DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the torque vectoring unit is configured to control the lateral distribution of the drive torque…”
in claim 3 & 16.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure for the above limitation described in the specification: (see at least Applicant Specification, page. 3: The torque vectoring unit may comprises a right wheel clutch and a left wheel clutch. The right wheel clutch and the left wheel clutch are independently controllable. The torque vectoring axle can then be made very compact with great design freedom since the two clutches will act as a differential with built in torque vectoring functionality.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7, 15-16, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DE 102008050214A1 (“Reim”).
As per claim 1 Reim discloses
A vehicle, comprising at least two drive axles and at least one torque vectoring unit arranged on one of said drive axles thus forming a torque vectoring axle (see at least Reim, para. [0022]: A motor vehicle 10 shown in Fig. 1 is located on a roadway 12 which comprises two side areas 14, 16 extending essentially parallel to each other and exhibiting different properties with regard to coefficients of friction. In this case, a left wheel 18 of a front axle 20 and a left wheel 22 of a rear axle 24 of the motor vehicle 10 are located in the first side area 14 of the driving track 12, and a right wheel 26 of the front axle 20 and a right wheel 28 of the rear axle 24 are located in the second side area 16 of the driving track 12.), and
a control unit configured to determine a specific torque corresponding to a desired torque vectoring requirement for the vehicle (see at least Reim, para. [0024]: The following example illustrates how the overall efficiency of the all-wheel drive equipped with a device for intra-axial torque distribution can be increased by distributing the drive torque between the front and rear axles 20, 24 according to the invention, compared to the efficiency of the drive according to Fig. 1.); and
when drive torque supplied to the torque vectoring axle is not sufficient to realise the specific torque (see at least Reim, para. [0026]: Taking these basic drive torques into account, 50% of the total drive torque remains to be distributed between the front and rear axles 20, 24 or for the electronic differential lock. If the electronic differential lock is completely dispensed with, i.e. on both axles, a transmissible maximum torque can be transferred to the rear axle 24 by means of the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution. For example, assuming that the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution is able to distribute the drive torque between the front and rear axles 20, 24 in a ratio of at most 0.75 to 0.25 in favor of the rear axle 24, the maximum torque that can be transmitted to the rear axle 24 is 75% = 25% (see arrows 36) + 50% (see arrows 44).), the control unit is further configured to:
redistribute a net vehicle drive torque between said drive axles by increasing an absolute value of the drive torque of the torque vectoring axle (see at least Reim, para. [0026]: Taking these basic drive torques into account, 50% of the total drive torque remains to be distributed between the front and rear axles 20, 24 or for the electronic differential lock. If the electronic differential lock is completely dispensed with, i.e. on both axles, a transmissible maximum torque can be transferred to the rear axle 24 by means of the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution. For example, assuming that the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution is able to distribute the drive torque between the front and rear axles 20, 24 in a ratio of at most 0.75 to 0.25 in favor of the rear axle 24, the maximum torque that can be transmitted to the rear axle 24 is 75% = 25% (see arrows 36) + 50% (see arrows 44).), and
distributing the increased drive torque of the torque vectoring axle to left and right wheels (see at least Reim, para. [0026]: The difference between the drive torque applied to the rear axle 24 and the drive torque applied to the front axle 20 is therefore 50% of the total drive torque. The task of the device 42 for intra-axial torque distribution is now to transfer the additional drive torque of 50% of the total drive torque to the right rear wheel 28 located in the second side area 16 of the travel path 12. In this way, the predominant driving torque of five eighths (62.5%) is applied to the one wheel 28, by means of which the motor vehicle 10 is now predominantly driven. It now becomes apparent that with such a distribution of the drive torque, no losses occur at all and the overall efficiency can be maximized.).
As per claim 2 Reim discloses
comprising a front drive axle, a rear drive axle, and optionally one or more intermediate axles (see at least Reim, para. [0012]: A torque distribution device is typically characterized, among other things, by a torque distribution ratio (TDR) between the first and second axles, within which the device ensures that the two cardan shafts driving the respective differential gears have nearly equal rotational speeds.).
As per claim 3 Reim discloses
wherein the torque vectoring unit is configured to control lateral distribution of the drive torque to each one of the left and right wheels (see at least Reim, para. [0024]: The following example illustrates how the overall efficiency of the all-wheel drive equipped with a device for intra-axial torque distribution can be increased by distributing the drive torque between the front and rear axles 20, 24 according to the invention, compared to the efficiency of the drive according to Fig. 1… In this process, a transmissible maximum torque is transferred to the rear axle 24 by means of the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution. This maximum torque that can be transmitted to the rear axle 24 is determined according to several criteria. Care is taken to ensure that no more torque is applied to the rear axle 24 or the rear wheels 22, 28 than the rear axle 24 or the rear wheels 22, 28 are able to apply to the driving distance 12.).
As per claim 7 Reim discloses
A method for a vehicle comprising at least two drive axles and at least one torque vectoring unit arranged on one of said drive axles thus forming a torque vectoring axle (see at least Reim, para. [0022]: A motor vehicle 10 shown in Fig. 1 is located on a roadway 12 which comprises two side areas 14, 16 extending essentially parallel to each other and exhibiting different properties with regard to coefficients of friction. In this case, a left wheel 18 of a front axle 20 and a left wheel 22 of a rear axle 24 of the motor vehicle 10 are located in the first side area 14 of the driving track 12, and a right wheel 26 of the front axle 20 and a right wheel 28 of the rear axle 24 are located in the second side area 16 of the driving track 12.), said method comprising:
determining a specific torque corresponding to a desired torque vectoring requirement for the vehicle (see at least Reim, para. [0024]: The following example illustrates how the overall efficiency of the all-wheel drive equipped with a device for intra-axial torque distribution can be increased by distributing the drive torque between the front and rear axles 20, 24 according to the invention, compared to the efficiency of the drive according to Fig. 1.);
determining a drive torque supplied to the torque vectoring axle (see at least Reim, para. [0024]: In the present example, the drive torque is distributed between the front and rear axles 20 and 24 by means of the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution in such a way that a drive torque higher than, for example, 20% of the total drive torque is transmitted to the rear axle 24 than to the front axle 20.); and
when the determined drive torque of the torque vectoring axle is not sufficient to realise the specific torque the method further comprises (see at least Reim, para. [0026]: Taking these basic drive torques into account, 50% of the total drive torque remains to be distributed between the front and rear axles 20, 24 or for the electronic differential lock. If the electronic differential lock is completely dispensed with, i.e. on both axles, a transmissible maximum torque can be transferred to the rear axle 24 by means of the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution. For example, assuming that the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution is able to distribute the drive torque between the front and rear axles 20, 24 in a ratio of at most 0.75 to 0.25 in favor of the rear axle 24, the maximum torque that can be transmitted to the rear axle 24 is 75% = 25% (see arrows 36) + 50% (see arrows 44).):
redistributing a net vehicle drive torque between said drive axles by increasing an absolute value of the drive torque of the torque vectoring axle (see at least Reim, para. [0026]: Taking these basic drive torques into account, 50% of the total drive torque remains to be distributed between the front and rear axles 20, 24 or for the electronic differential lock. If the electronic differential lock is completely dispensed with, i.e. on both axles, a transmissible maximum torque can be transferred to the rear axle 24 by means of the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution. For example, assuming that the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution is able to distribute the drive torque between the front and rear axles 20, 24 in a ratio of at most 0.75 to 0.25 in favor of the rear axle 24, the maximum torque that can be transmitted to the rear axle 24 is 75% = 25% (see arrows 36) + 50% (see arrows 44).), and
distributing the increased drive torque of the torque vectoring axle to left and right wheels (see at least Reim, para. [0026]: The difference between the drive torque applied to the rear axle 24 and the drive torque applied to the front axle 20 is therefore 50% of the total drive torque. The task of the device 42 for intra-axial torque distribution is now to transfer the additional drive torque of 50% of the total drive torque to the right rear wheel 28 located in the second side area 16 of the travel path 12. In this way, the predominant driving torque of five eighths (62.5%) is applied to the one wheel 28, by means of which the motor vehicle 10 is now predominantly driven. It now becomes apparent that with such a distribution of the drive torque, no losses occur at all and the overall efficiency can be maximized.).
As per claim 15 Reim discloses
comprising a front drive axle and a rear drive axle (see at least Reim, para. [0012]: A torque distribution device is typically characterized, among other things, by a torque distribution ratio (TDR) between the first and second axles, within which the device ensures that the two cardan shafts driving the respective differential gears have nearly equal rotational speeds.).
As per claim 16 Reim discloses
wherein the torque vectoring unit is configured to control lateral distribution of the drive torque to each one of the left and right wheels (see at least Reim, para. [0024]: The following example illustrates how the overall efficiency of the all-wheel drive equipped with a device for intra-axial torque distribution can be increased by distributing the drive torque between the front and rear axles 20, 24 according to the invention, compared to the efficiency of the drive according to Fig. 1… In this process, a transmissible maximum torque is transferred to the rear axle 24 by means of the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution. This maximum torque that can be transmitted to the rear axle 24 is determined according to several criteria. Care is taken to ensure that no more torque is applied to the rear axle 24 or the rear wheels 22, 28 than the rear axle 24 or the rear wheels 22, 28 are able to apply to the driving distance 12.).
As per claim 19 Reim discloses
when the drive torque supplied to the torque vectoring axle is not sufficient to realise the specific torque (see at least Reim, para. [0026]: Taking these basic drive torques into account, 50% of the total drive torque remains to be distributed between the front and rear axles 20, 24 or for the electronic differential lock. If the electronic differential lock is completely dispensed with, i.e. on both axles, a transmissible maximum torque can be transferred to the rear axle 24 by means of the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution. For example, assuming that the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution is able to distribute the drive torque between the front and rear axles 20, 24 in a ratio of at most 0.75 to 0.25 in favor of the rear axle 24, the maximum torque that can be transmitted to the rear axle 24 is 75% = 25% (see arrows 36) + 50% (see arrows 44).), the control unit is configured to:
redistribute the net vehicle drive torque between said drive axles such that at least the specific torque is distributed to the torque vectoring axle (see at least Reim, para. [0026]: Taking these basic drive torques into account, 50% of the total drive torque remains to be distributed between the front and rear axles 20, 24 or for the electronic differential lock. If the electronic differential lock is completely dispensed with, i.e. on both axles, a transmissible maximum torque can be transferred to the rear axle 24 by means of the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution. For example, assuming that the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution is able to distribute the drive torque between the front and rear axles 20, 24 in a ratio of at most 0.75 to 0.25 in favor of the rear axle 24, the maximum torque that can be transmitted to the rear axle 24 is 75% = 25% (see arrows 36) + 50% (see arrows 44).), and
distributing the specific torque of the torque vectoring axle to the left and right wheels (see at least Reim, para. [0026]: The difference between the drive torque applied to the rear axle 24 and the drive torque applied to the front axle 20 is therefore 50% of the total drive torque. The task of the device 42 for intra-axial torque distribution is now to transfer the additional drive torque of 50% of the total drive torque to the right rear wheel 28 located in the second side area 16 of the travel path 12. In this way, the predominant driving torque of five eighths (62.5%) is applied to the one wheel 28, by means of which the motor vehicle 10 is now predominantly driven. It now becomes apparent that with such a distribution of the drive torque, no losses occur at all and the overall efficiency can be maximized.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-6, 8-14, & 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reim, in view of US 2020/0324770A1 (“Alcantar”).
As per claim 4 Reim does not explicitly disclose
wherein the torque vectoring unit/ comprises a left wheel clutch and a right wheel clutch.
Alcantar teaches
wherein the torque vectoring unit/ comprises a left wheel clutch and a right wheel clutch (see at least Alcantar, para. [0047]: Powertrain and friction braking coordination are performed in block 206. The powertrain and friction braking controls receive the traction torque request, the traction torque limit, and the vectoring torque request and output a traction torque command ( e.g., a torque to propel or slow the vehicle via a torque source), a left clutch command (e.g., a command for clutch 191 shown in FIG. lA), a right clutch command, (e.g., a command for clutch 193 shown in FIG. lA)…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reim to incorporate the teaching of wherein the torque vectoring unit/ comprises a left wheel clutch and a right wheel clutch of Alcantar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide vehicle yaw moment control when driver demand wheel torque is low or high (see at least Alcantar, para. [0005]).
As per claim 5 Reim does not explicitly disclose
wherein the left wheel clutch and the right wheel clutch are independently controllable.
Alcantar teaches
wherein the left wheel clutch and the right wheel clutch are independently controllable (see at least Alcantar, para. [0047]: Powertrain and friction braking coordination are performed in block 206. The powertrain and friction braking controls receive the traction torque request, the traction torque limit, and the vectoring torque request and output a traction torque command ( e.g., a torque to propel or slow the vehicle via a torque source), a left clutch command (e.g., a command for clutch 191 shown in FIG. lA), a right clutch command, (e.g., a command for clutch 193 shown in FIG. lA)…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reim to incorporate the teaching of wherein the left wheel clutch and the right wheel clutch are independently controllable of Alcantar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide vehicle yaw moment control when driver demand wheel torque is low or high (see at least Alcantar, para. [0005]).
As per claim 6 Reim discloses
when the drive torque supplied to the torque vectoring axle is not sufficient to realise the specific torque (see at least Reim, para. [0026]: Taking these basic drive torques into account, 50% of the total drive torque remains to be distributed between the front and rear axles 20, 24 or for the electronic differential lock. If the electronic differential lock is completely dispensed with, i.e. on both axles, a transmissible maximum torque can be transferred to the rear axle 24 by means of the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution. For example, assuming that the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution is able to distribute the drive torque between the front and rear axles 20, 24 in a ratio of at most 0.75 to 0.25 in favor of the rear axle 24, the maximum torque that can be transmitted to the rear axle 24 is 75% = 25% (see arrows 36) + 50% (see arrows 44).), the control unit is configured to:
redistribute the net vehicle drive torque between said drive axles such that at least the specific torque distributed to the torque vectoring axle (see at least Reim, para. [0026]: Taking these basic drive torques into account, 50% of the total drive torque remains to be distributed between the front and rear axles 20, 24 or for the electronic differential lock. If the electronic differential lock is completely dispensed with, i.e. on both axles, a transmissible maximum torque can be transferred to the rear axle 24 by means of the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution. For example, assuming that the device 30 for interaxial torque distribution is able to distribute the drive torque between the front and rear axles 20, 24 in a ratio of at most 0.75 to 0.25 in favor of the rear axle 24, the maximum torque that can be transmitted to the rear axle 24 is 75% = 25% (see arrows 36) + 50% (see arrows 44).), and
distributing the specific torque of the torque vectoring axle to the left and right wheels (see at least Reim, para. [0026]: The difference between the drive torque applied to the rear axle 24 and the drive torque applied to the front axle 20 is therefore 50% of the total drive torque. The task of the device 42 for intra-axial torque distribution is now to transfer the additional drive torque of 50% of the total drive torque to the right rear wheel 28 located in the second side area 16 of the travel path 12. In this way, the predominant driving torque of five eighths (62.5%) is applied to the one wheel 28, by means of which the motor vehicle 10 is now predominantly driven. It now becomes apparent that with such a distribution of the drive torque, no losses occur at all and the overall efficiency can be maximized.).
As per claim 8 Reim does not explicitly disclose
wherein redistributing the net vehicle drive torque between said drive axles comprises adding the drive torque to the torque vectoring axle and subtracting the drive torque from the other drive axle.
Alcantar teaches
wherein redistributing the net vehicle drive torque between said drive axles comprises adding the drive torque to the torque vectoring axle and subtracting the drive torque from the other drive axle (see at least Alcantar, para. [0052]: Since the vehicle's friction brakes can only remove torque from the wheels, the method described herein increases the traction torque such that whatever torque is removed by the brake on one wheel, the same quantity of torque is added to the other wheel by a torque source (e.g., engine 110 or electric machine 120). To achieve this, the absolute value of one half of the vectoring torque request is added to the traction torque request. Thus, the method described herein increases the total amount of torque applied to an axle and removes the same amount of torque from one wheel via the friction brake system so that the propulsion torque (e.g., the torque to propel the vehicle forward) is equal to the traction torque command. Thus, the vectoring torque request is delivered in equal and opposite quantities at the vehicle wheels resulting in no net change in the total torque output from the axle to the wheels while creating the desired torque difference on the axle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reim to incorporate the teaching of wherein redistributing the net vehicle drive torque between said drive axles comprises adding the drive torque to the torque vectoring axle and subtracting the drive torque from the other drive axle of Alcantar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide vehicle yaw moment control when driver demand wheel torque is low or high (see at least Alcantar, para. [0005]).
As per claim 9 Reim does not explicitly disclose
wherein the subtracting drive torque from the other drive axle is performed by reducing the drive torque.
Alcantar teaches
wherein the subtracting drive torque from the other drive axle is performed by reducing the drive torque (see at least Alcantar, para. [0052]: To achieve this, the absolute value of one half of the vectoring torque request is added to the traction torque request. Thus, the method described herein increases the total amount of torque applied to an axle and removes the same amount of torque from one wheel via the friction brake system so that the propulsion torque (e.g., the torque to propel the vehicle forward) is equal to the traction torque command. Thus, the vectoring torque request is delivered in equal and opposite quantities at the vehicle wheels resulting in no net change in the total torque output from the axle to the wheels while creating the desired torque difference on the axle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reim to incorporate the teaching of wherein the subtracting drive torque from the other drive axle is performed by reducing the drive torque of Alcantar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide vehicle yaw moment control when driver demand wheel torque is low or high (see at least Alcantar, para. [0005]).
As per claim 10 Reim does not explicitly disclose
wherein the subtracting drive torque from the other drive axle is performed by applying a negative torque.
Alcantar teaches
wherein the subtracting drive torque from the other drive axle is performed by applying a negative torque (see at least Alcantar, para. [0052]: To achieve this, the absolute value of one half of the vectoring torque request is added to the traction torque request. Thus, the method described herein increases the total amount of torque applied to an axle and removes the same amount of torque from one wheel via the friction brake system so that the propulsion torque (e.g., the torque to propel the vehicle forward) is equal to the traction torque command. Thus, the vectoring torque request is delivered in equal and opposite quantities at the vehicle wheels resulting in no net change in the total torque output from the axle to the wheels while creating the desired torque difference on the axle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reim to incorporate the teaching of wherein the subtracting drive torque from the other drive axle is performed by applying a negative torque of Alcantar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide vehicle yaw moment control when driver demand wheel torque is low or high (see at least Alcantar, para. [0005]).
As per claim 11 Reim does not explicitly disclose
wherein adding the drive torque to the torque vectoring axle is performed simultaneously as subtracting the drive torque from the other drive axle.
Alcantar teaches
wherein adding the drive torque to the torque vectoring axle is performed simultaneously as subtracting the drive torque from the other drive axle (see at least Alcantar, para. [0052]: Since the vehicle's friction brakes can only remove torque from the wheels, the method described herein increases the traction torque such that whatever torque is removed by the brake on one wheel, the same quantity of torque is added to the other wheel by a torque source (e.g., engine 110 or electric machine 120). To achieve this, the absolute value of one half of the vectoring torque request is added to the traction torque request. Thus, the method described herein increases the total amount of torque applied to an axle and removes the same amount of torque from one wheel via the friction brake system so that the propulsion torque (e.g., the torque to propel the vehicle forward) is equal to the traction torque command. Thus, the vectoring torque request is delivered in equal and opposite quantities at the vehicle wheels resulting in no net change in the total torque output from the axle to the wheels while creating the desired torque difference on the axle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reim to incorporate the teaching of wherein adding the drive torque to the torque vectoring axle is performed simultaneously as subtracting the drive torque from the other drive axle of Alcantar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide vehicle yaw moment control when driver demand wheel torque is low or high (see at least Alcantar, para. [0005]).
As per claim 12 Reim does not explicitly disclose
wherein redistributing the net vehicle drive torque between said drive axles is performed simultaneously as distributing the specific torque of the torque vectoring axle to the left and right wheels.
Alcantar teaches
wherein redistributing the net vehicle drive torque between said drive axles is performed simultaneously as distributing the specific torque of the torque vectoring axle to the left and right wheels (see at least Alcantar, para. [0052]: Since the vehicle's friction brakes can only remove torque from the wheels, the method described herein increases the traction torque such that whatever torque is removed by the brake on one wheel, the same quantity of torque is added to the other wheel by a torque source (e.g., engine 110 or electric machine 120). To achieve this, the absolute value of one half of the vectoring torque request is added to the traction torque request. Thus, the method described herein increases the total amount of torque applied to an axle and removes the same amount of torque from one wheel via the friction brake system so that the propulsion torque (e.g., the torque to propel the vehicle forward) is equal to the traction torque command. Thus, the vectoring torque request is delivered in equal and opposite quantities at the vehicle wheels resulting in no net change in the total torque output from the axle to the wheels while creating the desired torque difference on the axle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reim to incorporate the teaching of wherein redistributing the net vehicle drive torque between said drive axles is performed simultaneously as distributing the specific torque of the torque vectoring axle to the left and right wheels of Alcantar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide vehicle yaw moment control when driver demand wheel torque is low or high (see at least Alcantar, para. [0005]).
As per claim 13 Reim does not explicitly disclose
wherein adding the drive torque to the torque vectoring axle is performed simultaneously as subtracting the drive torque from the other drive axle.
Alcantar teaches
wherein adding the drive torque to the torque vectoring axle is performed simultaneously as subtracting the drive torque from the other drive axle (see at least Alcantar, para. [0052]: Since the vehicle's friction brakes can only remove torque from the wheels, the method described herein increases the traction torque such that whatever torque is removed by the brake on one wheel, the same quantity of torque is added to the other wheel by a torque source (e.g., engine 110 or electric machine 120). To achieve this, the absolute value of one half of the vectoring torque request is added to the traction torque request. Thus, the method described herein increases the total amount of torque applied to an axle and removes the same amount of torque from one wheel via the friction brake system so that the propulsion torque (e.g., the torque to propel the vehicle forward) is equal to the traction torque command. Thus, the vectoring torque request is delivered in equal and opposite quantities at the vehicle wheels resulting in no net change in the total torque output from the axle to the wheels while creating the desired torque difference on the axle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reim to incorporate the teaching of wherein adding the drive torque to the torque vectoring axle is performed simultaneously as subtracting the drive torque from the other drive axle of Alcantar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide vehicle yaw moment control when driver demand wheel torque is low or high (see at least Alcantar, para. [0005]).
As per claim 14 Reim does not explicitly disclose
wherein redistributing the net vehicle drive torque between said drive axles is performed simultaneously as distributing the specific torque of the torque vectoring axle to the left and right wheels
Alcantar teaches
wherein redistributing the net vehicle drive torque between said drive axles is performed simultaneously as distributing the specific torque of the torque vectoring axle to the left and right wheels (see at least Alcantar, para. [0052]: Since the vehicle's friction brakes can only remove torque from the wheels, the method described herein increases the traction torque such that whatever torque is removed by the brake on one wheel, the same quantity of torque is added to the other wheel by a torque source (e.g., engine 110 or electric machine 120). To achieve this, the absolute value of one half of the vectoring torque request is added to the traction torque request. Thus, the method described herein increases the total amount of torque applied to an axle and removes the same amount of torque from one wheel via the friction brake system so that the propulsion torque (e.g., the torque to propel the vehicle forward) is equal to the traction torque command. Thus, the vectoring torque request is delivered in equal and opposite quantities at the vehicle wheels resulting in no net change in the total torque output from the axle to the wheels while creating the desired torque difference on the axle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reim to incorporate the teaching of wherein redistributing the net vehicle drive torque between said drive axles is performed simultaneously as distributing the specific torque of the torque vectoring axle to the left and right wheels of Alcantar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide vehicle yaw moment control when driver demand wheel torque is low or high (see at least Alcantar, para. [0005]).
As per claim 17 Reim does not explicitly disclose
wherein the torque vectoring unit comprises a left wheel clutch and a right wheel clutch.
Alcantar teaches
wherein the torque vectoring unit comprises a left wheel clutch and a right wheel clutch (see at least Alcantar, para. [0047]: Powertrain and friction braking coordination are performed in block 206. The powertrain and friction braking controls receive the traction torque request, the traction torque limit, and the vectoring torque request and output a traction torque command ( e.g., a torque to propel or slow the vehicle via a torque source), a left clutch command (e.g., a command for clutch 191 shown in FIG. lA), a right clutch command, (e.g., a command for clutch 193 shown in FIG. lA)…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reim to incorporate the teaching of wherein the torque vectoring unit comprises a left wheel clutch and a right wheel clutch of Alcantar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide vehicle yaw moment control when driver demand wheel torque is low or high (see at least Alcantar, para. [0005]).
As per claim 18 Reim does not explicitly disclose
wherein the left wheel clutch and the right wheel clutch are independently controllable.
Alcantar teaches
wherein the left wheel clutch and the right wheel clutch are independently controllable (see at least Alcantar, para. [0047]: Powertrain and friction braking coordination are performed in block 206. The powertrain and friction braking controls receive the traction torque request, the traction torque limit, and the vectoring torque request and output a traction torque command ( e.g., a torque to propel or slow the vehicle via a torque source), a left clutch command (e.g., a command for clutch 191 shown in FIG. lA), a right clutch command, (e.g., a command for clutch 193 shown in FIG. lA)…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Reim to incorporate the teaching of wherein the left wheel clutch and the right wheel clutch are independently controllable of Alcantar, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide vehicle yaw moment control when driver demand wheel torque is low or high (see at least Alcantar, para. [0005]).
Conclusion
/MOHAMED ABDO ALGEHAIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668