DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the sensor electronics” should be -the central sensor electronics--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the word "particularly" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the word are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the belt reel" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the non-locking signal" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the signal" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the detected signal" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Midorikawa (U.S. 2006/0097505).
Regarding claims 11-14, Midorikawa disclose a vehicle occupant restraint system comprising central sensor electronics (24) which can generate a locking signal; at least one belt retractor (4) which includes an electromechanical locking system (17); drive electronics (12) which is assigned to and can activate the locking system (17) of the belt retractor (4) in reaction to a locking signal; a bus system (26, 27) to which the sensor electronics (24) and the drive electronics (12) are connected; and a line (28) separate from the bus system (26, 27) which connects the drive electronics (12) to the sensor electronics (24), wherein the drive electronics (12) is assigned to plural belt retractors (4), wherein the belt retractor (12) includes a reversible belt tensioning mechanism (23), wherein the drive electronics (12) also serves to drive the reversible belt tensioning mechanism (23).
Regarding claims 16-17, Midorikawa discloses a method of controlling at least one belt retractor (4) of a vehicle occupant restraint system comprising the following steps: a vehicle acceleration (35) is detected by sensor electronics (24); if the vehicle acceleration exceeds a predetermined threshold or curve, a locking signal (18) is transmitted via a bus system (26, 27) and via a line (28) separate from the bus system (16) to drive electronics which is assigned to an electromechanical locking system of the belt retractor (4), the electromechanical locking system (17) then locks a belt reel (15), wherein the locking signal is voltage-coded (voltage value).
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Midorikawa (U.S. 2006/0087108).
Midorikawa disclose a vehicle occupant restraint system comprising central sensor electronics (16) which can generate a locking signal; at least one belt retractor (12) which includes an electromechanical locking system (102); drive electronics (108) which is assigned to and can activate the locking system (102) of the belt retractor (12) in reaction to a locking signal (instruction signal in paragraph 0048); a bus system (304, 305) to which the sensor electronics (16) and the drive electronics (108) are connected; and a line (see fig. 7) separate from the bus system (304, 305) which connects the drive electronics (108) to the sensor electronics (16), wherein the sensor electronics (14) is also used to drive an airbag system (20).
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Midorikawa (U.S. 8,893,998).
Midorikawa disclose a vehicle occupant restraint system comprising central sensor electronics (14) which can generate a locking signal; at least one belt retractor (100) which includes an electromechanical locking system (4); drive electronics (5) which is assigned to and can activate the locking system (4) of the belt retractor (100) in reaction to a locking signal (from distance measuring sensor); a bus system (input/output interface) to which the sensor electronics and the drive electronics (5) are connected; and a line (line connecting the motor 5 and controller 14) separate from the bus system which connects the drive electronics to the sensor electronics, wherein the locking signal is pulse width modulated (PWM).
Claims 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Midorikawa (U.S. 8,893,998) discloses every element of the invention as discussed above except that wherein a signal is permanently transmitted via the line, wherein a non-locking signal differs from the locking signal in terms of the pulse width.
Conclusion
/TOAN C TO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614 January 8, 2026