DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 and 7-10 in the reply filed on 05/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-13, and 15-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) ss being anticipated by Shiina (US 2026/0072315).
As to claims 1 and 10, Shiina discloses a display panel (Fig. 2, (PNL) and touch sensor (Fig. 2, (TS) comprising: an insulating layer (Figs. 7 and 12) [0070]including a first portion having a thickness dl (Fig. 7, (14), a second portion having a thickness d2 (Fig. 7, (12)[0070], and a third portion positioned between the first portion and the second portion (Fig.. 7, (13)[0070], and having a thickness d3, wherein 0 <dl - d3 < d3 - d2 is established (Fig. 7, (0<(14)-(13)<(13)-(12)); and a first wiring line (Fig. 7, (ML2) positioned over the insulating layer, and overlapping the first portion in a plan view [0071].
As to claim 2, further, Shiina discloses (Fig. 7) the third portion (13) is adjacent to the first portion (14) and the second portion (12) [0070].
As to claim 3, further, Shiina discloses the insulating layer further includes a fourth portion (Fig. 7, (16) positioned opposite the second portion ((Fig. 7, (12) , with respect to the first portion (Fig. 7, (14), and having a thickness d4 [0073], and includes a fifth portion (Fig. 7, (15) positioned between the first portion (Fig. 7, (14) and the fourth portion (Fig. 7, (16) [0072], and having a thickness d5, and 0<dl - d5 < d5 - d4 is established (Fig. 7, (0<(14)-(15)<(15)<16)).
As to claim 4, further, Shiina discloses d2 = d4 and d3 = d5 are established (Fig. 7, (12)=(16) and (13)=(15)).
As to claim 5, further, Shiina discloses W2 >2xWi is established, where Wi denotes a width of the first portion, and where W2 denotes a distance from a boundary between the second portion and the third portion to a boundary between the fourth portion and the fifth portion (Distance from boundary (13/12) and boundary (16/15))>2x(14). (The width of first portion (14) multiplied time 2, is smaller than the distance from the boundary between second portion (13) and third portion (12) and boundary between fourth portion (16) and fifth portion (15). (see Fig. 7)
As to claim 7, further, Shiina discloses a middle layer (Fig. 7, (BR) being that is insulating and that is formed over the first wiring line (Fig. 7, (ML2(L)); and a second wiring line (CE1(Rx) having a mesh shape and connected to the first wiring line (ML2(L) via a contact hole (CH3) formed in the middle layer (BR)[0072].
As to claim 8, further, Shiina discloses an overcoat layer (Fig. 8, (OC) covering the second wiring line (CE1).
As to claim 9, further, Shiina discloses an opening Fig. 8, (GR2) penetrating the overcoat layer (Fig. 8, (OC) and the second portion (Fig. 8, (12-16).
/RICARDO OSORIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625