Claim Objections
Claim 28 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the positions” in line 3 should read “the plurality of positions”, “said positions” in line 6 should read “said plurality of positions”, “each position” in line 7 should read “each of said plurality of positions”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 43 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the positions” in line 5 should read “the plurality of positions”, “said positions” in line 8 should read “said plurality of positions”, “each position” in line 9 should read “each of said plurality of positions”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 44 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the positions” in line 3 should read “the plurality of positions”, “said positions” in line 6 should read “said plurality of positions”, “each position” in line 7 should read “each of said plurality of positions”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 44 is objected to because of the following informalities: “codes” in line 1 should read “code”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 28 recites at line 3 “a plurality of positions”. Claim 28 further recites at lines 17-18 “a plurality of positions”. Claim 28 also recites at lines 21 and 22 “the plurality of positions”. It is unclear as to which of the above recitals of “a plurality of positions” recited at lines 3 and 17-18, the recitals of “the plurality of positions” recited at lines 21-22 refers to? Amendments/clarification are required. Claims 29-42 depend directly or indirectly on claim 28, therefore they are rejected.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the one or more two-dimensional codes" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 40-42 depends on claim 39, therefore they are rejected.
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 43 recites at line 4-5 “a plurality of positions”. Claim 43 further recites at lines 21-22 “a plurality of positions”. Claim 43 also recites at line 25 “the plurality of positions”. It is unclear as to which of the above recitals of “a plurality of positions” recited at lines 4-5 and 21-22, the recitals of “the plurality of positions” recited at line 25 refers to? Amendments/clarification are required.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 44 recites at line 1 “a two-dimensional codes”. Claim 44 further recites at lines 16-18 “the one or more two-dimensional codes”. It is unclear as to whether a single two-dimensional code is generated as recited at line 1 or “the one or more two-dimensional codes are being referred as recited at lines 16-18?. Amendments/clarification are required.
Claim 44 recites the limitation "the one or more two-dimensional codes" in lines 16-18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28 and 39-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noth et al., (US20200369462) hereafter Noth (Single reference 103 as the claimed limitations are shown/disclosed in multiple figs/embodiments).
1. Regarding claim 28, Noth discloses a method (figs 2B, 4B, 5, 6A, 7, paras 0079, 0171-0176 shows and discloses a method to decode a two-dimensional code) to decode a two-dimensional code, the two-dimensional code comprising:
a plurality of positions, the positions represented by identical geometric shapes arranged adjacently on a plurality of concentric circles, the plurality of concentric circles having a common center and being arranged substantially on a two-dimensional plane, each of said positions indicating presence of a symbol or (figs 2B, 4B, 5 shows and discloses a plurality of positions 82, the positions represented by identical geometric shapes (black solid dots) arranged adjacently on a plurality of concentric circles (circular encoding lines 90 as seen in fig 4B and 5), the plurality of concentric circles having a common center (center 102) and being arranged substantially on a two-dimensional plane (104), each of said positions indicating presence of a symbol or (i.e data portion 78 comprising data units 82 representing a value as described in paras 0114-0115 and 0117 and 0128-0133)
; and
a first reference pattern portion including a set of the plurality of positions indicating at least the common center, wherein the first reference pattern portion comprises all positions along an inner most circle (fig 4B paras 0107-0108 shows and discloses a first reference pattern portion 80 including a set of the plurality of positions 88 indicating at least the common center 102, wherein the first reference pattern portion comprises all positions along an inner most circle as seen in fig 4B) of the plurality of concentric circles (90 as seen in fig 4B), wherein all positions along the inner most circle indicate presence of a symbol (as seen in fig 4B and 5); and wherein the method comprises:
obtaining an image depicting a scene comprising the two-dimensional code (figs 1b, 2B, 4A and paras 0172, 0174 discloses obtaining an image depicting a scene comprising the two-dimensional code 74);
identifying a common center of a plurality of concentric circles (figs 4B, 5, paras 0108, 0179 discloses determining a common center 102 amongst a plurality of concentric circles 90 (fig 4B));
identify a rotation of the two-dimensional code (para 0178 discloses determining an orientation (i.e rotation) of the code and para 0115 discloses clockwise direction meeting the claim limitations);
identify a presence of a symbol or
paras 0115-0123 shows and discloses identify a presence of a symbol or ; and
decoding the two-dimensional code by mapping the presence of a symbol or (fig 4B, 5 and paras 0124 shows and discloses the reliable decoding of the code 74 having the encoded value in the sequence data units 84 (seen in fig 5) meeting the claim limitations). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, different figs/embodiments in Noth are combinable. The suggestion/motivation would be an efficient method/system (para 0009).
2. Regarding claim 39 as best understood by the examiner, Noth discloses the method according to claim 28, wherein a subset of the plurality of positions are indicative of a rotational reference of the plurality of positions around the common center, wherein identify a rotational reference comprises detecting the position of the rotational reference of the one or more two-dimensional codes in fig 5.
3. Regarding claim 40 as best understood by the examiner, Noth discloses the method according to claim 39, wherein the rotational reference is one or more reference positions arranged on at least one circle of the plurality of concentric circles as seen in fig 5
4. Regarding claim 41 as best understood by the examiner, Noth discloses the method according to claim 40, wherein the one or more reference positions are arranged on at least two of the plurality of concentric circles along a line intersecting the common center (figs 4B and 5 shows wherein the one or more reference positions are arranged on at least two of the plurality of concentric circles along a line intersecting the common center).
5. Regarding claim 42 as best understood by the examiner, Noth discloses the method according to claim 39, wherein the rotational reference is one or more reference positions arranged on at least one circle of the plurality of concentric circles, wherein the one or more reference positions are indicative of a predefined sequence of presence of a symbol or
as seen in fig 5.
6. Claim 43 is a corresponding device claim of claim 28. See the corresponding explanation of claim 28. Noth discloses the device comprising: processing circuitry; and a memory, said memory containing instructions executable by said processing circuitry to perform the functions of claim 43 in figs 2A-2B and in para 0027.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noth in view of Akiyama (US20100230493) hereafter Akiyama.
7. Regarding claim 30, Noth discloses the method according to claim 28, wherein decoding the two-dimensional code (fig 4B, 5 and paras 0124 shows and discloses the reliable decoding of the code 74 having the encoded value in the sequence data units 84 (seen in fig 5) of the obtained image meeting the claim limitations). Noth, however, fail to disclose further applying a mask to the obtained image.
Akiyama discloses further comprise applying a mask to the obtained image (fig 2, para 0068, 0108 discloses filtering processing by a mask to the obtain barcode image meeting the limitations of further applying a mask to the obtained image). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, Noth and Akiyama are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be a method/system with an enhanced quality image and barcode detection at paras 0007-0008. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of Akiyama in the method of Noth to obtain the invention as specified in claim 30.
Claims 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noth in view of Nakazawa et al. (US20030116628) hereafter Nakazawa.
8. Regarding claim 34, Noth discloses the method according to claim 28. Noth discloses (paras 0086-0087 discloses an image processing device 92 operable to process said digital data (i.e captured image of the code 74 as seen in fig 2B) to decode and output the decode information to the output device (i.e obviously an enhanced image), examiner notes that the specifics of “enhanced image” are not required by the current claim). Noth however is silent and fail to disclose further comprising generating an enhanced image by performing image processing on the obtained image.
Nakazawa discloses further comprising generating an enhanced image by performing image processing on the obtained image (fig 1 shows and image processing circuit 4 and fig 2 steps 102-103 discloses correction of the barcode image (i.e generating an enhanced image) for the final decoding at step 104 meeting the above claim limitations, examiner notes that the specifics of “generating an enhanced image” are not required by the current claim). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, Noth and Nakazawa are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be a compact, low price and high-speed method/device at paras 0009, 0016. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of Nakazawa in the method of Noth to obtain the invention as specified in claim 34.
9. Regarding claim 35, Noth and Nakazawa disclose the method according to claim 34. Noth discloses (paras 0085 and 0102 discloses wherein the image processing obviously comprises contrast adjustment) and Nakazawa discloses wherein the image processing comprises contrast/brightness adjustment (para 0040 discloses wherein the image processing comprises contrast/brightness adjustment). Noth and Nakazawa together would therefore meet the limitations of claim 35.
10. Regarding claim 36, Noth and Nakazawa discloses the method according to claim 34. Noth discloses (para 0174 discloses image processing obviously comprises symbol size correction) and Nakazawa discloses wherein the image processing comprises symbol size correction (fig 3 steps B-D and fig 4 shows and discloses wherein the image processing comprises symbol size correction, examiner notes that the specifics of size correction are not required by the current claim). Noth and Nakazawa together would therefore meet the limitations of claim 36.
11. Regarding claim 37, Noth and Nakazawa disclose the method according to claim 34. Noth discloses (fig 5 and paras 0017, 0107 discloses wherein the image processing obviously comprises angle and Nakazawa discloses wherein the image processing comprises angle and/or projection correction (para 0036 and fig 4 discloses wherein the image processing comprises angle and/or projection correction). Noth and Nakazawa together would therefore meet the limitations of claim 37.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noth in view of Calhoon et al. (US20160267620) hereafter Calhoon.
12. Regarding claim 44 as best understood by the examiner, Noth discloses a method (figs 2B, 4B, 5, 6A, 7, paras 0079, 0171-0176 shows and discloses a method to generate and decode a two-dimensional code) to generate a two-dimensional codes, the two-dimensional code comprising: a plurality of positions, the positions represented by identical geometric shapes arranged adjacently on a plurality of concentric circles, the plurality of concentric circles having a common center and being arranged substantially on a two-dimensional plane, each of said positions indicating presence of a symbol or (figs 2B, 4B, 5 shows and discloses a plurality of positions 82, the positions represented by identical geometric shapes (black solid dots) arranged adjacently on a plurality of concentric circles (circular encoding lines 90 as seen in fig 4B and 5), the plurality of concentric circles having a common center (center 102) and being arranged substantially on a two-dimensional plane (104), each of said positions indicating presence of a symbol or (i.e data portion 78 comprising data units 82 representing a value as described in paras 0114-0115 and 0117 and 0128-0133)
; and
a first reference pattern portion including a set of the plurality of positions indicating at least the common center, wherein the first reference pattern portion comprises all positions along an inner most circle (fig 4B paras 0107-0108 shows and discloses a first reference pattern portion 80 including a set of the plurality of positions 88 indicating at least the common center 102, wherein the first reference pattern portion comprises all positions along an inner most circle as seen in fig 4B) of the plurality of concentric circles (90 as seen in fig 4B), wherein all positions along the inner most circle indicate presence of a symbol (as seen in fig 4B and 5); the method comprising for each of the plurality of positions of the one or more two-dimensional codes using the identified common center and identified rotation and generating the one or more two-dimensional codes by generating the symbols mapped as presence of a symbol on a surface as seen in fig 5.
. Noth discloses decoding the two dimensional code decoding by mapping the presence of a symbol or (fig 4B, 5 and paras 0124 shows and discloses the reliable decoding of the code 74 having the encoded value in the sequence data units 84 (seen in fig 5). Noth, however, is silent and fail to disclose the method comprising: obtaining payload data; mapping the payload data to a presence of a symbol or an absence of a symbol.
Calhoon discloses the method comprising: obtaining payload data; mapping the payload data to a presence of a symbol (Para 0049 discloses the captured image data can likewise be analyzed to detect the presence of a barcode (1D or 2D), and decode (mapping) its payload meet in the above claim limitations). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, Noth and Calhoon are combinable because they are from the same field of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be an efficient system/method at para 0112. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of Calhoon in the method of Noth to obtain the invention as specified in claim 44.
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited figures, and paragraphs in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested for the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Examiner has also cited references in PTO892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicant is advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Conclusion
/JAYESH PATEL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2677
/JAYESH A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677