DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg. 6, line 36: “wicks and s thereafter” should read “wicks and is thereafter”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 3: “therebetween” should read “between the at least one wall and the ceiling”
Claims 2-20, line 1: “A meeting space enclosure as claimed” should read “The meeting space enclosure as claimed”
Claim 15, line 2: “the first and second fans” should read “the first fan and second fan”
Claim 20, line 2: “to ionise air” should read “to ionise the air”
Claim 20, line 3: “to ionise air” should read “to ionise the air”
Claims 2, 6-7, and 16-19 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 3-4 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Claim 5 is also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 4.
Claims 8, 10-11, and 13-14 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 7.
Claim 9 is also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 8.
Claim 12 is also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 11.
Claim 15 is also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 14.
Claim 20 is also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 19.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1, line 8: “air heating and cooling unit” draws corresponding structure from the following recitation of the specification, “The heating and cooling unit 36 may thus comprise a reversible heat pump having a refrigerant, compressor, expansion valve and two condenser/evaporator arrangements. Alternatively, the heating and cooling unit 36 may comprise an electrical heating and cooling arrangement such as, for example, a Peltier device (Pg. 6, lines 3-7)”, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 and 7-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the wall" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the wall" in lines 1-2 to “the at least one wall” which is given proper antecedent basis in claim 1 from which claim 2 depends. For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the wall and the at least one wall to be the same components.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the heating and cooling unit" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing "the heating and cooling unit" in line 4 to “the air heating and cooling unit” which is given proper antecedent basis in claim 1 from which claim 7 depends. For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the heating and cooling unit and the air heating and cooling unit to be the same components.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the ceiling inlet aperture" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing " the ceiling inlet aperture" in line 2 to “the inlet aperture” which is given proper antecedent basis in claim 8 from which claim 9 depends. For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the ceiling inlet aperture and the inlet aperture to be the same components.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the ceiling outlet aperture" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing " the ceiling outlet aperture " in line 2-3 to “the outlet aperture” which is given proper antecedent basis in claim 11 from which claim 12 depends. For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the ceiling outlet aperture and the outlet aperture to be the same components.
The term “substantially” in claim 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The degree to which the flow direction of the first fan and the second fan are parallel is rendered indefinite by the use of the term substantially. For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the flows to be parallel.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the heating and cooling unit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing "the heating and cooling unit" in line 2 to “the air heating and cooling unit” which is given proper antecedent basis in claim 1 from which claim 16 depends. For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the heating and cooling unit and the air heating and cooling unit to be the same components.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the heating and cooling unit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing "the heating and cooling unit" in line 2 to “the air heating and cooling unit” which is given proper antecedent basis in claim 1 from which claim 17 depends. For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the heating and cooling unit and the air heating and cooling unit to be the same components.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the heating and cooling unit" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing "the heating and cooling unit" in line 2 to “the air heating and cooling unit” which is given proper antecedent basis in claim 1 from which claim 18 depends. For purpose of examination, the Examiner will interpret the heating and cooling unit and the air heating and cooling unit to be the same components.
Claim 18, lines 4-5 recite, “at least one absorbent wick positioned across the path of air moved through the unit by the second fan” which is unclear to the Examiner as to if a single at least one absorbent wick is to be disposed across a single flow path which both the first fan and the second fan move air through or if a at least one absorbent wick is positioned across a flow path in communication with the first fan and an different at least one absorbent wick is positioned across a flow path in communication with the second fan. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the claim to require at least one absorbent wick to be positioned across the flow paths that communicate with the first fan and the second fan. The Examiner recommends making amendments to clarify the relationship between the flow paths of the first fan and the second fan and the at least one absorbent wick.
Claim 18, lines 5-6 recite, “wherein condensate absorbed by a wick can be evaporated by air passing over the wick” which is unclear to the Examiner as to how the wick of lines 5-6 relate to the at least one absorbent wick of lines 3 and 4. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the wick and the at least one absorbent wick to be the same components. The Examiner recommends making amendments to clarify the relationship between the at least one absorbent wick and the wick.
Claims 3-4 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 2.
Claim 5 is also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 4.
Claims 8, 10-11, and 13-14 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 7.
Claim 9 is also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 8.
Claim 12 is also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 11.
Claim 15 is also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsugawa (WO 2022234773), hereinafter Nakatsugawa in view of Wang et al. (WO 2024040740), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 1 and 16, Nakatsugawa discloses a meeting space enclosure for use within a larger enclosed space (Fig. 1, shelter 200; Pg. 7, For example, the shelter 200 may be stationary indoors or outdoors), the meeting space enclosure including a structure having at least one wall and a ceiling which therebetween define an interior space (Fig. 1, housing section 210, outer wall portion 21A, internal space H; See annotated Fig. 1 of Nakatsugawa below, internal space H is defined between outer wall portion 21A and ceiling A), and a closure to permit user access to and from the interior space (Pg. 26, Therefore, even if you can evacuate at the shelter, if you need to escape without fail, you need a hatch or an emergency exit that can be opened and closed regardless of the large pressure difference (air pressure difference, pressure difference) between the room and the outside along with the door; Further, the teachings of a hatch or exit within the shelter at least imply a closure to permit user access to and from the interior space since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)), wherein the meeting space enclosure includes a self-contained HVAC arrangement mounted to the ceiling and operable to control a temperature, a purity and a humidity of any air within the interior space (Fig. 1, air conditioning unit 90, temperature adjustment device 221, humidity adjustment device 222, air pressure adjustment device 223; Pg. 4, The temperature adjustment device 221 is a device that adjusts the temperature of the internal space H. For example, a cooling/heating device capable of adjusting temperature-controlled air in the internal space His used as the temperature adjusting device 221. The temperature adjustment device 221 adjusts the temperature of the internal space H under the control of the processing device 240. The humidity adjuster 222 is a device that adjusts the humidity of the internal space H. For example, a device capable of adjusting (humidifying and dehumidifying) the humidity of the internal space H is used as the humidity adjusting device 222. Humidity regulator 222 regulates humidity under the control of processor 240; Pg. 11, The shelter 200 may be provided with a removal device (for example, an air purifier) for removing harmful substances such as dust, smoke, dust, pollen and smoke. Specifically, the air cleaner removes fine particles and odors in the internal space H, and operates continuously while the user U is sleeping. Also, the shelter 200 may be equipped with a deodorizing device (for example, activated carbon or bamboo charcoal) for removing odors. Furthermore, the shelter 200 may include a static eliminator capable of eliminating static electricity generated in the internal space H. For example, a fan-type ionizer or the like that generates ions and blows them into the internal space H is used as the static eliminator. Note that the air purifier and the static eliminator are built in the internal space Hor inside the intermediate layer 21 B.), wherein the self-contained HVAC arrangement includes a fan arrangement operable to move air into and out of the interior space (Pg. 4, The air pressure adjustment device 223 is a device for adjusting the air pressure inside the internal space H. For example, the air pressure adjustment device 223 includes a discharge device that discharges the air in the internal space H to reduce the pressure, and a supply device that supplies air into the internal space H and pressurizes it. As the exhaust device, for example, an exhaust fan that exhausts air from the internal space H is used. A fan that supplies air into the internal space H is used as the supply device, for example. However, the discharging device and the feeding device are not
limited to the above examples. The air pressure adjustment device 223 adjusts the air pressure inside
the internal space H under the control of the processing device 240), and an air heating and cooling unit operable to heat or cool the air moved into the interior space by the fan arrangement (Pg. 4, The air conditioning unit 90 is a mechanism that adjusts the temperature and humidity of the internal
space Hand blows air. Specifically, the air conditioning unit 90 includes a temperature adjustment
device 221 and a humidity adjustment device 222), and the fan arrangement includes a first fan operable to move air into the interior space through the heating and cooling unit (Pg. , A fan that supplies air into the internal space H is used as the supply device, for example), and a second fan operable to move air out of the interior space of the meeting space enclosure (Pg. 4, As the exhaust device, for example, an exhaust fan that exhausts air from the internal space H is used).
However, Nakatsugawa does not disclose wherein the air heating and cooling unit includes a reversible heat pump.
Wang teaches wherein the air heating and cooling unit includes a reversible heat pump (Fig. 1, air conditioning device 100; Fig. 11, heat pump system 4; Pg. 10, For example, the heat pump system 4 includes a compressor, a first heat exchanger assembly 42 and a second heat exchanger assembly 43. The first heat exchanger assembly 42 is provided in the first air duct section 116 of the second section equipment module 20. The second heat exchanger assembly 43 is disposed in the second air duct section 117 of the second section equipment module 20 to cool (or heat) the air flowing through the first air duct section 166, thereby cooling (or heating)) is blown into the room to realize the adjustment of the indoor ambient temperature by the air conditioning device 100).
Nakatsugawa fails to teach wherein the air heating and cooling unit includes a reversible heat pump, however Wang teaches that it is a known method in the art of air heating and cooling units to include wherein the air heating and cooling unit includes a reversible heat pump. This is strong evidence that modifying Nakatsugawa as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing energy efficient temperature control of the space to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakatsugawa by Wang and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing energy efficient temperature control of the space to improve overall system efficiencies.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Nakatsugawa
Claims 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsugawa as modified by Wang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chee et al. (US Patent No. 7,093,452), hereinafter Chee.
Regarding claim 18, Nakatsugawa as modified discloses a meeting space enclosure as claimed in claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Nakatsugawa as modified does not disclose wherein the heating and cooling unit includes a condensate management system including at least one absorbent wick positioned across a path of air moved through the unit by the first fan and at least one absorbent wick positioned across the path of air moved through the unit by the second fan, wherein condensate absorbed by a wick can be evaporated by air passing over the wick.
Chee teaches wherein the heating and cooling unit includes a condensate management system including at least one absorbent wick positioned across a path of air moved through the unit by the first fan and at least one absorbent wick positioned across the path of air moved through the unit by the second fan, wherein condensate absorbed by a wick can be evaporated by air passing over the wick (Fig. 1, air conditioning unit 10, room 12, inlet 14, outlet 19, inlet 21, fan 24, fan 34, air to air heat exchanger 26; Fig. 2, porous material 36; Col. 3, lines 55-59, The sides of the partitions 27 within the second channels 31 are lined with a porous material 36 that is designed to, through capillary action, wick water from the lower edge of the porous material 36 throughout the length of the material 36 to its upper edge; As best understood see 112(b) rejections above).
Nakatsugawa as modified fails to teach wherein the heating and cooling unit includes a condensate management system including at least one absorbent wick positioned across a path of air moved through the unit by the first fan and at least one absorbent wick positioned across the path of air moved through the unit by the second fan, wherein condensate absorbed by a wick can be evaporated by air passing over the wick, however Chee teaches that it is a known method in the art of air heating and cooling units to include wherein the heating and cooling unit includes a condensate management system including at least one absorbent wick positioned across a path of air moved through the unit by the first fan and at least one absorbent wick positioned across the path of air moved through the unit by the second fan, wherein condensate absorbed by a wick can be evaporated by air passing over the wick. This is strong evidence that modifying Nakatsugawa as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing evaporative cooling to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakatsugawa as modified by Chee and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing evaporative cooling to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claims 1, 6-9, 11-12, 14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsugawa (WO 2022234773), hereinafter Nakatsugawa in view of Lee (KR 20170001438), hereinafter Lee.
Regarding claim 1 and 17, Nakatsugawa discloses a meeting space enclosure for use within a larger enclosed space (Fig. 1, shelter 200; Pg. 7, For example, the shelter 200 may be stationary indoors or outdoors), the meeting space enclosure including a structure having at least one wall and a ceiling which therebetween define an interior space (Fig. 1, housing section 210, outer wall portion 21A, internal space H; See annotated Fig. 1 of Nakatsugawa below, internal space H is defined between outer wall portion 21A and ceiling A), and a closure to permit user access to and from the interior space (Pg. 26, Therefore, even if you can evacuate at the shelter, if you need to escape without fail, you need a hatch or an emergency exit that can be opened and closed regardless of the large pressure difference (air pressure difference, pressure difference) between the room and the outside along with the door; Further, the teachings of a hatch or exit within the shelter at least imply a closure to permit user access to and from the interior space since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)), wherein the meeting space enclosure includes a self-contained HVAC arrangement mounted to the ceiling and operable to control a temperature, a purity and a humidity of any air within the interior space (Fig. 1, air conditioning unit 90, temperature adjustment device 221, humidity adjustment device 222, air pressure adjustment device 223; Pg. 4, The temperature adjustment device 221 is a device that adjusts the temperature of the internal space H. For example, a cooling/heating device capable of adjusting temperature-controlled air in the internal space His used as the temperature adjusting device 221. The temperature adjustment device 221 adjusts the temperature of the internal space H under the control of the processing device 240. The humidity adjuster 222 is a device that adjusts the humidity of the internal space H. For example, a device capable of adjusting (humidifying and dehumidifying) the humidity of the internal space H is used as the humidity adjusting device 222. Humidity regulator 222 regulates humidity under the control of processor 240; Pg. 11, The shelter 200 may be provided with a removal device (for example, an air purifier) for removing harmful substances such as dust, smoke, dust, pollen and smoke. Specifically, the air cleaner removes fine particles and odors in the internal space H, and operates continuously while the user U is sleeping. Also, the shelter 200 may be equipped with a deodorizing device (for example, activated carbon or bamboo charcoal) for removing odors. Furthermore, the shelter 200 may include a static eliminator capable of eliminating static electricity generated in the internal space H. For example, a fan-type ionizer or the like that generates ions and blows them into the internal space H is used as the static eliminator. Note that the air purifier and the static eliminator are built in the internal space Hor inside the intermediate layer 21 B), wherein the self-contained HVAC arrangement includes a fan arrangement operable to move air into and out of the interior space (Pg. 4, The air pressure adjustment device 223 is a device for adjusting the air pressure inside the internal space H. For example, the air pressure adjustment device 223 includes a discharge device that discharges the air in the internal space H to reduce the pressure, and a supply device that supplies air into the internal space H and pressurizes it. As the exhaust device, for example, an exhaust fan that exhausts air from the internal space H is used. A fan that supplies air into the internal space H is used as the supply device, for example. However, the discharging device and the feeding device are not
limited to the above examples. The air pressure adjustment device 223 adjusts the air pressure inside
the internal space H under the control of the processing device 240), and an air heating and cooling unit operable to heat or cool the air moved into the interior space by the fan arrangement (Pg. 4, The air conditioning unit 90 is a mechanism that adjusts the temperature and humidity of the internal
space Hand blows air. Specifically, the air conditioning unit 90 includes a temperature adjustment
device 221 and a humidity adjustment device 222), and the fan arrangement includes a first fan operable to move air into the interior space through the heating and cooling unit (Pg. , A fan that supplies air into the internal space H is used as the supply device, for example), and a second fan operable to move air out of the interior space of the meeting space enclosure (Pg. 4, As the exhaust device, for example, an exhaust fan that exhausts air from the internal space H is used).
However, Nakatsugawa does not disclose wherein the heating and cooling unit includes a Peltier device.
Lee teaches wherein the heating and cooling unit includes a Peltier device (Fig. 6, air conditioner 100, dehumidifying unit 220, Peltier device 222, dressing room 1, fan members 228, opening and closing door 184, air inlet 116, air outlet 118; Pg. 5, Referring to FIGS. 6 to 10, an apparatus for creating a dressing room according to a second embodiment of the present invention includes a dehumidifying unit 220 using a Peltier device 222. The dehumidifying part 220 includes a Peltier element 222 provided in the case 110, a first heat exchanging part 224 provided on one surface of the Peltier element 222 for heat exchange, And a fan member 228 provided inside the case 110 for introducing and discharging external air. Here, the Peltier element 222 combines two kinds of conductors and utilizes the effect that when the current flows, one of the contacts generates heat and the temperature rises, while the other end of the contacts absorbs heat to lower the temperature. The first heat exchanging portion 224 and the second heat exchanging portion 226 are in contact with the respective surfaces of the Peltier element 222 and are connected to the heat of the respective surfaces of the Peltier element 222 and the external air flowing through the fan member 228 And is made of a heat dissipating piece to be heat-exchanged).
Nakatsugawa fails to teach wherein the heating and cooling unit includes a Peltier device, however Lee teaches that it is a known method in the art of air heating and cooling units to include wherein the heating and cooling unit includes a Peltier device. This is strong evidence that modifying Nakatsugawa as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing energy efficient temperature control of the space to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakatsugawa by Lee and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing energy efficient temperature control of the space to improve overall system efficiencies.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Nakatsugawa
Regarding claim 6, Nakatsugawa as modified discloses a meeting space enclosure as claimed in claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above) wherein the first fan moves air into the interior space from an ambient atmosphere of the larger enclosed space and the second fan moves air out of the interior space to the ambient atmosphere of the larger enclosed space (Nakatsugawa, Pg. 4, The air pressure adjustment device 223 is a device for adjusting the air pressure inside the internal space H. For example, the air pressure adjustment device 223 includes a discharge device that discharges the air in the internal space H to reduce the pressure, and a supply device that supplies air into the internal space H and pressurizes it. As the exhaust device, for example, an exhaust fan that exhausts air from the internal space H is used. A fan that supplies air into the internal space H is used as the supply device, for example. However, the discharging device and the feeding device are not limited to the above examples. The air pressure adjustment device 223 adjusts the air pressure inside the internal space H under the control of the processing device 240).
Regarding claim 7, Nakatsugawa as modified discloses a meeting space enclosure as claimed in claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above) wherein the heating and cooling unit includes a first inlet and a first outlet, and a second inlet and a second outlet, wherein the first fan is operable to move air into the first inlet, though the heating and cooling unit and out of the first outlet, and the second fan is operable to move air into the second inlet, through the heating and cooling unit and out of the second outlet (Lee, Fig. 6, air conditioner 100, dehumidifying unit 220, Peltier device 222, dressing room 1, fan members 228, opening and closing door 184, air inlet 116, air outlet 118; Pg. 5, Referring to FIGS. 6 to 10, an apparatus for creating a dressing room according to a second embodiment of the present invention includes a dehumidifying unit 220 using a Peltier device 222. The dehumidifying part 220 includes a Peltier element 222 provided in the case 110, a first heat exchanging part 224 provided on one surface of the Peltier element 222 for heat exchange, And a fan member 228 provided inside the case 110 for introducing and discharging external air. Here, the Peltier element 222 combines two kinds of conductors and utilizes the effect that when the current flows, one of the contacts generates heat and the temperature rises, while the other end of the contacts absorbs heat to lower the temperature. The first heat exchanging portion 224 and the second heat exchanging portion 226 are in contact with the respective surfaces of the Peltier element 222 and are connected to the heat of the respective surfaces of the Peltier element 222 and the external air flowing through the fan member 228 And is made of a heat dissipating piece to be heat-exchanged). Further, the limitations of claim 7 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 8, Nakatsugawa as modified discloses a meeting space enclosure as claimed in claim 7 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above) wherein the first outlet of the heating and cooling unit is in fluid communication with an inlet aperture provided in the ceiling of the meeting space enclosure structure so as to enable heated or cooled air to be introduced into the interior space (Nakatsugawa, Fig. 1, vent N1, vent N2, vent N3, communication passage L, Pg. 4, The air conditioning unit 90 is connected to a communication hole T that communicates with the ventilation hole 104. For example, when the air conditioning unit 90 functions as a heater (that is, when blowing warm air), the air is blown into the internal space H through the vent N1 formed near the ceiling. On the other hand, when the air conditioning unit 90 functions as a cooler (that is, when blowing cold air), the air is blown into the internal space H through the vent N2 formed near the floor. It should be noted that the positions at which the vents N1 and N2 are provided are not limited to the above examples. For example, vent N1 and vent N2 may be provided as one common vent. As can be understood from the above description, the air conditioning unit 90 blows air whose temperature is adjusted by the temperature adjustment device 221 and whose humidity is adjusted by the humidity adjustment device 222; Lee, Fig. 6, air outlet 118; Further, the air inlets and outlets of Lee would be in communication with the communication passage L and the vents N1, N2, and N3 when modified as described herein). Further, the limitations of claim 8 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 9, Nakatsugawa as modified discloses a meeting space enclosure as claimed in claim 8 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 8 above) wherein the first outlet of the heating and cooling unit is in fluid communication with the ceiling inlet aperture through an enclosed duct (Nakatsugawa, Fig. 1, vent N1, vent N2, vent N3, communication passage L, Pg. 4, The air conditioning unit 90 is connected to a communication hole T that communicates with the ventilation hole 104. For example, when the air conditioning unit 90 functions as a heater (that is, when blowing warm air), the air is blown into the internal space H through the vent N1 formed near the ceiling. On the other hand, when the air conditioning unit 90 functions as a cooler (that is, when blowing cold air), the air is blown into the internal space H through the vent N2 formed near the floor. It should be noted that the positions at which the vents N1 and N2 are provided are not limited to the above examples. For example, vent N1 and vent N2 may be provided as one common vent. As can be understood from the above description, the air conditioning unit 90 blows air whose temperature is adjusted by the temperature adjustment device 221 and whose humidity is adjusted by the humidity adjustment device 222; Lee, Fig. 6, air outlet 118; Further, the air inlets and outlets of Lee would be in communication with the communication passage L and the vents N1, N2, and N3 when modified as described herein). Further, the limitations of claim 9 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 11, Nakatsugawa as modified discloses a meeting space enclosure as claimed in claim 7 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above) wherein the second inlet of the heating and cooling unit is in fluid communication with an outlet aperture provided in the ceiling of the meeting space enclosure structure (Nakatsugawa, Fig. 1, vent N1, vent N2, vent N3, communication passage L, Pg. 4, The air conditioning unit 90 is connected to a communication hole T that communicates with the ventilation hole 104. For example, when the air conditioning unit 90 functions as a heater (that is, when blowing warm air), the air is blown into the internal space H through the vent N1 formed near the ceiling. On the other hand, when the air conditioning unit 90 functions as a cooler (that is, when blowing cold air), the air is blown into the internal space H through the vent N2 formed near the floor. It should be noted that the positions at which the vents N1 and N2 are provided are not limited to the above examples. For example, vent N1 and vent N2 may be provided as one common vent. As can be understood from the above description, the air conditioning unit 90 blows air whose temperature is adjusted by the temperature adjustment device 221 and whose humidity is adjusted by the humidity adjustment device 222… The atmospheric pressure adjustment device 223 discharges and supplies air through the communication passage L communicating with the ventilation hole 104. The air pressure adjusting device 223 and the inner space H communicate with each other through a vent N3 provided in the inner wall portion 21C.; Lee, Fig. 6, air inlet 116; Further, the air inlets and outlets of Lee would be in communication with the communication passage L and the vents N1, N2, and N3 when modified as described herein). Further, the limitations of claim 11 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claim 12, Nakatsugawa as modified discloses a meeting space enclosure as claimed in claim 11 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 11 above) wherein second inlet of the heating and cooling unit is in fluid communication with the ceiling outlet aperture through an enclosed duct (Nakatsugawa, Fig. 1, vent N1, vent N2, vent N3, communication passage L, Pg. 4, The air conditioning unit 90 is connected to a communication hole T that communicates with the ventilation hole 104. For example, when the air conditioning unit 90 functions as a heater (that is, when blowing warm air), the air is blown into the internal space H through the vent N1 formed near the ceiling. On the other hand, when the air conditioning unit 90 functions as a cooler (that is, when blowing cold air), the air is blown into the internal space H through the vent N2 formed near the floor. It should be noted that the positions at which the vents N1 and N2 are provided are not limited to the above examples. For example, vent N1 and vent N2 may be provided as one common vent. As can be understood from the above description, the air conditioning unit 90 blows air whose temperature is adjusted by the temperature adjustment device 221 and whose humidity is adjusted by the humidity adjustment device 222… The atmospheric pressure adjustment device 223 discharges and supplies air through the communication passage L communicating with the ventilation hole 104. The air pressure adjusting device 223 and the inner space H communicate with each other through a vent N3 provided in the inner wall portion 21C.; Lee, Fig. 6, air inlet 116; Further, the air inlets and outlets of Lee would be in communication with the communication passage L and the vents N1, N2, and N3 when modified as described herein). Further, the limitations of claim 12 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 11 above.
Regarding claims 14-15, Nakatsugawa as modified discloses a meeting space enclosure as claimed in claim 7 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above) wherein a flow direction of the first fan is the same as a flow direction of the second fan; and
wherein the flow directions of the first and second fans are substantially parallel (Fig. 7 of Lee depicts the flow direction of fan members 228 to both flow in the same direction that is substantially parallel; As best understood, see 112(b) rejections above). Further, the limitations of claim 14-15 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above.
Regarding claims 19, Nakatsugawa as modified discloses a meeting space enclosure as claimed in claim 7 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above) wherein the HVAC arrangement includes an ionisation arrangement operable to ionise air passing through the HVAC arrangement (Nakatsugawa, Pg. 11, Furthermore, the shelter 200 may include a static eliminator capable of eliminating static electricity generated in the internal space H. For example, a fan-type ionizer or the like that generates ions and blows them into the internal space H is used as the static eliminator. Note that the air purifier and the static eliminator are built in the internal space H or inside the intermediate layer 21 B).
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsugawa as modified by Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gillespie (US 20040003545), hereinafter Gillespie.
Regarding claims 2-5, Nakatsugawa as modified discloses a meeting space enclosure as claimed in claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Nakatsugawa as modified does not disclose wherein the wall is modular;
wherein the wall is comprised of at least one panel; and
wherein the wall is comprised of a plurality of panels.
Gillespie teaches wherein the wall is modular (Fig. 1, modular office 100, wall sections 301; Fig. 2, window 302);
wherein the wall is comprised of at least one panel (Fig. 1, modular office 100, wall sections 301; Fig. 2, window 302; Pg. 3, paragraph 45, In addition to the planar floor section 303, the modular office 100 may include one or more wall sections 301 that are connected to the floor section 303 to define an interior space that is substantially closed within the vertical sides and the underside of the modular office space);
wherein the wall is comprised of a plurality of panels (Fig. 1, modular office 100, wall sections 301; Fig. 2, window 302; Pg. 3, paragraph 45, In addition to the planar floor section 303, the modular office 100 may include one or more wall sections 301 that are connected to the floor section 303 to define an interior space that is substantially closed within the vertical sides and the underside of the modular office space); and
wherein at least one panel of the plurality of panels is a glazed panel (Fig. 2, window 302; Pg. 3, paragraph 48, FIG. 2 also illustrates that a window 302 may be provided in one or more wall sections 301).
Nakatsugawa as modified fails to teach wherein the wall is modular; wherein the wall is comprised of at least one panel; wherein the wall is comprised of a plurality of panels; and wherein at least one panel of the plurality of panels is a glazed panel, however Gillespie teaches that it is a known method in the art of temporary enclosures to include wherein the wall is modular; wherein the wall is comprised of at least one panel; wherein the wall is comprised of a plurality of panels; and wherein at least one panel of the plurality of panels is a glazed panel. This is strong evidence that modifying Nakatsugawa as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing multiple configuration options while maintaining standardized modular assembly (Gillespie, Pg. 3, paragraph 40)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakatsugawa as modified by Gillespie and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing multiple configuration options while maintaining standardized modular assembly (Gillespie, Pg. 3, paragraph 40).
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsugawa as modified by Lee as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Inada et al. (WO 2017169376), hereinafter Inada.
Regarding claims 10 and 13, Nakatsugawa as modified discloses a meeting space enclosure as claimed in claim 7 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 7 above).
However, Nakatsugawa as modified does not disclose wherein the first fan is positioned adjacent the first inlet of the heating and cooling unit; and
wherein the second fan is positioned adjacent the second inlet of the heating and cooling unit.
Inada teaches wherein the first fan is positioned adjacent the first inlet of the heating and cooling unit (Fig. 9 of Inada depicts first blower 101 positioned adjacent the first inlet of the heating and cooling unit); and
wherein the second fan is positioned adjacent the second inlet of the heating and cooling unit (Fig. 9 of Inada depicts second blower 9 positioned adjacent the first inlet of the heating and cooling unit).
Nakatsugawa as modified fails to teach wherein the first fan is positioned adjacent the first inlet of the heating and cooling unit; and wherein the second fan is positioned adjacent the second inlet of the heating and cooling unit, however Inada teaches that it is a known method in the art of air heating and cooling units to include wherein the first fan is positioned adjacent the first inlet of the heating and cooling unit; and wherein the second fan is positioned adjacent the second inlet of the heating and cooling unit. This is strong evidence that modifying Nakatsugawa as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing sufficient air flow to the air heating and cooling unit to improve overall system efficiencies). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakatsugawa as modified by Inada and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing sufficient air flow to the air heating and cooling unit to improve overall system efficiencies.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakatsugawa as modified by Lee as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Finkam (US Patent No. 9,353,966), hereinafter Finkam.
Regarding claim 20, Nakatsugawa as modified discloses a meeting space enclosure as claimed in claim 19 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 19 above).
However, Nakatsugawa as modified does not disclose wherein the ionisation arrangement is operable to ionise air before it is moved into the interior space of the meeting space enclosure by the first fan and is operable to ionise air extracted from the interior space by the second fan before the extracted air is moved to an ambient atmosphere of the larger enclosed space.
Finkam teaches wherein the ionisation arrangement is operable to ionise air before it is moved into the interior space of the meeting space enclosure by the first fan and is operable to ionise air extracted from the interior space by the second fan before the extracted air is moved to an ambient atmosphere of the larger enclosed space (Fig. 1, system for conditioning air 100, supply air fan 139, exhaust fan 147, ionization device 142, mixed air flow 125, outside air flow 114, return air flow 103, recirculated air flow 106; Col. 6, lines 40-57, FIG. 1 also indicates alternate locations 142A, 142B, and 142C for mounting ionization unit 142 within primary enclosure 180 for ionizing air within the enclosure, for example, mixed air flow 125. Regardless of the position or ionization device 142, control line 145, and ionization power connection 144 would be similarly coupled to ionization device 142 as shown in FIG. 1. In another embodiment, one or more ionization devices 142 may optionally be installed at all four designated locations, or at any other location suitable for ionizing air in primary enclosure 180. In the illustrated embodiment, ionization unit 142 is positioned to allow mixed air flow 125 (or supply air flow 102) to pass over and around or through ionization device 142. However, in other embodiments, ionization device 142 may also be positioned to intercept other air flows such as outside air flow 114, return air flow 103, or recirculated airflow 106 in addition to, or instead of mixed air flow 125. Any suitable positioning of ionization device 142 is envisioned).
Nakatsugawa as modified fails to teach wherein the ionisation arrangement is operable to ionise air before it is moved into the interior space of the meeting space enclosure by the first fan and is operable to ionise air extracted from the interior space by the second fan before the extracted air is moved to an ambient atmosphere of the larger enclosed space, however Y teaches that it is a known method in the art of air ionization to include wherein the ionisation arrangement is operable to ionise air before it is moved into the interior space of the meeting space enclosure by the first fan and is operable to ionise air extracted from the interior space by the second fan before the extracted air is moved to an ambient atmosphere of the larger enclosed space. This is strong evidence that modifying Nakatsugawa as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. removing particles and dust from the air to improve overall air quality and promote user health). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakatsugawa as modified by Y and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of removing particles and dust from the air to improve overall air quality and promote user health.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
P. H. Sherron (US Patent No. 2,788,648) discloses a similar meeting space enclosure for use within a larger enclosed space.
Leong (US 20240125111) discloses a similar meeting space enclosure for use within a larger enclosed space.
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 September 23rd, 2026