DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Izuka reference (WO 2021/065671 A1) in view of Kinuhata reference (WO 2020/039621 A1).
4. Regarding claim 1, the Izuka reference discloses:
a vehicle control system (23) mounted on a vehicle, comprising:
a forward situation detection device (38) configured to detect a situation ahead of the vehicle [Paragraph beginning with “The external detection means includes”--When photographing the front]; a vibration source configured to generate vibration to be transmitted to a driver of the vehicle [Paragraph beginning with “When the first flag is set”—vibrating the contact part of the body]; and
a controlling unit (23) configured to, for each degree of urgency obtained by using information detected by the forward situation detection device [Paragraph beginning with “When the first flag is set”—first degree is display, second degree is vibration], execute control of changing a state of the vibration of the vibration source to a state corresponding to the degree of the urgency [Paragraph beginning with “When the first flag is set”—vibrating the contact part of the body from no vibration is changing the state].
The Izuka reference discloses the invention as essentially claimed. However, the Izuka reference fails to disclose wherein the vibration source is at least one of a group consisting of an engine that is a driving source of the vehicle, an electric motor that is the driving source, a brake of the vehicle, a vibration device causing a handle of the vehicle to vibrate, a vibration device causing a seat of the vehicle to vibrate, and a vibration device causing a step of the vehicle to vibrate and wherein in the control, the controlling unit changes a return period of return from a reduced operating state in which an output of the driving source is reduced to a normal operating state in which the output is not reduced in accordance with the degree of the urgency, to change the state of the vibration of the driving source to the state corresponding to the degree of the urgency.
The Kinuhata reference teaches it is conventional in the art of vehicles to provide as taught in [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0015] wherein the vibration source (9) is at least one of a group consisting of an engine that is driving source of the vehicle, and electric motor that is the driving source, a brake of the vehicle, a vibration device (9A, 9B) causing a handle (22) of the vehicle to vibrate, a vibration device causing a seat of the vehicle to vibrate, and a vibration device causing a step of the vehicle to vibrate and wherein the control (2), the controlling unit (2) changes a return period of return from a reduced operating state in which an output of the driving source is reduced to a normal operating state in which the output is not reduced in accordance with the accordance with the degree of the urgency, to change the state of the vibration of the driving source to the state corresponding to the degree of the urgency [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0010 & Paragraph 0015—the vibrator 9 may be vibrated in a vibrational pattern according to the degree of urgency]. Such configurations/structures would allow dangerous place information [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0015—Paragraph 0017].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Izuka reference, such that the system further includes wherein the vibration source is at least one of a group consisting of an engine that is a driving source of the vehicle, an electric motor that is the driving source, a brake of the vehicle, a vibration device causing a handle of the vehicle to vibrate, a vibration device causing a seat of the vehicle to vibrate, and a vibration device causing a step of the vehicle to vibrate and wherein in the control, the controlling unit changes a return period of return from a reduced operating state in which an output of the driving source is reduced to a normal operating state in which the output is not reduced in accordance with the degree of the urgency, to change the state of the vibration of the driving source to the state corresponding to the degree of the urgency, as clearly suggested and taught by the Kinuhata reference, in order to allow dangerous place information [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0015—Paragraph 0017].
5. Regarding claim 4, the Izuka reference fails to disclose:
wherein in the control, the controlling unit makes the return period shorter as the degree of the urgency becomes higher, to make a change period at which the state of the vibration of the driving source is changed to the state corresponding to the degree of the urgency shorter.
The Kinuhata reference teaches it is conventional in the art of vehicles to provide as taught in [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0015] wherein in the control, the controlling unit makes the return period shorter as the degree of the urgency becomes higher [Detailed Description, Paragraphs 0010 & 0015—vibrated in a vibration pattern according to the degree of urgency—this is applying a known technique (change the vibration pattern length in response to degree of urgency, to a known device a vibrator on the handle of a vehicle, ready for improvement—shorter when urgency higher—to yield predictable results—to communicate a message]Such configurations/structures would allow dangerous place information [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0015—Paragraph 0017] to make a change period at which the state of the vibration of the driving source is changed to the state corresponding to the degree of the urgency shorter [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0015—Paragraph 0017].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Izuka reference, such that the system further includes wherein in the control, the controlling unit makes the return period shorter as the degree of the urgency becomes higher, to make a change period at which the state of the vibration of the driving source is changed to the state corresponding to the degree of the urgency shorter, as clearly suggested and taught by the Kinuhata reference, in order to allow dangerous place information [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0015—Paragraph 0017].
6. Regarding claim 5, the Izuka reference fails to disclose:
wherein in the control, the controlling unit makes a length of time during which the reduced operating state is exhibited longer as the degree of the urgency becomes higher.
The Kinuhata reference teaches it is conventional in the art of vehicles to provide as taught in [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0015] wherein in the control, the controlling unit makes the reduced operating state is exhibited longer as the degree of the urgency becomes higher [Detailed Description, Paragraphs 0010 & 0015—vibrated in a vibration pattern according to the degree of urgency—this is applying a known technique (change the reduced operating state in response to degree of urgency, to a known device a vibrator on the handle of a vehicle, ready for improvement—longer when urgency higher—to yield predictable results—to communicate a message]. Such configurations/structures would allow dangerous place information [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0015—Paragraph 0017].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Izuka reference, such that the system further includes wherein in the control, the controlling unit makes a length of time during which the reduced operating state is exhibited longer as the degree of the urgency becomes higher, as clearly suggested and taught by the Kinuhata reference, in order to allow dangerous place information [Detailed Description, Paragraph 0015—Paragraph 0017].
7. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Izuka reference in view of Lars reference (JP 2020-090203 A).
8. Regarding claim 9, the Izuka reference fails to disclose:
wherein, when the driver has an intention to decelerate, the controlling unit prohibits execution of the control.
The Lars reference teaches it is conventional in the art of vehicles to provide as taught in [Paragraph 0046] wherein, when the driver has an intention to decelerate, the controlling unit prohibits execution of the control [Paragraph 0046]. Such configurations/structures would allow rider’s comfort to be improved [Paragraph 0046].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art by the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the Izuka reference, such that the system further includes wherein, when the driver has an intention to decelerate, the controlling unit prohibits execution of the control, as clearly suggested and taught by the Lars reference, in order to allow rider’s comfort to be improved [Paragraph 0046].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHARLES JOSEPH BRAUCH/
Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747