DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected Groups II-III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oh (KR 20150098084, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses a system for forming a tire tread comprising: a tire tread mold including: a base (Figs. 1-2: 20; see also for example annotated Fig. 1 below); a first sidewall contiguous with the base (See for example annotated Fig. 1 below), the first sidewall including a first sidewall joint structure (See for example annotated Fig. 1 below); and a second sidewall contiguous with the base and positioned opposite of the first sidewall (See for example annotated Fig. 1 below); and a first sidewall height adjuster (Figs. 1-2: 30) including a first sidewall height adjuster joint structure (See for example annotated Fig. 1 below), wherein: a portion of the first sidewall height adjuster joint structure is configured to be positioned within a portion of the first sidewall joint structure such that the first sidewall and the first sidewall height adjuster are coupled (Figs. 1-2; see also for example annotated Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 2, Oh further discloses a second sidewall height adjuster including a second sidewall height adjuster joint structure and wherein the second sidewall includes a second sidewall joint structure (See for example annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Oh further discloses a portion of the second sidewall height adjuster joint structure is configured to be positioned within a portion of the second sidewall joint structure such that the second sidewall and the second sidewall height adjuster are coupled (See for example annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (KR 20150098084, see machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 4-5, Oh further discloses the first sidewall height adjuster joint structure may be a bolt ([0034]). Case law holds that it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify Oh so as to provide a pin as the attaching means.
Moreover, Oh further discloses the first sidewall joint structure is a recessed portion such that when the attaching means (i.e., pin) is coupled to the recessed portion (See for example annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1), the first sidewall and the first sidewall height adjuster form a tight fit after being pushed together (i.e., an interference fit).
Regarding claims 7-8, while Oh does not expressly recite the first sidewall further includes a first sidewall second joint structure positioned on the first sidewall at a distance from the first sidewall joint structure or the second sidewall further includes a second sidewall second joint structure positioned on the second sidewall at a distance from the second sidewall joint structure, case law holds that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to merely duplicate the parts to improve attachment and bonding of parts.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (KR 20150098084, see machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Oh discloses a system for forming a tire tread comprising: a tire tread mold including: a base (Figs. 1-2: 20; see also for example annotated Fig. 1 below); a first sidewall contiguous with the base (See for example annotated Fig. 1 below), the first sidewall including a first sidewall joint structure (See for example annotated Fig. 1 below); and a second sidewall contiguous with the base and positioned opposite of the first sidewall (See for example annotated Fig. 1 below); and a first sidewall height adjuster (Figs. 1-2: 30) including a first sidewall height adjuster joint structure (See for example annotated Fig. 1 below), wherein: a portion of the first sidewall height adjuster joint structure is configured to receive a portion of the first sidewall joint structure such that the first sidewall and the first sidewall height adjuster are coupled (See for example annotated Fig. 1 below).
Regarding claim 2, Oh further discloses a second sidewall height adjuster including a second sidewall height adjuster joint structure and wherein the second sidewall includes a second sidewall joint structure (see for example annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Oh further discloses a portion of the second sidewall height adjuster joint structure is configured to receive a portion of the second sidewall joint structure such that the second sidewall and the second sidewall height adjuster are coupled (see for example annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 6, Oh further discloses the first sidewall joint structure is a protrusion extending from a top surface of the first sidewall (see for example annotated Fig. 1 above in claim 1).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (KR 20150098084, see machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 7-8, while Oh does not expressly recite the first sidewall further includes a first sidewall second joint structure positioned on the first sidewall at a distance from the first sidewall joint structure or the second sidewall further includes a second sidewall second joint structure positioned on the second sidewall at a distance from the second sidewall joint structure, case law holds that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to merely duplicate the parts to improve attachment and bonding of parts.
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Triantafyllis (US 5906835).
Regarding claim 1, Triantafyllis discloses a system for forming a tire tread (Figs. 4, 6: 14) comprising: a tire tread mold including: a base (Figs. 3, 5: 24); a first sidewall contiguous with the base (See for example annotated Fig. 3 below), the first sidewall including a first sidewall joint structure (See for example annotated Fig. 3 below); and a second sidewall contiguous with the base and positioned opposite of the first sidewall (See for example annotated Fig. 3 below); and a first sidewall height adjuster (Fig. 3: 28a; Fig. 5: 28b; see also for example annotated Fig. 3 below) including a first sidewall height adjuster joint structure (Figs. 3, 5: 34; see also for example annotated Fig. 3 below), wherein: a portion of the first sidewall height adjuster joint structure (Figs. 3, 5: 34; see also for example annotated Fig. 3 below) is configured to be positioned within a portion of the first sidewall joint structure (See for example annotated Fig. 3 below) such that the first sidewall and the first sidewall height adjuster are coupled (Figs. 3, 5).
The examiner notes that the claim limitations “first sidewall” and “second sidewall” are broad and do not further define a structure or boundaries for the sidewalls other than to recite that they are contiguous with the base and on opposite sides of each other from the base. The sidewalls disclosed by Triantafyllis are considered to satisfy the current claim limitations.
Regarding claim 2, Triantafyllis further discloses a second sidewall height adjuster (Fig. 3: 30a; Fig. 5: 30b; see also for example annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1) including a second sidewall height adjuster joint structure (Figs. 3, 5: 34; see also for example annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1) and wherein the second sidewall includes a second sidewall joint structure (See for example annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 3, Triantafyllis further discloses a portion of the second sidewall height adjuster joint structure (Figs. 3, 5: 34; see also for example annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1) is configured to be positioned within a portion of the second sidewall joint structure (See for example annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1) such that the second sidewall and the second sidewall height adjuster are coupled (Figs. 3, 5).
Regarding claim 7, Triantafyllis further discloses the first sidewall further includes a first sidewall second joint structure positioned on the first sidewall at a distance from the first sidewall joint structure (Figs. 3, 5: see how there are two components 34 at each sidewall and thereby two corresponding, respective recesses for each side).
Regarding claim 8, Triantafyllis further discloses the second sidewall further includes a second sidewall second joint structure positioned on the second sidewall at a distance from the second sidewall joint structure (Figs. 3, 5: see how there are two components 34 at each sidewall and thereby two corresponding, respective recesses for each side).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Triantafyllis (US 5906835) as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claims 4-5, Triantafyllis further discloses the first sidewall height adjuster joint structure is a screw (Col. 2 line 58) but also discloses that while screws are the preferred attaching means, other suitable attaching means such as adhesives, bolts, spring-loaded mechanical devices, etc. that rely on sound engineering judgement may be used (Col. 2 lines 59-61). Case law holds that it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06. In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify Triantafyllis so as to provide a pin as the attaching means.
Moreover, Triantafyllis further discloses the first sidewall joint structure is a recessed portion such that when the attaching means (i.e., pin) is coupled to the recessed portion (See for example annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1), the first sidewall and the first sidewall height adjuster form a tight fit after being pushed together (i.e., an interference fit).
Contact Information
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749