DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 15-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tani et al. (US 20050171636 A1; hereinafter Tani) in view of Burlutskiy et al. (US 9402518 B2; hereinafter Burlutskiy).
Regarding claim 1, Tani teaches a cleaning method of a cleaning robot (see at least, Fig 1; [0021] an autonomous mobile robot cleaner system…autonomously moves on a floor (cleaning area) of a room in a house to clean the floor) comprising: determining whether the region to be cleaned has been subjected to daily route cleaning in response to determining that the region map has been saved (see at least, [0034] During the cleaning operation, the robot cleaner 1 creates the map information in regard to already cleaned areas based on output signals of the respective sensors, and stores the map information in the map information memory 41), wherein the daily route cleaning refers to cleaning of a boundary region and an internal region of the region to be cleaned (see at least, Fig 6; [0035] In a normal-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans a room while moving zigzag along a moving path as indicated by the solid arrow in FIG. 6; *Examiner interprets normal-cleaning mode as daily route cleaning); wherein the rapid cleaning mode is a mode in which the internal region of the region to be cleaned is cleaned (see at least, [0035] cleaning modes selectable by a user...In a spot-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans only the central region of a room while moving spirally; *Examiner interprets spot mode as rapid cleaning ).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Boundary Region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Internal Region)]
Tani does not explicitly teach determining whether a region map of a region to be cleaned has been saved in the cleaning robot in a case where a rapid cleaning mode is triggered; and controlling the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode in response to determining that the daily route cleaning has been performed. However, Burlutskiy teaches this limitation.
Burlutskiy teaches determining whether a region map of a region to be cleaned has been saved in the cleaning robot in a case where a rapid cleaning mode is triggered; and controlling the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode in response to determining that the daily route cleaning has been performed (see at least, Fig 5C; Col 5 lines 32-48,The reachability map 423 is associated with effective path planning and a coverage mission in a house…For a ‘FAST CLEAN’ mode, the area C 533 can be omitted in the cleaning. The ‘FAST CLEAN’ mode can be set when there is a task in which the robotic cleaner is to complete cleaning within a specific time limit…After cleaning, the robotic cleaner sets the area D 534 as an additional cleaning task).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include determining whether a region map of a region to be cleaned has been saved in the cleaning robot in a case where a rapid cleaning mode is triggered; and controlling the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode in response to determining that the daily route cleaning has been performed as taught by Burlutskiy in order to analyze a covered area and make an optimal decision for faster cleaning (Burlutskiy, Col 3 lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the method according to claim 1. Burlutskiy further teaches comprising: controlling the cleaning robot to perform the daily route cleaning on the region to be cleaned in response to determining that the region to be cleaned has not been subjected to the daily route cleaning (see at least, Col 6 lines 49-55, 1) The robotic cleaner reads a 3D map and its location on the map. 2) The robotic cleaner arranges the robotic cleaner itself in its subspace. Herein, the subspace implies a room in which the robotic cleaner is located at present. 3) The robotic cleaner assigns a subspace to be cleaned. 4) The robotic cleaner downloads a reachability map, and plans a path to the subspace assigned for cleaning).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include controlling the cleaning robot to perform the daily route cleaning on the region to be cleaned in response to determining that the region to be cleaned has not been subjected to the daily route cleaning as taught by Burlutskiy in order to analyze a covered area and make an optimal decision for faster cleaning (Burlutskiy, Col 3 lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the method according to claim 1. Tani further teaches wherein the daily route cleaning comprises: cleaning the boundary region of the region to be cleaned first, and then cleaning the internal region of the region to be cleaned (see at least, Fig 6; [0035] In a normal-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans a room while moving zigzag along a moving path as indicated by the solid arrow in FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the method according to any one of claim 1. Tani further teaches wherein controlling the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode comprises: controlling the cleaning robot to directly clean the internal region of the region to be cleaned (see at least, [0035] cleaning modes selectable by a user...In a spot-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans only the central region of a room while moving spirally).
Burlutskiy further teaches avoiding an obstacle and a restricted region which are determined in the daily route cleaning process during cleaning (see at least, Col 5 lines 35, In the first level, the reachability map 423 is built for the 3D map 421 of the cleaned house, and includes a reachable floor area A 531, an unreachable area B 532, and an area C 533 reachable but not suitable for a robotic cleaning operation. …the robotic cleaner cleans the area A 531 except for the area D 534).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include avoiding an obstacle and a restricted region which are determined in the daily route cleaning process during cleaning as taught by Burlutskiy in order to clean the cleaning area while controlling not to collide with the obstacle by using the determined information (Burlutskiy, Col 1 lines 26-28).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the method according to claim 1. Tani further teaches wherein controlling the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode comprises: controlling the cleaning robot to clean only a sub-region specified by a user in the internal region of the region to be cleaned (see at least, [0035] cleaning modes selectable by a user...In a spot-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans only the central region of a room while moving spirally).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the method according to claim 4. Burlutskiy further teaches comprising: performing cleaning along an edge of a new obstacle in response to the cleaning robot discovering the new obstacle is discovered when the cleaning robot performs performing cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode (see at least, Col 4 lines 19-23, If new objects are detected, the robotic cleaner classifies the new objects…will be classified into the ball and the book, and can be treated as an obstacle during the cleaning operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include performing cleaning along an edge of a new obstacle in response to the cleaning robot discovering the new obstacle is discovered when the cleaning robot performs performing cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode as taught by Burlutskiy in order to clean the cleaning area while controlling not to collide with the obstacle by using the determined information (Burlutskiy, Col 1 lines 26-28).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the method according to claim 1. Burlutskiy further teaches comprising: controlling the cleaning robot to construct the region map of the region to be cleaned in response to determining that the cleaning robot does not save the region map of the region to be cleaned (see at least, Col 7 lines 1-4, The robotic cleaner may not clean the obstacle area 729 in a current cleaning operation and may store information indicating that cleaning is not made due to an obstacle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include controlling the cleaning robot to construct the region map of the region to be cleaned in response to determining that the cleaning robot does not save the region map of the region to be cleaned as taught by Burlutskiy in order to analyze a covered area and make an optimal decision for faster cleaning (Burlutskiy, Col 3 lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 15, Tani teaches determine whether the region to be cleaned has been subjected to daily route cleaning in response to determining that the region map has been saved, wherein the daily route cleaning refers to cleaning of a boundary region and an internal region of the region to be cleaned; wherein the rapid cleaning mode is a mode in which the internal region of the region to be cleaned is cleaned (see at least, [0034] During the cleaning operation, the robot cleaner 1 creates the map information in regard to already cleaned areas based on output signals of the respective sensors, and stores the map information in the map information memory 41), wherein the daily route cleaning refers to cleaning of a boundary region and an internal region of the region to be cleaned (see at least, Fig 6; [0035] In a normal-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans a room while moving zigzag along a moving path as indicated by the solid arrow in FIG. 6; *Examiner interprets normal-cleaning mode as daily route cleaning); wherein the rapid cleaning mode is a mode in which the internal region of the region to be cleaned is cleaned (see at least, [0035] cleaning modes selectable by a user...In a spot-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans only the central region of a room while moving spirally; *Examiner interprets spot mode as rapid cleaning ).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Boundary Region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Internal Region)]
Tani does not explicitly teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, configured to store a computer program thereon, wherein when the computer program, when is executed by a processor, the processor is configured to: determine whether a region map of a region to be cleaned has been saved in the cleaning robot in a case where a rapid cleaning mode is triggered; and control the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode in response to determining that the daily route cleaning has been performed. However, Burlutskiy teaches this limitation.
Burlutskiy teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see at least, Col 9 lines 45-49, a storage device like a ROM…RAM, memory chips, device or integrated circuits or on an optically or magnetically readable medium such as, for example, a CD, DVD), configured to store a computer program thereon, wherein when the computer program, when is executed by a processor (see at least, 51 lines 37-42, The computer readable storage medium stores…the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors in an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform), the processor is configured to: determine whether a region map of a region to be cleaned has been saved in the cleaning robot in a case where a rapid cleaning mode is triggered; and control the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode in response to determining that the daily route cleaning has been performed (see at least, Fig 5C; Col 5 lines 32-48,The reachability map 423 is associated with effective path planning and a coverage mission in a house…For a ‘FAST CLEAN’ mode, the area C 533 can be omitted in the cleaning. The ‘FAST CLEAN’ mode can be set when there is a task in which the robotic cleaner is to complete cleaning within a specific time limit…After cleaning, the robotic cleaner sets the area D 534 as an additional cleaning task).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include determine whether a region map of a region to be cleaned has been saved in the cleaning robot in a case where a rapid cleaning mode is triggered; and control the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode in response to determining that the daily route cleaning has been performed as taught by Burlutskiy in order to analyze a covered area and make an optimal decision for faster cleaning (Burlutskiy, Col 3 lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 16, Tani teaches an electronic device see at least, Fig 1; [0021] an autonomous mobile robot cleaner system) comprising: determine whether the region to be cleaned has been subjected to daily route cleaning in response to determining that the region map has been saved (see at least, [0034] During the cleaning operation, the robot cleaner 1 creates the map information in regard to already cleaned areas based on output signals of the respective sensors, and stores the map information in the map information memory 41), wherein the daily route cleaning refers to cleaning of a boundary region and an internal region of the region to be cleaned (see at least, Fig 6; [0035] In a normal-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans a room while moving zigzag along a moving path as indicated by the solid arrow in FIG. 6; *Examiner interprets normal-cleaning mode as daily route cleaning); wherein the rapid cleaning mode is a mode in which the internal region of the region to be cleaned is cleaned (see at least, [0035] cleaning modes selectable by a user...In a spot-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans only the central region of a room while moving spirally; *Examiner interprets spot mode as rapid cleaning ).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Boundary Region)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Internal Region)]
Tani does not explicitly teach a processor; and a memory configured to store an executable instruction of the processor, wherein by executing the executable instruction, the processor is configured to: determine whether a region map of a region to be cleaned has been saved in the cleaning robot in a case where a rapid cleaning mode is triggered; and control the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode in response to determining that the daily route cleaning has been performed. However, Burlutskiy teaches this limitation.
Burlutskiy teaches a processor; and a memory configured to store an executable instruction of the processor, wherein by executing the executable instruction, (see at least, 51 lines 37-42, The
computer readable storage medium stores…the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors in an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform), the processor is configured to: determine whether a region map of a region to be cleaned has been saved in the cleaning robot in a case where a rapid cleaning mode is triggered; and control the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode in response to determining that the daily route cleaning has been performed (see at least, Fig 5C; Col 5 lines 32-48,The reachability map 423 is associated with effective path planning and a coverage mission in a house…For a ‘FAST CLEAN’ mode, the area C 533 can be omitted in the cleaning. The ‘FAST CLEAN’ mode can be set when there is a task in which the robotic cleaner is to complete cleaning within a specific time limit…After cleaning, the robotic cleaner sets the area D 534 as an additional cleaning task).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include determine whether a region map of a region to be cleaned has been saved in the cleaning robot in a case where a rapid cleaning mode is triggered; and control the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode in response to determining that the daily route cleaning has been performed as taught by Burlutskiy in order to analyze a covered area and make an optimal decision for faster cleaning (Burlutskiy, Col 3 lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the electronic device according to claim 16. Burlutskiy further teaches the processor is configured to: control the cleaning robot to perform the daily route cleaning on the region to be cleaned in response to determining that the region to be cleaned has not been subjected to the daily route cleaning (see at least, Col 6 lines 49-55, 1) The robotic cleaner reads a 3D map and its location on the map. 2) The robotic cleaner arranges the robotic cleaner itself in its subspace. Herein, the subspace implies a room in which the robotic cleaner is located at present. 3) The robotic cleaner assigns a subspace to be cleaned. 4) The robotic cleaner downloads a reachability map, and plans a path to the subspace assigned for cleaning).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include control the cleaning robot to perform the daily route cleaning on the region to be cleaned in response to determining that the region to be cleaned has not been subjected to the daily route cleaning as taught by Burlutskiy in order to analyze a covered area and make an optimal decision for faster cleaning (Burlutskiy, Col 3 lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the electronic device according to claim 16. Tani further teaches wherein the daily route cleaning comprises: cleaning the boundary region of the region to be cleaned first, and then cleaning the internal region of the region to be cleaned (see at least, Fig 6; [0035] In a normal-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans a room while moving zigzag along a moving path as indicated by the solid arrow in FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 19, electronic device according to claim 16. Tani further teaches wherein controlling the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode comprises: controlling the cleaning robot to directly clean the internal region of the region to be cleaned (see at least, [0035] cleaning modes selectable by a user...In a spot-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans only the central region of a room while moving spirally).
Burlutskiy further teaches avoiding an obstacle and a restricted region which are determined in the daily route cleaning process during cleaning (see at least, Col 5 lines 35, In the first level, the reachability map 423 is built for the 3D map 421 of the cleaned house, and includes a reachable floor area A 531, an unreachable area B 532, and an area C 533 reachable but not suitable for a robotic cleaning operation. …the robotic cleaner cleans the area A 531 except for the area D 534).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include avoiding an obstacle and a restricted region which are determined in the daily route cleaning process during cleaning as taught by Burlutskiy in order to clean the cleaning area while controlling not to collide with the obstacle by using the determined information (Burlutskiy, Col 1 lines 26-28).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the electronic device according to claim 16. Tani further teaches wherein controlling the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode comprises: controlling the cleaning robot to clean only a sub-region specified by a user in the internal region of the region to be cleaned (see at least, [0035] cleaning modes selectable by a user...In a spot-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans only the central region of a room while moving spirally).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the electronic device according to claim 19. Burlutskiy further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: perform cleaning along an edge of a new obstacle in response to the cleaning robot discovering the new obstacle when performing cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode (see at least, Col 4 lines 19-23, If new objects are detected, the robotic cleaner classifies the new objects…will be classified into the ball and the book, and can be treated as an obstacle during the cleaning operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include perform cleaning along an edge of a new obstacle in response to the cleaning robot discovering the new obstacle when performing cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode as taught by Burlutskiy in order to clean the cleaning area while controlling not to collide with the obstacle by using the determined information (Burlutskiy, Col 1 lines 26-28).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the electronic device according to claim 20. Burlutskiy further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: perform cleaning along an edge of a new obstacle in response to the cleaning robot discovering the new obstacle when performing cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode (see at least, Col 4 lines 19-23, If new objects are detected, the robotic cleaner classifies the new objects…will be classified into the ball and the book, and can be treated as an obstacle during the cleaning operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include perform cleaning along an edge of a new obstacle in response to the cleaning robot discovering the new obstacle when performing cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode as taught by Burlutskiy in order to clean the cleaning area while controlling not to collide with the obstacle by using the determined information (Burlutskiy, Col 1 lines 26-28).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the electronic device according to claim 16. Burlutskiy further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: control the cleaning robot to construct the region map of the region to be cleaned in response to determining that the cleaning robot does not save the region map of the region to be cleaned (see at least, Col 7 lines 1-4, The robotic cleaner may not clean the obstacle area 729 in a current cleaning operation and may store information indicating that cleaning is not made due to an obstacle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include control the cleaning robot to construct the region map of the region to be cleaned in response to determining that the cleaning robot does not save the region map of the region to be cleaned as taught by Burlutskiy in order to analyze a covered area and make an optimal decision for faster cleaning (Burlutskiy, Col 3 lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the method according to claim 5. Burlutskiy further teaches further comprising: performing cleaning along an edge of a new obstacle in response to the cleaning robot discovering the new obstacle when performing cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode (see at least, Col 4 lines 19-23, If new objects are detected, the robotic cleaner classifies the new objects…will be classified into the ball and the book, and can be treated as an obstacle during the cleaning operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include performing cleaning along an edge of a new obstacle in response to the cleaning robot discovering the new obstacle is discovered when the cleaning robot performs performing cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode as taught by Burlutskiy in order to clean the cleaning area while controlling not to collide with the obstacle by using the determined information (Burlutskiy, Col 1 lines 26-28).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15. Burlutskiy further teaches the processor is further configured to: control the cleaning robot to perform the daily route cleaning on the region to be cleaned in response to determining that the region to be cleaned has not been subjected to the daily route cleaning (see at least, Col 6 lines 49-55, 1) The robotic cleaner reads a 3D map and its location on the map. 2) The robotic cleaner arranges the robotic cleaner itself in its subspace. Herein, the subspace implies a room in which the robotic cleaner is located at present. 3) The robotic cleaner assigns a subspace to be cleaned. 4) The robotic cleaner downloads a reachability map, and plans a path to the subspace assigned for cleaning).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include control the cleaning robot to perform the daily route cleaning on the region to be cleaned in response to determining that the region to be cleaned has not been subjected to the daily route cleaning as taught by Burlutskiy in order to analyze a covered area and make an optimal decision for faster cleaning (Burlutskiy, Col 3 lines 13-14).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15. Tani further teaches wherein the daily route cleaning comprises: cleaning the boundary region of the region to be cleaned first, and then cleaning the internal region of the region to be cleaned (see at least, Fig 6; [0035] In a normal-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans a room while moving zigzag along a moving path as indicated by the solid arrow in FIG. 6).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Tani and Burlutskiy teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 15. Tani further teaches wherein the controlling the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode comprises: controlling the cleaning robot to directly clean the internal region of the region to be cleaned (see at least, [0035] cleaning modes selectable by a user...In a spot-cleaning mode, for example, the robot cleaner 1 cleans only the central region of a room while moving spirally).
Burlutskiy further teaches avoiding an obstacle and a restricted region which are determined in the daily route cleaning process during cleaning (see at least, Col 5 lines 35, In the first level, the reachability map 423 is built for the 3D map 421 of the cleaned house, and includes a reachable floor area A 531, an unreachable area B 532, and an area C 533 reachable but not suitable for a robotic cleaning operation. …the robotic cleaner cleans the area A 531 except for the area D 534).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified Tani to include avoiding an obstacle and a restricted region which are determined in the daily route cleaning process during cleaning as taught by Burlutskiy in order to clean the cleaning area while controlling not to collide with the obstacle by using the determined information (Burlutskiy, Col 1 lines 26-28).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al. (US 20140100736 A1) discloses controlling the cleaning robot to perform cleaning according to the rapid cleaning mode in response to determining that the daily route cleaning has been performed, wherein the rapid cleaning mode is a mode in which the internal region of the region to be cleaned is cleaned (e.g. [0201] if the robot cleaner is in the simple cleaning mode, at least one of the pattern length L2, the pitch length P2, the first traveling distance, the second traveling distance, and the first angle .theta.1 may be adjusted to a greater value than in the normal cleaning mode since the robot cleaner may need to perform quick, simple cleaning).
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662