DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4,8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by “Concept of hydrogen fired gas turbine cycle with exhaust gas recirculation: Assessment of process performance” to Mario.
As to claim 1, Mario discloses A system, comprising: a gas turbine engine (Fig 1) having an air inlet stream (into compressor), a hydrogen fuel supply (H2 fuel), and an exhaust stream (out of turbine); a heat exchanger configured to cool the exhaust stream from the gas turbine engine (cooler Fig 1); and a recirculation pathway configured to mix the cooled exhaust stream from the heat exchanger with the air inlet stream (Fig 1).
As to claim 2, Mario discloses a heat recovery unit (HRSG, Fig 1) positioned between the gas turbine engine and the heat exchanger, the heat recovery unit configured to at least: receive the exhaust stream of the gas turbine engine; cool the exhaust stream; and output the cooled exhaust stream to the heat exchanger (Fig 1).
As to claim 3, Mario discloses a cooler (Condenser, Fig 1) positioned between the heat exchanger (Cooler, Fig 1) and the air inlet stream (inlet to compressor), the cooler configured to further cool air exiting the heat exchanger before mixing the cooled exhaust stream with the air inlet stream (Fig 1; Section 4.2).
As to claim 4, Mario discloses the cooler outputs water as a by-product of cooling (Section 4.2, Condenser down arrow Fig 1).
As to claim 8, Mario discloses diluting an air inlet stream for a gas turbine engine with an exhaust gas recirculation stream (Fig 1); providing a hydrogen fuel supply to the gas turbine engine (Fig 1, hydrogen fuel); combusting the air inlet stream and hydrogen fuel supply to produce energy and an exhaust stream (Fig 1, Section 3,4.2); and cooling the exhaust stream with a heat exchanger to produce the gas recirculation stream (Cooler Fig 1).
As to claim 9, Mario discloses the hydrogen fuel supply is pure hydrogen (Fig 1 right figure).
As to claim 10, Mario discloses the hydrogen fuel supply is 50 to 100% hydrogen (Fig 1, left and right figure, Introduction).
As to claim 11, Mario discloses cooling the exhaust stream further comprises: using a heat recovery unit (Fig 1; HRSG) to remove heat from the exhaust stream of the gas turbine engine; and directing the cooled exhaust stream to the heat exchanger (Cooler Fig 1) for further cooling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7,12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Concept of hydrogen fired gas turbine cycle with exhaust gas recirculation: Assessment of process performance” to Mario as applied to claim 3,8 above in view of US Patent 8286431 to Briesch.
As to claim 5, Mario discloses how it is difficult to reduce the temperature of the recirculated air sufficiently (Section 4.2) but does not expressly disclose a chiller configured to cool an exiting air stream from the heat exchanger to generate a cool air stream and configured to return the cool air stream to the air inlet stream.
Briesch discloses using a chiller powered by a portion of steam from a turbine HRSG to decrease intake air temperature (Briesch :30, 15,39, Fig 1).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mario to include a chiller configured to cool an exiting air stream from the heat exchanger to generate a cool air stream and configured to return the cool air stream to the air inlet stream using the teachings of Briesch so as to assist in cooling the recirculated exhaust to a temperature where the condenser would be able to condense out the water to be removed, while also not imposing a large power requirement (as is disclosed as being unfavorable in Mario 4.2) increasing overall cooling efficiency while reducing power consumption costs.
As to claim 6, Mario discloses the chiller returns cool air to the cooler for further cooling (As disclosed in the rejection of Claim 5 above (Briesch :30, 15,39, Fig 1), the chiller would assist in cooling the air to be returned to the condenser to assist in the condenser removing water for a dry EGR cycle increasing overall efficiency while reducing power requirement costs).
As to claim 7, Mario discloses the chiller is at least one of an adsorption chiller or an absorption chiller (Briesch :30, 15,39, Fig 1 absorption chiller).
As to claim 12, Mario discloses how it is difficult to reduce the temperature of the recirculated air sufficiently (Section 4.2) but does not expressly disclose a chiller configured to cool an exiting air stream from the heat exchanger to generate a cool air stream and configured to return the cool air stream to the air inlet stream.
Briesch discloses using a chiller powered by a portion of steam from a turbine HRSG to decrease intake air temperature (Briesch :30, 15,39, Fig 1).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mario to include a chiller configured to cool an exiting air stream from the heat exchanger to generate a cool air stream and configured to return the cool air stream to the air inlet stream using the teachings of Briesch so as to assist in cooling the recirculated exhaust to a temperature where the condenser would be able to condense out the water to be removed, while also not imposing a large power requirement (as is disclosed as being unfavorable in Mario 4.2) increasing overall cooling efficiency while reducing power consumption costs.
As to claim 13, Mario discloses how it is difficult to reduce the temperature of the recirculated air sufficiently (Section 4.2) but does not expressly disclose a “cooler” aka. chiller configured to cool an exiting air stream from the heat exchanger to generate a cool air stream and configured to return the cool air stream to the air inlet stream.
Briesch discloses using a chiller powered by a portion of steam from a turbine HRSG to decrease intake air temperature (Briesch :30, 15,39, Fig 1).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mario to include a chiller configured to cool an exiting air stream from the heat exchanger to generate a cool air stream and configured to return the cool air stream to the air inlet stream using the teachings of Briesch so as to assist in cooling the recirculated exhaust to a temperature where the condenser would be able to condense out the water to be removed, while also not imposing a large power requirement (as is disclosed as being unfavorable in Mario 4.2) increasing overall cooling efficiency while reducing power consumption costs.
As to claim 14, Mario discloses cooling the exhaust stream further comprises: using a cooler (condenser Fig 1) to cool a second output from the heat exchanger.
Mario discloses how it is difficult to reduce the temperature of the recirculated air sufficiently (Section 4.2) but does not expressly disclose using a chiller to cool a first output from the heat exchanger and adding the first cooled output and the second cooled output to the gas recirculation stream.
Briesch discloses using a chiller powered by a portion of steam from a turbine HRSG to decrease intake air temperature (Briesch :30, 15,39, Fig 1).
At the time of invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Mario to include using a chiller to cool a first output from the heat exchanger and adding the first cooled output and the second cooled output to the gas recirculation stream using the teachings of Briesch so as to assist in cooling the recirculated exhaust to a temperature where the condenser would be able to condense out the water to be removed, while also not imposing a large power requirement (as is disclosed as being unfavorable in Mario 4.2) increasing overall cooling efficiency while reducing power consumption costs
Conclusion
/JESSE S BOGUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746