2. Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0402463) in view of Furukawa et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0006000), herein after referred to as Furukawa.
Regarding independent claim 1, Wang discloses a display device (Figure (F.) 8 and paragraph [0104].), comprising:
a display portion (F.8) including a plurality of subpixels (811 to 8mn [0104]); and
a control unit () configured to control light emission of the plurality of subpixels based on an image signal (data voltage [0046]) ([0104] display image data via pixel circuits, F.9 depicts method for light emission),
wherein each of the plurality of subpixels (811) includes a first light-emitting region (F.1 132) including a first area (F.6 62) and a second light-emitting region (F.1 131) including a second area (F.6 61) larger than the first area (Depicted in figure 6 and stated in [0094]) (F.6 [0094] describes 61 to corresponds to the first light emitting circuit (F.1 131) and 62 to corresponds to the second light emitting circuit (F.1 132)),
the control unit causes the first light-emitting region (F.1 132) to emit light and the second light-emitting region (F.1 131) not to emit light in a case in which a gray scale value represented by the image signal (data voltage) is greater than 0 and less than a first threshold value ([0051]-[0052] F.1 131 does not emit light for low grayscale with an exampled threshold of the 16th or 32th grayscale), and causes the second light-emitting region (F.1 131) to emit light in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal (data voltage) is equal to or greater than the first threshold value ([0051]-[0052] F.1 131 emits light for high grayscale).
Wang does not specifically disclose a control unit configured to control light emission of the plurality of subpixels based on an image signal.
Furukawa discloses a control unit (F.1 11) configured to control light emission of the plurality of subpixels based on an image signal ([0018]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Wang’s display device with the known technique of a control unit configured to control light emission of the plurality of subpixels based on an image signal yielding the predictable results of performing the process, correction, and application of data for the display as disclosed by Furukawa ([0023]).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit causes the first light-emitting region (F.1 132) and the second light-emitting region (F.1 131) to emit light in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal (data voltage) is equal to or greater than the first threshold value ([0051]-[0052] F.1 131 and F.1 132 both emits light for high grayscale).
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 3, wherein the control unit maintains luminance of the first light-emitting region (F.1 132) to be constant (F.4 [0076] describes a capacitor C3 (maintaining data voltage) to be utilized, in addition to capacitors C1 and C2, to acquire desired values of the voltages V1 and V2. V2 is utilized by the gate of TD2 for the first light emitting region 132 to emit light by an increased accuracy (constant).) in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal is equal to or greater than the first threshold value ([0061]-[0062] describes the thresholds (high/low grayscale) in correspondence to applied voltages.).
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 3,
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the control unit decreases luminance of the first light-emitting region as the gray scale value represented by the image signal increases in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal is equal to or greater than the first threshold value.
Furukawa discloses wherein the control unit decreases luminance of the first light-emitting region as the gray scale value represented by the image signal increases in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal is equal to or greater than the first threshold value (F.4b [0031] a pixel that is high grayscale (greater than a threshold to be considered low grayscale) may shift certain subpixels (exampled P1 red) to be decreased in luminance to suppress color shift as a whole for gray scale correction).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Wang’s first light-emitting region with the known technique of decreasing luminance of the first light-emitting region as the gray scale value represented by the image signal increases in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal is equal to or greater than the first threshold value yielding the predictable results of compensating for brightness and color shift as disclosed by Furukawa ([0031]).
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 1, wherein the control unit controls light emission of the first light-emitting region (F.1 132) and the second light-emitting region (F.1 131) by using a conversion table (F.4 C1-C3) associating the gray scale value represented by the image signal (data voltage), a gray scale value of the first light-emitting region (F.1 132), and a gray scale value of the second light-emitting region (F.1 131) (F.4 C1-C3 [0079] wherein said capacitors may be designed to obtain desired values of voltages for the first and second light emitting regions 132 and 131 respectively, describing a conversion table implemented via physically selected capacitors.).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 7, wherein the gray scale value of the first light-emitting region (F.1 132) is greater than the gray scale value represented by the image signal (data voltage) in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal (data voltage) is less than the first threshold value (low grayscale) ([0062] utilizing the example of PMOS TFTs in a case of low grayscale, the first light emitting region 132 receives a data voltage greater than a negative voltage value and does not emit light).
Regarding claim 9, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal (data voltage) is less than the first threshold value (low grayscale), the luminance corresponding to the gray scale value of the first light-emitting region (F.1 132) is equal to a product of the luminance corresponding to the gray scale value represented by the image signal (data voltage) and a value of ratio of an area of an entire light-emitting region (F.1 131+132 as depicted in F.6) of the subpixel to the first area ([0062] describes the first light emitting region 132 to not emit light in the case of low grayscale. [0063] describes the area of the first light emitting region 132 to be smaller than 131, the light of 132 to be relatively strong compared to its area and the voltage V2 corresponding to the first region 132 is larger (ratio) than the voltage V1 corresponding to the second region 131. [0079] the voltages V1 and V2 are set in correspondence to the voltage division via capacitors (describing a ratio between voltages V1 and V2)).
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 8, wherein the subpixel (811) includes a first light-emitting element (F.2-F.4 D02) corresponding to the first light-emitting region (F.1 132), a second light-emitting element (F.2-F.4 D01) corresponding to the second light-emitting region (F.1 131), a first pixel circuit (F.1-F.4 110+120+TD2) connected to the first light-emitting element (F.2-F.4 D02), and a second pixel circuit (F.1-F.4 110+120+TD1) connected to the second light-emitting element (F.2-F.4 D01).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 10, wherein the first light-emitting region (F.1 132) and the second light-emitting region (F.1 131) include a light-emitting layer (F.1-F.4 VSS) common (F.1-F.4 depicts directly connected cathodes of D01 and D02 commonly to VSS) to the first light-emitting element (F.2-F.4 D02) and the second light-emitting element (F.2-F.4 D01).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 10, wherein the control unit performs correction of a drive current of the second light-emitting element, but does not perform correction of a drive current of the first light-emitting element (F.4 depicts C3 described in [0079] for adjustment of both V1 (used for second light emitting region 131) and V2 (used for first light emitting region 132). However, the embodiment of F.2 uses only C1-C2 described in [0068] to be utilized for only adjustment (correction without definition) of V1 (second light emitting element) and not of V2).
4. Claim(s) 2, 6, and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US Patent Application Publication 2020/0402463) in view of Tsutsui et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2002/0167477), herein after referred to as Tsutsui.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 1.
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the control unit causes the first light-emitting region not to emit light in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal is equal to or greater than the first threshold value.
Tsutsui discloses wherein the control unit causes the first light-emitting region (F.1 5a [0056] corresponding to the least significant bit LSB) not to emit light in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal is equal to or greater than the first threshold value ([0056] describes to independently control each light emitting region 5a-5d based on the four bit image signal 12. Region 5a corresponds to the LSB describing a high grayscale case may turn the LSB off when the LSB is 0 such as for example when displaying an example high grayscale level of 14.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Wang’s first light-emitting region with the known technique of causing the first light-emitting region not to emit light in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal is equal to or greater than the first threshold value yielding the predictable results of independently controlled electrodes for performing area gradation as disclosed by Tsutsui ([0056]).
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 3.
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the control unit causes the first light-emitting region not to emit light in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal is equal to or greater than a second threshold value that is greater than the first threshold value.
Tsutsui discloses wherein the control unit causes the first light-emitting region (F.1 5a [0056] corresponding to the least significant bit LSB) not to emit light in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal is equal to or greater than a second threshold value that is greater than the first threshold value ([0056] describes to independently control each light emitting region 5a-5d based on the four bit image signal 12. Region 5a corresponds to the LSB describing a high grayscale case may turn the LSB off when the LSB is 0 such as for example when displaying an example high grayscale level of 14 (4 bit 1110). An interpreted grayscale threshold level of 14 is higher than a grayscale threshold level of 13 (1101). At a grayscale level of 13 5a (first light emitting region) would be turned on.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Wang’s first light-emitting region with the known technique of causing the first light-emitting region not to emit light in a case in which the gray scale value represented by the image signal is equal to or greater than a second threshold value that is greater than the first threshold value yielding the predictable results of independently controlled electrodes for performing area gradation as disclosed by Tsutsui ([0056]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 1.
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the second light-emitting region (F.1 131) has a shape including a notch portion or a hollowed-out portion and the first light-emitting region (F.1 132) is disposed in the notch portion or the hollowed-out portion.
Tsutsui discloses wherein the second light-emitting region (F.1 or F.3A 5b) has a shape including a notch portion (F.3 5b3) or a hollowed-out portion (F.1 area comprising 5a inside of 5b) and the first light-emitting region (5a) is disposed in the notch portion (Fb3) or the hollowed-out portion (F.1 area comprising 5a inside of 5b).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Wang’s first and second light-emitting regions with the known technique of wherein the second light-emitting region has a shape including a notch portion or a hollowed-out portion and the first light-emitting region is disposed in the notch portion or the hollowed-out portion yielding the predictable results of improving viewing angle characteristics for the embodiment of a notch portion and preventing deterioration of display quality in regards to the hollowed out portion embodiment as disclosed by Tsutsui ([0059]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 1.
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the first light-emitting region (F.1 132) is surrounded by the second light-emitting region (F.1 131).
Tsutsui discloses wherein the first light-emitting region (F.1 5a) is surrounded by the second light-emitting region (F.1 5b).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Wang’s first and second light-emitting regions with the known technique of wherein the first light-emitting region (F.1 5a) is surrounded by the second light-emitting region yielding the predictable results of preventing deterioration of display quality as disclosed by Tsutsui ([0059]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 15, Tsutsui discloses the display device according to claim 14, wherein the first light-emitting region overlaps a luminance centroid of the second light-emitting region in a plan view (F.1 the centers of each of electrodes 5b-5d each overlap electrode 5a.).
Regarding claim 16, Wang discloses the display device according to claim 1.
Wang does not specifically disclose wherein the display portion includes another subpixel formed of a single light-emitting region.
Tsutsui discloses wherein the display portion (F.1) includes another subpixel (if 5a and 5b are respectfully interpreted as the first and second light emitting regions then either 5c or 5d may be interpreted as the another subpixel) formed of a single light-emitting region (F.1 reference each of 5a-5d as single light emitting regions [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Wang’s display portion with the known technique of including another subpixel formed of a single light-emitting region yielding the predictable results of increasing display quality as compared to a two subpixel setup as disclosed by Tsutsui ([0059]).
Regarding claim 17, Tsutsui discloses the display device according to claim 16, wherein each of the plurality of subpixels includes a first pixel circuit (F.1 4a) corresponding to the first light-emitting region (5a) and a second pixel circuit (4b) corresponding to the second light-emitting region (5b), and the other subpixel includes a third pixel circuit (4c) corresponding to the single light-emitting region (5c).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621