DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gettler (US 20200347914).
Regarding claim 1, Gettler discloses A wind turbine gearbox connecting structure, comprising:
a sun shaft (Figure 1 items 2 and 4 show a sun shaft and Figure 2 items 2, 4, and 16 combine to form the sun shaft), and
a planet carrier (Figures 1 and 2, item 3),
wherein a first end of the sun shaft is connected to a previous stage of transmission structure of a wind turbine (Pars. 0020 and 0024, item 17 Figure 3 shows the implementation in a wind turbine and Figure 4 shows 17 being coupled to a previous stage),
wherein a second end of the sun shaft is connected to the planet carrier (Figures 1 and 2 show the right end of 2 being connected to the planet carrier 3),
wherein the planet carrier includes a sun shaft connecting portion (Figures 1 and 2 show the planet carrier having a section on its left side to connect to the sun shaft),
wherein the second end of the sun shaft and the sun shaft connecting portion of the planet carrier are provided with mutually matching butting surfaces (Figures 1 and 2 show butting surfaces on the axial sides facing each other),
wherein a plurality of mounting holes are circumferentially formed in the butting surfaces (Figures 1 and 2, items 11. The holes are described in paragraphs 0020 and 0022 and uniform spacing of the holes is described), and
wherein the sun shaft and the planet carrier are coaxially engaged along the butting surfaces and are rigidly connected by mounting a plurality of fixing members in the mounting holes (Figures 1 and 2 show the two parts being coaxially engaged and item 14 shows fixing members that mount the two rigidly together).
Regarding claim 2, Gettler discloses that the butting surfaces are configured as end surfaces perpendicular to axes of the sun shaft and the planet carrier (Figures 1 and 2 show the axial ends that fit together of 2 and 3 being perpendicular to the main axis 19).
Regarding claim 3, Gettler discloses that the butting surfaces of the sun shaft and the planet carrier are respectively provided with positioning structures for positioning when the sun shaft is engaged with the planet carrier (Figures 1 and 2 show a spur toothing system 10 that serves as positioning structures to position the system. Protrusions from 2 and 3 engage with each other to prevent circumferential rotation between the two as described in paragraphs 0020 and 0022).
Regarding claim 4, Gettler discloses that the positioning structures are configured as positioning bosses, positioning key-slot structures, or protrusions and snap slots matching mutually. Figures 1 and 2 show item 10 that provides projections from both items 2 and 3 to engage with each other. These meet the limitations of positioning bosses and as they naturally provide slots between the projections, they also meet the limitations of key-slot structures. Further, no specific limitation is given for what a snap slot requires an as the structure shows protrusions and slots, those limitations are met.
Regarding claim 5, Gettler discloses that the plurality of fixing members are arranged uniformly in a circumferential direction of the sun shaft and the planet carrier (Paragraph 0020 describes that the bores and therefore the fixing members are provided in holes with uniform spacings along a hole circle).
Regarding claim 7, Gettler discloses that connecting pins are provided on the butting surfaces. Merriam-Webster defines a pin as “a piece of solid material (such as wood or metal) used especially for fastening things together or as a support by which one thing may be suspended from another”. As such, the protrusions of item 10 meet the BRI of the pins required by claim 7. The specification of the instant application provides no special definition of the term “pin” so the protrusions of Gettler disclose the pin limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 8, Gettler discloses that a distance between a respective connecting pin of the connecting pins and an axis of the planet carrier is greater than a distance between a respective fixing member of the plurality of fixing members and the axis of the planet carrier. The limitations do not require what part of the pin or fixing members the distance must be measured from. As both Figures 1 and 2 show the radial outer end of each of the pins 10 extending to and past the outer radial end of item 2 and being radially outside the radially outer end of each of the fixing members 14, the distance between a respective connecting pin and an axis of the carrier is greater than a distance between the fixing member and the axis of the planet carrier.
Regarding claim 9, Gettler discloses that the mounting position of the respective connecting pin is provided between two adjacent fixing members of the plurality of fixing members. Gettler Figure 1 shows the protrusions 10 being offset circumferentially from the cross-section shown as item 3 has a solid line at the left end and then provides a dotted line for item 10 which means the protrusions 10 are offset circumferentially from the cross-section. However, Figure 1 shows both the holes 11 and 13 and the fastener 14 with solid lines, meaning these are located at the cross-section. This means that the fixing member is located offset circumferentially from the respective connecting pin. Paragraph 0020 describes multiple pins of the toothing system and multiple fasteners of the fastening structure, so the pin is located between two adjacent fixing members as it is offset from the shown fixing member.
Regarding claim 10, Gettler discloses that the fixing members are fixing bolts (Figure 1, item 14. These are described as fastening screws in paragraph 0020 which meet the limitations of bolts).
Regarding claim 11, Gettler discloses A wind turbine gearbox for connecting a low-speed shaft of a wind turbine to an input shaft of a generator, wherein a sun shaft and a planet carrier in the wind turbine gearbox are configured to be connected by the wind turbine gearbox connecting structure as claimed in claim 1 (Figures 3 and 4 show the wind turbine gearbox and generator and Paragraphs 0024-0025 describes the connections).
Regarding claim 12, Gettler discloses that the plurality of fixing members are arranged uniformly in a circumferential direction of the sun shaft and the planet carrier (Paragraph 0020 describes that the bores and therefore the fixing members are provided in holes with uniform spacings along a hole circle).
Regarding claim 14, Gettler discloses that connecting pins are provided on the butting surfaces. Merriam-Webster defines a pin as “a piece of solid material (such as wood or metal) used especially for fastening things together or as a support by which one thing may be suspended from another”. As such, the protrusions of item 10 meet the BRI of the pins required by claim 7. The specification of the instant application provides no special definition of the term “pin” so the protrusions of Gettler disclose the pin limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 15, Gettler discloses that a distance between a respective connecting pin of the connecting pins and an axis of the planet carrier is greater than a distance between a respective fixing member of the plurality of fixing members and the axis of the planet carrier. The limitations do not require what part of the pin or fixing members the distance must be measured from. As both Figures 1 and 2 show the radial outer end of each of the pins 10 extending to and past the outer radial end of item 2 and being radially outside the radially outer end of each of the fixing members 14, the distance between a respective connecting pin and an axis of the carrier is greater than a distance between the fixing member and the axis of the planet carrier.
Regarding claim 16, Gettler discloses that the mounting position of the respective connecting pin is provided between two adjacent fixing members of the plurality of fixing members. Gettler Figure 1 shows the protrusions 10 being offset circumferentially from the cross-section shown as item 3 has a solid line at the left end and then provides a dotted line for item 10 which means the protrusions 10 are offset circumferentially from the cross-section. However, Figure 1 shows both the holes 11 and 13 and the fastener 14 with solid lines, meaning these are located at the cross-section. This means that the fixing member is located offset circumferentially from the respective connecting pin. Paragraph 0020 describes multiple pins of the toothing system and multiple fasteners of the fastening structure, so the pin is located between two adjacent fixing members as it is offset from the shown fixing member.
Regarding claim 17, Gettler discloses that the fixing members are fixing bolts (Figure 1, item 14. These are described as fastening screws in paragraph 0020 which meet the limitations of bolts).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gettler (US 20200347914) in view of Nohara (US 20190186468).
Regarding claim 6, Gettler discloses the limitations of claim 1 as set forth in the above 102 rejection. However, Gettler does not explicitly disclose that friction plates are provided on the butting surfaces.
Gettler and Nohara are analogous prior art because both describe wind turbine gearing structures. Nohara teaches providing friction plates (Figure 6, item 56, described in paragraphs 0052-0060 and 0063-0065) between axially engaging surfaces of the two axially engaging members. Nohara describes that the friction plate can be used in tandem with a spline connection (Par. 0055) and describes that the friction plate allows for a high degree of braking in the system which prevents circumferential movement between the items (Par. 0065). As Gettler already desires a reduction in circumferential movement between the butting surfaces, the friction plate of Nohara is useful in addition to a spline construction, and both structures are used in wind turbine gearing systems, the friction plates of Nohara would provide predictable results in the connection structure of Gettler. Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the friction plate of Nohara in between the butting surfaces of Gettler because the friction plate allows for a high degree of braking in the system which prevents circumferential movement between the items (Par. 0065) and combining prior art elements according to known methods is obvious with predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 13, Gettler discloses the limitations of claim 2 as set forth in the above 102 rejection. However, Gettler does not explicitly disclose that friction plates are provided on the butting surfaces.
Gettler and Nohara are analogous prior art because both describe wind turbine gearing structures. Nohara teaches providing friction plates (Figure 6, item 56, described in paragraphs 0052-0060 and 0063-0065) between axially engaging surfaces of the two axially engaging members. Nohara describes that the friction plate can be used in tandem with a spline connection (Par. 0055) and describes that the friction plate allows for a high degree of braking in the system which prevents circumferential movement between the items (Par. 0065). As Gettler already desires a reduction in circumferential movement between the butting surfaces, the friction plate of Nohara is useful in addition to a spline construction, and both structures are used in wind turbine gearing systems, the friction plates of Nohara would provide predictable results in the connection structure of Gettler. Thereby, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the friction plate of Nohara in between the butting surfaces of Gettler because the friction plate allows for a high degree of braking in the system which prevents circumferential movement between the items (Par. 0065) and combining prior art elements according to known methods is obvious with predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
/THEODORE C RIBADENEYRA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745