Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202211201313.4, filed on 9/29/22.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/28/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Note: Claim 1 is rejected twice below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-6, 8-13, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Mason et al. (US 2013/0237076). (“Mason”).
6. Regarding claim 1, Mason teaches A socket assembly for testing an integrated circuit (IC) of an IC package [Figures 1-14, a socket assembly for testing an IC is shown], the socket assembly comprising: a main body comprising a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface, wherein the main body defines a cavity that extends between the first surface and the second surface, wherein the cavity is sized to receive a spring probe therein, and wherein the main body further defines an opening at the first surface for the cavity that is offset relative to a centerline of the cavity [Figures 1-14, P(0053-0063) teaches the socket assembly 406 comprising a main body 406/472 comprising a first surface 408 and a second surface 410, the main body defines a cavity 414 that extends between the surfaces, the cavity 414 is sized to receive a spring probe 412, the main body 406/472 defines an opening 476 at the first surface 408 that is offset relative to the centerline of the cavity 414].
7. Regarding claim 2, Mason teaches wherein: the opening is defined by a through hole in the first surface of the main body that is offset relative to the centerline of the cavity [Figures 1-14, the opening 476 is defined by a through hole].
7. Regarding claim 3, Mason teaches wherein: the main body defines a contact surface between the opening and a spring probe disposed within the cavity, and the main body includes an electrically insulating layer on the contact surface that electrically isolates the spring probe from the main body [Figure 12, P(0002) teaches insulative socket body].
7. Regarding claim 4, Mason teaches further comprising: a spring probe partially disposed within the cavity, wherein the spring probe comprises a tapered portion and a contact tip that extend through the opening away from the cavity; and an electrically non-conductive ring circumscribing an outer surface of the spring probe that contacts an inner wall of the cavity [Figures 10-12, a spring probe 412 is partially disposed within the cavity 414, a tapered portion 436 and a contact tip 420/422 is shown].
8. Regarding claim 5, Mason teaches further comprising: a spring probe partially disposed within the cavity, wherein the spring probe comprises a tapered portion and a contact tip that extend through the opening away from the cavity [Figures 1-14, a spring probe 412 is partially disposed within the cavity 414].
9. Regarding claim 6, Mason teaches wherein: the main body defines a contact surface between the opening and the tapered portion of the spring probe, the contact surface configured to displace the contact tip laterally with respect to the first surface when the spring probe is compressed in length [Figures 1-14, the main body 406/472 defines a contact surface as shown].
10. Regarding claim 8, Mason teaches further comprising: a main body probe cap comprising a third surface and a fourth surface opposing the third surface, wherein the third surface is configured to contact the second surface of the main body, and wherein the main body probe cap further comprises a probe retainer that extends between the third surface and the fourth surface, the probe retainer aligned with the cavity and sized to expose a portion of a spring probe at the fourth surface [Figures 1-14, a main body probe cap 470 comprising a third surface and a fourth surface].
10. Regarding claim 9, Mason teaches A method of assembling a socket assembly for testing an integrated circuit (IC) of an IC package [Figures 1-14, a method of assembling a socket assembly for testing an IC is taught], the method comprising: forming a main body comprising a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface, wherein the main body defines a cavity that extends between the first surface and the second surface, wherein the cavity is sized to receive a spring probe therein, and wherein the main body further defines an opening at the first surface for the cavity that is offset relative to a centerline of the cavity [Figures 1-14, P(0053-0063) teaches the socket assembly 406 comprising a main body 406/472 comprising a first surface 408 and a second surface 410, the main body defines a cavity 414 that extends between the surfaces, the cavity 414 is sized to receive a spring probe 412, the main body 406/472 defines an opening 476 at the first surface 408 that is offset relative to the centerline of the cavity 414].10. Regarding claim 10, Mason teaches wherein forming the main body further comprises: forming a through hole for the opening in the first surface of the main body that is offset relative to the centerline of the cavity [Figures 1-14, the main body further comprise a through hole (see 476)].
10. Regarding claim 11, Mason teaches wherein: the main body defines a contact surface between the opening and a spring probe disposed within the cavity, and the method further comprises forming an electrically insulating layer on the contact surface that electrically isolates the spring probe from the main body [Figure 12, P(0002) teaches insulative socket body].
11. Regarding claim 12, Mason teaches further comprising: installing a spring probe partially disposed within the cavity, wherein the spring probe comprises a tapered portion and a contact tip that extend through the opening away from the cavity [Figures 10-12, spring probes 412 is shown, each comprising a tapered portion 436 and a contact tip 420/422].
12. Regarding claim 13, Mason teaches wherein forming the main body further comprises: defining a contact surface between the opening and the tapered portion of the spring probe, the contact surface configured to displace the contact tip laterally with respect to the first surface when the spring probe is compressed in length [Figures 10-12, a main body 406/472 is shown].
10. Regarding claim 16, Mason teaches A socket assembly for testing an integrated circuit (IC) of an IC package [Figures 1-14, a socket assembly for testing an IC is shown], the socket assembly comprising: a plurality of spring probes, each comprising a tapered portion and a contact tip [Figures 10-12, spring probes 412 is shown, each comprising a tapered portion 436 and a contact tip 420/422]; and a main body comprising a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface, wherein the main body defines a plurality of cavities that extend between the first surface and the second surface, wherein each of the plurality of cavities is sized to receive one of the plurality of spring probes therein, wherein the main body further defines an offset hole at the first surface for each of the plurality of cavities, and wherein the tapered portion and the contact tip for each of the plurality of spring probes extend through the offset hole away from the first surface [Figures 1-14, P(0053-0063) teaches the socket assembly 406 comprising a main body 406/472 comprising a first surface 408 and a second surface 410, the main body defines a cavity 414 that extends between the surfaces, the cavity 414 is sized to receive a spring probe 412, the main body 406/472 defines an opening 476 at the first surface 408 that is offset relative to the centerline of the cavity 414, see tapered portion 436 and the contact tip 420/422 extending through the offset hole away from the first surface 408].
10. Regarding claim 17, Mason teaches wherein: contact between the tapered portion and a contact surface of the offset hole when the plurality of spring probes are compressed displaces the contact tip laterally with respect to a major plane of the first surface [Figures 1-14, the arrangement is shown].
10. Regarding claim 18, Mason teaches wherein: the main body includes an electrically insulating layer on the contact surface that electrically isolates the plurality of spring probes from the main body [Figure 12, P(0002) teaches insulative socket body].
11. Regarding claim 20, Mason teaches further comprising: a main body probe cap comprising a third surface and a fourth surface opposing the third surface, wherein the third surface is configured to contact the second surface of the main body, and wherein the main body probe cap further comprises a plurality of probe retainers that extend between the third surface and the fourth surface, each of the plurality of probe retainers aligned with one of the plurality of cavities and sized to expose a portion of one of the plurality of spring probes at the fourth surface [Figures 1-14, a main body probe cap 470 comprising a third surface and a fourth surface].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 7, 14 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mason in view of Zhou et al. (US 8,808,010). (“Zhou”).
10. Regarding claim 7, Mason teaches the socket assembly.
Mason does not explicitly teach wherein: the main body comprises a socket frame and a top cartridge that defines the cavity, the socket frame defines an opening sized to receive the IC package, and the socket frame is configured to cover a portion of the top cartridge and expose the cavity at the opening.
Zhou teaches wherein: the main body comprises a socket frame and a top cartridge that defines the cavity, the socket frame defines an opening sized to receive the IC package, and the socket frame is configured to cover a portion of the top cartridge and expose the cavity at the opening [Figures 10-18, socket main body comprises a socket frame and a top cartridge that defines the cavity].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Mason with Zhou. Doing so would allow Mason to comprise a socket frame and a top cartridge which would help provide stable structure for the probes and hence protect the probes by avoiding deformation.
13. Regarding claim 14, Mason teaches the method.
Mason does not explicitly teach wherein forming the main body further comprises: forming a socket frame that defines an opening sized to receive the IC package; forming a top cartridge that defines the cavity; and mounting the socket frame to the top cartridge by covering a portion of the top cartridge and exposing the cavity at the opening.
Zhou teaches wherein forming the main body further comprises: forming a socket frame that defines an opening sized to receive the IC package; forming a top cartridge that defines the cavity; and mounting the socket frame to the top cartridge by covering a portion of the top cartridge and exposing the cavity at the opening [Figures 10-18, socket main body comprises a socket frame and a top cartridge that defines the cavity].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Mason with Zhou. Doing so would allow Mason to comprise a socket frame and a top cartridge which would help provide stable structure for the probes and hence protect the probes by avoiding deformation.
19. Regarding claim 19, Mason teaches the method.
Mason does not explicitly teach wherein: the main body comprises a socket frame and a top cartridge that defines the plurality of cavities, the socket frame defines an opening sized to receive the IC package, and the socket frame is configured to cover a portion of the top cartridge and expose the plurality of cavities at the opening.
Zhou teaches wherein: the main body comprises a socket frame and a top cartridge that defines the plurality of cavities, the socket frame defines an opening sized to receive the IC package, and the socket frame is configured to cover a portion of the top cartridge and expose the plurality of cavities at the opening [Figures 10-18, socket main body comprises a socket frame and a top cartridge that defines the cavity].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Mason with Zhou. Doing so would allow Mason to comprise a socket frame and a top cartridge which would help provide stable structure for the probes and hence protect the probes by avoiding deformation.
11. Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson (JP2002270312) in view of Zhou et al. (US 8,808,010).
6. Regarding claim 1, Wilson teaches A socket assembly for testing an integrated circuit (IC) of an IC package [Figures 1-6, a socket assembly for testing an IC is shown], the socket assembly comprising: a main body comprising a first surface and a second surface opposing the first surface, wherein the main body defines a cavity that extends between the first surface and the second surface, wherein the cavity is sized to receive a (spring) probe therein, and wherein the main body further defines an opening at the first surface for the cavity that is offset relative to a centerline of the cavity [Figure 4, the socket assembly 4 comprising a main body 13 comprising a first surface 20 and a second surface 21, the main body defines a cavity 37/45 that extends between the surfaces, the cavity 37/45 is sized to receive a (spring) probe 33 , the main body 13 defines an opening 25 at the first surface 20 that is offset relative to the centerline of the cavity 37/45].
Wilson does not explicitly teach a spring probe.
However, Zhou teaches a spring probe [Figures 1-18, spring probe connectors 140 shown].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wilson with Zhou. Doing so would allow Wilson to comprise a spring probe which would help obtain flexibility and up, down movement for the probe.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hwang (US 7,025,602), Figures 1-17 teaches a contact for electronics device comprising socket body, spring probe, opening, cavity and so on.
Conclusion
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858