DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-23, 25, 28-30, & 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Friesenecker (20130002115).
Regarding claim 16, Friesenecker teaches an extension guide (4) for mounting a movable furniture part linearly movably along an extension direction, the extension guide comprising: a carcass rail (7) configured to be attached to a furniture carcass, wherein the carcass rail includes a fastening section (D in Fig. 3 Annotated) provided with a plurality of mounting bores (E); a drawer rail (5) configured to be attached to the movable furniture part; a linearly movable center rail (6) arranged between the carcass rail and the drawer rail; at least one load-transmitting outer carriage (8) arranged between (Fig. 2) the center rail (6) and the drawer rail (5); and a synchronizer (10, 12, 19) configured to synchronize movement of the outer carriage relative to the carcass rail (par. 28), wherein the drawer rail (5) is not directly coupled to the synchronizer (note that 10, 12, & 19 are not directly coupled to the drawer rail (5); 10 is directly coupled to the center rail (6); 12 is directly coupled to the carcass rail (7); and 19 is directly coupled to the outer carriage (8)).
Regarding claim 17, Friesenecker teaches a synchronizer (10, 12, 19) that includes at least a first running surface (i.e., rack on 12) and a second running surface (19), and at least one synchronizing wheel (11) configured to roll on at least one of the running surfaces; wherein the first running surface is connected to the carcass rail (7) indirectly or directly so that the first running surface is fixed relative to the carcass rail (Figs. 2-3 & par. 30).
Regarding claim 18, Friesenecker teaches a second running surface (19) connected directly or indirectly (Fig. 5 & par. 30) to the outer carriage (8).
Regarding claim 19, Friesenecker teaches at least one synchronizing wheel (11) that is rotatably mounted (par. 29) on the center rail (6).
Regarding claim 20, Friesenecker teaches at least one of the running surfaces (19 & rack on 12) that is a toothed surface (par. 29-30 and Figs. 3 & 5) and the at least one synchronizing wheel (11) is a pinion wheel (par. 29 and Figs. 3 & 5).
Regarding claim 21, Friesenecker teaches at least one synchronizing wheel (11) that includes a first synchronizing wheel (11b) which rolls (par. 30 & Fig. 3) on the first running surface (rack on 12) and a second synchronizing wheel (11a, 18) which rolls (par. 30 & Fig. 3) on the second running surface (19).
Regarding claim 22, Friesenecker teaches first (11b) and second (11a, 18) synchronizing wheels that are rotationally fixed relative to one another (par. 31).
Regarding claim 23, Friesenecker teaches a second synchronizing wheel (11a, 18) that includes a head portion (11a) and a shaft portion (18); and a first synchronizing wheel (11b) that includes a hub (A in Fig. 2 Annotated) configured to at least partially receive the shaft portion (Figs. 2-3 & 4b) such that the first and second synchronizing wheels are rotationally fixed relative to each other (par. 31).
Regarding claim 25, Friesenecker teaches a center rail (6) that includes a wall (6b) having a shaft opening (13) through the wall (Figs. 2-3 & 4b-5); and the shaft portion (18) of the second synchronizing wheel (11a, 18) extends through the shaft opening (Fig. 2) and the first (11b) and second synchronizing wheels are located on opposite sides of the wall (Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 28-30, Friesenecker teaches a ratio of a diameter of the first synchronizing wheel (11b) to a diameter of the second synchronizing wheel (11a, 18) that is greater than or equal to 1 & 1.5 (Fig. 4b), and is equal to 2 (Fig. 4b).
Regarding claim 34, Friesenecker teaches a first guide (i.e., inner portion of 12, labeled “B” in Fig. 2 Annotated) configured for guiding the center rail (6) and for supporting the center rail transversely to an extension direction (Fig. 2), the first guide being fixedly connected to the carcass rail (7) directly or indirectly (par. 30).
Regarding claim 35, Friesenecker teaches a synchronizer (10, 12, 19) that includes at least a first running surface (i.e., rack on 12) and a second running surface (19), and at least one synchronizing wheel (11) configured to roll on at least one of the running surfaces; and a first guide (B) located adjacent the first running surface (i.e., rack on 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friesenecker (20130002115) in view of Luo (CN107048776). Friesenecker teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including first (11b) and second (11a, 18) synchronizing wheels respectively comprising a hub (A) and a shaft (18); but fails to teach first & second splines. However, Luo teaches first & second splines (i.e., teeth on 202 & 301 - see Fig. 1), wherein a shaft (301) includes the first spline (Fig. 1) and a hub (201) includes the second spline configured to mate with the first spline (par. 26) such that a torque can be transmitted between the first and second synchronizing wheels (2-3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add first & second splines, as taught by Luo, to the hub & shaft of Friesenecker, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent extraneous movement therebetween, thereby ensuring synchronous rotation of the first & second wheels (as suggested by par. 26 of Luo).
Claims 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friesenecker (20130002115) in view of Uchikawa (6173765).
Regarding claim 31, Friesenecker teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including a synchronizer (10, 12, 19) that includes at least a first running surface (i.e., rack on 12) and a second running surface (19), and at least one synchronizing wheel (11) configured to roll on at least one of the running surfaces; and the first running surface (i.e., rack on 12) being provided on at attaching element (12) connected to the carcass rail (7) by unspecified securing means; but fail(s) to teach detachably connecting the attaching element to the carcass rail. However, Uchikawa teaches securing means (125-128) for detachably connecting (implied by Figs. 3a-3c) a first component (123) to a second component (124). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute second means, as taught by Uchikawa, for the unspecified securing means of Friesenecker, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow detachment of the attaching element from the carcass rail, thereby facilitating repair & replacement thereof.
Regarding claim 32, forming a formerly-integral structure as two separate components has been held to involve only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the attaching element of Friesenecker as modified as separate front & rear portions, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to facilitate repair & replacement of portions of the attaching element. Hence, Friesenecker as modified would teach an attaching element (12 of Friesenecker) that includes at least two attaching segments (i.e., front & rear portions of 12 of Friesenecker), the first running surface (i.e., rack on 12 of Friesenecker) being partially located on each attaching segment.
Regarding claim 33, Friesenecker as modified teaches an attaching element (12 of Friesenecker) detachably connected to the carcass rail by at least one latching connection (125-126 of Uchikawa) including a hook-shaped receiving element (125 of Uchikawa) provided on the carcass rail (7 of Friesenecker) and a receptacle (126 of Uchikawa) defined in the attaching element, the hook-shaped receiving element being at least partially received in the receptacle (as in Figs. 3b-3c of Uchikawa); and the attaching element includes at least one latching projection (127 of Uchikawa) received in a positioning receptacle (128 of Uchikawa) defined in the carcass rail, the latching projection being at least partially received in the positioning receptacle (as in Fig. 4 of Uchikawa).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-27 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claim 16 recites “a carcass rail configured to be attached to a furniture carcass” and “a drawer rail configured to be attached to the movable furniture part”. In Friesenecker, the rail labeled “7” is capable of being attached to a furniture carcass, and the rail labeled “5” is capable of being attached to the movable furniture part. Hence, the examiner submits Friesenecker does indeed teach a carcass rail (7) and a drawer rail (5).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW ING whose telephone number is (571)272-6536. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Troy can be reached at (571) 270-3742. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW W ING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637