DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “central DC network” and “said DC supply network” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-32 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 16: The claim recites, “said DC supply network being configured to enable application and control of three different DC voltage levels independently…” however, the specification and drawings fail to provide adequate support or clarity as to the structure corresponding to the “DC supply network.” In particular, it is unclear whether the “DC supply network” refers to a controller, a combination of a controller and a plurality of converters, a DC bus architecture, or another structure.
The claim also recites that “a central DC network designed for a high voltage connected to said electrolysis plant via said central supply line”; however, the “central supply line” appears to correspond to an output of a converter (such as rectifier 13A in figure 3) connected to a power source, and the relationship between the “central DC network” and the “central supply line” is unclear. The claim language does not clearly define how the “central DC network” differs structurally or functionally from the converter output, or what structure constitutes the central DC network, thereby rending the scope of the claim unclear. It is unclear if the central DC network is simply the DC bus architecture which interconnects the various components, or some other structure. The claim language adds to this confusion as the claim calls for the “central DC network” to be connected to the “electrolysis plant via said central supply line” (emphasis added). If the central supply line is a portion of the DC bus connected to the output of rectifier 13a, this indicates that the central DC network must be one of either the rectifier 13a itself, or the respective power supply source 19 which would not make sense as the power supply source and rectifier have each been positively recited within the claim.
Furthermore, the claim recites, “said DC supply network” which lacks proper antecedent basis. It is unclear whether “said DC supply network” refers to the previously recited “central DC network” or another structure, further contributing to the indefiniteness of the claim.
Accordingly, due to the uncertainty and indefiniteness in the structural requirements and interrelationship of the “DC supply network,” “central DC network,” and “central supply line,” the scope of the claim is not reasonably certain. For the purposes of examination, the claim is interpreted as best understood in light of the specification. In this instance, the “central DC network” is interpreted as a DC bus architecture interconnecting components of the system, the ”central supply line” is interpreted as a DC bus output from a rectifier associated with a power supply source, and “said DC supply network” is interpreted as referring to other converters within the system that are controlled via a controller. This interpretation is adopted solely for examination purposes and does not resolve the noted indefiniteness. Furthermore, claims 17-32 fail to cure the deficiencies as presented within claim 16, and therefore inherit said deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-21 and 29-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 112994056 A) in view of Seymour et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0363651).
Regarding Claim 16:
Liu et al. discloses a plant network (Fig. 3), comprising: a load (Fig. 3, load connected to the output converter 104), a power supply source with a DC voltage output (Fig. 3, power generation unit 101 with converter 102, and their related discussion; “The machine-side converter 102 comprises an AC/DC rectifier and a second DC/DC converter… The AC/DC rectifier is configured to convert the alternating current output by the power generation unit into direct current electric energy to supply power to the direct current bus.”), and a central supply line connected to said DC voltage output of said power supply source, enabling a direct current to be fed into said central supply line (Fig. 3, portion of the direct current bus located between the output of converter 102 and the central node as shown and discussed); a central DC network designed for a high voltage connected to said load via said central supply line (Fig. 3, DC bus network as shown interconnecting converters 103-105 and the central supply line read on by the output of converter 102, etc. and their related discussion); said power supply source having a power generator, being a wind turbine (Fig. 3, power generation unit 101 and its related discussion; “The power generation unit 101 is used for generating electric energy… the power generation unit 101 may be a wind turbine generator set…”), and a rectifier connected to said wind turbine and having a DC voltage output configured for the high voltage (Fig. 3, converter 102 and its related discussion; “The machine-side converter 102 comprises an AC/DC rectifier… The AC/DC rectifier is configured to convert the alternating current output by the power generation unit into direct current electric energy to supply power to the direct current bus.”); a controllable energy storage system connected to said central supply line (Fig. 3, energy storage system 106 with DC/DC bidirectional converter 103 connected to the direct current bus as shown, and their related discussion) and configured to feed a direct current into said central supply line, as required, or to receive a discharge from said central supply line for storage in said energy storage system (Fig. 3, energy storage system 106 with DC/DC bidirectional converter 103 connected to the direct current bus as shown, and their related discussion; “The DC/DC bidirectional converter 103… is used for converting the electric energy of the energy storage device 106 to provide a stable voltage for the direct current bus, or converting the voltage on the direct current bus into the energy storage device 106 for charging, so as to realize bidirectional power supply of the direct current bus to the energy storage device 106.”); said DC supply network being configured to enable application and control of three different DC voltage levels independently (Fig. 3, converters 103, 104, 105, control system not shown, and their related discussion), with a first DC voltage provided as a storage battery voltage for charging and discharging an electrical storage battery of said energy storage system (Fig. 3, DC/DC bidirectional converter 103 having a first DC voltage provided as a voltage for charging energy storage system 106 or as a voltage associated with the discharging of energy storage system 106, and its related discussion; “The DC/DC bidirectional converter 103… is used for converting the electric energy of the energy storage device 106 to provide a stable voltage for the direct current bus, or converting the voltage on the direct current bus into the energy storage device 106 for charging, so as to realize bidirectional power supply of the direct current bus to the energy storage device 106.” The first voltage read on as the voltage output to the energy storage system or output from the energy storage system having been discharged), with a second DC voltage provided as a DC-Bus high voltage on said central supply line (Fig. 3, converter 102 and its related discussion; “The machine-side converter 102 comprises an AC/DC rectifier… The AC/DC rectifier is configured to convert the alternating current output by the power generation unit into direct current electric energy to supply power to the direct current bus.” The second DC voltage read on by the voltage output by converter 102), and with a third DC voltage provided as DC operating voltage of said load (Fig. 3, DC/DC converter 104 and its related discussion; “The first DC/DC converter 104 is used to convert the voltage on the DC bus to the required voltage for hydrogen production and output through the output side of the first DC/DC converter 104.” The third DC voltage read on by the voltage provided to the load via the DC/DC converter 104). While Liu discloses a load in the form of a water electrolysis cell, Liu fails to teach the load (in the form of an electrolysis cell) is a part of an electrolysis plant.
However, Seymour et al. discloses it is known for an electrolysis cell to be a part of an electrolysis plant (Fig. 1, system 100 including a large scale electrolyzer facility including electrolysis cell stacks 110 as shown, and their related discussion; see, at least, paragraphs 0064-0068, 0082, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to realize the electrolysis cells of Liu as being incorporated and housed within an electrolysis plant, as taught within Seymour, to optimize electrical efficiency and streamlined maintenance for larger scale operations, thereby improving overall system efficiency, performance, and reducing operational costs.
Regarding Claim 17:
Modified Liu teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 16. Modified Liu, in further view of Liu, discloses wherein said energy storage system has a storage unit comprising a storage battery and a bidirectional DC-DC converter connected to said storage unit (Fig. 3, energy storage system 106 with DC/DC bidirectional converter 103 connected to the direct current bus as shown, and their related discussion; “The DC/DC bidirectional converter 103… is used for converting the electric energy of the energy storage device 106 to provide a stable voltage for the direct current bus, or converting the voltage on the direct current bus into the energy storage device 106 for charging, so as to realize bidirectional power supply of the direct current bus to the energy storage device 106.”), and wherein a DC voltage output of said bidirectional DC-DC converter is configured for the high voltage (Fig. 3, energy storage system 106 with DC/DC bidirectional converter 103 connected to the direct current bus as shown, and their related discussion; “The DC/DC bidirectional converter 103… is used for converting the electric energy of the energy storage device 106 to provide a stable voltage for the direct current bus, or converting the voltage on the direct current bus into the energy storage device 106 for charging, so as to realize bidirectional power supply of the direct current bus to the energy storage device 106.”).
Regarding Claim 18:
Modified Liu teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 17. Modified Liu, in further view of Liu, discloses wherein said storage unit comprises an electrical storage battery connected to an input of said bidirectional DC-DC converter (Fig. 3, energy storage system 106 with DC/DC bidirectional converter 103 connected to the direct current bus as shown, and their related discussion; “The DC/DC bidirectional converter 103… is used for converting the electric energy of the energy storage device 106 to provide a stable voltage for the direct current bus, or converting the voltage on the direct current bus into the energy storage device 106 for charging, so as to realize bidirectional power supply of the direct current bus to the energy storage device 106.” The respective energy storage system 106 may be comprised of a plurality of storage batteries constituting the energy storage system).
Regarding Claim 19:
Modified Liu teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 16. Modified Liu, in further view of Liu, discloses a control device configured for controlling said energy storage system for storing and discharging electrical energy (Fig. 3, respective control system configured for controlling energy storage system 106 with DC/DC bidirectional converter 103 and their related discussion; “…the power generation unit, the energy storage device, the first DC/DC converter, the DC/DC bidirectional converter, the DC/AC inverter, and the machine-side converter are controlled by the control system…“… the DC/DC bidirectional converter is controlled to operate, so that the DC/DC bidirectional converter works on the bus voltage… as a given control mode, converts the electric energy storage in the energy storage device, supplies electric energy to the direct current bus, and maintains the voltage stability on the direct current bus…”).
Regarding Claim 20:
Modified Liu teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 16. Modified Liu, in further view of Liu, discloses a connection line connected between said electrolysis plant and said central supply line (Fig. 3, connection line connecting the load and DC/DC converter 104 to the DC bus as shown, and their related discussion), a DC-DC converter installed in said connection line (Fig. 3, DC/DC converter 104 and its related discussion; “… the first DC/DC converter 104 converts the voltage on the direct current bus to provide electric energy for the connected hydrogen production system…”), said DC-DC converter having an input voltage corresponding to the high voltage in said central supply line and an output voltage corresponding to an operating voltage of said electrolysis plant (Fig. 3, DC/DC converter 104 and its related discussion; “… the first DC/DC converter 104 converts the voltage on the direct current bus to provide electric energy for the connected hydrogen production system…”).
Regarding Claim 21:
Modified Liu teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 20. Modified Liu, in further view of Liu, discloses wherein said DC-DC converter is an adjustable stepdown converter, enabling a supply of said electrolysis plant with electrolysis current received from a fluctuating feed-in power of the power supply source in the central supply line to be adaptable and adjustable (Fig. 3, DC/DC converter 104 and its related discussion; “…the first DC/DC converter 104 may be a buck buck converter, which is used for converting the voltage on the higher direct current bus into the voltage required…”. The respective supply supplied to the electrolysis plant may be received from a fluctuating feed-in power of the power generation unit 101).
Regarding Claim 29:
Modified Liu teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 16. Modified Liu, in further view of Liu, discloses wherein said wind turbine comprises a generator having an output connected to an AC voltage input of said rectifier (Fig. 3, power generation unit 101 with converter 102, and their related discussion; “The power generation unit 101 is used for generating electric energy… the power generation unit 101 may be a wind turbine generator… The machine-side converter 102 comprises an AC/DC rectifier… If the power generation unit 101 is a wind turbine (as shown in Fig. 3), the output end of the power generation unit 101 is connected to the AC side of the AC/DC rectifier… Specifically, the wind turbine includes a wind turbine and a generator… The generator is configured to convert mechanical energy into alternating current energy… the generator may be a permanent magnet synchronous generator…”).
Regarding Claim 30:
Modified Liu teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 29. Modified Liu, in further view of Liu, discloses wherein said generator is a three-phase synchronous machine with permanent magnet excitation (Fig. 3, power generation unit 101 with converter 102, and their related discussion; “The power generation unit 101 is used for generating electric energy… the power generation unit 101 may be a wind turbine generator… The machine-side converter 102 comprises an AC/DC rectifier… If the power generation unit 101 is a wind turbine (as shown in Fig. 3), the output end of the power generation unit 101 is connected to the AC side of the AC/DC rectifier… Specifically, the wind turbine includes a wind turbine and a generator… The generator is configured to convert mechanical energy into alternating current energy… the generator may be a permanent magnet synchronous generator…”).
Regarding Claim 31:
Modified Liu teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 16. Modified Liu, in further view of Liu, discloses a method comprising operating in a charging phase, wherein electrical energy from the central supply line is stored in the energy storage system (Fig. 3, respective control system configured for controlling energy storage system 106 with DC/DC bidirectional converter 103 and their related discussion; “…the power generation unit, the energy storage device, the first DC/DC converter, the DC/DC bidirectional converter, the DC/AC inverter, and the machine-side converter are controlled by the control system…“… the DC/DC bidirectional converter is controlled to operate, so that the DC/DC bidirectional converter works on the bus voltage… as a given control mode, converts the electric energy storage in the energy storage device, supplies electric energy to the direct current bus, and maintains the voltage stability on the direct current bus…”. That is, DC/DC bidirectional converter is controlled to supply electric energy from the central supply line and direct current bus by converting said bus voltage in order to charge the energy storage system), and in a discharge phase, wherein electrical energy is discharged and fed into the central supply line (Fig. 3, respective control system configured for controlling energy storage system 106 with DC/DC bidirectional converter 103 and their related discussion; “…the power generation unit, the energy storage device, the first DC/DC converter, the DC/DC bidirectional converter, the DC/AC inverter, and the machine-side converter are controlled by the control system…“… the DC/DC bidirectional converter is controlled to operate, so that the DC/DC bidirectional converter works on the bus voltage… as a given control mode, converts the electric energy storage in the energy storage device, supplies electric energy to the direct current bus, and maintains the voltage stability on the direct current bus…”. That is, DC/DC bidirectional converter is controlled to supply electric energy to the direct current bus by converting voltage discharged by the energy storage system).
Regarding Claim 32:
Modified Liu teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 31. Modified Liu, in further view of Liu, discloses operating the plant network in an off-grid island operation (“The present disclosure relates to… an off-grid power generation system and a control method and an application system thereof.” “… the present disclosure provide an off-grid power generation system… an existing off-grid type wind power production system…” etc. That is, the specification and teachings of Modified Liu are directed towards the respective utilization of the system in an off-grid island operation).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN 112994056 A) in view of Seymour et al. (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2021/0363651) and in further view of Williams (U.S. Patent Number 7,782,027).
Regarding Claim 22:
Modified Liu teaches the limitations of the preceding claim 21. While Modified Liu teaches said DC-DC converter is configured as a controllable step-down converter (Fig. 3, DC/DC converter 104 and its related discussion; “…the first DC/DC converter 104 may be a buck buck converter, which is used for converting the voltage on the higher direct current bus into the voltage required…”. The respective supply supplied to the electrolysis plant may be received from a fluctuating feed-in power of the power generation unit 101) Modified Liu fails to teach wherein said DC-DC converter is equipped with a regulation of an output voltage by way of pulse width modulation in non-gap operation.
However, Williams discloses that it is known in the art that a DC-DC converter is equipped with a regulation of an output voltage by way of pulse width modulation in non-gap operation (see, at least, Figs. 1A-1C and their related discussion; see, at least, Col. 4, lines 18-33 which disclose operation of a synchronous buck converter controller by pulse-width modulation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the DC-DC converter of Modified Liu, in a PWM, continuous conduction (non-gap) mode, as taught within Williams, to reduce AC noise or ripple and improve switching efficiency, as continuous conduction is a well-known and preferred operating mode for high-power DC loads.
Conclusion
*Examiner note: There is not a prior art rejection with respect to the teachings of claim 23, nor claims 24-28 which ultimately depend upon claim 23.*
/JOSEPH N INGE/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836