DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04.10.2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 8 Para [0043]: S106 should read S116
Page 12 Para [0065]: S120, S122, S124, S128 are not shown in Fig.10
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: information acquisition unit in claims 1, 9, 12, control unit in claims 1, 7, 9, 12, intention detection unit in claim 7, selection unit in claim 12, and instruction unit in claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation 1, 7, 9, and 12 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Applicant provides the limitation in claim 1 and 12 "an information acquisition unit that acquires information indicating at least a distance and an angle between the arm portion and an object" however, based on the currently provided claim language, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of the claimed "distance and an angle between the arm portion and an object" encompass, and therefore claim 1, and 12 are rendered indefinite. Accordingly, appropriate correction and/or clarification are earnestly solicited.
For a rejection of independent claims 1 and 12, dependent claims such as: 2-9 and 13-17 are
also rejected by the virtue of their dependency on rejected base claims 1 and 12. Therefore, claims 1-9, and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi et al. (US 20210162602 A1) in view of Fukano et al. (JP4578438B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Kawaguchi teaches a control system of a humanoid robot comprising:
a humanoid robot including an upper body portion including at least one arm portion, a leg portion placed on a floor (See at least Fig. 2 discloses a humanoid robot including an upper body portion including at least one arm portion, a leg portion placed on a floor), and a coupling portion that rotatably couples the upper body portion to the leg portion (See at least Fig 14 item 56T, Para [0193] “… Link attaching frame 57 is connected to the upper side of intrathoracic rotation shaft 56T. The variable length link that rotates chest 5 with respect to waist 6 is attached to link attaching frame 57. In FIGS. 16 to 20, not only members included in chest upper portion 5U but also link attaching frame 57 provided in chest lower portion 5D are illustrated in order to identify an attaching position of the variable length link that rotates chest 5 with respect to waist 6.”);
…
a control unit that controls rotation of the coupling portion (See at least Para [0198] “…A mechanism that holds rotatably the intrathoracic rotation shaft 56T is provided in intrathoracic joint frame 55. Intrathoracic rotation shaft 56T is a horizontal cylindrical portion provided in an upper portion of backbone 56. Intrathoracic rotation shaft 56T is sandwiched rotatably between two intrathoracic joint frames 55 to form intrathoracic joint 16. Intrathoracic joint 16 connects chest upper portion 5U and chest lower portion 5D with one rotational degree of freedom at which chest upper portion 5U and chest lower portion 5D are rotatable in the front-back direction….”) …
However, Kawaguchi does not explicitly spell out …
an information acquisition unit that acquires information indicating at least a distance and an angle between the arm portion and an object on which the humanoid robot intends to work; and …
… on the basis of the information.
Fukano teaches …
an information acquisition unit that acquires information indicating at least a distance and an angle between the arm portion and an object on which the humanoid robot intends to work (See at least Page 7 Para 2 “…In step 203, the position of the hand unit 23 (hand position) is acquired from the visual sensing information processing unit 36 (hand unit position acquisition processing). In step 204, the distance D between the position of the target object and the position of the hand unit is obtained (distance calculation processing)…”, Page 7 Para 3 “…If the result of the second distance determination is negative, a step 207 calculates the joint rotation angle of the arm mechanism unit 13…”); and …
… on the basis of the information (See at least Page 7 Para 2 “…In step 203, the position of the hand unit 23 (hand position) is acquired from the visual sensing information processing unit 36 (hand unit position acquisition processing). In step 204, the distance D between the position of the target object and the position of the hand unit is obtained (distance calculation processing)…”, Page 7 Para 3 “…If the result of the second distance determination is negative, a step 207 calculates the joint rotation angle of the arm mechanism unit 13…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fukano with Kawaguchi and include the feature of acquiring information indicating at least a distance and an angle between the arm portion and an object on which the humanoid robot intends to work to use it to control rotation of the coupling portion, thereby provide positional accuracy during operation of the robot arm (See at least Page 7 Para 5 “…The movement control of the arm mechanism unit 13 in the approach movement up to the positioning with respect to the object 2 can be performed with higher accuracy, so that the approach movement can be made smoother…”).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Kawaguchi teaches all the elements of claim 1. Kawaguchi further teaches the control system according to claim 1, wherein the coupling portion further couples the leg portion to the upper body portion such that a distance between the leg portion and the upper body portion can be changed (See at least Para [0233] “The torque required to rotate the second member around the torsion axis also relates to inertia moment of the second member. The threshold value δ0 with respect to tilt angle θ may be set to the same value in all three-rotational-degree-of-freedom connection mechanisms, or set in each three-rotational-degree-of-freedom connection mechanism. In determining tilt angle θ, the change amount of the length of the variable length link may be not the unit amount but a change amount in consideration of a width of the variable range of the length of the variable length link.”, Para [0236] “FIG. 31 is a view illustrating the arrangement of the variable length links in body bending unit C2 when chest 5 is rotated and tilted forward viewing from the direction in which the backbone extends…”).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Kawaguchi teaches all the elements of claim 1. Kawaguchi further teaches the control system according to claim 1, wherein the coupling portion is configured to be able to tilt the upper body portion with respect to the leg portion as a rotary motion (See at least Para [0222] “In body bending unit C2, for example, the upper half body above thoracolumbar joint 18 can be tilted forward by about 20 degrees, tilted backward by about 20 degrees, and tilted in the right and left direction by about 20 degrees. Chest 5 can be rotated (twisted) with respect to waist 6 around backbone 56 by about 20 degrees in both directions. For example, chest upper portion 5U can be tilted forward by about 15 degrees with respect to chest lower portion 5D, and tilted backward by about 20 degrees with respect to chest lower portion 5D by the intrathoracic joint 16. For this reason, for example, when chest lower portion 5D is tilted in the front-back direction, chest upper portion 5U can be kept vertical. The posture that makes both hands easy to work can be taken. The movable range is an example, and the movable range can be widened or narrowed.”, Para [0233] “The torque required to rotate the second member around the torsion axis also relates to inertia moment of the second member. The threshold value δ0 with respect to tilt angle θ may be set to the same value in all three-rotational-degree-of-freedom connection mechanisms, or set in each three-rotational-degree-of-freedom connection mechanism. In determining tilt angle θ, the change amount of the length of the variable length link may be not the unit amount but a change amount in consideration of a width of the variable range of the length of the variable length link.”).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Kawaguchi teaches all the elements of claim 1. Kawaguchi further teaches the control system according to claim 1, wherein the coupling portion is configured to be able to rotate the upper body portion in a horizontal direction of the floor with respect to the leg portion as a rotary motion (See at least Para [0264] “…The direction of rotation axis Rx1 is set to a direction forming an angle of ξ1 on the rear side with respect to the right and left direction (X-axis direction) of humanoid robot 100 in the horizontal plane…”, Para [0226] “The following facts can be understood from FIGS. 28 and 29. Variable length links 20L, 21L are long, are located at a twisted position with respect to torsion axis 56, and are largely inclined with respect to the horizontal plane…”).
Claim(s) 5, 6, 9, 12, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi et al. (US 20210162602 A1) in view of Fukano et al. (JP4578438B2), and further in view of Chen et al. (CN102431604A) (Hereinafter Chen).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Kawaguchi teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Kawaguchi does not explicitly spell out the control system according to claim 1, wherein the leg portion has a balancing function of maintaining balance of the humanoid robot.
Chen teaches the control system according to claim 1, wherein the leg portion has a balancing
function of maintaining balance of the humanoid robot (See at least Page 5 Para 3 “In the above process, the projection point of the center of gravity of the robot on the ground is always kept in the
support plane where the robot is in contact with the ground, and the process of the robot support plane from the two feet to the two feet and the two arms is static balance, that is, the above two feet…”, Page 4 Para 10 “Initial posture: As shown in Figure 3 (1), the humanoid robot transitions from standing to squatting. In this process, the robot must keep the projection point of the center of gravity on the ground in the support plane formed by the two foot plates, that is, the robot always stays upright. Straight balance, can not fall forward or backward or to both sides;”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with Kawaguchi and include the feature of leg portion having a balancing function of maintaining balance of the humanoid robot, thereby improve stability and work efficiency of the robot (See at least Page 5 Para 6 “Compared with the prior art, the present invention has the following advantages: the robot of the present invention has the characteristics of a complete humanoid robot, adopts a biped walking movement mode, and takes into account both the lower limb biped walking and upper limb dual arm operation capabilities, and is suitable for human work And living environment, you can use the tools used by humans to complete various moving and operating tasks. Also taking into account the wheeled movement mode, it has the advantages of fast moving speed, good stability and high efficiency on flat roads. It can switch between the two movement forms of biped walking and wheeled movement. According to the needs of the ground environment and operation tasks, the best movement method can be selected to improve the environment adaptability and work efficiency of the robot.”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kawaguchi teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Kawaguchi does not explicitly spell out the control system according to claim 1,
wherein the leg portion includes a wheel portion with which the humanoid robot is movable.
Chen teaches the control system according to claim 1, wherein the leg portion includes a wheel
portion with which the humanoid robot is movable (See at least Page 2 Para 4 “The two-leg hip joint and the two-leg ankle joint of the robot are equipped with wheels and driven by a DC servo motor to realize the forward, backward and turning of the robot wheel movement.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with Kawaguchi and include the feature of leg portion which includes a wheel portion with which the humanoid robot is movable, thereby provide fast moving speed, good stability, high efficiency and improved environment adaptability and work efficiency of the robot (See at least Page 5 Para 6 “Compared with the prior art, the present invention has the following advantages: the robot of the present invention has the characteristics of a complete humanoid robot, adopts a biped walking movement mode, and takes into account both the lower limb biped walking and upper limb dual arm operation capabilities, and is suitable for human work And living environment, you can use the tools used by humans to complete various moving and operating tasks. Also taking into account the wheeled movement mode, it has the advantages of fast moving speed, good stability and high efficiency on flat roads. It can switch between the two movement forms of biped walking and wheeled movement. According to the needs of the ground environment and operation tasks, the best movement method can be selected to improve the environment adaptability and work efficiency of the robot.”).
Regarding Claim 9, Kawaguchi teaches all the elements of claim 1. Kawaguchi further teaches the control system according to claim 1, wherein the control unit controls the rotation of the coupling portion (See at least Para [0198] “…A mechanism that holds rotatably the intrathoracic rotation shaft 56T is provided in intrathoracic joint frame 55. Intrathoracic rotation shaft 56T is a horizontal cylindrical portion provided in an upper portion of backbone 56. Intrathoracic rotation shaft 56T is sandwiched rotatably between two intrathoracic joint frames 55 to form intrathoracic joint 16. Intrathoracic joint 16 connects chest upper portion 5U and chest lower portion 5D with one rotational degree of freedom at which chest upper portion 5U and chest lower portion 5D are rotatable in the front-back direction….”)…
However, Kawaguchi does not explicitly spell out … on the basis of the information acquired by
the information acquisition unit of the humanoid robot and the information acquired by the information acquisition unit of another humanoid robot.
Fukano teaches … on the basis of the information acquired by the information acquisition unit of
the humanoid robot (See at least Page 7 Para 2 “…In step 203, the position of the hand unit 23 (hand position) is acquired from the visual sensing information processing unit 36 (hand unit position acquisition processing). In step 204, the distance D between the position of the target object and the position of the hand unit is obtained (distance calculation processing)…”, Page 7 Para 3 “…If the result of the second distance determination is negative, a step 207 calculates the joint rotation angle of the arm mechanism unit 13…”, Fig 1 shows a humanoid about to work on an object)…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fukano with Kawaguchi and include the feature of acquiring information acquired by the information acquisition unit of the humanoid robot, thereby use the data to provide positional accuracy during operation of the robot arm (See at least Page 7 Para 5 “…The movement control of the arm mechanism unit 13 in the approach movement up to the positioning with respect to the object 2 can be performed with higher accuracy, so that the approach movement can be made smoother…”).
However, Kawaguchi in view of Fukano does not teach … and the information acquired by the information acquisition unit of another humanoid robot.
Chen teaches … and the information acquired by the information acquisition unit of another humanoid robot (See at least Page 5 Para 4 “…The robot cannot only complete the task of moving or changing the movement mode through the instructions set by the current remote control, but also can use the distance measuring sensor (such as infrared, sonar, etc.) at the ankle joint of the robot to enable the robot to autonomously change the current movement mode through the environmental information…”, discloses the robot using peripheral information for autonomous movement change).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with Kawaguchi and include the feature of acquiring information of another humanoid robot, thereby using more information from the environment for work accuracy and efficiency of the robot (See at least Page 2 Para 7 “The distance measuring sensor is installed at the ankle joint of the robot, so that the robot can autonomously
change the current movement mode through the environmental information and increase the movement efficiency.”).
Regarding Claim 12, Kawaguchi teaches a humanoid robot control system that gives an instruction to a humanoid robot,
the humanoid robot (See at least Fig. 2) including:
an upper body portion including at least one arm portion (See at least Fig. 2 discloses an upper body portion including at least one arm portion);
a leg portion placed on a floor (See at least Fig. 2 discloses a leg portion placed on a floor);
a coupling portion that rotatably couples the upper body portion to the leg portion (See at least Fig 14 item 56T, Para [0193] “… Link attaching frame 57 is connected to the upper side of intrathoracic rotation shaft 56T. The variable length link that rotates chest 5 with respect to waist 6 is attached to link attaching frame 57. In FIGS. 16 to 20, not only members included in chest upper portion 5U but also link attaching frame 57 provided in chest lower portion 5D are illustrated in order to identify an attaching position of the variable length link that rotates chest 5 with respect to waist 6.”);
…
and a control unit that controls rotation of the coupling portion (See at least Para [0198] “…A mechanism that holds rotatably the intrathoracic rotation shaft 56T is provided in intrathoracic joint frame 55. Intrathoracic rotation shaft 56T is a horizontal cylindrical portion provided in an upper portion of backbone 56. Intrathoracic rotation shaft 56T is sandwiched rotatably between two intrathoracic joint frames 55 to form intrathoracic joint 16. Intrathoracic joint 16 connects chest upper portion 5U and chest lower portion 5D with one rotational degree of freedom at which chest upper portion 5U and chest lower portion 5D are rotatable in the front-back direction….”)…
However, Kawaguchi does not explicitly spell out …
an information acquisition unit that acquires information indicating at least a distance and an angle between the arm portion and an object on which the humanoid robot intends to work; …
… on the basis of the information,
the humanoid robot control system comprising:
a peripheral information acquisition unit that acquires peripheral information in which the object is placed;
a selection unit that selects from types of the leg portion of the humanoid robot on the basis of the peripheral information; and
an instruction unit that instructs the humanoid robot of the selected type of the leg portion to perform work on the object.
Fukano teaches …
an information acquisition unit that acquires information indicating at least a distance and an angle between the arm portion and an object on which the humanoid robot intends to work (See at least Page 7 Para 2 “…In step 203, the position of the hand unit 23 (hand position) is acquired from the visual sensing information processing unit 36 (hand unit position acquisition processing). In step 204, the distance D between the position of the target object and the position of the hand unit is obtained (distance calculation processing)…”, Page 7 Para 3 “…If the result of the second distance determination is negative, a step 207 calculates the joint rotation angle of the arm mechanism unit 13…”); and …
… on the basis of the information (See at least Page 7 Para 2 “…In step 203, the position of the hand unit 23 (hand position) is acquired from the visual sensing information processing unit 36 (hand unit position acquisition processing). In step 204, the distance D between the position of the target object and the position of the hand unit is obtained (distance calculation processing)…”, Page 7 Para 3 “…If the result of the second distance determination is negative, a step 207 calculates the joint rotation angle of the arm mechanism unit 13…”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fukano with Kawaguchi and include the feature of acquiring information indicating at least a distance and an angle between the arm portion and an object on which the humanoid robot intends to work to use it to control rotation of the coupling portion, thereby provide positional accuracy during operation of the robot arm (See at least Page 7 Para 5 “…The movement control of the arm mechanism unit 13 in the approach movement up to the positioning with respect to the object 2 can be performed with higher accuracy, so that the approach movement can be made smoother…”).
However, Kawaguchi in view of Fukano does not teach the humanoid robot control system comprising:
a peripheral information acquisition unit that acquires peripheral information in which the object is placed;
a selection unit that selects from types of the leg portion of the humanoid robot on the basis of the peripheral information; and
an instruction unit that instructs the humanoid robot of the selected type of the leg portion to perform work on the object.
Chen teaches …
the humanoid robot (See at least Page 1 Para 1 “Humanoid robot with biped walking and wheeled mobile mutual transformation function”) control system comprising:
a peripheral information acquisition unit that acquires peripheral information in which the object is placed (See at least Page 5 Para 4 “…The robot cannot only complete the task of moving or changing the movement mode through the instructions set by the current remote control, but also can use the distance measuring sensor (such as infrared, sonar, etc.) at the ankle joint of the robot to enable the robot to autonomously change the current movement mode through the environmental information…”);
a selection unit that selects from types of the leg portion of the humanoid robot on the basis of the peripheral information (See at least Page 5 Para 4 “…The robot cannot only complete the task of moving or changing the movement mode through the instructions set by the current remote control, but also can use the distance measuring sensor (such as infrared, sonar, etc.) at the ankle joint of the robot to enable the robot to autonomously change the current movement mode through the environmental information…”); and
an instruction unit that instructs the humanoid robot of the selected type of the leg portion to perform work on the object (See at least Page 5 Para 6 “…the robot of the present invention has the characteristics of a complete humanoid robot, adopts a biped walking movement mode, and takes into account both the lower limb biped walking and upper limb dual arm operation capabilities, and is suitable for human work And living environment, you can use the tools used by humans to complete various moving and operating tasks…It can switch between the two movement forms of biped walking and wheeled movement. According to the needs of the ground environment and operation tasks, the best movement method can be selected to improve the environment adaptability and work efficiency of the robot.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with Kawaguchi and include the feature of selecting from types of the leg portion of the humanoid robot on the basis of the peripheral information and instructs the humanoid robot of the selected type of the leg portion to perform work on the object, thereby provide improved environment adaptability and work efficiency of the robot (See at least Page 5 Para 6 “Compared with the prior art, the present invention has the following advantages: the robot of the present invention has the characteristics of a complete humanoid robot, adopts a biped walking movement mode, and takes into account both the lower limb biped walking and upper limb dual arm operation capabilities, and is suitable for human work And living environment, you can use the tools used by humans to complete various moving and operating tasks. Also taking into account the wheeled movement mode, it has the advantages of fast moving speed, good stability and high efficiency on flat roads. It can switch between the two movement forms of biped walking and wheeled movement. According to the needs of the ground environment and operation tasks, the best movement method can be selected to improve the environment adaptability and work efficiency of the robot.”).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Kawaguchi teaches all the elements of claim 12. Kawaguchi further teaches the humanoid robot control system according to claim 12, wherein
the types of the leg portion include:
…
and a type including a walking portion with which the humanoid robot is walkable (See at least Para [0339] “The fact that hip joint 22 is rotatable around thighbone 10A is necessary when humanoid robot 100 changes the direction and walks.”).
However, Kawaguchi does not explicitly spell out …
a type including a wheel portion with which the humanoid robot is movable;
Chen teaches…
a type including a wheel portion with which the humanoid robot is movable (See at least Page 2 Para 4 “The two-leg hip joint and the two-leg ankle joint of the robot are equipped with wheels and driven by a DC servo motor to realize the forward, backward and turning of the robot wheel movement.”);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with Kawaguchi and include the feature of type of leg portion including a wheel portion with which the humanoid robot is movable, thereby provide fast moving speed, good stability, high efficiency and improved environment adaptability and work efficiency of the robot (See at least Page 5 Para 6 “Compared with the prior art, the present invention has the following advantages: the robot of the present invention has the characteristics of a complete humanoid robot, adopts a biped walking movement mode, and takes into account both the lower limb biped walking and upper limb dual arm operation capabilities, and is suitable for human work And living environment, you can use the tools used by humans to complete various moving and operating tasks. Also taking into account the wheeled movement mode, it has the advantages of fast moving speed, good stability and high efficiency on flat roads. It can switch between the two movement forms of biped walking and wheeled movement. According to the needs of the ground environment and operation tasks, the best movement method can be selected to improve the environment adaptability and work efficiency of the robot.”).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Kawaguchi teaches all the elements of claim 12. Kawaguchi further teaches the humanoid robot control system according to claim 12, wherein the coupling portion further couples the leg portion to the upper body portion such that a distance between the leg portion and the upper body portion can be changed (See at least Para [0233] “The torque required to rotate the second member around the torsion axis also relates to inertia moment of the second member. The threshold value δ0 with respect to tilt angle θ may be set to the same value in all three-rotational-degree-of-freedom connection mechanisms, or set in each three-rotational-degree-of-freedom connection mechanism. In determining tilt angle θ, the change amount of the length of the variable length link may be not the unit amount but a change amount in consideration of a width of the variable range of the length of the variable length link.”, Para [0236] “FIG. 31 is a view illustrating the arrangement of the variable length links in body bending unit C2 when chest 5 is rotated and tilted forward viewing from the direction in which the backbone extends…”).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Kawaguchi teaches all the elements of claim 12. Kawaguchi further teaches the humanoid robot control system according to claim 12, wherein the coupling portion is configured to be able to tilt the upper body portion with respect to the leg portion as a rotary motion (See at least Para [0222] “In body bending unit C2, for example, the upper half body above thoracolumbar joint 18 can be tilted forward by about 20 degrees, tilted backward by about 20 degrees, and tilted in the right and left direction by about 20 degrees. Chest 5 can be rotated (twisted) with respect to waist 6 around backbone 56 by about 20 degrees in both directions. For example, chest upper portion 5U can be tilted forward by about 15 degrees with respect to chest lower portion 5D, and tilted backward by about 20 degrees with respect to chest lower portion 5D by the intrathoracic joint 16. For this reason, for example, when chest lower portion 5D is tilted in the front-back direction, chest upper portion 5U can be kept vertical. The posture that makes both hands easy to work can be taken. The movable range is an example, and the movable range can be widened or narrowed.”, Para [0233] “The torque required to rotate the second member around the torsion axis also relates to inertia moment of the second member. The threshold value δ0 with respect to tilt angle θ may be set to the same value in all three-rotational-degree-of-freedom connection mechanisms, or set in each three-rotational-degree-of-freedom connection mechanism. In determining tilt angle θ, the change amount of the length of the variable length link may be not the unit amount but a change amount in consideration of a width of the variable range of the length of the variable length link.”).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Kawaguchi teaches all the elements of claim 12. Kawaguchi further teaches the humanoid robot control system according to claim 12, wherein the coupling portion is configured to be able to rotate the upper body portion in a horizontal direction of the floor with respect to the leg portion as a rotary motion (See at least Para [0264] “…The direction of rotation axis Rx1 is set to a direction forming an angle of ξ1 on the rear side with respect to the right and left direction (X-axis direction) of humanoid robot 100 in the horizontal plane…”, Para [0226] “The following facts can be understood from FIGS. 28 and 29. Variable length links 20L, 21L are long, are located at a twisted position with respect to torsion axis 56, and are largely inclined with respect to the horizontal plane…”).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Kawaguchi teaches all the elements of claim 12.
However, Kawaguchi does not explicitly spell out the humanoid robot control system according to claim 12, wherein the leg portion has a balancing function of maintaining balance of the humanoid robot.
Chen teaches the humanoid robot control system according to claim 12, wherein the leg portion has a balancing function of maintaining balance of the humanoid robot (See at least Page 5 Para 3 “In the above process, the projection point of the center of gravity of the robot on the ground is always kept in the support plane where the robot is in contact with the ground, and the process of the robot support plane from the two feet to the two feet and the two arms is static balance, that is, the above two feet…”, Page 4 Para 10 “Initial posture: As shown in Figure 3 (1), the humanoid robot transitions from standing to squatting. In this process, the robot must keep the projection point of the center of gravity on the ground in the support plane formed by the two foot plates, that is, the robot always stays upright. Straight balance, can not fall forward or backward or to both sides;”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chen with Kawaguchi and include the feature of leg portion having a balancing function of maintaining balance of the humanoid robot, thereby improve stability and work efficiency of the robot (See at least Page 5 Para 6 “Compared with the prior art, the present invention has the following advantages: the robot of the present invention has the characteristics of a complete humanoid robot, adopts a biped walking movement mode, and takes into account both the lower limb biped walking and upper limb dual arm operation capabilities, and is suitable for human work And living environment, you can use the tools used by humans to complete various moving and operating tasks. Also taking into account the wheeled movement mode, it has the advantages of fast moving speed, good stability and high efficiency on flat roads. It can switch between the two movement forms of biped walking and wheeled movement. According to the needs of the ground environment and operation tasks, the best movement method can be selected to improve the environment adaptability and work efficiency of the robot.”).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi et al. (US 20210162602 A1) in view of Fukano et al. (JP4578438B2), and further in view of Chagi et al. (JP2023105577A) (Hereinafter Chagi).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Kawaguchi teaches all the elements of claim 1.
However, Kawaguchi does not explicitly spell out the control system according to claim 1, further comprising:
an intention detection unit that detects an intention of a worker positioned around the humanoid robot, wherein in a case where there is an object on which the humanoid robot intends to work, the control unit controls the rotation of the coupling portion on the basis of the intention of the worker detected by the intention detection unit and the information.
Chagi teaches the control system according to claim 1, further comprising:
an intention detection unit that detects an intention of a worker positioned around the humanoid robot (See at least Para [0006] “… a manipulation method determination unit that determines a method of manipulating the object based on the estimated motion intention of the operator;…”), wherein in a case where there is an object on which the humanoid robot intends to work, the control unit controls the rotation of the coupling portion on the basis of the intention of the worker detected by the intention detection unit and the information (See at least Para [0006] “… a manipulation method determination unit that determines a method of manipulating the object based on the estimated motion intention of the operator; and the second acquisition unit. a control amount determination unit that determines the operation method of the robot and the force at the time of operation from the acquired information and the information determined by the operation method determination unit, and reflects it in the control instruction.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chagi with Kawaguchi and include the feature of an intention detection unit that detects an intention of a worker positioned around the humanoid robot, wherein in a case where there is an object on which the humanoid robot intends to work, the control unit controls the operation of the robot on the basis of the intention of the worker detected by the intention detection unit and the information, thereby prevent collision during robotic operation.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi et al. (US 20210162602 A1) in view of Fukano et al. (JP4578438B2), Chagi et al. (JP2023105577A) (Hereinafter Chagi), and further in view of Saito (US 20220036897 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Kawaguchi teaches all the elements of claim 7.
However, Kawaguchi does not explicitly spell out the control system according to claim 7,
wherein the intention detection unit detects the intention on the basis of a past tendency of the worker.
Saito teaches the control system according to claim 7, wherein the intention detection unit
detects the intention on the basis of a past tendency of the worker (See at least Para [0110] “Meanwhile, the “history information” illustrated in FIG. 8 may include information indicating a past behavior of the user. FIG. 9 illustrates an example of behavior information on the user, which is included in the history information.”, Para [0130] “The detection unit 41 detects various kinds of information via the sensor 20. For example, the detection unit 41 detects a voice spoken by the user via the voice input sensor 20A that is one example of the sensor 20. Further, the detection unit 41 may detect various kinds of information on a movement of the user, such as a facial information on the user, orientation, inclination, motion, a moving speed, or the like of the body of the user, or a movement of the user, via the image input sensor 20B, the acceleration sensor, the infrared sensor, or the like. In other words, the detection unit 41 may detect, as a context, various physical amounts, such as location information, acceleration, temperature, gravity, rotation (angular velocity), illuminance, geomagnetism, pressure, adjacency, humidity, or a rotation vector”, Para [0085] “In the example illustrated in FIG. 6, the response processing apparatus 100 cooperates with a terminal 10D that is a pet-like robot, a terminal 10E that is a humanoid robot, a terminal 1OF that is a gripper robot, and the like in addition to the terminal 10A.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Saito with Kawaguchi and include the feature of the intention detection unit detects the intention on the basis of a past tendency of the worker, thereby provide accuracy at which a response desired by the user is generated (See at least Para [0046] “…With this configuration, the response processing apparatus 100 is able to improve a degree of accuracy at which a response desired by the user is generated. ..”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lim et al. (US 20110040405 A1) teaches an apparatus, a method and a computer-readable medium controlling whole-body operation of a humanoid robot
/SHAHEDA HOQUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/MICHAEL C ZARROLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658