Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-8, 10, 13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richards (US 8,109,706). In the embodiment shown in Figs. 7, Richards discloses a screw comprising: a thread (66); a tapered tip (84); a cylindrical shaft behind the tip; a cylindrical thickened portion (68) behind the cylindrical shaft; a second cylindrical thickened portion (70) at the end of the thread; and a leading end of the cylindrical thickened portions includes a step oriented 90° relative to the axis.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5-6 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dicke (US 7,037,059). In the embodiment shown in Figs. 3, Dicke discloses a screw comprising: a thread (109); a tapered tip (103); a cylindrical shaft (102) behind the tip; a cylindrical thickened portion (106) behind the cylindrical shaft; a leading end of the cylindrical thickened portions includes a step oriented 90° relative to the axis; the cylindrical thickened portion is shown with a height (D4) between 10% and 50% the height of the threads (D2); and the axial length of the cylindrical thickened portion is less than 5 times the thread pitch.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2020/0116187). Chen discloses a screw comprising: a thread (36); a tapered tip (37); a cylindrical shaft (on which the thread is formed) behind the tip; a thickened portion (34) behind the cylindrical shaft; a leading end (341) of the thickened portions includes a step oriented 90° relative to the axis and a trailing end (342) of the thickened portion is conical widening towards the leading end (p.[0031], lines 8-10); and the axial length of the cylindrical thickened portion is less than 5 times the thread pitch.
Claims 1, 5-7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tong (US 2007/0154285). Tong discloses a screw comprising: a thread (13); a tapered tip (37); a cylindrical shaft behind the tip; a thickened portion (14) behind the cylindrical shaft; a further thickened portion (14) arranged in the region of the thread; the thickened portions is shown with a height between 10% and 50% the height of the threads; and the axial length of the thickened portions is less than 5 times the thread pitch.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 9-12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong as applied above, and further in view of Wunderlich (US 8,662,809). Tong does not disclose the thickened portions with a conical shape getting wider towards the tip and a step with an angle between 60° to 120° relative to the axis. Wunderlich discloses a screw with a thickened portion (7) for making it easier to screw in the screw similar to Tong but, Wunderlich discloses the thickened portion to have a conical shape (10) widening towards the tip and a step (9) with an angle (12) of about 75° relative of the axis. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the thickened portion of Tong with a shape as disclosed in Wunderlich because Wunderlich teaches the shape as an optimal shape for making it easier to screw in the screw.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Langewiesche (US 11,274,691) is cited to teach a screw with a cylindrical shaft leading to a perpendicular step. Mair (US 11,187,260), Park (US 9,651,079), Park (US 11,181,138), Spirig (US 12,038,034), Chen (US 7,682,119) and Su (US 2007/0128001) are all sited to teach other examples of a screw with at least one thickened portion. Levine (US 11,078,946) is cited to teach a thickened portion with a conical shape.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675