DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5 and 7-10 in the reply filed on 05/15/2026 is acknowledged.
3. Claims 11-13, and 15-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claim(s) 1-5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) ss being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2025/0081728). (see Fig. 14 (using P in place of d) below for portions in comparison to Fig. 5 of this application)
As to claims 1 and 10, Kim discloses a display panel (Fig. 1, (110) and touch sensor [0100] comprising: an insulating layer (Fig. 14, (INS2)) [0221] including a first portion having a thickness dl (Fig. 14, (P1)), a second portion having a thickness d2 (Fig. 14, (P2), and a third portion positioned between the first portion and the second portion (Fig. 14, (P3), and having a thickness d3, wherein 0 <dl - d3 < d3 - d2 is established (Fig. 14 (0<(P1-P3)<(P3-P2)); and a first wiring line (Fig. 14, (GE2) positioned over the insulating layer (INS2), and overlapping the first portion in a plan view (GE2 overlaps first portion P1 in plan view).
As to claim 2, further, Kim discloses in Fig. 14, the third portion (P3) is adjacent to the first portion (P1) and the second portion (P2).
As to claim 3, further, Kim discloses the insulating layer (INS2) further includes a fourth portion (Fig. 14, (P4)) positioned opposite the second portion ((Fig. 14, (P2) , with respect to the first portion (Fig. 14, (P1), and having a thickness d4 (see P4) thickness], and includes a fifth portion (Fig. 14, (P5) positioned between the first portion (Fig. 14, (P1) and the fourth portion (Fig. 14, (P4), and having a thickness d5 (see P5 thickness), and 0<dl - d5 < d5 - d4 is established (Fig. 14, (0<(P1-P5)<(P5-P4)).
As to claim 4, further, Kim discloses Fig. 14, P2 = P4 and P3 = P5 are established.
As to claim 5, further, Kim discloses W2 >2xWi is established, where Wi denotes a width of the first portion Fig. 14, (P1), and where W2 denotes a distance from a boundary between the second portion and the third portion (boundary between P2 and P3) to a boundary between the fourth portion and the fifth portion (boundary between P4 and P5)) in the plan view. (The width of first portion P1 multiplied times 2, is smaller than the distance from the boundary between second portion P2 and third portion P3 and boundary between fourth portion P4 and fifth portion P5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2025/0081728) in view of Shiina (US 2026/0072315).
As to claim 7, further, Kim, does not specifically discloses a middle layer being that is insulating and that is formed over the first wiring line; and a second wiring line having a mesh shape and connected to the first wiring line via a contact hole formed in the middle layer.
Analogous prior art Shiina discloses a middle layer (Fig. 7, (BR) being that is insulating and that is formed over the first wiring line (Fig. 7, (ML2(L)); and a second wiring line (CE1(Rx) having a mesh shape and connected to the first wiring line (ML2(L) via a contact hole (CH3) formed in the middle layer (BR)[0072]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the second wiring line connected to a first wiring line through a contact hole since by using contact holes, manufacturers can route wiring through insulating layers without adding extra metal layers, reducing process complexity.
As to claim 8, further, Kim discloses an overcoat layer (Fig. 14, (INS1) covering the second wiring line (Fig. 14, (BG2).
As to claim 9, further, Kim discloses an opening Fig. 16, (CNT5) penetrating the overcoat layer (Fig. 14, (INS1) and the fourth portion (Fig. 14, (P4). However, the opening of Kim penetrates the fourth portion P4 and not the second portion P2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the opening penetrating portion P2 instead of portion P4, in the device of Kim, since in a lab, or manufacturing environment, it would be the choice of the designer to make such selection without affecting the design result negatively.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO OSORIO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625