DETAILED ACTION
This action is pursuant to the claims filed on 03/18/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending. A first action on the merits of claims 1-20 is as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 18 and 20 respectively recite the limitation "an electronic device". It is unclear if this limitation intends to recite antecedent basis to the same limitation already recited in claim 12 or if this limitation is attempting to recite a second electronic device. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted to read “the electronic device”.
Regarding claim 20, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Herr (U.S. PGPub No. 2021/0093470).
Regarding claim 1, Herr teaches A method of treating an animal subject, the method comprising: applying a nerve interface to a muscle pedicle of the subject, the muscle pedicle having a peripheral nerve inserted therein (Figs 1-11, disclose implanted electrodes at muscles with nerve cuffs; [0009] [0094]), wherein the nerve interface is configured to provide electrical communication between the peripheral nerve and an electronic device ([0094]).
Regarding claim 2, Herr teaches dissecting a portion of a muscle of the subject to yield the muscle pedicle, and inserting the peripheral nerve therein ([0084-0085]).
Regarding claim 5, Herr teaches applying an electrical stimulus to the peripheral nerve via the nerve interface ([0061], [0094-0095]).
Regarding claim 6, Herr teaches detecting a neuropathological condition of the subject, wherein the electrical stimulus is applied to the peripheral nerve based on the neuropathological condition ([0118] method used for stimulating nerves based on neuropathological condition from stroke or spinal cord lesion; such stimulation based on the condition described necessarily requires the detecting of said neuropathological condition of the subject first).
Regarding claim 7, Herr teaches wherein the electronic device receives an electrical signal from the nerve interface, the electrical signal corresponding to neuroactivity of the peripheral nerve ([0009]).
Regarding claim 8, Herr teaches operating a neuropathology treatment device based on the electrical signal ([0009]).
Regarding claim 12, Herr teaches A nerve interface device for treating a subject comprising an electrical interface configured to be applied to a muscle pedicle of an animal subject (Figs 1-11, disclose implanted electrodes at muscles with nerve cuffs; [0009] [0094]), the muscle pedicle having a peripheral nerve inserted therein ([0015] [0084] disclosing dissection of muscle pedicle for nerve interface device which is capable of use with a peripheral nerve), wherein the nerve interface is configured to provide electrical communication between the peripheral nerve and an electronic device ([0094]).
Regarding claim 13, Herr teaches wherein the peripheral nerve is a cranial or cervical nerve and wherein is the electrical interface is configured to provide electrical communication between the cranial or the cervical nerve and the electronic device ([0017] disclosing devices can be used for spinal cord lesions such that electrical interface is capable of use with cranial or cervical nerve; examiner notes since this is an apparatus claim the recitation of the cranial or cervical nerve is merely functional language).
Regarding claim 14, Herr teaches for use in monitoring of neuroactivity and/or stimulation of the peripheral nerve (see Fig 7A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herr (U.S. PGPub No. 2021/0093470).
Regarding claim 9, Herr teaches wherein the nerve interface comprises: a main body, an electrode affixed to the main body (Fig 7A-B, main body of device comprises electrode 46/54), and one or more conductive polymers that establish electrical communication between the peripheral nerve and the electrode ([0091] discloses electroactive polymer as a nerve actuator to establish communication with nerve and electrode).
Herr fails to teach in this embodiment one or more conductive polymers that establish electrical communication between the peripheral nerve and the electrode.
However, an alternative embodiment of Herr discloses the use of a conductive polymer to establish electrical communication between a nerve and electrode ([0053] [0064] [0091]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Herr to incorporate a conductive polymer that establishes electrical communication between the electrode and peripheral nerve to arrive at claim 9. Using a conductive polymer would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the use of conductive polymers in nerve interface devices is well-known in the art as evidenced by Herr ([0053] [0064] [0091]).
Claim(s) 3-4, 10-11, 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herr in view of Bolea (U.S. PGPub No. 2014/0228905).
Regarding claims 3-4, Herr teaches the method of claim 2 as stated above. Herr further teaches wherein the method can be used for the treatment of spinal cord lesions ([0017] disclosing devices can be used for spinal cord lesions).
Herr fails to explicitly teach wherein the peripheral nerve comprises a cranial nerve or cervical nerve; wherein the peripheral nerve comprises an ansa hypoglossi nerve, and the muscle comprises a sternohyoid muscle.
In related prior art, Bolea teaches wherein the peripheral nerve comprises an ansa hypoglossi nerve ([0168-0169] the ansa cervicalis nerve is the ansa hypoglossi), and the muscle comprises a sternohyoid muscle ([0168-0169], see also Fig 12). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Herr in view of Bolea to incorporate the use of the device with the nerve interface configured to be applied to a sternohyoid pedicle with the ansa hypoglossi nerve inserted therein to arrive at claims 3-4. Doing so would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the as the stimulation of the ansa hypoglossi nerve is a well-known target stimulation site for the treatment of sleep apnea ([0160-0161]; [0002-0004]).
Regarding claims 10-11, Herr teaches A method of treating an animal subject, the method comprising: applying a nerve interface to a nerve, wherein the nerve interface comprises: a main body, an electrode affixed to the main body (Fig 7A-B, main body of device comprises electrode 46/54, and one or more conductive polymers that establish electrical communication between the peripheral nerve and the electrode ([0091] discloses electroactive polymer as a nerve actuator to establish communication with nerve and electrode); and monitoring neuroactivity of the cranial or cervical nerve, or applying electrical stimulus to the nerve, via the nerve interface (see Fig 7A); wherein the nerve interface is applied to a muscle pedicle of the subject ([0084-0085]).
Herr fails to teach in this embodiment one or more conductive polymers that establish electrical communication between the peripheral nerve and the electrode.
However, an alternative embodiment of Herr discloses the use of a conductive polymer to establish electrical communication between a nerve and electrode ([0053] [0064] [0091]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Herr to incorporate a conductive polymer that establishes electrical communication between the electrode and peripheral nerve. Using a conductive polymer would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the use of conductive polymers in nerve interface devices is well-known in the art as evidenced by Herr ([0053] [0064] [0091]).
Herr fails to teach wherein the nerve is a cranial or cervical nerve and the muscle pedicle having the cranial or cervical nerve inserted therein.
In related prior art, Bolea teaches wherein the peripheral nerve comprises an ansa hypoglossi nerve ([0168-0169] the ansa cervicalis nerve is the ansa hypoglossi), and the muscle comprises a sternohyoid muscle ([0168-0169], see also Fig 12). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Herr in view of Bolea to incorporate the use of the device with the nerve interface configured to be applied to a sternohyoid pedicle with the ansa hypoglossi nerve inserted therein to arrive at claims 10-11. Doing so would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the as the stimulation of the ansa hypoglossi nerve is a well-known target stimulation site for the treatment of sleep apnea ([0160-0161]; [0002-0004]).
Regarding claims 15-16, in view of claim 14 above,
Herr fails to teach wherein the peripheral nerve comprises an ansa hypoglossi nerve, and the muscle comprises a sternohyoid muscle.
In related prior art, Bolea teaches the device for use in treatment of sleep apnea ([0160-0161]; [0002-0004]); wherein the peripheral nerve comprises an ansa hypoglossi nerve ([0168-0169] the ansa cervicalis nerve is the ansa hypoglossi), and the muscle comprises a sternohyoid muscle ([0168-0169], see also Fig 12). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Herr in view of Bolea to incorporate the use of the device with the nerve interface configured to be applied to a sternohyoid pedicle with the ansa hypoglossi nerve inserted therein to arrive at claim 16. Doing so would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the as the stimulation of the ansa hypoglossi nerve is a well-known target stimulation site for the treatment of sleep apnea ([0160-0161]; [0002-0004]).
Regarding claim 17, in view of claim 16 above, Herr further teaches wherein it is further configured to apply an electrical stimulus to the peripheral nerve via the electrical interface ([0061], [0094-0095]).
Regarding claim 18, in view of claim 17 above, Herr further teaches an electronic device configured to receive an electrical signal from the nerve interface, the electrical signal corresponding to a neuro signal of the peripheral nerve (Fig 7A-B, electronic device receives nerve signals from interface).
Regarding claim 19, in view of claim 17 above, Herr further teaches wherein the nerve interface comprises: a main body, an electrode affixed to the main body (Fig 7A-B, main body of device comprises electrode 46/54), and one or more conductive polymers configured to establish electrical communication between the peripheral nerve and the electrode ([0091] discloses electroactive polymer as a nerve actuator to establish communication with nerve and electrode).
Herr fails to teach in this embodiment one or more conductive polymers that establish electrical communication between the peripheral nerve and the electrode.
However, an alternative embodiment of Herr discloses the use of a conductive polymer to establish electrical communication between a nerve and electrode ([0053] [0064] [0091]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Herr to incorporate a conductive polymer that establishes electrical communication between the electrode and peripheral nerve to arrive at claim 19. Using a conductive polymer would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as the use of conductive polymers in nerve interface devices is well-known in the art as evidenced by Herr ([0053] [0064] [0091]).
Regarding claim 20, in view of the combination of claim 17 above, Herr teaches A system for treating sleep apnea of an animal subject (see combination of claim 17 above) comprising: the nerve interface device according to claim 17 (see combination of claim 17 above), and an electronic device; wherein the system is configured to monitor neuroactivity of a peripheral nerve ([0009] system is capable of monitoring neuroactivity of peripheral nerve), preferably the peripheral nerve being a cranial or cervical nerve, of the subject and/or to apply electrical stimulus to a cranial or cervical nerve of the subject (see combination of claim 17 above incorporating cervical nerve stimulation as claimed).
Conclusion
/ADAM Z MINCHELLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794