DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed October 13, 2026, have been fully considered.
Applicant has argued that the objections to the claims have been overcome by amendment. Examiner agrees, and has withdrawn all claim objections.
Applicant has argued that “the Action does not identify any disclosure [in Demetrio] that actuator 43 and mechanism 48 are connected and operate in series with one another. Merely operating in the same general direction or affecting relative component positions does not establish the claimed series relationship” (Remarks, second paragraph of Page 7). Examiner respectfully disagrees. The “claimed series relationship” does not have any specific content. Previously, claim 1 merely recited that the ride actuator and element actuator were “connected in series.” Amended claim 1 adds that the two elements “operate in series.” This new limitation is essentially redundant, and does not state anything different than the phrase “connected in series.” While the term “series” has a specific meaning in the context of electrical circuits, the use of the term in the context of the instant application is more ambiguous. Additional structural description of the “series” arrangement is needed in claim 1 to distinguish from Demetrio.
Applicant further argues that Demetrio fails to teach that the aerodynamic element ride actuator is able to “extend and retract synchronously when a vehicle ride height is respectively increased and decreased.” Applicant states that “identifying an actuator that adjusts vehicle suspension height does not establish the claimed synchronization of an aerodynamic element ride actuator with the vehicle ride-height adjustment system” (Remarks, Page 7, Section B). Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is noted that claim 1 does not actually recite a “vehicle ride-height adjustment system.” Claim 1 recites “the aerodynamic element ride actuator adapted to extend and retract synchronously when a vehicle ride height is respectively increased and decreased.” Because extension of element 43 increases the vehicle ride height, then element 43 necessarily extends synchronously with an increase in ride height. Claim 18 recites “controlling the aerodynamic element ride actuator with the vehicle ride height adjustment system to extend and retract the aerodynamic element ride actuator synchronously with respective increases and decreases in vehicle height.” In Demetrio, the ride height adjustment system 50 determines a desired ride height and controls actuator 43 to extend and retract, which changes the vehicle height. Thus, movement of the actuator 43 and changes in vehicle height are synchronous.
Regarding claim 2, applicant argues that “a target height of the deflector generally does not necessarily establish the claimed relationship involving the lowest extent of the aerodynamic element. For a pivoting aerodynamic element, the position of its lowest extent may vary with the deployment angle” (Remarks, top of Page 8). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Demetrio states that the “target height 54 may be defined as a height of the air deflector 46 which provides an optimized amount of downforce Fd (shown in FIGS. 2-4)” (Paragraph 0028). Unfortunately, numeral 54 appears only in Fig. 2 and is not particularly enlightening in this matter, as it points to a portion of the controller 50 rather than a specific physical distance. However, it is noted that the downforce Fd is shown to act directly at the lowest extent of the air deflector 46 in Figs. 3 and 4. Additionally, Demetrio states that “target height 54 may also take into account a required clearance between the air deflector 46 and the road surface 12 to reduce likelihood of damage to the air deflector” (Paragraph 0028). The term “clearance” would certainly be understood by one of ordinary skill to refer to the distance between the lowest extent of the deflector and the road surface. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 3, applicant states that “the Examiner reasons that Demetrio’s disclosure of pivoting air deflector 46 about axis Y inherently requires a connecting link. However, pivoting does not necessarily require a connecting link; it may be accomplished through direct rotational actuation without such a link” (Remarks, middle of Page 8). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Even the “direct rotation actuation” that applicant mentions requires a connecting link between the actuator and the aerodynamic element. The term “connecting link” is entirely generic and merely requires some kind of connection.
Regarding claim 7, applicant’s argument is deemed persuasive, and the rejection of this claim has been withdrawn.
Regarding claim 8, applicant first argues that “Demetrio expressly contemplates translating the deflector toward or away from the road surface, which does not necessarily change its angle” (Remarks, bottom of Page 8). Examiner asserts that this is an alternative embodiment to the pivoting embodiment, also mentioned in paragraph 0024. Paragraph 0024 clearly states that “the mechanism 48 may be configured to selectively pivot or rotate the air deflector 46 about a pivot axis Y that is transverse to the longitudinal axis X, and thereby vary an angle…of the air deflector relative to the vehicle body. Alternatively, the mechanism 48 may be configured to selectively extend the air deflector 46…by translating the deflector…” Thus, Demetrio certainly establishes changing the angle of the deflector to vary its height with respect to the road.
Furthermore, regarding claim 8, applicant argues that “even where pivoting [of the deflector 46] is employed, the Examiner has not established that different deployed angles necessarily result from different vehicle ride heights” (Remarks, bottom of Page 8). Examiner respectfully disagrees. In order to maintain a target height of the deflector 46 above the road surface, the deflector must pivot if the ride height changes. This is a simple matter of geometry.
Regarding claims 20 and 21, applicant has requested documentary evidence in response to examiner’s use of Official Notice in the previous Office Action. Such evidence is provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 12, 14-16, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Demetrio et al. (US 2019/0031252, hereinafter Demetrio).
With regard to claim 1, Demetrio discloses an adjustable ride height vehicle aerodynamic system, comprising:
an aerodynamic element ride actuator (43) and an aerodynamic element angle actuator (48) connected in series (note that the claim does not define what “connected in series” actually means. In the case of Demetrio, the actuator 43 and the actuator 48 both work in the same vertical direction of the vehicle, and thus their movements mutually affect the relative position of the actuated elements and are thus connected in series) and mounted in a vehicle (43 and 43 are mounted on the same vehicle as shown in Fig. 2);
an aerodynamic element (46) adapted to rest in an inactive stowed position and to move from the stowed position to at least one active deployed position at an angle in relation to the vehicle under the control of the aerodynamic element angle actuator to alter vehicle aerodynamic characteristics (paragraph 0024, “the mechanism 48 is configured to vary the height of the air deflector 46 relative to the road surface 12 and a position of the air deflector relative to the vehicle body 14”);
the aerodynamic element ride actuator (43) adapted to extend and retract synchronously when a vehicle ride height is respectively increased and decreased (the actuator 43 controls the ride height, so by definition the actuator extends when the vehicle ride height is increased and retracts when the height is decreased by a command from the controller 50);
the aerodynamic element angle actuator (48) adapted to extend and retract respectively to deploy and to stow the aerodynamic element (paragraph 0024);
wherein the aerodynamic ride actuator and the aerodynamic element angle actuator operate in series (this limitation is interpreted to mean essentially the same thing as the earlier limitation “connected in series,” given that neither limitation defines what a series connection or series operation requires functionally or structurally).
With regard to claim 2, Demetrio teaches that the aerodynamic element ride actuator is adapted to extend and retract synchronously when a vehicle ride height is respectively increased and decreased to maintain a predetermined spatial relationship between a lowest extent of the aerodynamic element and a driving surface (the vehicle attempts to “correlate the determined ride-height H of the vehicle 10 to a target height 54 of the air deflector relative to the road surface 12 and the position of the air deflector relative to the vehicle body 14,” paragraph 0028).
With regard to claim 3, Demetrio teaches that the aerodynamic element angle actuator is rotatably connected to the aerodynamic element by a connecting link (paragraph 0024, “the mechanism 48 may be configured to selectively pivot or rotate the air deflector about a pivot axis Y,” inherently requiring the claimed “connecting link”).
With regard to claim 5, Demetrio teaches that the at least one deployed position comprises both a fully extended deployed position (i.e. the position shown in Fig. 3) and a partially extended deployed position (i.e. any position between Figs. 3 and 4).
With regard to claim 8, Demetrio teaches that the angle of the aerodynamic element in relation to the vehicle in the at least one deployed position differs depending on whether the vehicle ride height is increased or decreased (because the controller 50 attempts to maintain the target height of the aerodynamic element 46 relative to the road surface).
With regard to claim 12, Demetrio teaches that the aerodynamic element ride actuator (43) and the aerodynamic element angle actuator (48) are constrained by a connecting bracket to operate in series (the “connecting bracket” is considered to be the structural elements that link the two actuators. See Fig. below).
With regard to claim 14, Demetrio teaches that a hard stop (see annotated Fig. above) prevents excess angular extension of the aerodynamic element when the vehicle ride height is decreased and the aerodynamic element is parallel with the vehicle.
With regard to claim 15, Demetrio teaches that the adjustable ride height vehicle aerodynamic system is mounted to an underside of the vehicle forward of each of two vehicle front wheels (see position of deflector 46 in Figs. 3 and 4).
With regard to claim 16, Demetrio teaches that the adjustable ride height vehicle aerodynamic system is mounted to an underside of the vehicle either forward or rearward of each of two vehicle rear wheels (Figs. 3 and 4 show that the deflector is forward of both the rear wheels, as well as the front wheels).
With regard to claim 18, Demetrio teaches a method of operating an adjustable ride height vehicle aerodynamic system comprising:
connecting a vehicle ride height adjustment system (50) to an aerodynamic element ride actuator (43) of the adjustable ride height vehicle aerodynamic system mounted to the vehicle;
controlling the aerodynamic element ride actuator with the vehicle ride height adjustment system to extend and retract the aerodynamic element ride actuator synchronously with respective increases and decreases in vehicle ride height (the actuator 43 controls the ride height, and therefore by definition extends and retracts when the ride height is increased and decreased by the ride height controller 50); and
extending and retracting an aerodynamic element angle actuator (48) connected in series with the aerodynamic element ride actuator (as both actuators act in the vertical direction and are thus “in series”) to respectively deploy and stow an aerodynamic element (46—see paragraph 0024);
wherein the aerodynamic element ride actuator and the aerodynamic element angle actuator operate in series (this limitation is interpreted to mean essentially the same thing as the earlier limitation “connected in series,” given that neither limitation defines what a series connection or series operation requires functionally or structurally).
With regard to claim 19, Demetrio teaches that the aerodynamic element angle actuator (48) is controlled by a vehicle active aerodynamic system (paragraph 0028, “the controller 50 is configured to regulate the mechanism 48”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demetrio in view of Erdelitsch et al. (US 2002/0021022, hereinafter Erdelitsch).
With regard to claim 9, Demetrio fails to explicitly teach that the aerodynamic element ride actuator and the aerodynamic element angle actuator operate hydraulically.
Erdelitsch teaches an aerodynamic system provided with hydraulic actuators (see elements 16 and 16’, for example).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Demetrio such that the actuators were hydraulic actuators, as Erdelitsch teaches that “a hydraulic arrangement for the transmission of energy has the advantage that, in comparison to mechanical arrangements, it is significantly more resistant to wear and simultaneously generates less noise” (Erdelitsch, Paragraph 0004).
With regard to claim 10, Demetrio fails to teach that at least one of the aerodynamic element ride actuator and the aerodynamic element angle actuator is single acting with a coil spring return.
Erdelitsch discloses an aerodynamic actuator (Fig. 4) that acts in a single direction and has a coil spring return (32).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Demetrio by providing the single acting actuator and coil spring return of Erdelitsch, such that the “restoring movement takes place automatically on the basis of the integrated spring arrangement,” (Erdelitsch, paragraph 0004) thus saving energy by not requiring hydraulic input for return action of the actuator.
With regard to claim 20, Demetrio fails to teach that the aerodynamic element angle actuator is controlled by an independent aerodynamic hydraulic circuit. However, Demetrio does at least teach that the angle actuator (48) is independently controlled (paragraph 0028). Demetrio fails to state that this control is hydraulic.
Erdelitsch teaches an aerodynamic system provided with hydraulic actuators (see elements 16 and 16’, for example).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Demetrio such that the actuators were hydraulic actuators, as Erdelitsch teaches that “a hydraulic arrangement for the transmission of energy has the advantage that, in comparison to mechanical arrangements, it is significantly more resistant to wear and simultaneously generates less noise” (Erdelitsch, Paragraph 0004).
With regard to claim 21, Demetrio fails to teach that the actuators are hydraulic actuators.
Erdelitsch teaches an aerodynamic system provided with hydraulic actuators (see elements 16 and 16’, for example).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Demetrio such that the actuators were hydraulic actuators, as Erdelitsch teaches that “a hydraulic arrangement for the transmission of energy has the advantage that, in comparison to mechanical arrangements, it is significantly more resistant to wear and simultaneously generates less noise” (Erdelitsch, Paragraph 0004).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demetrio in view of Cunningham et al. (US 2020/0377158, hereinafter Cunningham).
With regard claim 11, Demetrio fails to disclose that at least one of the aerodynamic element ride actuator and the aerodynamic element angle actuator is dual acting.
Cunningham teaches a vehicle with a variable aerodynamic device. Cunningham also teaches that aerodynamic devices can be operated by numerous types of actuators including single-acting and dual-acting actuators (Paragraph 0025).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified Demetrio such that at least the ride-height actuator was a dual-acting actuator, as Cunningham teaches the functional equivalence of various types of actuators, and using a dual-acting actuator would enable full control of the ride height in both extension and retraction directions.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demetrio in view of Cattell et al. (US 2020/0385070, hereinafter Cattell).
With regard to claim 17, Demetrio fails to teach that the aerodynamic element is integrated into a diffuser.
Cattell teaches an actuatable aerodynamic deflector (44D) similar to that of Demetrio, except that the deflector is part of a diffuser at the rear of the car, rather than being a splitter at the front of the vehicle.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have deployed Demetrio’s deflector as part of a diffuser as taught by Cattell, as an adjustable diffuser provides additional control of the air flow at the rear of the vehicle which in turn enhances aerodynamic performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 7, 13, 22, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT E FULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676