DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-25 & 31 have been cancelled.
Claims 26, 32-33, 36-37, & 42-45 have been amended.
Claim 46 is new.
Claims 26-30 & 32-46 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 26-30 & 32-46 have been considered but are moot because of the new grounds of rejection. See Office Action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-30, 32-33, & 37-46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0322775 A1) in view of Scott et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0342583 A1).
In respect to Claim 26, LEE teaches:
a method performed by a first network function (NF), the method comprising: receiving, from a second NF, a data preparation request comprising a set of attributes, wherein the set of attributes comprises one or more of an identifier for an analytics service to consume prepared data, (LEE teaches [0002, 0059, 0239] a data collection feature for retrieving prepared analytics data from a network function device.)
LEE does not explicitly disclose:
an identifier for an artificial intelligence (AI) model to use the prepared data, or an identifier for a machine learning (ML) model to use the prepared data;
selecting a data preparation action that updates a quality of a data set, wherein the data preparation action corresponds to the set of attributes;
and processing the data set by applying the data preparation action to generate the prepared data
However, Scott teaches:
an identifier for an artificial intelligence (AI) model to use the prepared data, or an identifier for a machine learning (ML) model to use the prepared data; (Scott teaches [0020] a DPP tool with modules that can be loaded or input through artificial intelligence or machine learning. Scott further teaches [0021] the tool may include a unique ID or identifier for the data.)
selecting a data preparation action that updates a quality of a data set, wherein the data preparation action corresponds to the set of attributes; (Scott teaches [0005] modules can be selectively applied and loaded [0020] via predetermined settings to address data specific problems.)
and processing the data set by applying the data preparation action to generate the prepared data (Scott teaches [0004, 0024] data preparation by removing outliers, filling in missing values, and formatting data such as a cleaned dates module.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Scott into the system of LEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system of data preprocessing that automates data cleaning tasks and provides cleaned data that can be more efficiently parsed and analyzed.
As per Claim 27, LEE teaches:
wherein the set of attributes further comprises one or more of: time scheduling information associated with a time window associated with the prepared data; one or more identifiers of one or more data sources associated with the data set collected as input to process data; one or more identifiers related to a statistical property of the data set used as input to process the data set; or a type of data sources for the one or more data sources associated with the data set used as input to process the data set (LEE [0007] event ID identifier of a type of event; [0070] statistical information of past events, predicative information; [0239] various data sources)
As per Claim 28, LEE teaches:
wherein the set of attributes further comprises one or more of: a waiting time bound associated with processing the prepared data; an indication of a type of processing that the prepared data is expected to undergo when input into one or more of the AI model or the ML model; or accuracy level information for the prepared data (LEE [0258] estimation of level of accuracy before the time deadline; [0261] based on level of accuracy or based on the time when analytics are needed)
As per Claim 29, LEE teaches:
wherein processing the data set comprises: deriving one or more data characteristics of the data set, wherein the one or more data characteristics comprise one or more of: an effect among variables or features of the data set; or an amount of data adequate for a requested task (LEE [0239])
As per Claim 30, Scott teaches:
wherein processing the data set comprises: performing data recovery for the data set, wherein the data recovery comprises one or more of: recovering missing data from a data source or a data production tool; identifying and replacing invalid data with other data; or augmenting existing data to account for the missing data (Scott teaches [0004, 0024] data preparation by removing outliers, filling in missing values, and formatting data such as a cleaned dates module.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Scott into the system of LEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system of data preprocessing that automates data cleaning tasks and provides cleaned data that can be more efficiently parsed and analyzed.
As per Claim 32, LEE teaches:
receiving, from a data preparation control function, control information associated with processing the data set, wherein processing the data set is based at least in part on the data preparation request (LEE teaches [0002, 0059, 0239] a data collection feature for retrieving prepared analytics data from a network function device.)
As per Claim 33, LEE teaches:
wherein the control information comprises one or more of: a type of data recovery rules or logic for the data set; a type of data cleaning rules or logic for the data set; a type of data formatting rules or logic for formatting the data set; one or more additional data sources to complement the data set; or information for labeling data associated with different data sets (LEE [0064, 0239, 0282] teaches various data sources, and identifiers for data which constitutes information for labeling data.)
Claims 37-43 are the network claims corresponding to method claims 26-30 & 32-33 respectively, therefore are rejected for the same reasons noted previously.
In respect to Claim 44, LEE teaches:
a method performed by a second network function (NF), the method comprising: transmitting, to a first NF, a data preparation request comprising a set of attributes,
wherein the set of attributes comprise one or more of an identifier for an analytics service to consume prepared data, (LEE teaches [0002, 0059, 0239] a data collection feature for retrieving prepared analytics data from a network function device.)
LEE does not explicitly disclose:
an identifier for an artificial intelligence (AI) model to use the prepared data, or an identifier for a machine learning (ML) model to use the prepared data,
and wherein a data preparation action corresponding to the set of attributes is selected to update a quality of a data set;
and receiving, from the first NF and in response to the data preparation request, the prepared data, wherein the prepared data is based at least in part on the data preparation request action being applied to the data set
However, Scott teaches:
an identifier for an artificial intelligence (AI) model to use the prepared data, or an identifier for a machine learning (ML) model to use the prepared data, (Scott teaches [0020] a DPP tool with modules that can be loaded or input through artificial intelligence or machine learning. Scott further teaches [0021] the tool may include a unique ID or identifier for the data.)
and wherein a data preparation action corresponding to the set of attributes is selected to update a quality of a data set; (Scott teaches [0005] modules can be selectively applied and loaded [0020] via predetermined settings to address data specific problems.)
and receiving, from the first NF and in response to the data preparation request, the prepared data, wherein the prepared data is based at least in part on the data preparation request action being applied to the data set (Scott teaches [0004, 0024] data preparation by removing outliers, filling in missing values, and formatting data such as a cleaned dates module.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Scott into the system of LEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system of data preprocessing that automates data cleaning tasks and provides cleaned data that can be more efficiently parsed and analyzed.
Claim 45 is the network claim corresponding to method claim 44, therefore is rejected for the same reasons noted above.
As per Claim 46, Scott teaches:
wherein the data preparation action comprises one or more of: a data recovery action to recover data missing from the data set; a data cleaning action to remove or reduce an impact of one or more outliers in the data set; formatting the data set into a format for use by the AI model or the ML model; or separating the data set into different data sets for one or more inference or training tasks (Scott teaches [0004, 0024] data preparation by removing outliers, filling in missing values, and formatting data such as a cleaned dates module.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Scott into the system of LEE. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to provide a system of data preprocessing that automates data cleaning tasks and provides cleaned data that can be more efficiently parsed and analyzed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 34-36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA BULLOCK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153 September 1, 2026