DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/24/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10, and 12-21 have been examined.
Claims 11 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Bredberg (WO2016186561).
Claim.1 Bredberg discloses a method (see at least fig.4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route), performed by a control device (see at least fig.2, page.6, an electronic control unit 100), for controlling vehicle speed of a vehicle (see at least fig.4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature), the method comprising the steps of: determining a maximum allowable vehicle speed profile for an upcoming road section comprising an event expected to require a reduction of vehicle speed (see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature, a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, page.18, Fig. 4b represents a speed profile based on maximum permissible lateral acceleration. The thin continuous line in Fig. 4b represents the vehicle's actual speed. It thus constitutes the executed speed profile based on the required acceleration determined on the basis of the speed-limiting feature in the form of the bend involving topology comprising the gradient and extent of the downhill section of the route, the vehicle's speed and running resistance, i.e. how the vehicle's speed is controlled on the basis of required acceleration); based on the determined maximum allowable vehicle speed profile, determining a desired vehicle speed profile to reach a minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile while avoiding vehicle speeds above the determined maximum allowable vehicle speed profile (see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, when a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, the step of determining required acceleration involves the step of determining braking strategy based on characteristics of said downhill section of the route and/or on the vehicle's setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort,page.3, speed-limiting features comprise bends on the route, where speed is prescribed on the basis of the vehicle's maximum permissible lateral acceleration, page.5, Setting for desired high degree of comfort is in one variant called comfort mode. Desired fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, which may be applied by the driver or another operator), said desired vehicle speed profile being designed to achieve a desired characteristics (see at least fig.1-4b, page.5, desired high degree of comfort is in one variant called comfort mode. Desired fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, which may be applied by the driver or another operator,page.7, desired driving modes such as economy mode, comfort mode or high power mode, page.11, the first braking process may also depend on vehicle setting and accordingly on a setting desired by the driver for the movement of the vehicle whereby driver setting for the first braking process corresponds to a comfort setting or comfort mode with high degree of comfort); simulating vehicle speed for at least an initial portion of the upcoming road section in case the vehicle would be braked according to a first brake mode, thereby obtaining a simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.7, continuously determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature makes it possible to achieve a speed profile which is more suitable from a driving perspective, the means 140 for determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature on the basis of a predetermined distance horizon ahead of the vehicle along its route, page.2, applying of braking strategy based on characteristics of the downhill section of the route, such as length and degree and kind of gradient, enables smart use of the vehicle's braking devices such as auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders, in order thereby to increase driver acceptance of this driving of the vehicle, page.11, activation of braking action involves using suitable brake devices of the vehicle. One embodiment uses the vehicle's auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders. One embodiment uses the vehicle's service brakes. One embodiment uses both auxiliary brakes and service brakes of the vehicle, the third braking process involves means 186a for initially allowing the vehicle to freewheel); and when the obtained simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake module fulfils at least a first predefined criterion, which is dependent of the determined desired vehicle speed profile, braking the vehicle in accordance with the first brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.18, when the vehicle is travelling close to the downhill section of the route before the speed-limiting feature, suitable braking strategy is determined on the basis of characteristics of the downhill section, comprising gradient and extent. The speed of the vehicle and the running resistance on the downhill section are also taken into account. The downhill section of the route has a positively accelerating effect on the vehicle's running resistance. The broken line represents a first braking process according to the braking strategy, whereby a braking action is activated early on the downhill section of the route and results in positively accelerating movement of the vehicle along said section so that the vehicle is accelerated by positive braking, from a speed below the prescribed target speed pertaining to the speed-limiting).
Claim.2 Bredberg discloses further comprising: simulating vehicle speed for at least said initial position of the upcoming road section in case the vehicle would be braked according to a second brake mode, thereby obtaining a simulated vehicle speed profile for the second brake mode; and when the obtained simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake mode does not fulfil said first predefined criterion and the obtained simulated vehicle speed profile for the second brake mode fulfils at least the first predefined criterion, braking the vehicle in accordance with the second brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.9, the means 146 for determining braking strategy involves determination on the basis of characteristics of said downhill section of the route. The means 146 for determining braking strategy based on characteristics of said downhill section might be part of the means 144. The means 146 for determining braking strategy involves determination on the basis of vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort. The vehicle setting may be a setting for high degree of comfort, also called comfort mode, or a setting for faster driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort, also called sport mode. The vehicle setting is in one variant applied by the driver for desired comfort when driving inter alia on a downhill section of the route. The means 146 for determining braking strategy is arranged in one variant to determine braking strategy taking into account both characteristics of said downhill section and vehicle setting with regard to desired driving comfort, page.20, a speed-limiting feature detected is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance, and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, comprises the step S2a of determining braking strategy based on characteristics of said downhill section of the route and/or on the basis of vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort).
Claim.3 Bredberg discloses wherein the first predefined criterion is that of a difference between an integral of the desired vehicle speed profile and an integral of the simulated vehicle speed profile for a distance interval, defined by a distance point corresponding to an initial vehicle position for which the simulated vehicle speed profile has been made and a distance point at which the simulated vehicle speed profile coincides with the desired vehicle speed profile, is less than a predefined threshold value (see at least page.5, fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, page.11, a setting desired by the driver for the movement of the vehicle whereby driver setting of the vehicle for the third braking process corresponds to a sport setting or sport mode to cater for a desire to travel more quickly and consequently with a lower degree of comfort).
Claim.4 Bredberg discloses further comprising: based on the obtained simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake mode, determining a duration of braking until the simulated vehicle speed profile coincides with the desired vehicle speed profile, and wherein the step of braking the vehicle in accordance with the first brake mode is performed when the determined duration is equal to or above a predefined minimum acceptable duration for the first brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.7, continuously determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature makes it possible to achieve a speed profile which is more suitable from a driving perspective, the means 140 for determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature on the basis of a predetermined distance horizon ahead of the vehicle along its route, page.2, applying of braking strategy based on characteristics of the downhill section of the route, such as length and degree and kind of gradient, enables smart use of the vehicle's braking devices such as auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders, in order thereby to increase driver acceptance of this driving of the vehicle, page.11, activation of braking action involves using suitable brake devices of the vehicle. One embodiment uses the vehicle's auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders. One embodiment uses the vehicle's service brakes. One embodiment uses both auxiliary brakes and service brakes of the vehicle, the third braking process involves means 186a for initially allowing the vehicle to freewheel).
Claim.5 Bredberg discloses further comprising: while the vehicle is braked in accordance with the first brake mode and before the vehicle reaches the minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile, simulating vehicle speed for at least an adjacent portion of the upcoming road section in case the vehicle would be braked according to a third brake mode, thereby obtaining a simulated vehicle speed profile for the third brake mode; and when the obtained simulated vehicle speed profile for the third brake mode fulfils at least the first predefined criterion, braking the vehicle in accordance with the third bake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.9, the means 146 for determining braking strategy involves determination on the basis of characteristics of said downhill section of the route. The means 146 for determining braking strategy based on characteristics of said downhill section might be part of the means 144. The means 146 for determining braking strategy involves determination on the basis of vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort. The vehicle setting may be a setting for high degree of comfort, also called comfort mode, or a setting for faster driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort, also called sport mode. The vehicle setting is in one variant applied by the driver for desired comfort when driving inter alia on a downhill section of the route. The means 146 for determining braking strategy is arranged in one variant to determine braking strategy taking into account both characteristics of said downhill section and vehicle setting with regard to desired driving comfort, page.20, a speed-limiting feature detected is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance, and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, comprises the step S2a of determining braking strategy based on characteristics of said downhill section of the route and/or on the basis of vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort).
Claim.6 Bredberg discloses further comprising: when the vehicle: (i) reaches a distance point which is equal to or less than a predetermined distance from the minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile, (ii) is estimated to reach a distance point corresponding to the minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile within a predefined duration, and/or (iii) a vehicle speed within a predetermined acceptable speed range of the minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile (see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature, a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, page.18, Fig. 4b represents a speed profile based on maximum permissible lateral acceleration. The thin continuous line in Fig. 4b represents the vehicle's actual speed. It thus constitutes the executed speed profile based on the required acceleration determined on the basis of the speed-limiting feature in the form of the bend involving topology comprising the gradient and extent of the downhill section of the route, the vehicle's speed and running resistance, i.e. how the vehicle's speed is controlled on the basis of required acceleration), determining whether the vehicle may reach a vehicle speed equal to or lower than a vehicle speed of the minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile at said minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile through braking of the vehicle by coasting; and when it is determined that the vehicle may reach a vehicle speed equal to lower than the vehicle speed of the minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile at the minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile through braking the vehicle by coasting, initiating braking of the vehicle by coasting (see at least fig.1-4b, page.5, desired high degree of comfort is in one variant called comfort mode. Desired fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, which may be applied by the driver or another operator,page.7, desired driving modes such as economy mode, comfort mode or high power mode, page.11, the first braking process may also depend on vehicle setting and accordingly on a setting desired by the driver for the movement of the vehicle whereby driver setting for the first braking process corresponds to a comfort setting or comfort mode with high degree of comfort).
Claim.7 Bredberg discloses wherein the method is incorporated in a cruise control of the vehicle (see at least fig.1-2, page.1, Cruise controls based on topology are only allowed to deviate from that speed by a certain percentage or km/h. Should the vehicle concerned have to use a minor road with bends and speed limits, it is appropriate to switch off the cruise control, since the driver will him/herself still need to brake ahead of bends. On minor roads with many bends, it is also difficult for a driver to drive optimally from a fuel economy perspective).
Claim.8 Bredberg discloses wherein the event expected to require a reduction of vehicle speed comprises a curve of the road, a junction, a roundabout or a speed sign (see at least fig.1-4b, page.6, The camera means 1 16 is adapted to detecting the shape of the extent of the carriageway involving curvature of the carriageway and/or road markings in order thus to determine curvature of the carriageway along which the vehicle is travelling. The camera means 116 is adapted to detecting topography of the carriageway comprising uphill sections, hillcrests and downhill sections, detecting road signs along the vehicle's route comprising speed limit signs and to determining speed limit changes along the route by recognizing speed limit signs).
Claim.9 Bredberg discloses further comprising a step of determining that an upcoming road section for the vehicle comprises an event expected to require a reduction of vehicle speed based on data selected from the group comprising data relating to the vehicle’s geographical position in combination with map data or historical data, data obtained from another vehicle and/or from infrastructure, and/or data obtained from one or more sensors onboard the vehicle (see at least fig.2, page.6, a map information unit 1 12 providing map data on characteristics of the carriageway along the route comprising speed-limiting features in the form of bends and speed limit changes along the route, The map information unit 1 12 and the means 1 14 for determining the vehicle's location are in one variant part of means 1 1 0a for determining the vehicle's route, which means for determining the route is adapted to providing predetermined characteristics of the carriageway along the route comprising speed-limiting features in the form of bends and speed limit changes along the route. Said map data from the map information unit 1 12 comprise also characteristics of the carriageway along the vehicle's route comprising topography. The topography of the carriageway comprises downhill sections of the route, continuously detect the vehicle's location and characteristics of the carriageway comprising speed-limiting features in the form of bends and speed limit changes along the route and topography along the route comprising uphill sections, hillcrests and downhill sections).
Claim.16 Bredberg discloses wherein the first predefined criterion is that of a difference between an integral of the desired vehicle speed profile and an integral of the simulated vehicle speed profile for a distance interval, defined by a distance point corresponding to an initial vehicle position for which the simulated vehicle speed profile has been made and a distance point at which the simulated vehicle speed profile coincides with the desired vehicle speed profile, is: (i) less than a predefined threshold value, and (ii) equal to or above zero (see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature, a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, page.18, Fig. 4b represents a speed profile based on maximum permissible lateral acceleration. The thin continuous line in Fig. 4b represents the vehicle's actual speed. It thus constitutes the executed speed profile based on the required acceleration determined on the basis of the speed-limiting feature in the form of the bend involving topology comprising the gradient and extent of the downhill section of the route, the vehicle's speed and running resistance, i.e. how the vehicle's speed is controlled on the basis of required acceleration, page.5, The term "target speed" refers herein to a speed pertaining to a speed-limiting feature such as a safety-critical speed limiting feature, e.g. a bend, or a non safety-critical speed-limiting feature, e.g. a speed limit. The term "offset" refers herein to an upper limit on how far the vehicle's speed is allowed to exceed a target speed pertaining to a speed-limiting).
Claim.10 Bredberg discloses a computer program product stored on a non-transitory computer-readable medium (see at least fig.8, page.21, the device 500 which itself comprises a non-volatile memory 520, a data processing unit 510 and a read/write memory 550. The non-volatile memory 520 has a first memory element 530 in which a computer programme, e.g. an operating system, is stored for controlling the function of the device 500), said computer program product for controlling vehicle speed of a vehicle, wherein said computer program product comprising computer instructions to cause one or more control devices (see at least fig.2, page.6, an electronic control unit 100), for controlling vehicle speed of a vehicle (see at least fig.4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature)to: determine a maximum allowable vehicle speed profile for an upcoming road section comprising an event expected to require a reduction of vehicle speed(see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature, a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, page.18, Fig. 4b represents a speed profile based on maximum permissible lateral acceleration. The thin continuous line in Fig. 4b represents the vehicle's actual speed. It thus constitutes the executed speed profile based on the required acceleration determined on the basis of the speed-limiting feature in the form of the bend involving topology comprising the gradient and extent of the downhill section of the route, the vehicle's speed and running resistance, i.e. how the vehicle's speed is controlled on the basis of required acceleration); based on the determined maximum allowable vehicle speed profile, determine a desired vehicle speed profile to reach a minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile while avoiding vehicle speeds above the determined maximum allowable vehicle speed profile(see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, when a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, the step of determining required acceleration involves the step of determining braking strategy based on characteristics of said downhill section of the route and/or on the vehicle's setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort,page.3, speed-limiting features comprise bends on the route, where speed is prescribed on the basis of the vehicle's maximum permissible lateral acceleration, page.5, Setting for desired high degree of comfort is in one variant called comfort mode. Desired fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, which may be applied by the driver or another operator), said desired vehicle speed profile being designed to achieve a desired characteristic (see at least fig.1-4b, page.5, desired high degree of comfort is in one variant called comfort mode. Desired fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, which may be applied by the driver or another operator,page.7, desired driving modes such as economy mode, comfort mode or high power mode, page.11, the first braking process may also depend on vehicle setting and accordingly on a setting desired by the driver for the movement of the vehicle whereby driver setting for the first braking process corresponds to a comfort setting or comfort mode with high degree of comfort); simulate vehicle speed for at least an initial portion of the upcoming road section in case the vehicle would be braked according to a first brake mode, thereby obtaining a simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.7, continuously determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature makes it possible to achieve a speed profile which is more suitable from a driving perspective, the means 140 for determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature on the basis of a predetermined distance horizon ahead of the vehicle along its route, page.2, applying of braking strategy based on characteristics of the downhill section of the route, such as length and degree and kind of gradient, enables smart use of the vehicle's braking devices such as auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders, in order thereby to increase driver acceptance of this driving of the vehicle, page.11, activation of braking action involves using suitable brake devices of the vehicle. One embodiment uses the vehicle's auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders. One embodiment uses the vehicle's service brakes. One embodiment uses both auxiliary brakes and service brakes of the vehicle, the third braking process involves means 186a for initially allowing the vehicle to freewheel); and when the obtained simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake mode fulfils at least a first predefined criterion, which is dependent of the determined desired vehicle speed profile, brake the vehicle in accordance with the first brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.18, when the vehicle is travelling close to the downhill section of the route before the speed-limiting feature, suitable braking strategy is determined on the basis of characteristics of the downhill section, comprising gradient and extent. The speed of the vehicle and the running resistance on the downhill section are also taken into account. The downhill section of the route has a positively accelerating effect on the vehicle's running resistance. The broken line represents a first braking process according to the braking strategy, whereby a braking action is activated early on the downhill section of the route and results in positively accelerating movement of the vehicle along said section so that the vehicle is accelerated by positive braking, from a speed below the prescribed target speed pertaining to the speed-limiting).
Claim.12 Bredberg discloses a control device configured to control vehicle speed of a vehicle, (see at least fig.2, page.6, an electronic control unit 100), for controlling vehicle speed of a vehicle (see at least fig.4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature)wherein the control device is configured to: determine a maximum allowable vehicle speed profile for an upcoming road section comprising an event expected to require a reduction of vehicle speed (see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature, a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, page.18, Fig. 4b represents a speed profile based on maximum permissible lateral acceleration. The thin continuous line in Fig. 4b represents the vehicle's actual speed. It thus constitutes the executed speed profile based on the required acceleration determined on the basis of the speed-limiting feature in the form of the bend involving topology comprising the gradient and extent of the downhill section of the route, the vehicle's speed and running resistance, i.e. how the vehicle's speed is controlled on the basis of required acceleration); based on the determined maximum allowable vehicle speed profile, determine a desired vehicle speed profile to reach a minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile while avoiding vehicle speeds above the maximum allowable vehicle speed profile(see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, when a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, the step of determining required acceleration involves the step of determining braking strategy based on characteristics of said downhill section of the route and/or on the vehicle's setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort,page.3, speed-limiting features comprise bends on the route, where speed is prescribed on the basis of the vehicle's maximum permissible lateral acceleration, page.5, Setting for desired high degree of comfort is in one variant called comfort mode. Desired fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, which may be applied by the driver or another operator), said desired vehicle speeds profile being designed to achieve a desired characteristic (see at least fig.1-4b, page.5, desired high degree of comfort is in one variant called comfort mode. Desired fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, which may be applied by the driver or another operator,page.7, desired driving modes such as economy mode, comfort mode or high power mode, page.11, the first braking process may also depend on vehicle setting and accordingly on a setting desired by the driver for the movement of the vehicle whereby driver setting for the first braking process corresponds to a comfort setting or comfort mode with high degree of comfort); simulate vehicle speed for at least an initial portion of the upcoming road section in case the vehicle would be braked according to a first brake mode, thereby obtaining a simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.7, continuously determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature makes it possible to achieve a speed profile which is more suitable from a driving perspective, the means 140 for determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature on the basis of a predetermined distance horizon ahead of the vehicle along its route, page.2, applying of braking strategy based on characteristics of the downhill section of the route, such as length and degree and kind of gradient, enables smart use of the vehicle's braking devices such as auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders, in order thereby to increase driver acceptance of this driving of the vehicle, page.11, activation of braking action involves using suitable brake devices of the vehicle. One embodiment uses the vehicle's auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders. One embodiment uses the vehicle's service brakes. One embodiment uses both auxiliary brakes and service brakes of the vehicle, the third braking process involves means 186a for initially allowing the vehicle to freewheel); and when the obtained simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake mode fulfils at least a first predefined criterion, which is dependent of the determined desired vehicle speed profile, brake the vehicle in accordance with the first brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.18, when the vehicle is travelling close to the downhill section of the route before the speed-limiting feature, suitable braking strategy is determined on the basis of characteristics of the downhill section, comprising gradient and extent. The speed of the vehicle and the running resistance on the downhill section are also taken into account. The downhill section of the route has a positively accelerating effect on the vehicle's running resistance. The broken line represents a first braking process according to the braking strategy, whereby a braking action is activated early on the downhill section of the route and results in positively accelerating movement of the vehicle along said section so that the vehicle is accelerated by positive braking, from a speed below the prescribed target speed pertaining to the speed-limiting).
Claim.13 Bredberg discloses wherein the first predefined criterion is that of a difference between an integral of the desired vehicle speed profile and an integral of the simulated vehicle speed profile for a distance interval, defined by a distance point corresponding to an initial vehicle position for which the simulated vehicle speed profile has been made and a distance point at which the simulated vehicle speed profile coincides with the desired vehicle speed profile, is less than a predefined threshold value (see at least page.5, fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, page.11, a setting desired by the driver for the movement of the vehicle whereby driver setting of the vehicle for the third braking process corresponds to a sport setting or sport mode to cater for a desire to travel more quickly and consequently with a lower degree of comfort).
Claim.17 Bredberg discloses wherein the first predefined criterion is that of a difference between an integral of the desired vehicle speed profile and an integral of the simulated vehicle speed profile for a distance interval, defined by a distance point corresponding to an initial vehicle position for which the simulated vehicle speed profile has been made and a distance point at which the simulated vehicle speed profile coincides with the desired vehicle speed profile, is: (i) less than a predefined threshold value, and (ii) equal to or above zero (see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature, a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, page.18, Fig. 4b represents a speed profile based on maximum permissible lateral acceleration. The thin continuous line in Fig. 4b represents the vehicle's actual speed. It thus constitutes the executed speed profile based on the required acceleration determined on the basis of the speed-limiting feature in the form of the bend involving topology comprising the gradient and extent of the downhill section of the route, the vehicle's speed and running resistance, i.e. how the vehicle's speed is controlled on the basis of required acceleration, page.5, The term "target speed" refers herein to a speed pertaining to a speed-limiting feature such as a safety-critical speed limiting feature, e.g. a bend, or a non safety-critical speed-limiting feature, e.g. a speed limit. The term "offset" refers herein to an upper limit on how far the vehicle's speed is allowed to exceed a target speed pertaining to a speed-limiting).
Claim.18 Bredberg discloses further configured to: simulate vehicle speed for at least said initial portion of the upcoming road section in case the vehicle would be braked according to a second brake mode, thereby obtaining a simulated vehicle speed profile for the second brake mode; and when the obtained simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake mode does not fulfil said first predefined criterion and the obtained simulated vehicle speed profile for the second brake mode fulfils at least the first predefined criterion, brake the vehicle in accordance with the second brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.9, the means 146 for determining braking strategy involves determination on the basis of characteristics of said downhill section of the route. The means 146 for determining braking strategy based on characteristics of said downhill section might be part of the means 144. The means 146 for determining braking strategy involves determination on the basis of vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort. The vehicle setting may be a setting for high degree of comfort, also called comfort mode, or a setting for faster driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort, also called sport mode. The vehicle setting is in one variant applied by the driver for desired comfort when driving inter alia on a downhill section of the route. The means 146 for determining braking strategy is arranged in one variant to determine braking strategy taking into account both characteristics of said downhill section and vehicle setting with regard to desired driving comfort, page.20, a speed-limiting feature detected is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance, and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, comprises the step S2a of determining braking strategy based on characteristics of said downhill section of the route and/or on the basis of vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort).
Claim.19 Bredberg discloses further configured to: based on the obtained simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake mode, determine a duration of braking until the simulated vehicle speed profile coincides with the desired vehicle speed profile, and wherein the step of brake the vehicle in accordance with the first brake mode is performed when the determined duration is equal to or above a predefined minimum acceptable duration for the first brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.7, continuously determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature makes it possible to achieve a speed profile which is more suitable from a driving perspective, the means 140 for determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature on the basis of a predetermined distance horizon ahead of the vehicle along its route, page.2, applying of braking strategy based on characteristics of the downhill section of the route, such as length and degree and kind of gradient, enables smart use of the vehicle's braking devices such as auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders, in order thereby to increase driver acceptance of this driving of the vehicle, page.11, activation of braking action involves using suitable brake devices of the vehicle. One embodiment uses the vehicle's auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders. One embodiment uses the vehicle's service brakes. One embodiment uses both auxiliary brakes and service brakes of the vehicle, the third braking process involves means 186a for initially allowing the vehicle to freewheel).
Claim.20 Bredberg discloses further configured to: when the vehicle:(i) reaches a distance point which is equal to or less than a predetermined distance from the minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile,(ii) is estimated to reach a distance point corresponding to the minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile within a predefined duration, and/or (iii) a vehicle speed within a predetermined acceptable speed range of the minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile (see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature, a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, page.18, Fig. 4b represents a speed profile based on maximum permissible lateral acceleration. The thin continuous line in Fig. 4b represents the vehicle's actual speed. It thus constitutes the executed speed profile based on the required acceleration determined on the basis of the speed-limiting feature in the form of the bend involving topology comprising the gradient and extent of the downhill section of the route, the vehicle's speed and running resistance, i.e. how the vehicle's speed is controlled on the basis of required acceleration), determine whether the vehicle may reach a vehicle speed equal to or lower than a vehicle speed of the minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile at said minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile through braking of the vehicle by coasting; and when it is determined that the vehicle may reach a vehicle speed equal to or lower than the vehicle speed of the minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile at the minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile through brake the vehicle by coasting, initiate braking of the vehicle by coasting (see at least fig.1-4b, page.5, desired high degree of comfort is in one variant called comfort mode. Desired fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, which may be applied by the driver or another operator,page.7, desired driving modes such as economy mode, comfort mode or high power mode, page.11, the first braking process may also depend on vehicle setting and accordingly on a setting desired by the driver for the movement of the vehicle whereby driver setting for the first braking process corresponds to a comfort setting or comfort mode with high degree of comfort).
Claim.21 Bredberg discloses further configured to: determine that an upcoming road section for the vehicle comprises an event expected to require a reduction of vehicle speed based on data selected from the group comprising data relating to the vehicle's geographical position in combination with map data or historical data, data obtained from another vehicle and/or from infrastructure, and/or data obtained from one or more sensors onboard the vehicle (see at least fig.2, page.6, a map information unit 1 12 providing map data on characteristics of the carriageway along the route comprising speed-limiting features in the form of bends and speed limit changes along the route, The map information unit 1 12 and the means 1 14 for determining the vehicle's location are in one variant part of means 1 1 0a for determining the vehicle's route, which means for determining the route is adapted to providing predetermined characteristics of the carriageway along the route comprising speed-limiting features in the form of bends and speed limit changes along the route. Said map data from the map information unit 1 12 comprise also characteristics of the carriageway along the vehicle's route comprising topography. The topography of the carriageway comprises downhill sections of the route, continuously detect the vehicle's location and characteristics of the carriageway comprising speed-limiting features in the form of bends and speed limit changes along the route and topography along the route comprising uphill sections, hillcrests and downhill sections).
Claim.14 Bredberg discloses a cruise control system configured to control vehicle speed of a vehicle (see at least page.1, cruise controls based on topology are only allowed to deviate from that speed by a certain percentage or km/h. should the vehicle concerned have to use a minor road with bends and speed limits, it is appropriate to switch off the cruise control, since the driver will him/herself still need to brake ahead of bends), the cruise control system comprising a control device (see at least fig.2, page.6, an electronic control unit 100), for controlling vehicle speed of a vehicle (see at least fig.4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature)configured to: determine a maximum allowable vehicle speed profile for an upcoming road section comprising an event expected to require a reduction of vehicle speed(see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature, a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, page.18, Fig. 4b represents a speed profile based on maximum permissible lateral acceleration. The thin continuous line in Fig. 4b represents the vehicle's actual speed. It thus constitutes the executed speed profile based on the required acceleration determined on the basis of the speed-limiting feature in the form of the bend involving topology comprising the gradient and extent of the downhill section of the route, the vehicle's speed and running resistance, i.e. how the vehicle's speed is controlled on the basis of required acceleration); based on the determined maximum allowable vehicle speed profile, determine a desired vehicle speed profile to reach a minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile while avoiding vehicle speeds above the maximum allowable vehicle speed profile(see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, when a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, the step of determining required acceleration involves the step of determining braking strategy based on characteristics of said downhill section of the route and/or on the vehicle's setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort,page.3, speed-limiting features comprise bends on the route, where speed is prescribed on the basis of the vehicle's maximum permissible lateral acceleration, page.5, Setting for desired high degree of comfort is in one variant called comfort mode. Desired fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, which may be applied by the driver or another operator), said desired vehicle speed profile being designed to achieve a desired characteristic (see at least fig.1-4b, page.5, desired high degree of comfort is in one variant called comfort mode. Desired fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, which may be applied by the driver or another operator,page.7, desired driving modes such as economy mode, comfort mode or high power mode, page.11, the first braking process may also depend on vehicle setting and accordingly on a setting desired by the driver for the movement of the vehicle whereby driver setting for the first braking process corresponds to a comfort setting or comfort mode with high degree of comfort); simulate vehicle speed for at least an initial portion of the upcoming road section in case the vehicle would be braked according to a first brake mode, thereby obtaining a simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.7, continuously determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature makes it possible to achieve a speed profile which is more suitable from a driving perspective, the means 140 for determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature on the basis of a predetermined distance horizon ahead of the vehicle along its route, page.2, applying of braking strategy based on characteristics of the downhill section of the route, such as length and degree and kind of gradient, enables smart use of the vehicle's braking devices such as auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders, in order thereby to increase driver acceptance of this driving of the vehicle, page.11, activation of braking action involves using suitable brake devices of the vehicle. One embodiment uses the vehicle's auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders. One embodiment uses the vehicle's service brakes. One embodiment uses both auxiliary brakes and service brakes of the vehicle, the third braking process involves means 186a for initially allowing the vehicle to freewheel); and when the obtained simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake mode fulfils at least a first predefined criterion, which is dependent of the determined desired vehicle speed profile, brake the vehicle in accordance with the first brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.18, when the vehicle is travelling close to the downhill section of the route before the speed-limiting feature, suitable braking strategy is determined on the basis of characteristics of the downhill section, comprising gradient and extent. The speed of the vehicle and the running resistance on the downhill section are also taken into account. The downhill section of the route has a positively accelerating effect on the vehicle's running resistance. The broken line represents a first braking process according to the braking strategy, whereby a braking action is activated early on the downhill section of the route and results in positively accelerating movement of the vehicle along said section so that the vehicle is accelerated by positive braking, from a speed below the prescribed target speed pertaining to the speed-limiting).
Claim.15 Bredberg discloses a vehicle comprising a control device (see at least fig.1, page.2, adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, comprising the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature)configured to: determine a maximum allowable vehicle speed profile for an upcoming road section comprising an event expected to require a reduction of vehicle speed(see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, a method for adjusting the acceleration of a vehicle travelling along a route, the steps of continuously detecting the presence of speed-limiting features along the vehicle's route and responding to their detection by determining the acceleration required for reaching a prescribed target speed at such a detected coming speed-limiting feature, a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, page.18, Fig. 4b represents a speed profile based on maximum permissible lateral acceleration. The thin continuous line in Fig. 4b represents the vehicle's actual speed. It thus constitutes the executed speed profile based on the required acceleration determined on the basis of the speed-limiting feature in the form of the bend involving topology comprising the gradient and extent of the downhill section of the route, the vehicle's speed and running resistance, i.e. how the vehicle's speed is controlled on the basis of required acceleration); based on the determined maximum allowable vehicle speed profile, determine a desired vehicle speed profile to reach a minimum point of the determined maximum allowable speed profile while avoiding vehicle speeds above the maximum allowable vehicle speed profile(see at least fig.1-4b, page.2, when a detected speed-limiting feature is preceded by a downhill section of the route which has positively accelerating effects on the vehicle's running resistance and the vehicle's speed is initially below said target speed, the step of determining required acceleration involves the step of determining braking strategy based on characteristics of said downhill section of the route and/or on the vehicle's setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort,page.3, speed-limiting features comprise bends on the route, where speed is prescribed on the basis of the vehicle's maximum permissible lateral acceleration, page.5, Setting for desired high degree of comfort is in one variant called comfort mode. Desired fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, which may be applied by the driver or another operator), said desired vehicle speed profile being designed to achieve a desired characteristic (see at least fig.1-4b, page.5, desired high degree of comfort is in one variant called comfort mode. Desired fast driving with accordingly lower degree of comfort is in one variant called sport mode. The term "vehicle setting with regard to desired degree of driving comfort" is a setting of the vehicle which in one variant consequently represents a manual setting for desired degree of comfort, which may be applied by the driver or another operator,page.7, desired driving modes such as economy mode, comfort mode or high power mode, page.11, the first braking process may also depend on vehicle setting and accordingly on a setting desired by the driver for the movement of the vehicle whereby driver setting for the first braking process corresponds to a comfort setting or comfort mode with high degree of comfort); simulate vehicle speed for at least an initial portion of the upcoming road section in case the vehicle would be braked according to a first brake mode, thereby obtaining a simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.7, continuously determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature makes it possible to achieve a speed profile which is more suitable from a driving perspective, the means 140 for determining the acceleration required for reaching prescribed target speed at a coming speed-limiting feature on the basis of a predetermined distance horizon ahead of the vehicle along its route, page.2, applying of braking strategy based on characteristics of the downhill section of the route, such as length and degree and kind of gradient, enables smart use of the vehicle's braking devices such as auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders, in order thereby to increase driver acceptance of this driving of the vehicle, page.11, activation of braking action involves using suitable brake devices of the vehicle. One embodiment uses the vehicle's auxiliary brakes, e.g. retarders. One embodiment uses the vehicle's service brakes. One embodiment uses both auxiliary brakes and service brakes of the vehicle, the third braking process involves means 186a for initially allowing the vehicle to freewheel); and when the obtained simulated vehicle speed profile for the first brake mode fulfils at least a first predefined criterion, which is dependent of the determined desired vehicle speed profile, brake the vehicle in accordance with the first brake mode (see at least fig.1-4b, page.18, when the vehicle is travelling close to the downhill section of the route before the speed-limiting feature, suitable braking strategy is determined on the basis of characteristics of the downhill section, comprising gradient and extent. The speed of the vehicle and the running resistance on the downhill section are also taken into account. The downhill section of the route has a positively accelerating effect on the vehicle's running resistance. The broken line represents a first braking process according to the braking strategy, whereby a braking action is activated early on the downhill section of the route and results in positively accelerating movement of the vehicle along said section so that the vehicle is accelerated by positive braking, from a speed below the prescribed target speed pertaining to the speed-limiting).
Conclusion
Related References
The relevant art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US20210070299A1 by Dempsey discloses preventing road speed excursions while traversing a road grade event includes receiving, by a controller, vehicle operations data regarding operation of a vehicle and road grade data regarding an upcoming road grade of a path ahead of the vehicle. The method additionally includes determining, by the controller, an amount of braking power that substantially prevents the vehicle from exceeding a speed threshold regarding operation of the vehicle based on the road grade and vehicle operations data, and determining an amount of engine braking power based on a current transmission setting. The method further includes controlling, by the controller, a transmission setting in response to a determination that the amount of engine braking power is less than the amount of braking power.
/SHARDUL D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664