DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a1/a2 as being anticipated by U. S. Publication No. 2010/0331684 to Ragauskas et al.
Regarding Claims 1, 4, and 19, Ragauskas teaches a system comprising: at least one hardware processor; and at least one non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing processor-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform: obtaining a set of data identifying a measure of arterial blood pressure and a measure of volumetric cerebral blood flow of a patient (figs. 1c, 5 and para 015 teaches measure of volumetric cerebral blood flow); and outputting information, based at least in part on the set of data, indicating a measure of a value in absolute units of one or more of the following: intracranial pressure (ICP), intracranial compliance (ICC), and cerebrovascular resistance (CVR) (para 012 and 080 teaches value in absolute units of ICP, icc and cvr).
Regarding Claim 2, Ragauskas teaches that one or more probes configured to perform measurements at a patient site and send information about the measurements to the at least one hardware processor, wherein the obtaining the set of data identifying a measure of arterial blood pressure and a measure of volumetric cerebral blood flow of a patient is based at least in part on the information about the measurements at the patient site (figs. 1c, 5 and para 015 teaches measure of volumetric cerebral blood flow).
Regarding Claim 3, Ragauskas teaches that the measure of a value in absolute units of ICC is a measure of a value in absolute units of a regional ICC and/or wherein the measure of a value in absolute units of CVR is a measure of a value in absolute units of a regional CVR (para 051 and 072 teaches absolute value of cvr).
Regarding Claim 5, Ragauskas teaches that the value indicated in the output information is a value in absolute units (para 051 and 072 teaches absolute value of icp).
Regarding Claim 6, Ragauskas teaches that the measures of two or more parameters related to distension of a vessel and blood flow through the vessel comprise one or both of:(1) a measure of arterial blood pressure (para 015 and 051 teaches measure of arterial blood pressure); and(2) a measure of cerebral blood flow (para 015 teaches measure of volumetric cerebral blood flow).
Regarding Claim 7, Ragauskas teaches that the measure of cerebral blood flow comprises a measure of cerebral blood flow velocity and/or a measure of volumetric cerebral blood flow (para 015 teaches measure of volumetric cerebral blood flow).
Regarding Claim 8, Ragauskas teaches that the one or more probes comprise only a single probe (fig. 1a teaches an ultrasonic probe).
Regarding Claim 9, Ragauskas teaches that the one or more probes comprise an ultrasound probe (fig. 1a teaches an ultrasonic probe).
Regarding Claim 10, Ragauskas teaches that the information output by the at least one hardware processor indicates a measure of a value in absolute units of ICP (para 012 and 080).
Regarding Claim 11, Ragauskas teaches that the measure of a value in absolute units of ICP is in the units of mmHg, pascals, bars, pounds per square inch (PSI), atmospheres, or a multiple thereof (para 012 and 080).
Regarding Claim 12, Ragauskas teaches that the information output by the at least one hardware processor indicates a measure of a value in absolute units of ICC (para 014-016).
Regarding Claim 13, Ragauskas teaches that the measure of a value in absolute units of ICC is in the units of mL/mmHg, mL/pascal, mL/bar, mE/PSI, mL/atmosphere, or a multiple thereof (para 012 and 080).
Regarding Claim 14, Ragauskas teaches that the data identifying a measure of volumetric cerebral blood flow of a patient are calculated via integration of a measure of cerebral blood flow velocity using vessel diameter waveforms (para 0051 teaches diameter of ophthalmic artery for measurement of volumetric blood flow).
Regarding Claim 15, Ragauskas teaches that the values of ICP, ICC, and/or CVR are calculated by feeding arterial blood pressure and volumetric cerebral blood flow waveforms to a modified physiologic model (para 015, 043, and 048-052 teaches using arterial blood pressure and volumetric cerebral blood flow to a physiological model).
Regarding Claim 16, Ragauskas teaches a point-of-care system configured to perform a continuous, model-based, non- invasive, real-time, patient-specific measurement of a measure of intracranial pressure (para 008-012), intracranial compliance (para 0083), and/or cerebrovascular resistance (para 015 and 051).
Regarding Claim 17, 18, and 20, Ragauskas teaches administering a treatment for relieving a neuropathological condition to a subject based at least in part on the obtained measure (para 12 teaches brain pathology treatment and fig. 5 teaches displaying intracranial pressure value/alerts).
Conclusion
/SANJAY CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798