DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation of “the flow guide is disposed face-to-face with respect to a first outlet flow path most adjacent to the inlet flow path, among the paths transitioning from the inlet flow path to the return flow path” renders the scope of the claim indefinite since the return flow path is located between the inlet flow path and the outlet flow path, it is not clear how the outlet flow path transitioning from the inlet flow path to the return flow path.
Claims 6-7 are further rejected as can be best understood by the examiner in which fluid flows from the inlet flow path to the return flow path at the second end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boyd et al. (US 20240178477A) in view of Kim et al. (KR 20160048564A). Boyd discloses (figures 8-9) a heat sink assembly comprising a heat sink (102) including a plurality of ribs (forming channels 104a, 106a,b between the ribs shown in figure 8) extending in a longitudinal direction of the heat sink; an open first end face (164) at a first longitudinal end; and an open second end face (186) at a second longitudinal end; and a flow path for a coolant formed by the plurality of ribs, the flow path including an inlet flow path (104a), at least one outlet flow path (106a,b) and a return flow path (within the return tank 180) transitioning from the inlet flow path to the at least one outlet flow path; a plurality of first end plugs (three end plugs separated by 166a, 166b) configured to close the first end face; a second end plug (180) configured to close the second end face, the second end plug including a flow guide (188a, 188b) on the return flow path; wherein the flow path is configured so that a coolant introduced from the first longitudinal end flows along the inlet flow path, is redirected along the return flow path from the second longitudinal end by the flow guide to be introduced into the at least one outlet flow path and then flows to the first longitudinal end (see hollow white arrow shown in figure 9). Regarding claim 1, Boyd is silent about the ribs integrally molded along a longitudinal direction of the heat sink. Kim discloses (figures 3-4) a heat sink assembly that has a heat sink (300) includes ribs (flows paths 310 formed between the ribs) being integrally molded along a longitudinal direction of the heat sink for a purpose of eliminating all the loosen parts that coupled by coupling member. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Kims’ teaching in Boyd’s device for a purpose of eliminating all the loosen parts that coupled by coupling member. Furthermore, Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In this case, the heat sink in the product by process claim is the same as or obvious from the heat sink of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior heat sink was made by a different process than “molded”.
Regarding claim 2, Boyd further discloses (figure 9) that the first longitudinal end includes an inlet port (154a) through which the coolant flows in and an outlet port (156a,b) through which the coolant flow out.
Regarding claim 3, Boyd further discloses (figures 8-9) the inlet flow path (104a) is disposed in a center region of the heat sink and is connected to the inlet port (154a) , and the outlet port includes a first outlet port (156a) located on a first side of the inlet flow path and a second outlet port (156b) located on a second side of the inlet flow path, and the at least one outlet flow path (106a) includes a first outlet flow path connected to the first outlet port (156a) and a second outlet flow path (106b) connected to the second outlet port (156b).
Regarding claim 4, Boyd further discloses the plurality of end plugs comprises an inlet plug (center plug sandwiched between 166a, 166b) configured to close the inlet flow path at the first end face and a first outlet plug (either side plug beside the center plug) configured to close the first outlet flow path at the first end face and a second outlet plug (either side plug beside the center plug) configured to close the second outlet flow path at the first end face.
Regarding claim 5, Boyd further discloses (figure 9 and paragraph 53) the flow guide (188a, 188b) is a projection protruding from a surface of the second end plug (180).
Regarding claim 6, Boyd further discloses (figures 8, 9 and figure A) that the at least one outlet flow path includes a plurality of outlet flow paths (106a,b) and the flow guide is disposed face to face with respect to a first outlet flow path most adjacent to the inlet flow path among the plurality of outlet flow paths transitioning from the inlet flow path to the return flow path. (the first outlet path most adjacent to the inlet flow path is the outlet path that is most adjacent to divider 166a or 166b and the distal end portion away from the center of the flow guide is face to face with the outlet flow path nearest to the divider 166a or 166b)
Regarding claim 7, Boyd further discloses (figure 9) that the projection of the flow guide includes an inclined surface configured to direct coolant diverted from the inlet flow to the return flow path toward the first outlet flow path.
Regarding claim 8, Boyd further discloses (figure A, see below) that the inclined surface of the flow guide is located between an initial inclination point and a center point along a width direction of the first outlet flow path.
Regarding claim 9, Boyd further discloses (figure A, see below) that the vertex of the inclined surface is located at the center point in the width direction of the first outlet flow path.
.
Figure A: the modified figure correspond to figure 9 with limitation shown.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Boyd et al. (US 20240178477A) in view of Kim et al. (KR 20160048564A) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Joo et al. (KR 20200098839A). Boyd and Kim substantially disclose all of applicant’s claimed invention as discussed above except for the limitation that a space between a surface of the second end plug and an entrance of each of the plurality of outlet flow paths increases from the first outlet flow path to each outlet flow path of the plurality of outlet flow paths that is progressively spaced form the inlet flow path (claim 10) and the distance between the end of each of the plurality of ribs forming the plurality of outlet flow paths and the surface of the second end plug increases linearly from the first outlet flow path to each outlet flow path of the plurality of outlet flow paths that is progressively spaced from the inlet flow path (claim 11). Regarding claim 10, Joo et al. discloses (figures 7-10) a heat sink assembly that has a space between the surface of the end of the end plug (opposite end from the inlet and outlet 40,50 that form a return flow path) and an entrance of each of the plurality of outlet flow paths increase from the first outlet flow path to each outlet flow path of the plurality of outlet flow paths that is progressively spaced from the inlet flow path for a purpose of reducing the flow resistance of the working fluid to form a smoother flow from the inlet flow path to the outlet flow path so that the cooling of the heat sink is more efficient. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use Joo et al’s teaching in the combination device of Boyd and Kim for a purpose of reducing the flow resistance of the working fluid to form a smoother flow from the inlet flow path to the outlet flow path so that the cooling of the heat sink is more efficient.
Regarding claim 11, Joo et al. discloses (figures 5-10) a heat sink assembly that has the distance between the end of each of the plurality of ribs (15) forming the plurality of outlet flow paths and the surface of the second end plug (opposite end from the inlet and outlet 40,50 that form a return flow path) increases linearly from the first outlet flow path to each outlet flow path of the plurality of outlet flow paths that is progressively spaced from the inlet flow path for a purpose of reducing the flow resistance of the working fluid to form a smoother flow from the inlet flow path to the outlet flow path so that the cooling of the heat sink is more efficient.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use Joo et al’s teaching in the combination device of Boyd and Kim for a purpose of reducing the flow resistance of the working fluid to form a smoother flow from the inlet flow path to the outlet flow path so that the cooling of the heat sink is more efficient.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Altman (US 2024/0142183A1) discloses a tank and tube assembly.
Bhatti et al. (US 5,186,249) discloses a heater core.
Seki Kazuhito (EP 3595080A1) discloses a cooler.
Sullivan (US 20180010858A1) discloses a return water box.
Abels et al. (US 20120237805A1) discloses a battery cell cooler.
/THO V DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763