DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the listed must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
a connector exterior to the body (Claim 4)
a plurality of conducting traces (Claim 4, 6)
a four wire measurement (Claim 6)
a first pair of the traces (Claim 6)
a second pair of the traces (Claim 6)
a first end of the temperature sensor (Claim 6)
a second end of the temperature sensor (Claim 6)
a U-shaped portion (Claim 7)
a first vertical leg, a second vertical leg and a horizontal cross bar between the first and second vertical legs (Claim 7, 8)
an H-shaped portion, the upper region of the H-shaped portion comprising the U-shaped portion, and the lower legs of the H-shaped portion contacting a bottom surface of the body (Claim 9)
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a body configured” Claims 1-2, 4-5, 10-12
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-11, 14, 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 3689276 B2.
Claim 1
JP 3689276 B2 discloses an instrument for particle analysis by dynamic light scattering (Par. 0001 of translation; Background of the Invention), comprising; a sample cell holder (Fig. 1, Ref. 2b, cell holder), configured to receive a sample cell (Fig. 1, Ref. 2; cell), the sample cell (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) for holding a sample comprising particles (Fig. 1, Ref. 4) suspended in a diluent fluid (Fig. 1, Ref. 3); a light source (Fig. 1, Ref. 5) configured to illuminate the sample (Fig. 1, Ref. 4) with a light beam, thereby producing scattered light (Para. 0015) from the interaction of the light beam with the particles in a scattering region (See Fig. 1); a light detector (Fig. 1, Ref. 11), configured to detect the scattered light from the scattering region and to output scattering data (Para. 0026); a temperature sensor (Fig. 1, Ref. 15b; temperature sensor), configured to measure a temperature of the sample cell holder (Fig. 1, Ref. 2b)(Para. 0021); a processor (Fig. 1, Ref. 17, CPU) configured to receive the scattering data and the measure of temperature of the sample cell holder (Fig. 1, Ref. 2b)(Para. 0022), and to determine a particle size by performing a dynamic light scattering analysis on the scattering data (Para. 0029); a temperature verification device (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a, 15c), comprising: a body (Fig. 1, Ref. 2 is a body) configured to be received in the sample cell holder (Fig. 1, Ref. 2b); a calibrated temperature sensor (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a; ) within the body (Fig. 1, Ref. 2), arranged to measure a temperature of the scattering volume (Para. 0018).
Claim 2
JP 3689276 B2 discloses a body (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) configured to be received in the sample cell holder (Fig. 1, Ref. 2b); a calibrated temperature sensor (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a) within the body (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) at a position corresponding with a scattering volume of the dynamic light scattering instrument (Fig. 1, Ref. 5, 11).
Claim 10
JP 3689276 B2 discloses the body (Fig. 1, Ref. 2) comprises a sample cell of the same type (the sample cell and body are combined as an all-in-one) that is usable for performing a dynamic light scattering analysis (Fig. 1, Ref. 5, 11).
Claim 11
JP 3689276 B2 discloses the body is a cuvette (See Fig. 1,2, Ref. 2, square shaped cell).
Claim 14
JP 3689276 B2 discloses the device (Fig. 1) comprises a sample analog (Fig. 1, Ref. 3, 4; samples) in which the calibrated temperature sensor (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a) is embedded.
Claim 19
JP 3689276 B2 discloses the temperature verification device (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a) further comprises a thermal cap (Fig. 1, Ref. 2a), and the body (Fig. 1, Ref. 2b) is attached to the thermal cap (Fig. 1, Ref. 2a).
Claim 20
JP 3689276 B2 discloses placing a temperature verification device (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a) in a sample cell holder (Fig. 1, Ref. 2b); comparing (difference) a temperature measured by the temperature verification device (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a) with a temperature measured by the instrument (Fig. 1, Ref. 15b)(Para. 0019, 0022); verifying that the temperature measured by the dynamic light scattering instrument (Fig. 1, Ref. 5, 11) is representative of the temperature measured by the temperature verification device (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a)(Para. 0022).
Claim 21
JP 3689276 B2 discloses the temperature verification device (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a) is a temperature verification device (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a) according to any preceding temperature verification device claim, or the dynamic light scattering instrument (Fig. 1, Ref. 5, 11) and the temperature verification device (Fig. 1, Ref. 15a) together comprise a system according to any preceding system claim.
Claim 22
JP 3689276 B2 discloses adjusting a temperature readout of the dynamic light scattering instrument until the temperature of the sample measured by dynamic light scattering instrument is within a predefined tolerance of the temperature measured by the temperature verification device (Para. 0021).
Claim 23
JP 3689276 B2 discloses repeating measurements at a plurality of different temperatures corresponding with a specified range of temperature control for the instrument (Para. 0022-0023; performs various calculations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-9, 12-13, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 3689276 B2.
Claim 3
JP 3689276 B2 discloses the claimed invention except for the calibrated temperature sensor comprises a thin film PT100 sensor. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine JP 3689276 B2 with the thin film PT100 sensor since it was well known in the art that using such a sensor provides for more accurate measurement of temperature and ensures stability of the optical and electronic components. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 4, 6-9
JP 3689276 B2 discloses the claimed invention except for a printed circuit board, the printed circuit board comprising a plurality of conducting traces connecting the calibrated temperature sensor to a connector exterior to the body or the plurality of traces comprises four traces for performing a four wire measurement of a resistance of the temperature sensor, a first pair of the traces connected to a first end of the temperature sensor, and a second pair of the traces connected to a second end of the temperature sensor; the first vertical leg comprises the first pair of the traces, with the first trace of the first pair of traces patterned on a first side of the first vertical leg, and the second trace of the first pair of traces patterned on a second, opposite, side of the first vertical leg, and the second vertical leg comprises the second pair of the traces, with the first trace of the second pair of traces pattered on a first side of the second vertical leg, and the second trace of the second pair of traces pattered on a second, opposite pair of the second vertical leg; the printed circuit board comprises an H-shaped portion, the upper region of the H-shaped portion comprising the U-shaped portion, and the lower legs of the H-shaped portion contacting a bottom surface of the body. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify JP 3689276 B2 with printed circuit board trace(s), U-shaped or H-shaped portions since it was well known in the art that a printed circuit board with conducting traces connected to a temperature sensor offers accurate, compact, reliable, and cost-effective temperature measurement by combining the sensing element, signal path, and processing circuitry into one integrated platform, therefore improving the quality of the measurement. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 5
JP 3689276 B2 discloses the claimed invention except for the body comprises a cuboidal interior volume, and the printed circuit board is disposed corner to corner in the cuboidal interior volume. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify JP 3689276 B2 with printed circuit board disposed corner to corner since it was well known in the art that placing circuit corner to corner provides full coverage when in the detection device, therefore preventing signal errors. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 12-13
JP 3689276 B2 discloses the claimed invention except for the body is 12.5mm square section cuvette or the cuvette is a glass or polystyrene cuvette. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify JP 3689276 B2 with size and material listed above since it was well known in the art that using a 12.5 mm square glass cuvette is a industry-standard, optically precise, chemically stable, and compatible with most spectrophotometer, therefore providing accurate, reproducible absorbance measurements. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claims 15-18
JP 3689276 B2 discloses the claimed invention except for the sample analog has a volume of between 0.5 and 2 ml; the sample analog comprises a solid phase polymeric material; the sample analog comprises silicone; the sample analog has a thermal conductivity of between 0.1 W/m.K and 2 W/m.K at 25°C. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify JP 3689276 B2 with various sample analog(s) listed above since it was well known in the art that combining small sample volumes, polymeric sorbents, and moderate thermal conductivity yields, higher analyte recovery and selectivity, therefore providing a balance extraction efficiency, sample integrity, and operational practicality in modern chromatographic sample preparation The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 October 8, 2026