DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that the instant application is a national stage entry of application PCT/EP2023/076982, filed on 9/28/2023, which claims priority from US provisional application 63/420757, filed on 10/31/2022.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 25 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6, line 3, “an energy target” should be changed to --the energy target-- to correct antecedence.
Claim 25, line 2, “a pulsed light source” should be changed to --the pulsed light source-- to correct antecedence from claim 23.
Claim 25, line 2-3, “a plasma formation region” should be changed to --the plasma formation region-- to correct antecedence from claim 23.
Appropriate correction is required to place claims in better form.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a tracking module” in lines 4-10 in claim 1; “a tracking module” in lines 7-13 in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 13-19, 21, 22, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 21, the claim limitation “a tracking module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The limitation “a tracking module configured to: determine an amount of accumulated energy of a region that moves through the exposure beam while the region is in the exposure beam; predict whether the accumulated energy of the region will exceed a dose limit prior to leaving the exposure beam; and if the accumulated energy of the region is predicted to exceed the dose limit, provide a control input to the power controller” uses the term “module,” which is a generic placeholder. Additionally, the module is modified by functional language, and the module is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function; therefore, the claim language invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Although the specification uses the language “a tracking module” in paragraphs [0005], [0010]-[0012], [0015], and [0088], the specification does not provide disclosure of the structure that forms the claimed tracking module that performs the claimed functions, and the disclosure fails to clearly link or associate any structure with the claimed functions “determine an amount of accumulated energy of a region that moves through the exposure beam while the region is in the exposure beam; predict whether the accumulated energy of the region will exceed a dose limit prior to leaving the exposure beam; and if the accumulated energy of the region is predicted to exceed the dose limit, provide a control input to the power controller.” The specification does not provide specific details of a corresponding structure for the claimed tracking module. See MPEP 2181, subsection III. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as meaning a controller is configured to perform the recited functions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Thus, claims 1 and 21 and all claims depending therefrom are rejected as being indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites the limitation "the integrator" in 3, but there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 3 introduces “a proportional-integral controller” in line 2. It is unclear whether “the integrator” in line 3 is meant to refer to the proportional-integral controller or whether the claim limitation is meant to introduce a separate integrator structure. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as meaning an integrator. Thus, claim 3 and all claims depending therefrom are rejected as being indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 8, claim 8 recites the limitation "the integrator gain" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because the claim does not properly introduce an integrator. For the purposes of examination, the limitation is being interpreted as meaning an integrator gain. Thus, claim 8 is rejected as being indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-11, 13-19, 21, 22, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 21, the claim limitations “a tracking module” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The limitation “a tracking module configured to: determine an amount of accumulated energy of a region that moves through the exposure beam while the region is in the exposure beam; predict whether the accumulated energy of the region will exceed a dose limit prior to leaving the exposure beam; and if the accumulated energy of the region is predicted to exceed the dose limit, provide a control input to the power controller” uses the term “module,” which is a generic placeholder. Additionally, the module is modified by functional language, and the module is not modified by sufficient structure for performing the claimed function; therefore, the claim language invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure to the function. Although the specification uses the language “a tracking module” in paragraphs [0005], [0010]-[0012], [0015], and [0088], the specification does not provide disclosure of the structure that forms the claimed tracking module that performs the claimed functions, and the disclosure fails to clearly link or associate any structure with the claimed functions “determine an amount of accumulated energy of a region that moves through the exposure beam while the region is in the exposure beam; predict whether the accumulated energy of the region will exceed a dose limit prior to leaving the exposure beam; and if the accumulated energy of the region is predicted to exceed the dose limit, provide a control input to the power controller.” The specification does not provide specific details of a corresponding structure for the claimed tracking module. See MPEP 2181, subsection IV. Therefore, the disclosure does not establish the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. Claims 1 and 21 and all claims depending therefrom are rejected as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10, 13, 14, 18, 19, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ozawa (US Patent No. 5,728,495).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, Ozawa discloses a control apparatus (Figs. 1-6, exposure apparatus) comprising:
a power controller configured to control an amount of energy in an exposure beam (Figs. 1-5, col. 6, lines 9-48, col. 7, lines 52-67, col. 8, lines 1-5, col. 8, lines 43-67, col. 10, lines 28-41, col. 13, lines 30-40, col. 15, lines 5-56, the main control system 13 controls the emission of the pulsed light source using trigger controller 21, controls transmittance of the laser beam using rough energy adjuster 3A and fine energy adjuster 3B, and controls operation of wafer stage drive unit 18 to control the scan velocity of the wafer stage); and
a tracking module (Figs. 1-4A-B, col. 8, lines 21-42, 60-67, col. 9, lines 1-25, col. 10, lines 42-67, col. 11, lines 8-20, col. 12, lines 59-67, col. 13, lines 1-13, col. 13, lines 31-60, col. 14, lines 1-31 main control system 13 and calculator 14 includes performing the functions of Figs. 4A-B) configured to:
determine an amount of accumulated energy of a region that moves through the exposure beam while the region is in the exposure beam (Figs. 1, 4A-B, 5, col. 3, lines 55-67, col. 8, lines 20-42, col. 10, lines 40-67, col. 11, lines 1-40, col. 13, lines 21-30, col. 14, lines 1-30, col. 15, lines 5-56, the integrated exposure dose is calculated while the exposure area of the substrate is scanned through the pulsed illumination);
predict whether the accumulated energy of the region will exceed a dose limit prior to leaving the exposure beam (Figs. 1 and 4A-4B, col. 4, lines 52-67, col. 11, lines 8-67, col. 12, lines 1-58, col. 13, lines 30-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, the calculated exposure dose is compared with a predetermined target to determine whether the dose will exceed the target during exposure); and
if the accumulated energy of the region is predicted to exceed the dose limit, provide a control input to the power controller (Figs. 1 and 4A-B, col. 6, lines 9-48, col. 7, lines 52-67, col. 8, lines 1-5, col. 8, lines 43-67, col. 10, lines 28-41, col. 11, lines 8-67, col. 12, lines 1-58, col. 13, lines 30-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, correction is performed to control emission of the pulsed light source using trigger controller 21, control transmittance using rough energy adjuster 3A and fine energy adjuster 3B, or control operation of wafer stage drive unit 18 to control the scan velocity of the wafer stage when it is determined the dose will exceed the target).
Regarding claim 2, Ozawa discloses wherein providing the control input to the power controller reduces the amount of energy in the exposure beam (Figs. 1, 3, 4A-B, col. 9, lines 30-52, col. 11, lines 23-67, col. 12, lines 29-67, col. 13, lines 30-60, the control system 13 controls the energy amount of the beam to correct the dose when the value exceeds the target).
Regarding claim 6, Ozawa discloses wherein the power controller controls the amount of energy in the exposure beam based on an energy target (Figs. 1 and 4A-B, col. 4, lines 1-5, col. 6, lines 9-48, col. 7, lines 52-67, col. 8, lines 1-5, col. 8, lines 43-67, col. 10, lines 15-41, col. 11, lines 8-67, col. 12, lines 1-58, col. 13, lines 1-14, 30-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, correction is performed to control emission of the pulsed light source using trigger controller 21 and transmittance is controlled based on comparison with the target exposure dose); and
the control input comprises an energy target, and, when the control input is provided to the power controller, the energy target is reduced (Figs. 1, 3, 4A-B, col. 9, lines 30-52, col. 11, lines 23-67, col. 12, lines 29-67, col. 13, lines 30-60, the control system 13 controls the energy amount of the beam to correct the dose when the value exceeds the target).
Regarding claim 9, Ozawa discloses wherein the region is a first region (Figs. 1-4A-B, col. 8, lines 21-42, 60-67, col. 9, lines 1-25, col. 10, lines 42-67, col. 11, lines 8-20, col. 12, lines 59-67, col. 13, lines 1-13, col. 13, lines 31-60, col. 14, lines 1-31 main control system 13 and calculator 14 includes performing the functions of Figs. 4A-B for a first shot area), and the tracking module (Figs. 1, 3, 4A-B) is further configured to:
determine an amount of accumulated energy of a second region that moves through the exposure beam while the second region is in the exposure beam (Figs. 1, 4A-B, 5, col. 3, lines 55-67, col. 8, lines 20-42, col. 10, lines 40-67, col. 11, lines 1-40, col. 11, lines 55-67, col. 12, lines 44-50, col. 13, lines 21-30, col. 14, lines 1-30, col. 15, lines 5-56, in a second shot area, the integrated exposure dose is calculated while the exposure area of the substrate is scanned through the pulsed illumination), the second region being spatially distinct from the first region (Figs. 1, 4A-B, 5, col. 3, lines 55-67, col. 8, lines 20-42, col. 10, lines 40-67, col. 11, lines 1-40, col. 11, lines 55-67, col. 12, lines 44-50, col. 13, lines 21-30, col. 14, lines 1-30, col. 15, lines 5-56, the second and further shot areas are exposed using the steps of Figs. 4A-B until all shots are exposed);
predict whether the accumulated energy of the second region will exceed the dose limit prior to leaving the exposure beam (Figs. 1 and 4A-4B, col. 4, lines 52-67, col. 11, lines 8-67, col. 12, lines 1-58, col. 13, lines 30-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, the calculated exposure dose is compared with a predetermined target to determine whether the dose will exceed the target during exposure of the second shot); and
if the accumulated energy of one or more of the first region and the second region is predicted to exceed the dose limit, provide a control input to the power controller (Figs. 1 and 4A-B, col. 6, lines 9-48, col. 7, lines 52-67, col. 8, lines 1-5, col. 8, lines 43-67, col. 10, lines 28-41, col. 11, lines 8-67, col. 12, lines 1-58, col. 13, lines 30-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, correction is performed to control emission of the pulsed light source using trigger controller 21, control transmittance using rough energy adjuster 3A and fine energy adjuster 3B, or control operation of wafer stage drive unit 18 to control the scan velocity of the wafer stage when it is determined the dose will exceed the target).
Regarding claim 10, Ozawa discloses wherein, the region moves through the exposure beam along a path from a first location at a first side of the exposure beam to a second location at a second side of the exposure beam (Figs. 1-6, col. 3, lines 55-60, col. 7, lines 32-67, col. 8, lines 1-20, col. 9, lines 1-30, col. 10, lines 42-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, the shots on the wafer are exposed by moving the XY stage 17 with wafer W along the scan direction during exposure with exposure area 24W), and to determine the amount of accumulated energy of the region while the region is in the exposure beam (Figs. 1, 4A-B, 5, col. 3, lines 55-67, col. 8, lines 20-42, col. 10, lines 40-67, col. 11, lines 1-40, col. 13, lines 21-30, col. 14, lines 1-30, col. 15, lines 5-56, the integrated exposure dose is calculated while the exposure area of the substrate is scanned through the pulsed illumination), the tracking module is configured to:
determine an amount of energy received at each location between the first location and a current location, the current location being on the path (Figs. 1-6, col. 8, lines 35-44, col. 10, lines 42-67, col. 11, lines 1-40, col. 14, lines 15-37, the exposure dose at respective points in the scan direction in the shot area is determined); and
determine the accumulated energy of the region by summing all of the determined amounts of energy (Figs. 1-6, col. 8, lines 35-44, col. 10, lines 42-67, col. 11, lines 1-40, col. 14, lines 15-37, the integrated exposure dose for the shot area is determined by summing the doses).
Regarding claim 13, Ozawa discloses wherein the region moves through the exposure beam along a path from a first location at a first side of the exposure beam to a second location at a second side of the exposure beam (Figs. 1-6, col. 3, lines 55-60, col. 7, lines 32-67, col. 8, lines 1-20, col. 9, lines 1-30, col. 10, lines 42-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, the shots on the wafer are exposed by moving the XY stage 17 with wafer W along the scan direction during exposure with exposure area 24W), and to predict whether the accumulated energy of the region will exceed a dose limit prior to leaving the exposure beam (Figs. 1 and 4A-4B, col. 4, lines 52-67, col. 11, lines 8-67, col. 12, lines 1-58, col. 13, lines 30-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, the calculated exposure dose is compared with a predetermined target to determine whether the dose will exceed the target during exposure), the tracking module is configured to:
determine if the accumulated energy of the region will exceed the dose limit if the region receives a target amount of energy at each remaining location on the path (Figs. 1 and 4A-B, col. 6, lines 9-48, col. 7, lines 52-67, col. 8, lines 1-5, col. 8, lines 43-67, col. 10, lines 28-41, col. 11, lines 8-67, col. 12, lines 1-58, col. 13, lines 30-67, col. 14, lines 1-37, col. 15, lines 5-56, correction is performed to control emission of the pulsed light source using trigger controller 21, control transmittance using rough energy adjuster 3A and fine energy adjuster 3B, or control operation of wafer stage drive unit 18 to control the scan velocity of the wafer stage when it is determined the dose will exceed the target during exposure of the shot).
Regarding claim 14, Ozawa discloses wherein the target amount of energy varies over time such that the target amount of energy at each remaining location on the path is not constant (Figs. 1-5, col. 6, lines 9-48, col. 7, lines 52-67, col. 8, lines 1-5, col. 8, lines 43-67, col. 10, lines 28-41, col. 11, lines 8-67, col. 12, lines 1-58, col. 13, lines 30-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, correction amount is applied to control emission of the pulsed light source).
Regarding claim 18, Ozawa discloses wherein the dose limit is a range of values, and the accumulated energy of the region is predicted to exceed the dose limit if the accumulated energy is outside of the range of values (Figs. 1-6, col. Figs. 1, 3, 4A-B, col. 4, lines 52-67, col. 9, lines 30-52, col. 11, lines 8-67, col. 12, lines 1-67, col. 13, lines 1-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, the target integrated exposure doses are based on integrated exposure doses in the preceding shots, and the calculated exposure dose is compared with to determine whether the dose will exceed the target during exposure).
Regarding claim 19, Ozawa discloses wherein the power controller is coupled to a light source that emits pulses of light, the exposure beam is formed based on the pulses of light, and the control input controls an energy of pulses of light emitted by the light source to thereby control the amount of energy in the exposure beam (Figs. 1-5, col. 4, lines 1-3, col. 6, lines 1-53, col. 7, lines 19-51, col. 8, lines 20-67, col. 13, lines 31-col. 15, lines 5-56, the main control system 13 is coupled to a pulsed light source 1 that emits light pulses forming the exposure beam. The pulse energy of each light pulse from the pulsed light source is adjusted to control the energy amount).
Regarding claim 21, as best understood, Ozawa discloses a system (Figs. 1-6, exposure apparatus) comprising:
an optical source (Fig. 1, col. 4, lines 1-3, col. 7, lines 19-51, col. 6, lines 1-53, pulsed light source 1) configured to provide light to a lithography apparatus to form an exposure beam in the lithography apparatus (Figs. 1-6, col. 4, lines 1-3, col. 5, lines 60-67, col. 6, lines 1-53, col. 7, lines 19-51, pulsed light source 1 provides light pulses to the projection exposure apparatus to form a patterned beam to expose wafer W); and
a control apparatus (Figs. 1-6, col. 6, lines 9-48, col. 7, lines 52-67, col. 8, lines 1-5, col. 8, lines 43-67, col. 10, lines 28-41, col. 13, lines 30-40, col. 15, lines 5-56, the exposure apparatus comprises main control system 13) comprising:
a power controller configured to control an amount of energy emitted by the optical source (Figs. 1-5, col. 6, lines 9-48, col. 7, lines 52-67, col. 8, lines 1-5, col. 8, lines 43-67, col. 10, lines 28-41, col. 13, lines 30-40, col. 15, lines 5-56, the main control system 13 controls the emission of the pulsed light source using trigger controller 21, controls transmittance of the laser beam using rough energy adjuster 3A and fine energy adjuster 3B, and controls operation of wafer stage drive unit 18 to control the scan velocity of the wafer stage); and
a tracking module (Figs. 1-4A-B, col. 8, lines 21-42, 60-67, col. 9, lines 1-25, col. 10, lines 42-67, col. 11, lines 8-20, col. 12, lines 59-67, col. 13, lines 1-13, col. 13, lines 31-60, col. 14, lines 1-31 main control system 13 and calculator 14 includes performing the functions of Figs. 4A-B) configured to:
determine an amount of accumulated energy of a region that moves through the exposure beam while the region is in the exposure beam (Figs. 1, 4A-B, 5, col. 3, lines 55-67, col. 8, lines 20-42, col. 10, lines 40-67, col. 11, lines 1-40, col. 13, lines 21-30, col. 14, lines 1-30, col. 15, lines 5-56, the integrated exposure dose is calculated while the exposure area of the substrate is scanned through the pulsed illumination);
predict whether the accumulated energy of the region will exceed a dose limit prior to leaving the exposure beam (Figs. 1 and 4A-4B, col. 4, lines 52-67, col. 11, lines 8-67, col. 12, lines 1-58, col. 13, lines 30-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, the calculated exposure dose is compared with a predetermined target to determine whether the dose will exceed the target during exposure); and
if the accumulated energy of the region is predicted to exceed the dose limit, provide a control input to the power controller (Figs. 1 and 4A-B, col. 6, lines 9-48, col. 7, lines 52-67, col. 8, lines 1-5, col. 8, lines 43-67, col. 10, lines 28-41, col. 11, lines 8-67, col. 12, lines 1-58, col. 13, lines 30-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, correction is performed to control emission of the pulsed light source using trigger controller 21, control transmittance using rough energy adjuster 3A and fine energy adjuster 3B, or control operation of wafer stage drive unit 18 to control the scan velocity of the wafer stage when it is determined the dose will exceed the target).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ueda et al. (US Patent No. 5,995,203).
Regarding claim 3, as best understood, Ozawa does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the power controller a proportional-integral controller, and the control input comprises an input of the integrator.
Ueda discloses wherein the power controller a proportional-integral controller, and the control input comprises an input of the integrator (Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 39-67, col. 6, lines 1-22, col. 9, lines 61-67, col. 10, lines 1-12, the exposure controller 54 comprises a PI controller that uses exposure energy feedback as an action signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the power controller a proportional-integral controller, and the control input comprises an input of the integrator as taught by Ueda in the power controller in the control apparatus as taught by Ozawa since including wherein the power controller a proportional-integral controller, and the control input comprises an input of the integrator is commonly used to provide more accurate control of the exposure light amount (Ueda, col. 2, lines 56-67, col. 3, lines 1-4, col. 9, lines 61-67, col. 10, lines 1-12).
Regarding claim 4, Ozawa as modified by Ueda discloses wherein the input of the integrator comprises an energy target and a control limit (Ueda, Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 39-67, col. 6, lines 1-22, col. 9, lines 61-67, col. 10, lines 1-12, the exposure controller 54 comprises a PI controller that uses exposure energy as an input and a target value of the exposure energy).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa as modified by Ueda applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Godfried et al. (US PGPub 2020/0401050, Godfried hereinafter).
Regarding claim 5, Ozawa as modified by Ueda does not appear to explicitly describe wherein, when provided to the power controller, the control limit reduces an amount of integral windup associated with the power controller.
Godfried discloses a control limit reduces an amount of integral windup associated with the power controller (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0011]-[0012], [0062]-[0065], the controller includes a limiter that adjusts the output value according to predetermined limits to reduce integral wind-up).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a control limit reduces an amount of integral windup associated with the power controller as taught by Godfried in the power controller in the control apparatus as taught by Ozawa as modified by Ueda since including a control limit reduces an amount of integral windup associated with the power controller is commonly used to avoid a large variation in correction values between pulses and overshoot errors (Godfried, para. [0065]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ueda in view of Godfried et al. (US PGPub 2020/0401050, Godfried hereinafter).
Regarding claim 7, Ozawa does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the power controller controls the amount of energy in the exposure beam based on a proportional-integral controller; and the control input further comprises a control limit, and when the control limit is provided to the power controller, an amount of integral windup associated with the power controller is reduced
Ueda discloses wherein the power controller controls the amount of energy in the exposure beam based on a proportional-integral controller (Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 39-67, col. 6, lines 1-22, col. 9, lines 61-67, col. 10, lines 1-12, the exposure controller 54 comprises a PI controller that uses exposure energy feedback as an action signal); and
the control input further comprises a control limit (Fig. 1, col. 5, lines 39-67, col. 6, lines 1-22, col. 9, lines 61-67, col. 10, lines 1-12, the exposure controller 54 comprises a PI controller that uses exposure energy as an input and a target value of the exposure energy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included describe wherein the power controller controls the amount of energy in the exposure beam based on a proportional-integral controller; and the control input further comprises a control limit as taught by Ueda in the control apparatus as taught by Ozawa since including describe wherein the power controller controls the amount of energy in the exposure beam based on a proportional-integral controller; and the control input further comprises a control limit is commonly used to provide more accurate control of the exposure light amount (Ueda, col. 2, lines 56-67, col. 3, lines 1-4, col. 9, lines 61-67, col. 10, lines 1-12).
Ozawa as modified by Ueda does not appear to explicitly describe when the control limit is provided to the power controller, an amount of integral windup associated with the power controller is reduced.
Godfried discloses the control input further comprises a control limit, and when the control limit is provided to the power controller, an amount of integral windup associated with the power controller is reduced (Figs. 1-2, paras. [0011]-[0012], [0062]-[0065], the controller includes a limiter that adjusts the output value according to predetermined limits to reduce integral wind-up).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the control input further comprises a control limit, and when the control limit is provided to the power controller, an amount of integral windup associated with the power controller is reduced as taught by Godfried in the control apparatus as taught by Ozawa as modified by Ueda since including the control input further comprises a control limit, and when the control limit is provided to the power controller, an amount of integral windup associated with the power controller is reduced is commonly used to avoid a large variation in correction values between pulses and overshoot errors (Godfried, para. [0065]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa as modified by Ueda in view of Godfried as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Heintze et al. (US PGPub 2008/0036991).
Regarding claim 8, as best understood, Ozawa as modified by Ueda in view of Godfried does not appear to explicitly describe wherein, when the control input is provided to the power controller, the integrator gain is set to zero.
Heintze discloses wherein, when the control input is provided to the power controller, the integrator gain is set to zero (Figs. 1-4, paras. [0048]-[0057], the gain is set to zero for an integrator in a laser controller to control the energy output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein, when the control input is provided to the power controller, the integrator gain is set to zero as taught by Heintze in the control apparatus as taught by Ozawa as modified by Ueda in view of Godfried since including wherein, when the control input is provided to the power controller, the integrator gain is set to zero is used to improve control of successive pulses of a beam to operate beam source as desired (Heintze, paras. [0003], [0058]).
Claims 11 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa as applied to claims 10 and 14 above, and further in view of Op ‘t Root et al. (US PGPub 2018/0203362, Root hereinafter).
Regarding claim 11, Ozawa discloses wherein, determining the amount of energy accumulated at a particular location on the path (Figs. 1-6, col. 8, lines 35-44, col. 10, lines 42-67, col. 11, lines 1-40, col. 14, lines 15-37, the exposure dose at respective points in the scan direction in the shot area is determined) and the tracking module ((Figs. 1-4A-B, col. 8, lines 21-42, 60-67, col. 9, lines 1-25, col. 10, lines 42-67, col. 11, lines 8-20, col. 12, lines 59-67, col. 13, lines 1-13, col. 13, lines 31-60, col. 14, lines 1-31 main control system 13 and calculator 14 includes performing the functions of Figs. 4). Ozawa does not appear to explicitly describe the tracking module is configured to: determine, for the particular location, a weighting factor based on a slit function that defines an energy distribution in the exposure beam; and determine the energy received at the particular location based on the weighting factor and a measured amount of energy, wherein the measured amount of energy is an amount of extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light provided to a lithography apparatus that forms the exposure beam.
Root discloses determine, for the particular location, a weighting factor based on a slit function that defines an energy distribution in the exposure beam (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0007], [0010]-[0020], [0121]-[0123], [0127]-[0130], a weighted sum of the plurality of intensities of a slit profile of the beam is calculated); and
determine the energy received at the particular location based on the weighting factor and a measured amount of energy (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0007], [0010]-[0020], [0121]-[0123], [0127]-[0134], the intensity of the radiation beam is determined using the calculated weighted sum of the measured intensities), wherein the measured amount of energy is an amount of extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light provided to a lithography apparatus that forms the exposure beam (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0007], [0010]-[0020], [0046], [0099]-[0104], [0121]-[0123], [0127]-[0134], [0147]-[0148], the radiation source SO is an EUV radiation source emitting EUV radiation measured in a lithography apparatus).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included determine, for the particular location, a weighting factor based on a slit function that defines an energy distribution in the exposure beam; and determine the energy received at the particular location based on the weighting factor and a measured amount of energy, wherein the measured amount of energy is an amount of extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light provided to a lithography apparatus that forms the exposure beam as taught by Root in the control apparatus as taught by Ozawa since including determine, for the particular location, a weighting factor based on a slit function that defines an energy distribution in the exposure beam; and determine the energy received at the particular location based on the weighting factor and a measured amount of energy, wherein the measured amount of energy is an amount of extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light provided to a lithography apparatus that forms the exposure beam is commonly used to effectively sample and provide a numerical estimate a slit profile during measurement to perform accurate dose control to control critical dimension formation (Root, paras. [0004]-[0007], [0130]).
Regarding claim 15, Ozawa as modified by Root discloses wherein the target amount of energy at each remaining location is determined based on an initial target energy (Ozawa, Figs. 1-6, col. 6, lines 9-48, col. 7, lines 52-67, col. 8, lines 1-5, col. 8, lines 35-67, col. 10, lines 28-67, col. 11, lines 8-67, col. 12, lines 1-58, col. 13, lines 30-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, the exposure dose at respective points in the scan direction in the shot area is determined and correction amount is applied to control emission of the pulsed light source), but Ozawa does not appear to explicitly describe a weighting function that varies with the location.
Root discloses wherein the target amount of energy at each remaining location is determined based on an initial target energy and a weighting function that varies with the location (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0007], [0010]-[0020], [0099]-[0101], [0109], [0119]-[0123], [0127]-[0130], [0143], the dose delivered at the substrate W at each point is controlled by controlling the power of the radiation source and shape of the slit profile in a feedback loop, and a weighted sum of the plurality of intensities of a slit profile of the beam is calculated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the target amount of energy at each remaining location is determined based on an initial target energy and a weighting function that varies with the location as taught by Root in the control apparatus as taught by Ozawa since including wherein the target amount of energy at each remaining location is determined based on an initial target energy and a weighting function that varies with the location is commonly used to effectively sample and provide a numerical estimate a slit profile during measurement to perform accurate dose control to control critical dimension formation (Root, paras. [0004]-[0007], [0130]).
Regarding claim 16, Ozawa as modified by Root discloses wherein the accumulated energy is determined based on the determined target amount of energy at each remaining location and a predefined gain factor (Ozawa, Figs. 1-6, col. 8, lines 35-44, col. 10, lines 42-67, col. 11, lines 1-40, col. 14, lines 15-37, the exposure dose at respective points in the scan direction in the shot area is determined, and the integrated exposure dose for the shot area is determined by summing the doses, and as modified by Root, Figs. 1-5, paras. [0007], [0010]-[0020], [0099]-[0101], [0105]-[0107], 0109], [0119]-[0123], [0127]-[0130], [0143], the dose delivered at the substrate W at each point is controlled by controlling the power of the radiation source in a feedback loop, and the power of the laser is determined using a gain factor).
Regarding claim 17, Ozawa as modified by Root wherein reducing the predefined gain factor reduces the determined amount of accumulated energy such that it is less likely that the accumulated energy will be predicted to exceed the dose limit, and increasing the predefined gain factor increases the determined amount of accumulated energy such that it is more likely that the accumulated energy will be predicted to exceed the dose limit (Ozawa, Figs. 1 and 4A-4B, col. 4, lines 52-67, col. 11, lines 8-67, col. 12, lines 1-58, col. 13, lines 30-60, col. 15, lines 5-56, the calculated exposure dose is compared with a predetermined target to determine whether the dose will exceed the target during exposure of the second shot, and as modified by Root, Figs. 1-5, paras. [0007], [0010]-[0020], [0099]-[0101], [0105]-[0107], 0109], [0119]-[0123], [0127]-[0130], [0143], the dose delivered at the substrate W at each point is controlled by controlling the power of the radiation source. The gain G is directly proportional to the power of the laser, and reducing the gain reduces the power such that the dose delivered will be below the limit, and increasing the gain increases the power and dose delivered, making it more likely to exceed the limit).
Claims 22, 23, and 25 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozawa as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Rich et al. (WO2020/169349, Rich hereinafter)
Regarding claim 22, Ozawa does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the optical source comprises an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light source.
Rich discloses wherein the optical source comprises an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light source (Figs. 1-8, abstract, paras. [0003]-[0005], [0039]-[0042], [0105]-[0106], [0111], [0119]-[0129], the EUV source provides EUV radiation to a lithography system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the optical source comprises an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light source as taught by Rich as the optical source in the system as taught by Ozawa since including wherein the optical source comprises an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) light source is commonly used to provide the desired wavelength to expose patterns with small features (Rich, para. [0003]).
Regarding claim 23, Ozawa discloses wherein the power controller is configured to control the amount of energy emitted by the optical source by controlling a pulsed light source, wherein the power controller is configured to control the amount of energy in the pulses of light (Figs. 1-5, col. 4, lines 1-3, col. 6, lines 1-53, col. 7, lines 19-51, col. 8, lines 20-67, col. 13, lines 31-col. 15, lines 5-56, the main control system 13 is coupled to a pulsed light source 1 that emits light pulses forming the exposure beam. The pulse energy of each light pulse from the pulsed light source is adjusted to control the energy amount), but Ozawa does not appear to explicitly describe wherein a plasma formation region of the EUV light source, and wherein the power controller is configured to control the amount of energy in the pulses of light provided to the plasma formation region of the EUV light source.
Rich discloses wherein the power controller is configured to control the amount of energy emitted by the optical source by controlling a pulsed light source that provides pulses of light to a plasma formation region of the EUV light source, and wherein the power controller is configured to control the amount of energy in the pulses of light provided to the plasma formation region of the EUV light source (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0008], [0010], [0031]-[0037], [0041]-[0042], [0050]-[0058], [0067]-[0069], [0081]-[0083], [0097]-[0103], [0119]-[0129], a light beam from a source emitting optical pulses is directed to a plasma formation region 123, 223, 805 to interact with a target to produce EUV light from a plasma. The control system modulates the energy in a pulse of the light beam prior to the plasma formation region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the power controller is configured to control the amount of energy emitted by the optical source by controlling a pulsed light source that provides pulses of light to a plasma formation region of the EUV light source, and wherein the power controller is configured to control the amount of energy in the pulses of light provided to the plasma formation region of the EUV light source as taught by Rich in the system as taught by Ozawa since including wherein the power controller is configured to control the amount of energy emitted by the optical source by controlling a pulsed light source that provides pulses of light to a plasma formation region of the EUV light source, and wherein the power controller is configured to control the amount of energy in the pulses of light provided to the plasma formation region of the EUV light source is commonly used to quickly control parameters of the light source that irradiates a target to produce EUV light in a plasma to improve exposure dose control (Rich, paras. [0005], [0038], [0099]-[0103]).
Regarding claim 25, Ozawa discloses wherein the power controller is configured to control the amount of energy emitted by the optical source by controlling a pulsed light source (Figs. 1-5, col. 4, lines 1-3, col. 6, lines 1-53, col. 7, lines 19-51, col. 8, lines 20-67, col. 13, lines 31-col. 15, lines 5-56, the main control system 13 is coupled to a pulsed light source 1 that emits light pulses forming the exposure beam. The pulse energy of each light pulse from the pulsed light source is adjusted to control the energy amount), but Ozawa does not appear to explicitly describe a plasma formation region in the EUV light source, and wherein the power controller is further configured to control when the pulses are emitted from the pulsed light source.
Rich discloses wherein the optical source further comprises a pulsed light source that provides the pulses of light to a plasma formation region in the EUV light source, and wherein the power controller is further configured to control when the pulses are emitted from the pulsed light source (Figs. 1-8, paras. [0008], [0010], [0031]-[0037], [0041]-[0042], [0050]-[0058], [0067]-[0069], [0081]-[0083], [0097]-[0103], [0119]-[0129], a light beam from a source emitting optical pulses is directed to a plasma formation region 123, 223, 805 to interact with a target to produce EUV light from a plasma. The control system modulates the timing of the pulses provided to the plasma formation region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the optical source further comprises a pulsed light source that provides the pulses of light to a plasma formation region in the EUV light source, and wherein the power controller is further configured to control when the pulses are emitted from the pulsed light source as taught by Rich in the system as taught by Ozawa since including wherein the optical source further comprises a pulsed light source that provides the pulses of light to a plasma formation region in the EUV light source, and wherein the power controller is further configured to control when the pulses are emitted from the pulsed light source is commonly used to quickly control parameters of the light source that irradiates a target to produce EUV light in a plasma to improve exposure dose control (Rich, paras. [0005], [0038], [0099]-[0103]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882