DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 5-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “low refractive index” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As a result, the refractive index required by the limitation is not defined.
The term “high refractive index” in claim 3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As a result, the refractive index required by the limitation is not defined.
Regarding claim 5, claim limitations “bonding device” and “heating mechanism” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. In claim 6, the limitation “control unit” would be similarly invoked. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structures, materials, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Applicant’s disclosure shows only boxes in the figures, and does not show a structure of any of the three limitations. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cutting tool” in claims 1, 2, and 5.
The limitation “cutting tool” recites the generic placeholder “tool” coupled with the functional modifier “cutting” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the function claimed. This will be interpreted as: structure 30, shown in figure 3, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KADOTA et al. (JP 2004/174664; citations to translation provided) in view of HABECK et al. (US 2002/0000292).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, KADOTA teaches a method of producing a laminate comprising bonding with a bonding device a lamination film having a base film (“transparent film”) and an inorganic layer (hard coat layer) laminated thereon to a substrate, and cutting with a cutting device the lamination film to the shape of the substrate with a cutting tool (p. 4, para. 3; p. 3, para. 5; p. 8, para. 4). KADOTA teaches heating the film to its softening point while cutting (p. 4; para. 3), but does not explicitly teach heating the cutting tool. HABECK teaches another method of producing a laminate via bonding and peripheral cutting, wherein the cutting blade is heated during cutting (HABECK; para. 69). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to heat the blade of KADOTA in order to facilitate cutting while preventing cooling of the laminate. KADOTA teaches heating the laminate to the softening temperature of the film (KADOTA; p.4, para. 3), and HABECK teaches heating at the softening point of the plastic (para. 69), such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to heat at a temperature greater than 65 degrees Celsius below the softening point because the temperatures disclosed overlap those claimed (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 2, KADOTA teaches the cutting tool comprises a blade (KADOTA; p. 4; para. 1).
Regarding claim 3, KADOTA teaches the lamination film comprises an adhesive layer, base film, and inorganic layer, where the inorganic layer is formed by alternately laminating a low refractive index layer and a high refractive index layer (KADOTA; p. 4, para. 3; p. 9, para. 1).
Regarding claim 4, KADOTA does not explicitly disclose a curved substrate, but teaches laminating to form into a desired shape (KADOTA; p. 4, , wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to for a shape with curvature because such a laminate shape was commonly known at the time of the invention, and there would have been a reasonable expectation of producing the same laminate (MPEP 2141).
Regarding claim 6, KADOTA teaches maintaining a heating temperature withing a defined range and below a failure temperature (KADOTA; p. 4, para. 3), wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a thermometer and controller in order to automate the operation (MPEP 2144.04).
Conclusion
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745