit comprises a relay switch and a third resistor connected in parallel to one another, wherein the relay switch and the third resistor are positioned between the first node and the second node” in combination with all other elements as claimed in claim 8.
Prior Art of Record
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kawanaka (U.S Pub. 20170160334) discloses a battery voltage monitoring circuit (see specification for more details). Sun (U.S Pub. 20190064280) discloses a battery voltage detection circuit (see specification for more details).
Kobayashi (U.S Pub. 20040051534) discloses a battery voltage detection circuit(see specification for more details).
Conclusion
/THANG X LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
10/12/2026