CTNF 19/114,984 CTNF 85066 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Domestic Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C.120, 121, or 365(c) or 365 (a) of any PCT Application international application is acknowledged, which papers have been placed of record in the file. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement submitted on 3/25/2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101 07-04-01 AIA 07-04 35 U.S.C. 101 reads as follows: Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title. Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The language of the claim raises a question as to whether the claim is directed merely to an abstract idea that is not tied to a technological art, environment or machine which would result in a practical application producing a concrete, useful, and tangible result to form the basis of statutory subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101. Claim 14 claims the non-statutory subject matter of a computer program comprising instructions, which is purely software and thus non-statutory subject matter. Software not claimed as embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium are descriptive material per se and are not statutory because they are not capable of causing functional change in the computer. See, e.g., Warmerdam, 33 F.3d at 1361, 31 USPQ2d at 1754 (claim to a Software per se held non-statutory). Therefore, since the claimed computer program is not tangibly embodied in a physical medium and encoded on a non-transitory computer readable medium, then the claim does not comply with 35 U.S.C 101. Claim 15 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 14. *Note: An amendment to these claims adding “non-transitory computer readable medium comprising” before “computer-program” will overcome this rejection. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 8 recites the limitation " the information regarding the set of management operations " in lines 1 and 2 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 8, 9, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syed, et al (US PG Publication 2015/0131989) , hereafter Syed, in view of Fan, et al (US PG Publication 2015/0003296) , hereafter Fan . Regarding claim 1, Syed teaches an apparatus comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory including a computer program code, wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor ([0070] The term "component" or "circuitry" may include hardware, such as a processor or a combination of hardware and software. Software includes one or more computer executable instructions that when executed by one or more component cause the component or circuitry to perform a specified function) , to cause the apparatus to: determine, for a terminal device, a connection path, wherein the connection path comprises multiple radio links connecting an overlaying network and a subnetwork, and wherein the terminal device resides in the subnetwork ([0097] SNC-1 (Sub-Network Connection-1- See [0102]) identified in FIG. 3 as the first sub-network connection 100 [0098] SNC-2 identified in FIG. 3 as the second sub-network connection 102 [0099] SNC-3 identified in FIG. 3 as the third sub-network connection 104 [0100] 4. After that User has to connect the SNC-1 to SNC-2 using a Link-1 (between 2 different types of nodes and identified in FIG. 3 as the first link 106) [0101] 5. Similarly user connects SNC-2 TO SNC-3 using Link-2 (between 2 different types of nodes and identified in FIG. 3 as the second link 108) [0102] These five steps create five different managed entities, the first sub-network connection 100, the second sub-network connection 102, the third sub-network connection 104, the first link 106 and the second link 108 . The computer system 10 in accordance with the present disclosure may consolidate the five managed entities and provides a single Network Sub-Network Connection (SNC) creating, in essence, a virtual overlay indicative of the five managed entities ) ; obtain a management scheme for coordinating radio resource usage of the multiple radio links ([0102] These five steps create five different managed entities , the first sub-network connection 100, the second sub-network connection 102, the third sub-network connection 104, the first link 106 and the second link 108. This greatly simplifies the management of the managed entities for the customer because the virtual overlay provides a graphical illustration of the state of the resources within the transport network 68 that are allocated to the customer) . Syed does not teach cause radio resource control states of the radio links to be synchronized in accordance with the management scheme. In the same field of endeavor, Fan teaches cause radio resource control states of the radio links to be synchronized in accordance with the management scheme ([0113] FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating nets of an overlay network , as shown in a display window of the GUICP referred to herein. FIG. 6 depicts a representative network configuration. A P2P network enabled by the present invention may consist of a connected sub-network formed by connected channels of the same NID, which provides the basic structured data path for instruction/data packet distribution [0162] (B) Computing resource management systems for distributed computing applications including structured overlay networks . First of all, using the structured overlay network, a network manager can retrieve system resource status of all available computers in real time [0163] (C) Data/file synchronization among network-connected devices, including mobile devices , for example in connection with file sharing services, location based services, or presence based services. To do data synchronization of data on multiple nodes using the P2P network, a hash table may be set on each nodes, universal time reference can be distributed along a bidirectional net to all nodes (with a short delay)) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Syed, which includes managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, to include Fan’s teaching of managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, including synchronizing resources, for the benefit of providing real time monitoring, data collection and control of smart devices, such as for example in industrial systems (see [0164]). Regarding claim 8, Syed, in view of Fan, teaches an apparatus according to claim 1. Syed further teaches wherein the information regarding the set of management operations comprises at least one of the following: a set of policies expressing resource management optimization goals and instructions for performing resource management ([0113] The control module 154 may also be programmed with instructions establishing the control module 154 and the SDN configuration manager 50 to work together to allocate resources provided by one or more of the input interfaces 150 and output interfaces 152) . Regarding claim 9, Syed, in view of Fan, teaches an apparatus according to claim 1. Syed further teaches wherein the management scheme is obtained, at least partly, from another device ([0126] The functional components of SDN configuration manager 50 may be distributed singularly or duplicatively in any manner between NEs and/or devices external to the transport network 68. In some implementations, SDN configuration manager 50 may include other functional components (not shown) that aid in managing network configurations and allocating network resources ) . Regarding claim 12, Syed teaches a method comprising: determining, for a terminal device, a connection path, wherein the connection path comprises multiple radio links connecting an overlaying network and a subnetwork, and wherein the terminal device is comprised in the subnetwork ([0097] SNC-1 (Sub-Network Connection-1- See [0102]) identified in FIG. 3 as the first sub-network connection 100 [0098] SNC-2 identified in FIG. 3 as the second sub-network connection 102 [0099] SNC-3 identified in FIG. 3 as the third sub-network connection 104 [0100] 4. After that User has to connect the SNC-1 to SNC-2 using a Link-1 (between 2 different types of nodes and identified in FIG. 3 as the first link 106) [0101] 5. Similarly user connects SNC-2 TO SNC-3 using Link-2 (between 2 different types of nodes and identified in FIG. 3 as the second link 108) [0102] These five steps create five different managed entities, the first sub-network connection 100, the second sub-network connection 102, the third sub-network connection 104, the first link 106 and the second link 108 . The computer system 10 in accordance with the present disclosure may consolidate the five managed entities and provides a single Network Sub-Network Connection (SNC) creating, in essence, a virtual overlay indicative of the five managed entities ) ; obtaining a management scheme for coordinating radio resource usage of the multiple radio links ([0102] These five steps create five different managed entities , the first sub-network connection 100, the second sub-network connection 102, the third sub-network connection 104, the first link 106 and the second link 108. This greatly simplifies the management of the managed entities for the customer because the virtual overlay provides a graphical illustration of the state of the resources within the transport network 68 that are allocated to the customer) . Syed does not teach causing radio resource control states of the radio links to be synchronized in accordance with the management scheme. In the same field of endeavor, Fan teaches causing radio resource control states of the radio links to be synchronized in accordance with the management scheme ([0113] FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating nets of an overlay network , as shown in a display window of the GUICP referred to herein. FIG. 6 depicts a representative network configuration. A P2P network enabled by the present invention may consist of a connected sub-network formed by connected channels of the same NID, which provides the basic structured data path for instruction/data packet distribution [0162] (B) Computing resource management systems for distributed computing applications including structured overlay networks . First of all, using the structured overlay network, a network manager can retrieve system resource status of all available computers in real time [0163] (C) Data/file synchronization among network-connected devices, including mobile devices , for example in connection with file sharing services, location based services, or presence based services. To do data synchronization of data on multiple nodes using the P2P network, a hash table may be set on each nodes, universal time reference can be distributed along a bidirectional net to all nodes (with a short delay)) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Syed, which includes managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, to include Fan’s teaching of managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, including synchronizing resources, for the benefit of providing real time monitoring, data collection and control of smart devices, such as for example in industrial systems (see [0164]). Regarding claim 14, Syed teaches a computer program comprising instructions for causing an apparatus to perform at least the following: determine, for a terminal device, a connection path, wherein the connection path comprises multiple radio links connecting an overlaying network and a subnetwork, and wherein the terminal device is comprised in the subnetwork ([0097] SNC-1 (Sub-Network Connection-1- See [0102]) identified in FIG. 3 as the first sub-network connection 100 [0098] SNC-2 identified in FIG. 3 as the second sub-network connection 102 [0099] SNC-3 identified in FIG. 3 as the third sub-network connection 104 [0100] 4. After that User has to connect the SNC-1 to SNC-2 using a Link-1 (between 2 different types of nodes and identified in FIG. 3 as the first link 106) [0101] 5. Similarly user connects SNC-2 TO SNC-3 using Link-2 (between 2 different types of nodes and identified in FIG. 3 as the second link 108) [0102] These five steps create five different managed entities, the first sub-network connection 100, the second sub-network connection 102, the third sub-network connection 104, the first link 106 and the second link 108 . The computer system 10 in accordance with the present disclosure may consolidate the five managed entities and provides a single Network Sub-Network Connection (SNC) creating, in essence, a virtual overlay indicative of the five managed entities ) ; obtain a management scheme for coordinating radio resource usage of the multiple radio links ([0102] These five steps create five different managed entities , the first sub-network connection 100, the second sub-network connection 102, the third sub-network connection 104, the first link 106 and the second link 108. This greatly simplifies the management of the managed entities for the customer because the virtual overlay provides a graphical illustration of the state of the resources within the transport network 68 that are allocated to the customer) . Syed does not teach cause radio resource control states of the radio links to be synchronized in accordance with the management scheme. In the same field of endeavor, Fan teaches cause radio resource control states of the radio links to be synchronized in accordance with the management scheme ([0113] FIG. 6 is a diagram illustrating nets of an overlay network , as shown in a display window of the GUICP referred to herein. FIG. 6 depicts a representative network configuration. A P2P network enabled by the present invention may consist of a connected sub-network formed by connected channels of the same NID, which provides the basic structured data path for instruction/data packet distribution [0162] (B) Computing resource management systems for distributed computing applications including structured overlay networks . First of all, using the structured overlay network, a network manager can retrieve system resource status of all available computers in real time [0163] (C) Data/file synchronization among network-connected devices, including mobile devices , for example in connection with file sharing services, location based services, or presence based services. To do data synchronization of data on multiple nodes using the P2P network, a hash table may be set on each nodes, universal time reference can be distributed along a bidirectional net to all nodes (with a short delay)) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Syed, which includes managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, to include Fan’s teaching of managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, including synchronizing resources, for the benefit of providing real time monitoring, data collection and control of smart devices, such as for example in industrial systems (see [0164]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syed, in view of Fan, and further in view of Fard, et al (WO 2022125747 A1) , hereafter Fard . Regarding claim 4, Syed, in view of Fan, teaches an apparatus according to claim 1. Syed, in view of Fan, does not teach wherein the apparatus is further caused to adjust parameters of discontinued reception of the radio links to be synchronized in accordance with the management scheme. In the same field of endeavor, Fard teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to adjust parameters of discontinued reception of the radio links to be synchronized in accordance with the management scheme ([0132] While in RRC idle 910, the UE may be in a sleep state for a majority of the time (e.g., to conserve battery power). The UE may wake up periodically (e.g., once in every discontinuous reception cycle ) to monitor for paging messages from the access network [0225] Example embodiments may improve the system performance (e.g., management of resources ) by selectively controlling an RRC-inactive-only mode of wireless devices. Example embodiments may comprise mechanisms to synchronize the state of the resources for the wireless device in the overlay network and the resources in the underlay network ) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Syed, in view of Fan, which includes managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, to include Fard’s teaching of managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, including using a discontinuous reception, for the benefit of improving system performance and utilization (see [0225]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syed, in view of Fan, and further in view of Yakupov, et al (US PG Publication 2023/0018929) , hereafter Yakupov . Regarding claim 5, Syed, in view of Fan, teaches an apparatus according to claim 1. Syed, in view of Fan, does not teach wherein the apparatus is further caused to monitor activity within the at least one of the overlaying network or the subnetwork and provide data regarding the activity as an input for learning patterns of activity. In the same field of endeavor, Yakupov teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to monitor activity within the at least one of the overlaying network or the subnetwork and provide data regarding the activity as an input for learning patterns of activity ([0057] The method can further comprise the computer comprising: a machine learning engine ; and a training database comprising training data from the one or more camera feeds ; wherein the method further comprises tuning the scene detection engine, the object detection engine, or both with the machine learning engine [0074] Once an initial setup is complete, the device 101 is configured to continuously monitor video feeds from all selected cameras 102 a, 102 b, 102 c , identify objects and events [0076] The device is designed to connect to an existing network 103 (via Wi-Fi or Ethernet) and automatically discover IP cameras 102a, 102b, 102c connected to the same network. The system is configured with an interface whereby the user can confirm which cameras they want to monitor , and what objects or events interest them [0138] Wireless network 103 can include any of a variety of wireless sub-networks that can further overlay stand-alone ad-hoc networks , and the like, to provide an infrastructure-oriented connection for computers) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Syed, in view of Fan, which includes managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, to include Yakupov’s teaching of managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, including monitoring activity, for the benefit of providing a system that operates autonomously, without requiring a cloud architecture to support it (see [0085]). Regarding claim 6, Syed, in view of Fan, and further in view of Yakupov, teaches an apparatus according to claim 5. Yakupov further teaches wherein the patterns of activity are used to modify the obtained management scheme ([0138] End-user account that can be managed by another computer, such Administrative Computer 106 and can be configured to enable the end-user to manage one or more online activities , including search activities, social networking activities, browse various websites, communicate with other users, or the like) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Syed, in view of Fan, and further in view of Yakupov, which includes managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, to include Yakupov’s teaching of managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, including monitoring activity, for the benefit of providing a system that operates autonomously, without requiring a cloud architecture to support it (see [0085]). Regarding claim 7, Syed, in view of Fan, and further in view of Yakupov, teaches an apparatus according to claim 5. Yakupov further teaches wherein the learning is performed using machine learning ([0057] The method can further comprise the computer comprising: a machine learning engine ; and a training database comprising training data from the one or more camera feeds ; wherein the method further comprises tuning the scene detection engine, the object detection engine, or both with the machine learning engine) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Syed, in view of Fan, and further in view of Yakupov, which includes managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, to include Yakupov’s teaching of managing resources of a sub-network within an overlay network, including monitoring activity, for the benefit of providing a system that operates autonomously, without requiring a cloud architecture to support it (see [0085]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-3, 10, 11, 13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note: Claim 15 must also over the overcome the 101 rejection above, in order to be allowed. Conclusion Citation of Pertinent Prior Art not Applied 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Littlefield, et al (US PG Publication 2019/0196421), hereafter Littlefield, teaches wireless network is configured to couple client computers and its components with network and includes any of a variety of wireless sub-networks that may further overlay networks. Marrone, et al (US PG Publication 2022/0182420), hereafter Marrone, teaches wireless network includes any of a variety of wireless sub-networks that may further overlay stand-alone ad-hoc networks, and the like, to provide an infrastructure-oriented connection for client computers 103-105. Such sub-networks may include overlay networks, Wireless LAN (WLAN) networks, cellular networks, and the like Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Frank Donado whose telephone number is (571) 270-5361. The examiner can normally be reached Mondays through Fridays between 8 am and 4 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, Applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s Supervisor Patent Examiner (SPE) Charles Appiah can be reached at 571-272-7904. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /FRANK E DONADO/Examiner, Art Unit 2641 /CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 2 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 3 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 5 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 6 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 7 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 8 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 9 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 10 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 11 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 12 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 13 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 14 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 15 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 16 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 17 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 18 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 19 Art Unit: 2641 Application/Control Number: 19/114,984 Page 20 Art Unit: 2641