DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2021/039474 to Kobayashi, with US Pub. No. 2022/0282402 cited as the English equivalent, in view of USPN 7,687,141 to Yabuki.
Regarding claims 1-10, Kobayashi teaches an infrared-absorbing fiber, knit fabric, or non-woven fabric containing an infrared-absorbing pigment (Kobayashi, Abstract). Kobayashi teaches that the fiber may be a synthetic fiber, semi-synthetic fiber, natural fiber, produced fiber, inorganic fiber, and a blended yarn, wherein the synthetic fiber includes polyester, polyolefin, and acrylic among others (Id., paragraphs 0094-0100). Kobayashi teaches that the infrared absorbing pigment is directly blended with a starting polymer of a synthetic fiber or attached to at least one of a surface and an inner portion of a fiber (Id., paragraphs 0129-0136). Kobayashi teaches that the infrared absorbing pigment comprises a composite tungsten oxide represented by the general formula MxWyOz, wherein M is one or more elements selected from the group consisting of H, He, alkali metals, alkaline earth metals, and rare earth elements, and wherein x, y, and z are each a positive number, 0 < x/y ≤ 1, and 2.2 ≤ z/y ≤ 3.0 (Id., paragraphs 0024-0029, 0103-0120). Kobayashi teaches that the content of the infrared absorbing pigment per area may be 0.10 g/m2 or greater (Id., paragraphs 0152-0155), such as 0.21 or 0.44 g/m2 (Id., Tables 1-10).
Kobayashi does not appear to specifically teach the claimed particle size. However, Yabuki teaches a similar near-infrared absorbing fiber comprising tungsten oxide, having heat retaining properties, satisfactory weather resistance, heat absorption efficiency, and transparency (Yabuki, Abstract). Yabuki teaches preparing microparticles of a heat absorbing component by pulverizing tungsten oxide and/or composite tungsten oxide to a grain size of 1 nm to 800 nm (Id., column 3 lines 23-39). Yabuki teaches that fibers formed by dispersing the microparticles in an appropriate solvent and adding the dispersion to the surface or interior of fibers transmit light in the visible region while simultaneously absorbing sunlight rays, particularly light in the infrared region (Id.). Yabuki teaches that the content of the microparticles is 0.001 wt% to 80 wt% with respect to a solid portion of the fiber (Id., column 3 lines 40-45). Yabuki teaches that the composite tungsten oxide microparticles comprise a substantially similar general formula as disclosed in Kobayashi (Id., column 3 lines 50-67). Yabuki teaches that the fiber can be applied in winter clothing, sports apparel, and other fiber articles (Id., column 4 lines 45-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the infrared-absorbing fiber of Kobayashi, wherein the infrared absorbing pigment comprises a particle size, such as within the claimed range, as taught by Yabuki, motivated by the desire of forming a conventional infrared-absorbing fiber comprising a composite tungsten oxide particle size known in the art to be predictably suitable for substantially similar fibers and uses, where properties including heat retaining properties, satisfactory weather resistance, heat absorption efficiency, and transparency are desired.
Regarding claim 2, although the prior art combination does not appear to teach the specifically claimed average reflectance, the prior art combination teaches a substantially similar fiber comprising the claimed composite tungsten oxide particles with the claimed general formula, including the claimed particle size and particle amount. Therefore, it is reasonable for one of ordinary skill to expect that the claimed property naturally flows from the teachings of the prior art combination. Products of identical structure cannot have mutually exclusive properties. The burden is on Applicant to prove otherwise.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, the prior art combination teaches substantially similar and overlapping particles, including the claimed element M (Kobayashi, paragraphs 0103-0120; Yabuki, column 5 line 6 to column 6 line 56).
Regarding claims 5-10, the prior art combination teaches that the fiber may be a synthetic fiber, semi-synthetic fiber, natural fiber, produced fiber, inorganic fiber, and a blended yarn, wherein the synthetic fiber includes polyester, polyolefin, and acrylic among others, for use in forming clothing (Kobayashi, paragraph 0038). Additionally, Yabuki teaches similar fibers including a synthetic fiber, a semisynthetic fiber, a natural fiber, a reclaimed fiber, and an inorganic fiber; or a textile blend, doubled yarn, or mixed yarn formed by combining filaments of the same, wherein synthetic fibers include acrylic, polyester, and polyolefins among others, a semisynthetic fiber is selected from cellulose fiber, protein fiber, chlorinated rubber, and hydrochlorinated rubber, a natural fiber is selected from vegetable fiber, animal fiber, and mineral fiber, and a reclaimed fiber is selected from cellulose fiber, protein fiber, algin fiber, rubber fiber, chitin fiber, and mannan fiber (Yabuki, column 4 lines 8-29). Therefore, although the prior art combination teaches the claimed synthetic fiber, it would have been additionally obvious to make the infrared-absorbing fiber of the prior art combination, wherein the fiber comprises the claimed fibers, as taught by Kobayashi and Yabuki, motivated by the desire of forming a conventional infrared-absorbing fiber comprising fiber compositions known in the art as being predictably suitable for similar infrared absorbing applications.
Conclusion
/PETER Y CHOI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786