DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s arguments/remarks and amendments filed on 08/18/2026. Claims 12-13, and 16-22 have been amended. Claim 15 has been cancelled. Claims 23-24 have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 12-14 and 16-24 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 12-14, and 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s), claims 12 and 22 recite(s) determining a first speed, compare the first speed to an actual speed and cause or inhibit one or more driving functions wherein one or more driving function comprise issuing a suggestion.
The limitations “determining a first speed, compare the first speed to an actual speed and cause or inhibit one or more driving functions”, as drafted is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a device” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, “determining a first speed, compare the first speed to an actual speed and cause or inhibit one or more driving functions” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally comparing the actual speed to the determined speed and decide whether to perform a vehicle function using observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites an additional element, i.e. a device to perform the recited steps. The device is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Regarding the additional limitations “issue a suggestion whether the signaling unit should be taken into account in the operation of the driving function when the driving function is operated in manual mode”, the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (device) to perform the process. In particular, “issue a suggestion”, given that only one function is needed, is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of displaying a result from the comparison step), and amounts to mere post solution displaying, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a device to perform the recited steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitation of “issue a suggestion” is well-understood, routine, and conventional activities. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Furthermore, the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), for example, indicated that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function. Hence, the claims are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim(s) 13-21 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Claims 13-14, 16-21, and 23-24 recite additional steps that can be performed in the human mind and fall under the mental process bucket of the abstract ideas. Therefore, dependent claims 13-14, 16-21, and 23-24 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claims 12 and 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-14, 16, and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhillon et al US 2021/0049907 A1 (hence Dhillon) in view of Gutmann et al US 2022/0161790 A1 (hence Gutmann).
In re claims 12 and 22-24, Dhillon discloses systems and methods for providing a driver of a vehicle with speed-related feedback to facilitate the efficient traversal of intersections equipped with traffic lights (Abstract) and teaches the following:
A device for operating a driving function for automated longitudinal control of a vehicle when approaching a signaling unit ahead (Abstract), wherein the device is configured to:
determine a first driving speed value based on distance information in relation to a distance of the signaling unit ahead of the vehicle (Paragraph 0030 “calculate the distance to the intersection using the determined locations of the intersection”, and Paragraph 0031 “determine in real time a “suggested” speed”);
compare an actual speed of the vehicle with the first driving speed; and cause or inhibit one or more driving function measures in relation to the driving function according to the comparison (Paragraph 0033 “The speed feedback unit 44 may also calculate (in real time) a difference between the suggested speed and the monitored current speed of the vehicle 12”);
wherein the one or more driving function measures comprise: issue a suggestion whether the signaling unit should be taken into account in the operation of the driving function when the driving function is operated in manual mode (Paragraph 0033 “a display of the user interface 34 may contain text characters instructing the driver to increase or decrease speed”); and automatically take the signaling unit into account in to the operation of the driving function when the driving function is operated in automated longitudinal control of the vehicle, wherein the one or more driving function measures further comprises: automatically reducing an acceleration value of an acceleration of the vehicle, which is used within the scope of a speed control operation of the driving function, relative to a standard value
However, Dhillon doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
and based on a first deceleration value for the deceleration of the vehicle
Nevertheless, Gutmann discloses determining whether a vehicle should continue through an intersection (Abstract) and teaches the following:
and based on a first deceleration value for the deceleration of the vehicle (Paragraph 0022 “if the required deceleration to stop the vehicle in a given distance to a traffic intersection is larger than a threshold”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Dhillon reference to include a first deceleration value for the deceleration of the vehicle, as taught by Gutmann, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to calculate on how much braking the vehicle would need to exercise, in order to come to a stop before the intersection (Gutmann, Paragraph 0022).
In re claim 13, Dhillon teaches the following:
wherein the device is configured to at least one of: cause one or more driving function measures when the actual speed of the vehicle is equal to or greater than the first driving speed; or inhibits one or more driving functions measures when the actual speed of the vehicle is less than the first driving speed (Paragraph 0033 “instructing the driver to increase or decrease speed”)
In re claim 14, Dhillon teaches the following:
wherein the device is configured to: for each point in time of a sequence of points in time, during the approach of the vehicle to the signaling unit ahead, in each case based on distance information in relation to the respective distance and based on the first deceleration value a current first driving speed, determine a sequence of points in time; in each case: determine a current first driving speed value based on the distance information in relation to the respective distance and based on the first deceleration value; compare the respective actual speed of the vehicle with the current first driving speed value; and cause or inhibit one or more driving function measures according to the respective comparison (Paragraph 0026 “The computing device or system 14 may request the status information when determining that the vehicle 12 is within some threshold distance of the traffic light 16 (e.g., 1 kilometer, half a kilometer, a quarter kilometer, 200 meters, etc.)” and Paragraph 0027 “Upon receiving the status information, the V2I communication interface 42 may directly or indirectly make the information available to the speed feedback unit 44”)
In re claim 16, the combination of Dhillon in view of Gutmann discloses the claimed invention as recited above but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
wherein the device is configured to designate the first driving speed, based on when v=
√
2
|
a
|
d
wherein a is the amount of the first deceleration value, and wherein d is the distance from a stop position of the signaling unit indicated by the distance information
Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to calculate a velocity form acceleration and distance using the equation v=
√
2
|
a
|
d
since it was known in the art that said formula is used in physics to find the final speed when acceleration, distance, and an initial speed of zero are known.
In re claim 21, Gutmann teaches the following:
wherein the device is configured to: determine whether the distance is greater than or less than a distance threshold value based on the distance information in relation to the distance of the signaling unit ahead; cause one or more driving function measures, independently of the comparison of the actual speed with the first driving speed value, when the distance is less than the distance threshold value (Paragraph 0004 “determining, by the one or more computing devices, whether the estimated location of the vehicle will be at least a threshold distance past the starting point; and when the estimated location of the vehicle is determined to be at least a threshold distance past the starting point, determining, by the one or more computing devices, that the vehicle should continue through the intersection”); and cause or inhibits one or more driving function measures, according to the comparison of the actual speed with the first driving speed value, when the distance is greater than the distance threshold value (Paragraph 0007 “when the estimated location of the vehicle is determined not to be at least a threshold distance past the starting point, determine that the vehicle should stop at or before the starting point”)
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhillon in view of Gutmann as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Ben Shalom US 2016/0318490 A1 (hence Ben Shalom).
In re claim 17, the combination of Dhillon and Gutmann discloses the claimed invention but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
wherein the device is configured to: determine a second driving speed based on the distance information in relation to the distance of the signaling unit ahead from the vehicle and based on a second deceleration value for the deceleration of the vehicle, wherein the amount of the second deceleration value is less than the first deceleration value; compares the actual speed of the vehicle with the second driving speed; and cause or inhibit one or more driving functions measures, according to the comparison of the actual speed with the first driving speed and, according to the comparison of the actual speed with the second driving speed
Nevertheless, Ben Shalom discloses systems and methods for causing a system response in a vehicle based on traffic light detection from images (Abstract) and teaches the following:
wherein the device is configured to: determine a second driving speed based on the distance information in relation to the distance of the signaling unit ahead from the vehicle and based on a second deceleration value for the deceleration of the vehicle, wherein the amount of the second deceleration value is less than the first deceleration value; compares the actual speed of the vehicle with the second driving speed; and cause or inhibit one or more driving functions measures, according to the comparison of the actual speed with the first driving speed and, according to the comparison of the actual speed with the second driving speed (Paragraph 0155 “system 100 may dynamically calculate the deceleration needed for the vehicle to stop before the junction as the vehicle moves closer to the junction”, and “system 100 may re-calculate the deceleration needed whenever the vehicle travels 10 meters toward the junction, and cause the vehicle to dynamically update the deceleration with the re-calculated value”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Dhillon reference to include dynamically calculate the deceleration needed for the vehicle to stop before the junction as the vehicle moves closer to the junction, as taught by Ben Shalom, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to re-calculate the deceleration needed whenever the vehicle travels 10 meters toward the junction, and cause the vehicle to dynamically update the deceleration with the re-calculated value (Ben Shalom, Paragraph 0155).
In re claim 18, Dhillon teaches the following:
wherein the device is configured to: cause one or more driving function measures when the actual speed of the vehicle is equal to or greater than the first driving speed; and inhibit one or more driving function measures when the actual speed of the vehicle is less than the second driving speed (Paragraph 0033 “instructing the driver to increase or decrease speed”)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks with respect to the rejection of claims 12-22 under 35 U.S.C. 101 and that the device is configured to perform as part of the automated longitudinal control of the vehicle that cannot be performed mentally, the examiner respectfully disagrees with that statement. The claim, as written, does not mean that a single driving function performs both actions simultaneously; rather, it means a given driving function behaves differently depending on the vehicle's current operating mode (manual vs. automated) and only one needs to be satisfied. The claim is not written as a conditional statement since the claims requires “causing or inhibiting one or more driving function measures” and only one function can be selected at a time. Therefore, as described above, the examiner submits that the limitation “issue a suggestion” is insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (device) to perform the process. In particular, “issue a suggestion”, given that only one function is needed, is recited at a high level of generality (i.e. as a general means of displaying a result from the comparison step), and amounts to mere post solution displaying, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity, and does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks with respect to the rejection of claims 12-16 and 21-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dhillon in view of Gutmann and that Dhillon does not teach at least the element: automatically take the signaling unit into account in the operation of the driving function when the driving function is operated in automated longitudinal control of the vehicle, the examiner respectfully disagrees with that statement. While Dhillon does not explicitly teach automatically take the signaling unit into account in the operation of the driving function when the driving function is operated in automated longitudinal control of the vehicle, it is noted that the claim requires “causing or inhibiting one or more driving function measures” and only one function can be selected at a time. Dhillon discloses wherein the one or more driving function measures comprise: issue a suggestion whether the signaling unit should be taken into account in the operation of the driving function when the driving function is operated in manual mode (Paragraph 0033 “a display of the user interface 34 may contain text characters instructing the driver to increase or decrease speed”). Therefore, the requirements for claims 12 and 22 are met.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAMI KHATIB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669