DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 16-29 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 5: “heat store (19)” should read “heat store”
Claim 25, lines 1-2: “the insulation element” should read “the multi-layer insulation element”
Claim 26, line 1: “a storage container” should read “the storage container”
Claim 26, lines 1-2: “a cryogen” should read “the cryogen”
Claim 26, lines 3-4: “a phase-change material” should read “the phase-change material”
Claim 26, line 4: “a latent heat store” should read “the latent heat store”
Claim 26, line 9: “an environment” should read “the environment”
Claim 27, line 2: “a shield” should read “the shield”
Claim 27, line 2: “an inner container (3)” should read “the inner container”
Claims 2, 16-19, and 26 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 20-21 and 23 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 19.
Claim 22 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 21.
Claim 24 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 23.
Claim 25 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 24.
Claims 27-28 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 26.
Claim 29 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 27.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 16-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the liquid phase" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the liquid phase” in line 3 to “a liquid phase”.
Claim 1, line 7 recites, “an environment of the storage container” which is unclear to the Examiner if the environment is surrounding the storage container or inside of the storage container. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the environment to be surrounding the storage container as indicated by item 23 in Figure 1. The Examine recommends changing “an environment of the storage container” to “an environment that surrounds the storage container”.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 17 recites the broad recitation “wherein the latent heat store is at least partially filled with a heat-conducting, fluid-permeable material structure”, and the claim also recites “in particular a knitted fabric” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the narrower language as (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required.
Claim 22 recites the limitation "the inside or outside" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the inside or outside" in line 2 of claim 22 to “an inside or an outside of the shield”.
Claims 2, 16-19, and 26 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claims 20-21 and 23 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 19.
Claim 22 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 21.
Claim 24 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 23.
Claim 25 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 24.
Claims 27-28 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 26.
Claim 29 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 27.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Reese et al. (US Patent No. 6,983,611), hereinafter Reese.
Regarding claim 1, Reese discloses a storage container for storing a cryogen (Fig. 2, storage container 1, cryogenic medium 2), with an inner container for receiving the cryogen (Fig. 2, inside container 4), a latent heat store for receiving a phase-change material (Fig. 2, additional storage space 5’; Col. 1, lines 61-65, The additional storage space provided according to the invention within the storage container can be filled, for example, with a medium that stores energy via a phase transition, such as, for example, nitrogen, argon, etc. Such media are also called PCMs (Phase Change Material)), and a discharge line for removing only the liquid phase of the cryogen from the inner container (Fig. 2, extraction line 6; Col. 2, lines 61-63, The cryogenic medium 2 located in the inside container 4---in this case liquid hydrogen-can be removed both in liquid form-via the extraction line 6), wherein the discharge line is operatively connected to the latent heat store in such a way that liquid cryogen received in the discharge line exchanges heat with the phase-change material (Fig. 2, shield 12, heat exchanger WT1; Abstract, According to the invention in the storage (1), (5, 5') container there is at least one additional storage space for a medium and at least the extraction line (6, 6') is dynamically connected to the additional storage space (5, 5'). A shield (12) that preferably at least partially surrounds the inside container (4) can be assigned to the additional storage space (5, 5') and can be in thermal contact with it; Col. 4, lines 5-9, an additional storage space 5', to which a shield 12 is assigned with which the additional storage space 5' is in thermal contact. The shield 12 surrounds the inside container 4 preferably essentially completely in this case; Further, the teachings of the shield 12 being in thermal contact with the additional storage space 5' and the extraction line 6' being dynamically connected to the additional storage space 5' in combination with Fig. 2 which depicts the extraction line 6' being dynamically connected to the additional storage space 5' via the shield 12, at least imply wherein the discharge line is operatively connected to the latent heat store in such a way that liquid cryogen received in the discharge line exchanges heat with the phase-change material since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)), and wherein the latent heat store can be fluidically connected to an environment of the storage container exclusively with the aid of a blow-off line (Fig. 2, drain line 11; Col. 3, lines 28-31, For safety reasons, the additional storage space 5 has a drain line 11 in which an overpressure valve f is located that enables discharge via the drain line 11 when a preset pressure is reached).
Regarding claim 18, Reese discloses the storage container according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the blow-off line has a blow-off valve for blowing off the phase-change material into the environment (Fig. 2, drain line 11, overpressure valve f; Col. 3, lines 28-31, For safety reasons, the additional storage space 5 has a drain line 11 in which an overpressure valve f is located that enables discharge via the drain line 11 when a preset pressure is reached).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 16, 19-21, and 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reese et al. (US Patent No. 6,983,611), hereinafter Reese in view of Weltmer, Jr. et al. (US Patent No. 5,005,362), hereinafter Weltmer.
Regarding claim 2, Reese discloses the storage container according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Reese does not disclose wherein the discharge line is routed through the latent heat store.
Weltmer teaches wherein the discharge line is routed through the latent heat store (Fig. 1, vent line 66, coiled section 70; Col. 4-5, lines 65-68 and 1-5; Pressure vessel 12 is provided with an inlet line 64 and a vent line 66 having a pressure relief valve 68. As illustrated, vent line 66 is provided with a coiled section 70 or a finned tube located within coolant tank 36. In refilling cryogen storage container 10, liquid hydrogen, helium, or neon is circulated through inlet line 64 and pressure vessel 12 and then out of vent line 66 and coil 70 to cool the vaporized neon and thus, reliquify the neon).
Reese fails to teach wherein the discharge line is routed through the latent heat store, however Weltmer teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryogenic storage containers to include wherein the discharge line is routed through the latent heat store. This is strong evidence that modifying Reese as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the storage container to improve length of cryogen storage). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reese by Weltmer and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the storage container to improve length of cryogen storage.
Regarding claim 16, Reese discloses the storage container according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Reese does not disclose wherein a heat exchanger is attached to the discharge line which is arranged within the latent heat store.
Weltmer teaches wherein a heat exchanger is attached to the discharge line which is arranged within the latent heat store (Fig. 1, vent line 66, coiled section 70; Col. 4-5, lines 65-68 and 1-5; Pressure vessel 12 is provided with an inlet line 64 and a vent line 66 having a pressure relief valve 68. As illustrated, vent line 66 is provided with a coiled section 70 or a finned tube located within coolant tank 36. In refilling cryogen storage container 10, liquid hydrogen, helium, or neon is circulated through inlet line 64 and pressure vessel 12 and then out of vent line 66 and coil 70 to cool the vaporized neon and thus, reliquify the neon).
Reese fails to teach wherein a heat exchanger is attached to the discharge line which is arranged within the latent heat store, however Weltmer teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryogenic storage containers to include wherein a heat exchanger is attached to the discharge line which is arranged within the latent heat store. This is strong evidence that modifying Reese as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the storage container to improve length of cryogen storage). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reese by Weltmer and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the storage container to improve length of cryogen storage.
Regarding claims 19-21, Reese discloses the storage container according to claim 1 (see the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising a shield which encloses the inner container, wherein the latent heat store is thermally conductively connected to the shield (Fig. 2, shield 12, Col. 4, lines 5-9, an additional storage space 5', to which a shield 12 is assigned with which the additional storage space 5' is in thermal contact. The shield 12 surrounds the inside container 4 preferably essentially completely in this case).
However, Reese does not disclose wherein the shield encloses the inner container and the latent heat store; and
wherein the latent heat store is arranged between a cover section of the inner container and a cover section of the shield; and
wherein the blow-off line is thermally conductively connected to the shield.
Weltmer teaches wherein the shield encloses the inner container and the latent heat store (Fig. 1 of Weltmer depicts intermediate heat shield 18 to enclose the pressure vessel 12 and coolant tank 36 which corresponds to the laten heat store as claimed; Col. 3, lines 8-12, An intermediate heat shield IB, also of cylindrical configuration and spaced between outer wall 16 of vacuum vessel 14 and pressure vessel 12, is provided for intercepting heat transmitted from vacuum vessel 14 to pressure vessel 12); and
wherein the latent heat store is arranged between a cover section of the inner container and a cover section of the shield (See annotated Fig. 1 of Weltmer below coolant tank 36 is arranged between a cover section 12C of the pressure vessel 12 and a cover section 18C of the intermediate heat shield 18); and
wherein the blow-off line is thermally conductively connected to the shield (Fig. 1, relief line 4, vent line 46; Col. 4, lines 21-32, Relief line 44 preferably penetrates the top of coolant tank 36; and adsorbent canister 40 is preferably located near the bottom of liquid nitrogen container 30 and intermediate heat shield 18. Activated charcoal 42 adsorbs the vaporized neon and, as will be discussed, may be regenerated to release the neon for reliquefaction at a future time. An adsorbent canister vent line 46 is provided to vent vaporized neon not adsorbed by activated charcoal 42. Venting of neon through adsorbent canister vent line 46 is controlled by a pressure relief valve 48 set to open at the pressure rating of adsorbent canister 40; Further, the teachings of Weltmer at least imply wherein the blow-off line is thermally conductively connected to the shield since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Reese fails to teach wherein the shield encloses the inner container and the latent heat store; and wherein the latent heat store is arranged between a cover section of the inner container and a cover section of the shield; and wherein the blow-off line is thermally conductively connected to the shield, however Weltmer teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryogenic storage containers to include wherein the shield encloses the inner container and the latent heat store; and wherein the latent heat store is arranged between a cover section of the inner container and a cover section of the shield; and wherein the blow-off line is thermally conductively connected to the shield. This is strong evidence that modifying Reese as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the storage container to improve length of cryogen storage). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reese by Weltmer and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the storage container to improve length of cryogen storage.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Weltmer
Regarding claim 23, Reese as modified discloses the storage container according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), further comprising an outer container that encloses the shield (Reese, Fig. 2, outside container 3).
Regarding claims 24-25, Reese as modified discloses the storage container according to claim 23 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 23 above), further comprising insulation which at least partially fills a gap provided between the inner container and the outer container (Reese, Col. 2, lines 58-61, FIG. 1 shows a first embodiment of the storage container 1 according to the invention that has an outside container 3 and an inside container 4. There is preferably superinsulation between them).
However, Reese as modified does not explicitly disclose the insulation to be a multi-layer insulation element; and
wherein the shield is embedded in the insulation element.
Weltmer teaches the insulation to be a multi-layer insulation element (Fig. 1, first insulative layer 22, second insulative layer 24, third insulative layer 26; Col. 3, lines 35-42, A set of first, second and third insulative layers 22, 24 and 26 are provided to insulate intermediate heat shield 18 from outer wall 14 of vacuum vessel 16, intermediate heat shield 18 from sub-intermediate heat shield 20, and sub-intermediate heat shield 20 from vacuum vessel 12. First, second and third insulative layers 22-24 may each be formed of multiple layers of MYLAR coated with reflective aluminum in a manner well known in the art); and
wherein the shield is embedded in the insulation element (Col. 3, lines 35-42, A set of first, second and third insulative layers 22, 24 and 26 are provided to insulate intermediate heat shield 18 from outer wall 14 of vacuum vessel 16, intermediate heat shield 18 from sub-intermediate heat shield 20, and sub-intermediate heat shield 20 from vacuum vessel 12. First, second and third insulative layers 22-24 may each be formed of multiple layers of MYLAR coated with reflective aluminum in a manner well known in the art).
Reese fails to teach the insulation to be a multi-layer insulation element; and wherein the shield is embedded in the insulation element, however Weltmer teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryogenic storage containers to include the insulation to be a multi-layer insulation element; and wherein the shield is embedded in the insulation element. This is strong evidence that modifying Reese as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the storage container to improve length of cryogen storage). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reese by Weltmer and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the storage container to improve length of cryogen storage.
Regarding claim 26, Reese discloses a method for operating a storage container according to claim 1 for storing a cryogen, having the following steps:
removing liquid cryogen from the storage container (Col. 2-3, lines 66-67 and 1-2; The two extraction lines 6 and 6' are combined by means of a three-way valve a into a common line 7. The removed hydrogen is now routed through the two heat exchangers WT 3 and WT 2 and preheated in them).
However, Reese does not explicitly disclose:
wherein during step a), a phase-change material held in a latent heat store of the storage container is subjected to a phase transition from liquid to solid with the aid of a transfer of heat from the phase-change material to the liquid cryogen, or wherein the phase-change material remains solid during step a),
ending step a), wherein the phase-change material undergoes a phase transition from solid to liquid, and
fluidically separating the latent heat store from an environment of the storage container during steps a) and b).
Weltmer teaches having the following steps:
wherein during step a), a phase-change material held in a latent heat store of the storage container is subjected to a phase transition from liquid to solid with the aid of a transfer of heat from the phase-change material to the liquid cryogen, or wherein the phase-change material remains solid during step a) (Col. 5, lines 1-8, refilling cryogen storage container 10, liquid hydrogen, helium, or neon is circulated through inlet line 64 and pressure vessel 12 and then out of vent line 66 and coil 70 to cool the vaporized neon and thus, reliquify the neon. The outgoing hydrogen, helium, or neon flows out of vent line 66 to a liquefaction system and back to inlet line 64 until coolant tank 36 is completely filled with reliquified neon; Col. 3-4, lines 65-68 and 1-2, Although the preferred embodiment contemplates coolant 34 undergoing a phase change from a liquid phase to a vapor phase, it may be appreciated that depending on the extent to which coolant 34 were initially cooled, the phase change could be solid to liquid or solid to vapor or solid to liquid and then to vapor)
ending step a), wherein the phase-change material undergoes a phase transition from solid to liquid (Col. 5, lines 1-8, refilling cryogen storage container 10, liquid hydrogen, helium, or neon is circulated through inlet line 64 and pressure vessel 12 and then out of vent line 66 and coil 70 to cool the vaporized neon and thus, reliquify the neon. The outgoing hydrogen, helium, or neon flows out of vent line 66 to a liquefaction system and back to inlet line 64 until coolant tank 36 is completely filled with reliquified neon; Col. 3-4, lines 65-68 and 1-2, Although the preferred embodiment contemplates coolant 34 undergoing a phase change from a liquid phase to a vapor phase, it may be appreciated that depending on the extent to which coolant 34 were initially cooled, the phase change could be solid to liquid or solid to vapor or solid to liquid and then to vapor), and
fluidically separating the latent heat store from an environment of the storage container during steps a) and b) (Col. 4, lines 21-32, Relief line 44 preferably penetrates the top of coolant tank 36; and adsorbent canister 40 is preferably located near the bottom of liquid nitrogen container 30 and intermediate heat shield 18. Activated charcoal 42 adsorbs the vaporized neon and, as will be discussed, may be regenerated to release the neon for reliquefaction at a future time. An adsorbent canister vent line 46 is provided to vent vaporized neon not adsorbed by activated charcoal 42. Venting of neon through adsorbent canister vent line 46 is controlled by a pressure relief valve 48 set to open at the pressure rating of adsorbent canister 40; Further, the teachings of Weltmer which describe only venting when a overpressure set point is met at least imply fluidically separating the latent heat store from an environment of the storage container during steps a) and b) since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)).
Reese fails to teach wherein during step a), a phase-change material held in a latent heat store of the storage container is subjected to a phase transition from liquid to solid with the aid of a transfer of heat from the phase-change material to the liquid cryogen, or wherein the phase-change material remains solid during step a), ending step a), wherein the phase-change material undergoes a phase transition from solid to liquid, and fluidically separating the latent heat store from an environment of the storage container during steps a) and b), however Weltmer teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryogenic storage containers to include wherein during step a), a phase-change material held in a latent heat store of the storage container is subjected to a phase transition from liquid to solid with the aid of a transfer of heat from the phase-change material to the liquid cryogen, or wherein the phase-change material remains solid during step a), ending step a), wherein the phase-change material undergoes a phase transition from solid to liquid, and fluidically separating the latent heat store from an environment of the storage container during steps a) and b). This is strong evidence that modifying Reese as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the storage container to improve length of cryogen storage). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reese by Weltmer and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the storage container to improve length of cryogen storage.
Regarding claim 27, Reese as modified discloses the storage container according to claim 26
(see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 26 above), wherein during step b), heat (Q) required for the phase transition is extracted from a shield enclosing an inner container (3) of the storage container (Reese, Fig. 2, shield 12, Col. 4, lines 5-9, an additional storage space 5', to which a shield 12 is assigned with which the additional storage space 5' is in thermal contact. The shield 12 surrounds the inside container 4 preferably essentially completely in this case).
Regarding claim 28, Reese as modified discloses the storage container according to claim 26
(see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 26 above), wherein steps a) to c) are carried out during normal operation of the storage container, and wherein a blow-off valve of the storage container is opened exclusively in the event of a malfunction of the storage container, whereby gaseous phase-change material is blown off into the environment (Reese, Col. 3, lines 28-31, For safety reasons, the additional storage space 5 has a drain line 11 in which an overpressure valve f is located that enables discharge via the drain line 11 when a preset pressure is reached; Col. 4, lines 21-32, Relief line 44 preferably penetrates the top of coolant tank 36; and adsorbent canister 40 is preferably located near the bottom of liquid nitrogen container 30 and intermediate heat shield 18. Activated charcoal 42 adsorbs the vaporized neon and, as will be discussed, may be regenerated to release the neon for reliquefaction at a future time. An adsorbent canister vent line 46 is provided to vent vaporized neon not adsorbed by activated charcoal 42. Venting of neon through adsorbent canister vent line 46 is controlled by a pressure relief valve 48 set to open at the pressure rating of adsorbent canister 40; Further, the teachings of Reese and Weltmer which disclose only venting the PCM for safety reasons to prevent over pressure at least imply wherein steps a) to c) are carried out during normal operation of the storage container, and wherein a blow-off valve of the storage container is opened exclusively in the event of a malfunction of the storage container, whereby gaseous phase-change material is blown off into the environment since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)). Further, the limitations of claim 28 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 26 above.
Regarding claim 29, Reese as modified discloses the storage container according to claim 27
(see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 27 above), wherein steps a) to c) are carried out during normal operation of the storage container, and wherein a blow-off valve of the storage container is opened exclusively in the event of a malfunction of the storage container, whereby gaseous phase-change material is blown off into the environment (Reese, Col. 3, lines 28-31, For safety reasons, the additional storage space 5 has a drain line 11 in which an overpressure valve f is located that enables discharge via the drain line 11 when a preset pressure is reached; Col. 4, lines 21-32, Relief line 44 preferably penetrates the top of coolant tank 36; and adsorbent canister 40 is preferably located near the bottom of liquid nitrogen container 30 and intermediate heat shield 18. Activated charcoal 42 adsorbs the vaporized neon and, as will be discussed, may be regenerated to release the neon for reliquefaction at a future time. An adsorbent canister vent line 46 is provided to vent vaporized neon not adsorbed by activated charcoal 42. Venting of neon through adsorbent canister vent line 46 is controlled by a pressure relief valve 48 set to open at the pressure rating of adsorbent canister 40; Further, the teachings of Reese and Weltmer which disclose only venting the PCM for safety reasons to prevent over pressure at least imply wherein steps a) to c) are carried out during normal operation of the storage container, and wherein a blow-off valve of the storage container is opened exclusively in the event of a malfunction of the storage container, whereby gaseous phase-change material is blown off into the environment since it has been held in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom (MPEP 2144.01)). Further, the limitations of claim 29 are the result of the modification of references used in the rejection of claim 27 above.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reese et al. (US Patent No. 6,983,611), hereinafter Reese in view of Prieto et al. (New phase change material storage concept including metal wool as heat transfer enhancement method for solar heat use in industry), hereinafter Prieto.
Regarding claim 17, Reese discloses the storage container according to claim 1 (see the rejection
of claim 1 above).
However, Reese does not disclose wherein the latent heat store is at least partially filled with a heat-conducting, fluid-permeable material structure, in particular a knitted fabric.
Prieto teaches wherein the latent heat store is at least partially filled with a heat-conducting, fluid-permeable material structure, in particular a knitted fabric (Fig. 1-2; Abstract, Thermal energy storage is recognized as a key technology in the energy transition the world is facing today. But the main technical barrier this technology has to achieve wider deployment the low thermal conductivity of the
materials used, the so-called phase change materials (PCM). This paper presents a new concept for thermal conductivity enhancement of a PCM tank using metal wool. Metal wool is one of the least studied method to enhance PCM thermal conductivity, while it has high potential to do so at a low cost).
Reese fails to teach wherein the latent heat store is at least partially filled with a heat-conducting, fluid-permeable material structure, in particular a knitted fabric, however Prieto teaches that it is a known method in the art of PCM tanks to include wherein the latent heat store is at least partially filled with a heat-conducting, fluid-permeable material structure, in particular a knitted fabric. This is strong evidence that modifying Reese as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing enhanced PCM thermal conductivity at a low cost (Prieto, Abstract)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reese by Prieto and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing enhanced PCM thermal conductivity at a low cost (Prieto, Abstract).
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reese as modified by Weltmer as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Liao et al. (CN 110043791), hereinafter Liao.
Regarding claim 22, Reese as modified discloses the storage container according to claim 21 (see
the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 21 above).
However, Reese as modified does not disclose wherein the blow-off line runs helically around the shield on the inside or outside.
Liao teaches wherein the blow-off line runs helically around the shield on the inside or outside (Fig. 1, liquid nitrogen pipe 2, liquid hydrogen storage tank outer tank 3; Pg. 6, At the same time, liquid nitrogen pipe 2 is sleeved with a heat insulating layer 4, heat insulating layer 4 is further sleeved with a heat insulating layer shell 6. liquid nitrogen pipe 2 as a coil).
Reese fails to teach wherein the blow-off line runs helically around the shield on the inside or outside, however Liao teaches that it is a known method in the art of cryogenic storage containers to include wherein the blow-off line runs helically around the shield on the inside or outside; and wherein the shield is embedded in the insulation element. This is strong evidence that modifying Reese as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the storage container to improve length of cryogen storage). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Reese by Liao and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing desired heat transfer characteristics within the storage container to improve length of cryogen storage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Posselt et al. (US Patent No. 10,801,670) discloses a similar cryogenic storage tank with latent heat store.
Posselt et al. (US Patent No. 10,711,945) discloses a similar cryogenic storage tank with latent heat store.
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 September 14th, 2026