DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, 21-22, 24-26, 28, 31-32, & 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0361303A1 (“Meyer”).
As per claim 15 Meyer discloses
An apparatus for coupling a second electric machine, by an uncoupling unit, to a wheel of a vehicle while the vehicle is already being driven by a first electric machine (see at least Meyer, para. [0011]: FIG. 1 illustrates an example vehicle propulsion system 100 for vehicle 121. Vehicle propulsion system 100 includes at two propulsion power sources including first electric machine 135c and second electric machine 120. & para. [0014]: The second electric machine 120 may be selectively mechanically coupled to the rear axle 122 via second driveline disconnect clutch 123.), wherein the apparatus is configured to:
determine that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle (see at least Meyer, para. [0028]: At 204, method 200 judges if there is a request to shift from two wheel drive mode into a four wheel drive mode or if there is a request to change from a first four wheel drive mode to a second four wheel drive mode, which may be referred to as a driveline mode change…Alternatively in two wheel drive mode, power may be provided to front wheels 130 via first electric machine 135c while rear wheels 131 are not driven via second electric machine 120. In a first four wheel drive mode, gearboxes 140 and 141 are shifted into first gear ratios (e.g., low range) while first electric machine 135c supplies power to front wheels 130 and second electric machine 120 supplies power to rear wheels 131. In a second four wheel drive mode, gearboxes 140 and 141 are shifted into second gear ratios ( e.g., high range) while first electric machine 135c supplies power to front wheels 130 and second electric machine 120 supplies power to rear wheels 131.); and
in response to the determination, bring about at least one production measure by which the coupling of the second electric machine becomes perceptible for a user of the vehicle (see at least Meyer, para. [0044-0046]: For example, if method 200 judges that the driveline mode change will begin at the front axle and end at the rear axle, then electric machine 120 commanded into a speed control mode and the rotational speed of electric machine 120 is adjusted to a rotational speed of shaft 141a, the speed of shaft 141a is a function of the engaged gear of gearbox 141…At 230, method 200 judges if the rotational speed of the other electric machine is within a threshold speed of the desired or requested rotational speed (e.g., at the rotational speed of the other gearbox shaft). For example, if the driveline mode change begins at the front axle and ends at the rear axle, then method 200 judges if the rotational speed of electric machine 120 is within a threshold speed of the rotational speed of shaft 141a.).
As per claim 21 Meyer discloses
wherein the apparatus is configured to: determine that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle for recovery (see at least Meyer, para. [0066]: At time t5, the driveline disconnect clutch of the front axle ( e.g., 138) is fully closed and the front axle electric machine is commanded to provide the driver demand torque at the wheels. Further, the rear axle electric machine is commanded to zero torque.);
based on the at least one production measure, cause a speed of the second electric machine to be adjusted, before a coupling time, to a reduced speed which is less than a target speed of the second electric machine; wherein the target speed is dependent on a current speed of the wheel of the vehicle (see at least Meyer, para. [0067]: At time t6, the driveline disconnect clutch of the rear axle (e.g., 123) is requested open so that the rear axle gearbox ratio may be changed to the higher gear ratio in response to the rear electric machine torque reaching zero and the front electric machine torque meeting driver demanded wheel torque. The total amount of torque that may be available to the wheels is reduced again as the driveline disconnect clutch of the rear axle is commanded open.); and
cause, at the coupling time, the second electric machine to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle via the uncoupling unit so that, as a result of the reduced speed of the second electric machine and of an inertia of a shaft of the second electric machine, an effect which is perceptible for the user is produced with respect to an additional vehicle deceleration, a noise, and/or a graphic display (see at least Meyer, para. [0070]: time t9, the driveline disconnect clutch of the rear axle (e.g., 123) is fully closed and the rear axle electric machine is commanded to provide a portion the driver demand wheel torque. Further, the front axle electric machine is commanded to provide the remaining portion of the driver demand wheel torque. The speeds of the front and rear electric machines continue at their respective previous levels. The total amount of torque that may be available to the wheels increases because both the front electric machine and the rear electric machine may supply torque to their respective axles, but the total that is available is less than at time t0 because the both the front gearbox and the rear gearbox are now engaged in the second higher gear ratio.).
As per claim 22 Meyer discloses
wherein the apparatus is configured to: determine, at an identification time, that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle (see at least Meyer, para. [0066]: At time t5, the driveline disconnect clutch of the front axle ( e.g., 138) is fully closed and the front axle electric machine is commanded to provide the driver demand torque at the wheels. Further, the rear axle electric machine is commanded to zero torque.);
cause, at a subsequent coupling time, the second electric machine to be coupled via the uncoupling unit to the wheel of the vehicle by closing the uncoupling unit display (see at least Meyer, para. [0070]: time t9, the driveline disconnect clutch of the rear axle (e.g., 123) is fully closed and the rear axle electric machine is commanded to provide a portion the driver demand wheel torque. Further, the front axle electric machine is commanded to provide the remaining portion of the driver demand wheel torque. The speeds of the front and rear electric machines continue at their respective previous levels. The total amount of torque that may be available to the wheels increases because both the front electric machine and the rear electric machine may supply torque to their respective axles, but the total that is available is less than at time t0 because the both the front gearbox and the rear gearbox are now engaged in the second higher gear ratio.); and
prepare the at least one production measure between the identification time and the subsequent coupling time so that, at the subsequent coupling time, the coupling of the second electric machine is perceptible for the user of the vehicle by an additional vehicle acceleration and/or by a noise and/or by a graphic display (see at least Meyer, para. [0070]: time t9, the driveline disconnect clutch of the rear axle (e.g., 123) is fully closed and the rear axle electric machine is commanded to provide a portion the driver demand wheel torque. Further, the front axle electric machine is commanded to provide the remaining portion of the driver demand wheel torque. The speeds of the front and rear electric machines continue at their respective previous levels. The total amount of torque that may be available to the wheels increases because both the front electric machine and the rear electric machine may supply torque to their respective axles, but the total that is available is less than at time t0 because the both the front gearbox and the rear gearbox are now engaged in the second higher gear ratio. [Examiner Note: It would be obvious once the second motor is engaged and providing torque to the wheels, the user would feel the jump).).
As per claim 24 Meyer discloses
wherein the apparatus is configured to: establish a travel speed and/or an acceleration of the vehicle (see at least Meyer, para. [0038]: At 216, method 200 commands one electric machine into speed control mode and adjusts a desired or requested rotational speed of the one electric machine to a rotational speed of the shaft of the one gearbox, where the rotational speed of the shaft is dependent on the selected gear of the one gearbox. Speed control mode is a mode of the one electric machine where torque of the one electric machine is adjusted so that the rotational speed of the one electric machine matches a requested speed of the one electric machine.); and
bring about one or more production measures in accordance with the travel speed and/or the acceleration of the vehicle to adapt a magnitude of the one or more production measures, wherein the one or more production measures comprise an extent of a torque reserve of the first electric machine and/or an extent of an excessive speed of the second electric machine in accordance with the travel speed and/or the acceleration (see at least Meyer, para. [0045]: At 230, method 200 judges if the rotational speed of the other electric machine is within a threshold speed of the desired or requested rotational speed (e.g., at the rotational speed of the other gearbox shaft). For example, if the driveline mode change begins at the front axle and ends at the rear axle, then method 200 judges if the rotational speed of electric machine 120 is within a threshold speed of the rotational speed of shaft 141a. Alternatively, if the driveline mode change begins at the rear axle and ends at the front axle, then method 200 judges if the rotational speed of electric machine 135c is within a threshold speed of the rotational speed of shaft 140a. If method 200 judges that the rotational speed of the other electric machine is within a threshold speed of the desired or requested rotational speed, then the answer is yes and method 200 proceeds to 232. Otherwise, the answer is no and method 200 returns to 230.).
As per claim 25 Meyer discloses
wherein the apparatus is configured to: bring about the one or more production measures if the travel speed is less than a speed threshold value and/or if the acceleration is less than an acceleration threshold value (see at least Meyer, para. [0045]: At 230, method 200 judges if the rotational speed of the other electric machine is within a threshold speed of the desired or requested rotational speed (e.g., at the rotational speed of the other gearbox shaft). For example, if the driveline mode change begins at the front axle and ends at the rear axle, then method 200 judges if the rotational speed of electric machine 120 is within a threshold speed of the rotational speed of shaft 141a. Alternatively, if the driveline mode change begins at the rear axle and ends at the front axle, then method 200 judges if the rotational speed of electric machine 135c is within a threshold speed of the rotational speed of shaft 140a. If method 200 judges that the rotational speed of the other electric machine is within a threshold speed of the desired or requested rotational speed, then the answer is yes and method 200 proceeds to 232. Otherwise, the answer is no and method 200 returns to 230.); and/or
not bring about the one or more production measures if the travel speed is greater than the speed threshold value and/or if the acceleration is greater than the acceleration threshold value; and/or
decrease the magnitude of the one or more production measures include the extent of the torque reserve and/or the extent of the excessive speed, with an increasing travel speed and/or with an increasing acceleration.
As per claim 26 Meyer discloses
wherein: the first electric machine is configured to drive a first axle of the vehicle (see at least Meyer, para. [0013]: The first electric machine 135c may be selectively mechanically coupled to the front axle 133 via first driveline disconnect clutch 138.);
the second electric machine is configured to drive a second axle of the vehicle (see at least Meyer, para. [0014]: The second electric machine 120 may be selectively mechanically coupled to the rear axle 122 via second driveline disconnect clutch 123.); and
the first axle is a front axle and the second axle is a rear axle, or the first axle is the rear axle and the second axle is the front axle (see at least Meyer, para. [0013]: The first electric machine 135c may be selectively mechanically coupled to the front axle 133 via first driveline disconnect clutch 138. & para. [0014]: The second electric machine 120 may be selectively mechanically coupled to the rear axle 122 via second driveline disconnect clutch 123.).
As per claim 28 Meyer discloses
A method for coupling a second electric machine by an uncoupling unit to a wheel of a vehicle while the vehicle is already being driven by a first electric machine (see at least Meyer, para. [0011]: FIG. 1 illustrates an example vehicle propulsion system 100 for vehicle 121. Vehicle propulsion system 100 includes at two propulsion power sources including first electric machine 135c and second electric machine 120. & para. [0014]: The second electric machine 120 may be selectively mechanically coupled to the rear axle 122 via second driveline disconnect clutch 123.);
wherein the method comprises: determining that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle (see at least Meyer, para. [0028]: At 204, method 200 judges if there is a request to shift from two wheel drive mode into a four wheel drive mode or if there is a request to change from a first four wheel drive mode to a second four wheel drive mode, which may be referred to as a driveline mode change…Alternatively in two wheel drive mode, power may be provided to front wheels 130 via first electric machine 135c while rear wheels 131 are not driven via second electric machine 120. In a first four wheel drive mode, gearboxes 140 and 141 are shifted into first gear ratios (e.g., low range) while first electric machine 135c supplies power to front wheels 130 and second electric machine 120 supplies power to rear wheels 131. In a second four wheel drive mode, gearboxes 140 and 141 are shifted into second gear ratios ( e.g., high range) while first electric machine 135c supplies power to front wheels 130 and second electric machine 120 supplies power to rear wheels 131.); and
in response to the determination, bringing about at least one production measure, by which the coupling of the second electric machine for a user of the vehicle becomes perceptible (see at least Meyer, para. [0044-0046]: For example, if method 200 judges that the driveline mode change will begin at the front axle and end at the rear axle, then electric machine 120 commanded into a speed control mode and the rotational speed of electric machine 120 is adjusted to a rotational speed of shaft 141a, the speed of shaft 141a is a function of the engaged gear of gearbox 141…At 230, method 200 judges if the rotational speed of the other electric machine is within a threshold speed of the desired or requested rotational speed (e.g., at the rotational speed of the other gearbox shaft). For example, if the driveline mode change begins at the front axle and ends at the rear axle, then method 200 judges if the rotational speed of electric machine 120 is within a threshold speed of the rotational speed of shaft 141a.).
As per claim 31 Meyer discloses
further comprising: determining that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle for recovery (see at least Meyer, para. [0066]: At time t5, the driveline disconnect clutch of the front axle ( e.g., 138) is fully closed and the front axle electric machine is commanded to provide the driver demand torque at the wheels. Further, the rear axle electric machine is commanded to zero torque.);
based on the at least one production measure, causing a speed of the second electric machine to be adjusted, before a coupling time, to a reduced speed which is less than a target speed of the second electric machine; wherein the target speed is dependent on a current speed of the wheel of the vehicle (see at least Meyer, para. [0067]: At time t6, the driveline disconnect clutch of the rear axle (e.g., 123) is requested open so that the rear axle gearbox ratio may be changed to the higher gear ratio in response to the rear electric machine torque reaching zero and the front electric machine torque meeting driver demanded wheel torque. The total amount of torque that may be available to the wheels is reduced again as the driveline disconnect clutch of the rear axle is commanded open.); and
causing, at the coupling time, the second electric machine to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle via the uncoupling unit so that, as a result of the reduced speed of the second electric machine and of an inertia of a shaft of the second electric machine, an effect which is perceptible for the user is produced with respect to an additional vehicle deceleration, a noise, and/or a graphic display (see at least Meyer, para. [0070]: time t9, the driveline disconnect clutch of the rear axle (e.g., 123) is fully closed and the rear axle electric machine is commanded to provide a portion the driver demand wheel torque. Further, the front axle electric machine is commanded to provide the remaining portion of the driver demand wheel torque. The speeds of the front and rear electric machines continue at their respective previous levels. The total amount of torque that may be available to the wheels increases because both the front electric machine and the rear electric machine may supply torque to their respective axles, but the total that is available is less than at time t0 because the both the front gearbox and the rear gearbox are now engaged in the second higher gear ratio.).
As per claim 32 Meyer discloses
further comprising: determining, at an identification time, that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle (see at least Meyer, para. [0066]: At time t5, the driveline disconnect clutch of the front axle ( e.g., 138) is fully closed and the front axle electric machine is commanded to provide the driver demand torque at the wheels. Further, the rear axle electric machine is commanded to zero torque.);
causing, at a subsequent coupling time, the second electric machine to be coupled via the uncoupling unit to the wheel of the vehicle by closing the uncoupling unit (see at least Meyer, para. [0070]: time t9, the driveline disconnect clutch of the rear axle (e.g., 123) is fully closed and the rear axle electric machine is commanded to provide a portion the driver demand wheel torque. Further, the front axle electric machine is commanded to provide the remaining portion of the driver demand wheel torque. The speeds of the front and rear electric machines continue at their respective previous levels. The total amount of torque that may be available to the wheels increases because both the front electric machine and the rear electric machine may supply torque to their respective axles, but the total that is available is less than at time t0 because the both the front gearbox and the rear gearbox are now engaged in the second higher gear ratio.); and
preparing the production measure between the identification time and the subsequent coupling time so that, at the subsequent coupling time, the coupling of the second electric machine is perceptible for the user of the vehicle by an additional vehicle acceleration and/or by a noise and/or by a graphic display (see at least Meyer, para. [0070]: time t9, the driveline disconnect clutch of the rear axle (e.g., 123) is fully closed and the rear axle electric machine is commanded to provide a portion the driver demand wheel torque. Further, the front axle electric machine is commanded to provide the remaining portion of the driver demand wheel torque. The speeds of the front and rear electric machines continue at their respective previous levels. The total amount of torque that may be available to the wheels increases because both the front electric machine and the rear electric machine may supply torque to their respective axles, but the total that is available is less than at time t0 because the both the front gearbox and the rear gearbox are now engaged in the second higher gear ratio. [Examiner Note: It would be obvious once the second motor is engaged and providing torque to the wheels, the user would feel the jump).).
As per claim 34 Meyer discloses
further comprising: establish a travel speed and/or an acceleration of the vehicle (see at least Meyer, para. [0038]: At 216, method 200 commands one electric machine into speed control mode and adjusts a desired or requested rotational speed of the one electric machine to a rotational speed of the shaft of the one gearbox, where the rotational speed of the shaft is dependent on the selected gear of the one gearbox. Speed control mode is a mode of the one electric machine where torque of the one electric machine is adjusted so that the rotational speed of the one electric machine matches a requested speed of the one electric machine.); and
bring about one or more production measures in accordance with the travel speed and/or the acceleration of the vehicle to adapt a magnitude of the one or more production measures, wherein the one or more production measures comprise an extent of a torque reserve of the first electric machine and/or an extent of an excessive speed of the second electric machine in accordance with the travel speed and/or the acceleration (see at least Meyer, para. [0045]: At 230, method 200 judges if the rotational speed of the other electric machine is within a threshold speed of the desired or requested rotational speed (e.g., at the rotational speed of the other gearbox shaft). For example, if the driveline mode change begins at the front axle and ends at the rear axle, then method 200 judges if the rotational speed of electric machine 120 is within a threshold speed of the rotational speed of shaft 141a. Alternatively, if the driveline mode change begins at the rear axle and ends at the front axle, then method 200 judges if the rotational speed of electric machine 135c is within a threshold speed of the rotational speed of shaft 140a. If method 200 judges that the rotational speed of the other electric machine is within a threshold speed of the desired or requested rotational speed, then the answer is yes and method 200 proceeds to 232. Otherwise, the answer is no and method 200 returns to 230.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-18, & 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer, in view of US 2020/0307392A1 (“Joseph”).
As per claim 16 Meyer does not explicitly disclose
wherein the apparatus is configured, based on the at least one production measure, to:
cause, before a coupling time, a torque which is brought about by the first electric machine to be reduced by a torque reserve; and
cause the torque brought about by the first electric machine at the coupling time, at which the coupling of the second electric machine is carried out, to be increased again by the torque reserve.
Joseph teaches
wherein the apparatus is configured, based on the at least one production measure, to:
cause, before a coupling time, a torque which is brought about by the first electric machine to be reduced by a torque reserve; and cause the torque brought about by the first electric machine at the coupling time, at which the coupling of the second electric machine is carried out, to be increased again by the torque reserve (see at least Joseph, para. [0045]: When changing the connection of the electric machines, the controller 140 may operate the inverter associated with the electric machine to drive a torque of the electric machine to zero before operating the switches to selectively change the connection. In some cases where the other electric machine has a , the controller 140may increase torque to the other electric machine to compensate for the torque reduction. After the switches are changed, the inverter may be operated to ramp torque to satisfy the torque demand.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meyer to incorporate the teaching of wherein the apparatus is configured, based on the at least one production measure, to:
cause, before a coupling time, a torque which is brought about by the first electric machine to be reduced by a torque reserve; and cause the torque brought about by the first electric machine at the coupling time, at which the coupling of the second electric machine is carried out, to be increased again by the torque reserve of Joseph, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to achieve improved performance (see at least Joseph, para. [0029]).
As per claim 17 Meyer does not explicitly disclose
wherein the apparatus is configured to: cause the torque which is brought about by the first electric machine to be increased abruptly at the coupling time by the torque reserve.
Joseph teaches
wherein the apparatus is configured to: cause the torque which is brought about by the first electric machine to be increased abruptly at the coupling time by the torque reserve (see at least Joseph, para. [0045]: When changing the connection of the electric machines, the controller 140 may operate the inverter associated with the electric machine to drive a torque of the electric machine to zero before operating the switches to selectively change the connection. In some cases where the other electric machine has a , the controller 140may increase torque to the other electric machine to compensate for the torque reduction. After the switches are changed, the inverter may be operated to ramp torque to satisfy the torque demand.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meyer to incorporate the teaching of wherein the apparatus is configured to: cause the torque which is brought about by the first electric machine to be increased abruptly at the coupling time by the torque reserve of Joseph, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to achieve improved performance (see at least Joseph, para. [0029]).
As per claim 18 Meyer does not explicitly disclose
wherein the apparatus is configured to: reduce the torque which is brought about by the first electric machine beginning with an identification time at which it is determined that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle up to the coupling time in a flowing manner
Joseph teaches
wherein the apparatus is configured to: reduce the torque which is brought about by the first electric machine beginning with an identification time at which it is determined that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle up to the coupling time in a flowing manner (see at least Joseph, para. [0044]: For example, the controller 140 may be programmed to operate the electric machines 112 in a wye configuration at low speeds. At higher speeds, the controller 140 may be programmed to change the electric machines 112 to being delta connected. This mode of operation may be a performance or sport mode of operation. This mode of operation may emulate a gear shift of a conventional transmission. A transition point may be defined at which the motor connection is to be switched. At the transition point, electric machine current and torque may be brought to zero. The switches 126, 128may be operated to change from the wye connection to the delta connection. After the connection change, current and torque may be brought up to the demanded torque. The above transition may be applied to one of the electric machines at a time.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meyer to incorporate the teaching of wherein the apparatus is configured to: reduce the torque which is brought about by the first electric machine beginning with an identification time at which it is determined that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle up to the coupling time in a flowing manner of Joseph, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to achieve improved performance (see at least Joseph, para. [0029]).
As per claim 29 Meyer does not explicitly disclose
further comprising, based on the at least one production measure: causing, before a coupling time, a torque which is brought about by the first electric machine to be reduced by a torque reserve; and
causing the torque brought about by the first electric machine at the coupling time, at which the coupling of the second electric machine is carried out, to be increased again by the torque reserve.
Joseph teaches
further comprising, based on the at least one production measure: causing, before a coupling time, a torque which is brought about by the first electric machine to be reduced by a torque reserve; and cause the torque brought about by the first electric machine at the coupling time, at which the coupling of the second electric machine is carried out, to be increased again by the torque reserve (see at least Joseph, para. [0045]: When changing the connection of the electric machines, the controller 140 may operate the inverter associated with the electric machine to drive a torque of the electric machine to zero before operating the switches to selectively change the connection. In some cases where the other electric machine has a , the controller 140may increase torque to the other electric machine to compensate for the torque reduction. After the switches are changed, the inverter may be operated to ramp torque to satisfy the torque demand.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meyer to incorporate the teaching of further comprising, based on the at least one production measure: causing, before a coupling time, a torque which is brought about by the first electric machine to be reduced by a torque reserve; and causing the torque brought about by the first electric machine at the coupling time, at which the coupling of the second electric machine is carried out, to be increased again by the torque reserve of Joseph, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to achieve improved performance (see at least Joseph, para. [0029]).
Claim(s) 19-20, 23, 30, & 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer, in view of US 2022/0250471A1 (“Park”).
As per claim 19 Meyer discloses
wherein the apparatus is configured, based on the at least one production measure, to:
cause a speed of the second electric machine to be increased, before a coupling time, to an excessive speed which is greater than a target speed of the second electric machine (see at least Meyer, para. [0044-0046]: For example, if method 200 judges that the driveline mode change will begin at the front axle and end at the rear axle, then electric machine 120 commanded into a speed control mode and the rotational speed of electric machine 120 is adjusted to a rotational speed of shaft 141a, the speed of shaft 141a is a function of the engaged gear of gearbox 141…At 230, method 200 judges if the rotational speed of the other electric machine is within a threshold speed of the desired or requested rotational speed (e.g., at the rotational speed of the other gearbox shaft). For example, if the driveline mode change begins at the front axle and ends at the rear axle, then method 200 judges if the rotational speed of electric machine 120 is within a threshold speed of the rotational speed of shaft 141a.);
wherein the target speed is dependent on a current speed of the wheel of the vehicle (see at least Meyer, para. [0061]: At time t0, the rotational speeds of the front and rear electric machines are equal.).
However Meyer does not explicitly
cause at the coupling time the second electric machine to be coupled via the uncoupling unit to the wheel of the vehicle so that, as a result of the excessive speed of the second electric machine and of an inertia of a shaft of the second electric machine, an effect which is perceptible for the user is produced with respect to an additional vehicle acceleration, a noise, and/or a graphic display.
Park teaches
wherein the apparatus is configured, based on the at least one production measure, to: cause a speed of the second electric machine to be increased, before a coupling time, to an excessive speed which is greater than a target speed of the second electric machine (sese at least Park, para. [0055-0056]: As a result of the comparison, upon determining that the driver requested torque is greater than or equal to the reference requested torque required for four-wheel drive, the controller 100 releases the set output limit of the first motor 11 for a designated time and simultaneously releases the set output limit of the second motor 21 (S103)….Because the set output limits of the first and second motors 11 and 21 are released, the first and second motors 11 and 12 are in a state in which the torque outputs of the first and second motors 11 and 12 are capable of being temporarily boosted, and thus, the powers of the respective motors 11and 21, the limits of which are released, (for example, the power of the motors 11 and 21 exceeding the set output limits) are capable of being used.);
wherein the target speed is dependent on a current speed of the wheel of the vehicle (see at least Park, para. [0058]: Thereafter, the torque of the second motor 21 is boosted due to the release of the set output limit of the second motor 21, and thus, the speeds (RPMs) of the subsidiary drive wheels 20 are synchronized (S104).); and
cause at the coupling time the second electric machine to be coupled via the uncoupling unit to the wheel of the vehicle so that, as a result of the excessive speed of the second electric machine and of an inertia of a shaft of the second electric machine, an effect which is perceptible for the user is produced with respect to an additional vehicle acceleration, a noise, and/or a graphic display (see at least Park, para. [0059-0060]: In more detail, when the torque of the second motor 21 is boosted due to the release of the set output limit of the second motor 21 and is output to the axle shaft 24 for the subsidiary drive wheels and the disconnector 25, the torque output to the subsidiary drive wheels may be rapidly boosted to be increased, as indicated by “boost A” of FIG. 4, and the speeds (RPMs) of the subsidiary drive wheels may rapidly reach a target speed (RPM) for synchronization…. By using a greater torque than usual in the control of synchronization of the speeds of the subsidiary drive wheels for engaging the disconnector 25, a reduction in the speed synchronization time by about 50-100 ms may be expected.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meyer to incorporate the teaching of cause at the coupling time the second electric machine to be coupled via the uncoupling unit to the wheel of the vehicle so that, as a result of the excessive speed of the second electric machine and of an inertia of a shaft of the second electric machine, an effect which is perceptible for the user is produced with respect to an additional vehicle acceleration, a noise, and/or a graphic display of Park, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for minimizing a sense of lag and a sense of inconsistency in acceleration when the disconnector is engaged (see at least Park, para. [0007]).
As per claim 20 Meyer does not explicitly disclose
wherein the apparatus is configured to: increase the speed of the second electric machine to the excessive speed, beginning with an identification time, at which it is determined that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle, up to the coupling time.
Park teaches
wherein the apparatus is configured to: increase the speed of the second electric machine to the excessive speed, beginning with an identification time, at which it is determined that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle, up to the coupling time (see at least Park, para. [0059-0060]: In more detail, when the torque of the second motor 21 is boosted due to the release of the set output limit of the second motor 21 and is output to the axle shaft 24 for the subsidiary drive wheels and the disconnector 25, the torque output to the subsidiary drive wheels may be rapidly boosted to be increased, as indicated by “boost A” of FIG. 4, and the speeds (RPMs) of the subsidiary drive wheels may rapidly reach a target speed (RPM) for synchronization…. By using a greater torque than usual in the control of synchronization of the speeds of the subsidiary drive wheels for engaging the disconnector 25, a reduction in the speed synchronization time by about 50-100 ms may be expected.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meyer to incorporate the teaching of wherein the apparatus is configured to: increase the speed of the second electric machine to the excessive speed, beginning with an identification time, at which it is determined that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle, up to the coupling time of Park, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for minimizing a sense of lag and a sense of inconsistency in acceleration when the disconnector is engaged (see at least Park, para. [0007]).
As per claim 23 Meyer does not explicitly disclose
wherein the vehicle includes a control element comprising a switching paddle and/or a kick-down pedal, and wherein the apparatus is configured to: detect actuation of the control element; and based on the detected actuation, determine that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle.
Park teaches
wherein the vehicle includes a control element comprising a switching paddle and/or a kick-down pedal, and wherein the apparatus is configured to: detect actuation of the control element; and based on the detected actuation, determine that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle (see at least Park, para. [0053-0055]: For example, when a driver steps on an accelerator pedal, the APS, serving as the driver requested torque detector 30, may detect the extent (%) of depression of the accelerator pedal and provide the detected extent of depression of the accelerator pedal to the controller 100, and the controller 100 may determine the magnitude of the driver requested torque based on the extent of depression of the accelerator pedal…Thereafter, the controller 100 determines whether or not the driver requested torque is greater than or equal to the reference requested torque by comparing the driver requested torque with the reference requested torque (S102)….As a result of the comparison, upon determining that the driver requested torque is greater than or equal to the reference requested torque required for four-wheel drive, the controller 100 releases the set output limit of the first motor 11 for a designated time and simultaneously releases the set output limit of the second motor 21 (S103).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meyer to incorporate the teaching of wherein the vehicle includes a control element comprising a switching paddle and/or a kick-down pedal, and wherein the apparatus is configured to: detect actuation of the control element; and based on the detected actuation, determine that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle of Park, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for minimizing a sense of lag and a sense of inconsistency in acceleration when the disconnector is engaged (see at least Park, para. [0007]).
As per claim 30 Meyer discloses
further comprising: causing a speed of the second electric machine to be increased, before a coupling time, to an excessive speed which is greater than a target speed of the second electric machine (see at least Meyer, para. [0044-0046]: For example, if method 200 judges that the driveline mode change will begin at the front axle and end at the rear axle, then electric machine 120 commanded into a speed control mode and the rotational speed of electric machine 120 is adjusted to a rotational speed of shaft 141a, the speed of shaft 141a is a function of the engaged gear of gearbox 141…At 230, method 200 judges if the rotational speed of the other electric machine is within a threshold speed of the desired or requested rotational speed (e.g., at the rotational speed of the other gearbox shaft). For example, if the driveline mode change begins at the front axle and ends at the rear axle, then method 200 judges if the rotational speed of electric machine 120 is within a threshold speed of the rotational speed of shaft 141a.);
wherein the target speed is dependent on a current speed of the wheel of the vehicle (see at least Meyer, para. [0061]: At time t0, the rotational speeds of the front and rear electric machines are equal.).
However Meyer does not explicitly disclose
causing at the coupling time the second electric machine to be coupled via the uncoupling unit to the wheel of the vehicle so that, as a result of the excessive speed of the second electric machine and of an inertia of a shaft of the second electric machine, an effect which is perceptible for the user is produced with respect to an additional vehicle acceleration, a noise, and/or a graphic display.
Park teaches
wherein the apparatus is configured, based on the at least one production measure, to: cause a speed of the second electric machine to be increased, before a coupling time, to an excessive speed which is greater than a target speed of the second electric machine (sese at least Park, para. [0055-0056]: As a result of the comparison, upon determining that the driver requested torque is greater than or equal to the reference requested torque required for four-wheel drive, the controller 100 releases the set output limit of the first motor 11 for a designated time and simultaneously releases the set output limit of the second motor 21 (S103)….Because the set output limits of the first and second motors 11 and 21 are released, the first and second motors 11 and 12 are in a state in which the torque outputs of the first and second motors11 and 12 are capable of being temporarily boosted, and thus, the powers of the respective motors 11and 21, the limits of which are released, (for example, the power of the motors 11 and 21 exceeding the set output limits) are capable of being used.);
wherein the target speed is dependent on a current speed of the wheel of the vehicle (see at least Park, para. [0058]: Thereafter, the torque of the second motor 21 is boosted due to the release of the set output limit of the second motor 21, and thus, the speeds (RPMs) of the subsidiary drive wheels 20 are synchronized (S104).); and
causing at the coupling time the second electric machine to be coupled via the uncoupling unit to the wheel of the vehicle so that, as a result of the excessive speed of the second electric machine and of an inertia of a shaft of the second electric machine, an effect which is perceptible for the user is produced with respect to an additional vehicle acceleration, a noise, and/or a graphic display (see at least Park, para. [0059-0060]: In more detail, when the torque of the second motor 21 is boosted due to the release of the set output limit of the second motor 21 and is output to the axle shaft 24 for the subsidiary drive wheels and the disconnector 25, the torque output to the subsidiary drive wheels may be rapidly boosted to be increased, as indicated by “boost A” of FIG. 4, and the speeds (RPMs) of the subsidiary drive wheels may rapidly reach a target speed (RPM) for synchronization…. By using a greater torque than usual in the control of synchronization of the speeds of the subsidiary drive wheels for engaging the disconnector 25, a reduction in the speed synchronization time by about 50-100 ms may be expected.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meyer to incorporate the teaching of causing at the coupling time the second electric machine to be coupled via the uncoupling unit to the wheel of the vehicle so that, as a result of the excessive speed of the second electric machine and of an inertia of a shaft of the second electric machine, an effect which is perceptible for the user is produced with respect to an additional vehicle acceleration, a noise, and/or a graphic display of Park, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for minimizing a sense of lag and a sense of inconsistency in acceleration when the disconnector is engaged (see at least Park, para. [0007]).
As per claim 33 Meyer does not explicitly disclose
wherein the vehicle includes a control element comprising a switching paddle and/or a kick-down pedal, and wherein the method further comprises:
detecting actuation of the control element; and
based on the detected actuation, determining that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle.
Park teaches
wherein the vehicle includes a control element comprising a switching paddle and/or a kick-down pedal, and wherein the method further comprises: detecting actuation of the control element; and based on the detected actuation, determining that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle (see at least Park, para. [0053-0055]: For example, when a driver steps on an accelerator pedal, the APS, serving as the driver requested torque detector 30, may detect the extent (%) of depression of the accelerator pedal and provide the detected extent of depression of the accelerator pedal to the controller 100, and the controller 100 may determine the magnitude of the driver requested torque based on the extent of depression of the accelerator pedal…Thereafter, the controller 100 determines whether or not the driver requested torque is greater than or equal to the reference requested torque by comparing the driver requested torque with the reference requested torque (S102)….As a result of the comparison, upon determining that the driver requested torque is greater than or equal to the reference requested torque required for four-wheel drive, the controller 100 releases the set output limit of the first motor 11 for a designated time and simultaneously releases the set output limit of the second motor 21 (S103).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meyer to incorporate the teaching of wherein the vehicle includes a control element comprising a switching paddle and/or a kick-down pedal, and wherein the method further comprises: detecting actuation of the control element; and based on the detected actuation, determining that the second electric machine is intended to be coupled to the wheel of the vehicle of Park, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order for minimizing a sense of lag and a sense of inconsistency in acceleration when the disconnector is engaged (see at least Park, para. [0007]).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Meyer, in view of US 2016/0315521A1 (“Gimlan”), in view of US 2024/0075804A1 (“Dalum”).
As per claim 27 Meyer does not explicitly disclose
wherein the apparatus is configured, based on the at least one production measure, to:
cause a centrifugal unit to be driven before a coupling time by the second electric machine; and
cause, at the coupling time, the second electric machine and the driven centrifugal unit to be coupled via the uncoupling unit to the wheel of the vehicle so that, as a result of the driven centrifugal unit, an effect which is perceptible for the user is produced with respect to an additional vehicle acceleration, a noise, and/or a graphic display.
Gimlan teaches
wherein the apparatus is configured, based on the at least one production measure, to: cause a centrifugal unit to be driven before a coupling time by the second electric machine (see at least Gimlan, para. [0077]: After a zero or otherwise reduced vehicle speed has been achieved (signaled by the user easing off on the braking control knob and/or by voltage from M/G 360 dropping below a predetermined threshold), switches Sw4 and Sw5 are left open. The primary motor/generator 318 is then switched into generator mode by the micro-controller 340. Then, the micro-controller 340 begins to repeatedly close and open switch Sw1 so that trickle charging current flows through diode D1 to further charge the stationary batteries 350. Alternatively or additionally, the micro-controller 340 could have, even at an earlier time, switched the primary motor/generator 318 into generator mode and commanded that rotating body to begin pulse charging its rotating batteries set 318d by converting its prestored flywheel energy into electrical energy.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meyer to incorporate the teaching of wherein the apparatus is configured, based on the at least one production measure, to: cause a centrifugal unit to be driven before a coupling time by the second electric machine of Gimlan, with a reasonable expectation of success, to have a low or non-fossil fuel burning transport device (see at least Gimlan, para. [0009]).
Dalum teaches
wherein the apparatus is configured, based on the at least one production measure, to: cause a centrifugal unit to be driven by the electric machine (see at least Dalum, para. [0115]: In FIG. 2A, first prime mover 20 provides power to drive shaft 32 through transmission 30. Second prime mover 50 provides additional or alternative power to drive shaft 32 through interface 41 and transmission 30. Drive shaft 32 provides power to two or more wheels 33 used to provide forward and backward momentum to the vehicle. For example, second prime mover 50 can optionally provide the sole source of power to drive shaft 32. Alternatively, second prime mover 50 can provide additional power to drive shaft 32 during vehicle acceleration. When providing power to drive shaft 32, second prime mover 50 can operate using power from first rechargeable energy source 70. According to the various exemplary embodiments of system 10, first rechargeable energy source 70 can be charged or powered by second prime mover 50, APU 80 or another suitable source (e.g., the vehicle alternator, the power grid, etc.).); and
cause, at the coupling time, the second electric machine and the driven centrifugal unit to be coupled via the uncoupling unit to the wheel of the vehicle so that, as a result of the driven centrifugal unit, an effect which is perceptible for the user is produced with respect to an additional vehicle acceleration, a noise, and/or a graphic display (see at least Dalum, para. [0144]: In some embodiments, second rechargeable energy source 90 is utilized, and provides power to accessory 60. Additional or alternative power can be provided to drive shaft 32 by accessory 60. For example, accessory 60 can provide power to drive shaft 32 until second rechargeable energy source 90 is discharged. Alternatively, accessory 60 can provide additional power to drive shaft 32 during vehicle acceleration. Accessory 60 provides power to drive shaft 32 through second prime mover 50, interface 41, and transmission 30. The combination of power provided to drive shaft 32 by second prime mover 50 and accessory 60 is intended to allow for the use of a smaller first prime mover 20 which provides the best use of stored energy and reduces the overall system mass. In another embodiment, accessory 60 only receives power from second prime mover 50 or from first prime mover 20 through component and does not provide power to drive shaft 32. Accessory 60 may power equipment directly.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Meyer to incorporate the teaching of cause, at the coupling time, the second electric machine and the driven centrifugal unit to be coupled via the uncoupling unit to the wheel of the vehicle so that, as a result of the driven centrifugal unit, an effect which is perceptible for the user is produced with respect to an additional vehicle acceleration, a noise, and/or a graphic display of Dalum, with a reasonable expectation of success, to improve vehicle performance (see at least Dalum, para. [0139]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668