DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 19/116937. Claims 10-18 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by HAHN (2020/0262516).
Regarding Claim 10, HAHN teaches A method for open-loop control of a gear change operation of an electric gear shifting mechanism (104) of a bicycle (100), the method comprising: receiving a shift request signal [0049]; determining a pedal crank position [0028] of a pedal crank of the bicycle (100); and actuating the electric gear shifting mechanism (100) according to the pedal crank position [0029].
Regarding Claim 11, HAHN teaches wherein actuating the electric gear shifting mechanism (100) comprises actuating the electric gear shifting mechanism (100) according to a difference between the pedal crank position and a reference pedal crank position, the reference pedal crank position having minimal pedal torque [0143].
Regarding Claim 12, HAHN teaches wherein receiving the shift request signal comprises receiving the shift request signal based on either an automatic control signal for an automatic gear change or a user shift request by a user received via an input device [0144].
Regarding Claim 13, HAHN teaches wherein actuating the electric gear shifting mechanism (100) comprises actuating the electric gear shifting mechanism (100) further based on one or more of a pedal cadence, a pedal acceleration, or a known shift time of the electric gear shifting mechanism [0144].
Regarding Claim 14, HAHN teaches wherein actuating the electric gear shifting mechanism (100) comprises actuating the electric gear shifting mechanism (100) based on the pedal crank position when a pedal cadence is above a first threshold value and below a second threshold value, the second threshold value being greater than the first threshold value, and actuating the electric gear shifting mechanism (100) to perform a direct actuation of the electric gear shifting mechanism (100) when the pedal cadence is below the first threshold value or above the second threshold value [0184]-[0186].
Regarding Claim 15, HAHN teaches further comprising: determining an actuation point based at least one of a pedal cadence, pedal acceleration, or a known shift time of the electric gear shifting mechanism, wherein actuating the electric gear shifting mechanism (100) comprises actuating the electric gear shifting mechanism (100) at the actuation point [0144].
Regarding Claim 16, HAHN teaches wherein the actuation point is an actuation pedal crank position, wherein actuating the electric gear shifting mechanism (100) at the actuation point carries out a predetermined gear change phase of the electric gear shifting mechanism at a point in time associated with minimal pedal torque [0143].
Regarding Claim 17, HAHN teaches wherein the minimal pedal torque is associated with a vertical position of the pedal crank [0143].
Regarding Claim 18, HAHN teaches A bicycle (100), comprising: an electric gear shifting mechanism (100), a control device configured to perform the method of claim 10 [0076]-[0077].
Conclusion
HENRY Y. LIU
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/HENRY Y LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654