DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "e.g.", equivalent to “for example”, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 11-12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harvey et al. (US 5,144,261, of record and hereinafter “Harvey”).
Claim 1: Harvey discloses an apparatus (Fig.1) comprising:
a plurality of resonant tunneling diode (RTD) elements (22; see col.2,51-67, which discloses providing the “synchronization of oscillator modules … further optimized by optically controlling RTDs incorporated in such oscillators” and col.4,63-64, which explicitly discloses utilizing the module in the phase array antenna discussed in col.2,51-67); and
a synchronization signal source (11) configured to provide an optical synchronization signal (modulating light; see col.4,14-15) to the plurality of resonant tunneling diode elements (see col.4,49-59, where the light is provided to the RTD in order for the RTD to lock to the phase and frequency of the optic signal and col.2,51-67 and col.5,63-64).
Claim 14: Harvey discloses a method of manufacturing an apparatus (Fig.1) comprising a resonant tunneling diode (RTD) element (22; see col.4,14-15), said method comprising:
providing a plurality of resonant tunneling diode elements (22; see col.2,51-67, which discloses providing the “synchronization of oscillator modules … further optimized by optically controlling RTDs incorporated in such oscillators” and col.4,63-64, which explicitly discloses utilizing the module in the phase array antenna discussed in col.2,51-67);
providing a synchronization signal source (11) configured to provide an optical synchronization signal to the plurality of resonant tunneling diode elements (see col.4,49-59, where the light is provided to the RTD in order for the RTD to lock to the phase and frequency of the optic signal and col.2,51-67 and col.5,63-64).
Claim 2: Harvey discloses wherein each of the plurality of resonant tunneling diode elements is configured to oscillate at a predetermined resonance frequency (determined by the external capacitance and inductance; see col.4,49-53).
Claim 3: Harvey discloses the apparatus is configured to effect a phase synchronization of the plurality of resonant tunneling diode elements by means of injection locking of the plurality of resonant tunneling diode elements using the optical synchronization signal (see col.4,49-59 and col.2,51-67).
Claim 4: Harvey discloses wherein the plurality of resonant tunneling diode elements configured in form of an array, wherein the array comprises at least one of: a) a one-dimensional array, b) a two-dimensional array, c) a three- dimensional array (see col.2,51-67, which discloses the RTD elements within an antenna array, which must be in one of a one-dimensional, two-dimensional, or three-dimensional array, there being no other possible options for an array).
Claim 6: Harvey discloses wherein the predetermined resonance frequency of the plurality of RTD elements is between 1 GHz and 100 THz (Harvey discloses the RTDs operating at “as high as 700 Gigahertz”; see col.5,57-62; see also Fig.6-9, which disclose a frequency of approximately 2.75 GHz).
Claim 11: Harvey discloses an illumination device configured to provide the optical synchronization signal to at least one resonant tunneling diode of the plurality of resonant tunneling diode elements (assembly 11; see Fig.1).
Claim 12: Harvey discloses wherein the illumination device comprises at least one optical element (laser 29 and/or optical fiber 30; see col.4,34-36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harvey in view of Kalian et al. (US 7,545,324, hereinafter “Kalian”).
Claim 5: Harvey discloses the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, and discloses the RTD oscillators as a part of a phased array antenna (see col.2,51-67). Harvey does not disclose “more than 64 resonant tunneling diode elements”. Kalian discloses that a phase array antenna can include 70 transmit elements per subarray (see col.3, 19-29). Kalian discloses that by providing the 70 transmit elements per subarray, a desired beamsteering characteristic may be accomplished (see col.2,11-21). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided more than 64 resonant tunneling elements as a part of more than 64 transmit elements of a phased array antenna, as disclosed by Harvey and Kalian, in order to have achieved a desired beamsteering characteristic.
Claim 10: Harvey discloses the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, but does not disclose at least one resonant tunneling diode … disposed on a carrier element”. Kalian discloses that transmitting modules of a similar phased array antenna may be provided on a carrier element (see 110/120/210/220 of Fig.3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a “carrier element”, e.g. a substrate, as an appropriate surface to mount transmission elements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided a carrier for the RTDs of the phased array antenna of Harvey, as disclosed by Kalian, as a suitable surface to mount transmission elements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 13, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose within the overall context of the claims “wherein at least one resonant tunneling diode element of the plurality of resonant tunneling diode elements comprises a controllable phase shifter configured to modify a phase of the optical synchronization signal” of claim 7 and similar limitations of claim 15.
Conclusion
/RYAN JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836