999DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a first office action on the merits in response to the application filed on May 2, 2025.
Preliminary Amendment – Preliminary amendment to the claims and the specification, filed on May 2, 2025, are acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to the applicant’s election; claims 1-17 have been elected.
Claims 1-20 are pending, and claims 1-17 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs), submitted on 05/02/2025 and 03/04/2026, are in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
The applicant’s election, without traverse of Species A, claims 1-17, is in the reply filed on June 9, 2026.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to non-elected inventions. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant) regards as the invention.
Clams 7 and 15 recite that the server computer retrieves the payload from the remote resource address regarding receiving the payload from the application. Claims 7 and 15 depend on claims 1 and 11, respectively. Claims 1 and 11 recite that the application executed on the mobile device retrieves the payload from the remote resource address. Therefore, it is unclear how the payload is received by the server computer. For examination purpose, the limitation is interpreted as the server computer receiving the payload.
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 8 recites “wherein navigating the remote resource address on the mobile device executes the application on the mobile device.” Claim 8 depends on claim 1, and claim 1 recites “wherein navigating to the remote resource address on the mobile device triggers execution of the application on the mobile device without the application being installed thereon.” Claim 8 does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 16 recites “wherein navigating the remote resource address on the mobile device executes the application on the mobile device.” Claim 16 depends on claim 11, and claim 11 recites “wherein navigating to the remote resource address on the mobile device triggers execution of the application on the mobile device without the application being installed thereon.” Claim 16 does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
The applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-12, 14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gangam et al. (US 20220164786 A1) in view of Guglani et al. (AU 2019203959 A1), and further in view of Kido (WO 2010050192 A1).
Claims 1 and 11:
Gangam discloses the following:
a server computer comprising: one or more processors; and a computer readable medium comprising code, executable by the one or more processors to perform steps comprising. (See Fig. 7; paragraphs [0051]-[0056].)
receiving, by a server computer, credentials associated with a user account. (See paragraph [0023], “[a]lternatively, the sender and receiver can be the same party in the case when a card is added to a sender's own wallet. A transaction card, as referred to herein, can be a temporary card such as a merchant gift card or can be a permanent card such as a debit card”; Figs. 4-6; paragraph [0042], “[a]t step 410, a user initiates the process by submitting for a transaction card. When a user opens a new account, a transaction card can be requested, for example”; paragraph [0046], “[a]t step 510, a request is received from a sender device to send a transaction card to a receiver device”; and paragraph [0048], “[m]ore specifically, at step 610, a transaction is received with sender information, receiver information, and transaction information.”)
generating, by the server computer, an application associated with a remote resource address. (See paragraphs [0023]-[0024]; paragraph [0029], “[a]n alternative implementation sends a download hyperlink for downloading…. Either way, the instant app downloads and executes without permanent installation to an operating system of the receiver device 140”; paragraph [0031], “[t]he instant app generation engine 220 customizes app templates according to various factors, for example, sender data, receiver data, and transaction data”; and paragraphs [0048]-[0049], “[a]t step 630, the instant app template is customized based on at least the sender information, receiver information, and transaction information. In one embodiment, the instant apps are generated automatically in response to a transaction initiated by the sender. In some embodiments herein, the sender is sending to themselves as the receiver.” The customized instant app is generated, and it is associated with a hyperlink.)
transmitting, by the server computer, the application to a mobile device in response to the mobile device navigating to the remote resource address, wherein navigating to the remote resource address on the mobile device triggers execution of the application on the mobile device without the application being installed thereon. (See paragraphs [0006]-[007], “wherein the instant app is executed by an operating system without previous installation by the operating system … wherein the receiver device executes the transaction card instant app in order to transfer the transaction card to an online digital wallet”; paragraph [0029], “[a]n alternative implementation sends a download hyperlink for downloading”; paragraphs [0048]-[0049], “[i]n some embodiments herein, the sender is sending to themselves as the receiver … at step 530, the transaction card instant app is transmitted to the receiver device either directly or indirectly via Google Play Store or Apple Store, or the like. Instant apps can be completely unique and generated on-the-fly for a user, or a prefab instant app is referred for download, based on vendor, type of transaction card, type of asset, and other factors. The receiver device executes the transaction card instant app in order to transfer the transaction card to an online digital wallet”; and claim 2, “sending an SMS via text message with a hyperlink to the transaction card app; and responsive to receiving a hyperlink click, sending the transaction card instant app.”)
receiving, by the server computer from the mobile device, […] (information) from the application when the application is executed on the mobile device. (See paragraph [0029]; paragraph [0033]; Fig. 5; and paragraph [0050], “[a]t step 540, a request to validate the transaction card from the online wallet is received. Responsive to validating the transaction card, at step 650, an approval response is sent.”)
provisioning, by the server computer, (data) associated with the user account on a digital wallet of the mobile device when the application is executed on the mobile device without being installed thereon. (See paragraph [0002], “[t]he wallet system automatically contacts the card networks to get a token and then saves the token securely on the mobile device”; Fig. 4; paragraph [0044], “a mobile transaction is conducted by user with transaction card from online digital wallet. Transactions can be completed using NFR, QR-codes or other wireless or tap mechanisms for in-person transactions”; and paragraph [0050].)
Gangam discloses a digital wallet receiving a transaction card and the wallet utilizing a QR-code to perform the transaction. Gangam further discloses that the wallet system can request and receive a token.
The examiner introduces another reference, Guglani that discloses provisioning a token associated with the user account on a digital wallet of the mobile device when an application is executed on the mobile device. (See paragraphs [0091]-[0097], “[a]ccordingly, the MAP computer 140 may wrap the user data in a JSON Web Encrypted (JWE) object) and send the JSON Web Encrypted (JWE) object to the mobile device Ί10 for each piece of sensitive user data … at step 216 the mobile application 111 may request that the token SDK 112 generate a token provisioning request message for the selected user data (e.g. selected account number(s)) The token provisioning request message may include the encrypted user data received from the MAP computer 140…. The token server computer 160 may use an encryption key to decrypt the user data, identify an account associated with the decrypted user data, generate a token associated with the account, store the token and send the token to the token SDK 112…. At step 218, the token SDK 112 may receive the token associated with the encrypted user data from the token server computer 160.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Guglani in the Gangam system. Moreover, in order to protect the sensitive account information of the Gangam system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provision a token for an associated payment account, so that the sensitive information associated with the payment account can be protected by replacing the sensitive information with the token.
Furthermore, Gangam does not explicitly disclose the following:
encrypting, by the server computer, the credentials with an encryption key to generate encrypted credentials, wherein the encrypted credentials are unique to the user account;
generating, by the server computer, a payload in form of a remote resource address, wherein the payload comprises the encrypted credentials; and
receiving, by the server computer from the mobile device, the payload from the application, wherein the application retrieves the payload from the remote resource address.
Guglani further discloses encrypting, by the server computer, the credentials with an encryption key to generate encrypted credentials, wherein the encrypted credentials are unique to the user account; generating, by the server computer, a payload in form of an object, wherein the payload comprises the encrypted credentials; and receiving, by the server computer from the mobile device, the payload from an application, wherein the application retrieves the payload from the object. (See paragraphs [0091]-[0097], “[a]t step 214, the MAP computer 140 may use an encryption key associated with the token server computer 160 (e.g. an encryption key previously provided to the MAP computer 140 by the token server computer 160) to encrypt the user data…. Accordingly, the MAP computer 140 may wrap the user data in a JSON Web Encrypted (JWE) object) and send the JSON Web Encrypted (JWE) object to the mobile device Ί10 for each piece of sensitive user data…. The token provisioning request message may include the encrypted user data received from the MAP computer 140.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Guglani in the Gangam system as modified. Moreover, in order to improve the security and practicality of the Gangam system as modified, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived to encrypt the credentials, to generate a payload including the encrypted credentials, and to receive the payload retrieved for an object, so that the credentials can be protected via the encryption and that the system can determine further actions based on the received payload.
The combination of Gangam and Guglani discloses the claimed invention but does not explicitly disclose generating, by the server computer, a payload in form of a remote resource address.
Kido discloses generating, by the server computer, a payload in form of a remote resource address, wherein the payload comprises the encrypted credentials. (See paragraphs 1-2, page 10; paragraphs 7-9, page 11, “[n]ext, the initialization URL creating means 30 operates, and encrypts information including at least the user ID and the date / time information (time information) of the change request with the encryption key of the authentication server to generate a URL parameter. An email including the generated URL parameter and a URL for guiding to the password change screen is created and transmitted to the user terminal via the e-mail server 7”; paragraphs 4-5, page 12; and claim 9, page 16, “wherein the URL includes a URL parameter including encrypted information
obtained by encrypting a user ID and time information”.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Kido in the Gangam system as modified. Moreover, in order to improve the flexibility of the Gangam system as modified, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to generate the payload in the form of a remote resource address, so that the remote resource address can be effectively accessed by the user to perform the requested actions.
Examiner’s Note: Regarding claim 11, the cited mobile device that executes the application is out of scope of the claimed server computer.
Claim 2:
Gangam in view of Guglani and Kido discloses the limitations shown above.
Gangam discloses rendering, by the server computer, a user interface associated with an application generation platform of the server computer on the mobile device, wherein the application generation platform receives the credentials from the user interface. (See paragraph [0042]; paragraph [0048]; and paragraph [0057], “[t]he account holder interface 742 can output to a display device and receive input from, for example, a keyboard.”)
Guglani discloses a graphic user interface and wherein the graphical user interface includes a field for receiving the credentials associated with the user account. (See Fig. 2-3; paragraph [0085].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Guglani in the Gangam system as modified. Moreover, in order to improve the usability of the Gangam system as modified, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to implement a graphical user interface to input and/or display information, so as to make the system more user friendly.
Claims 3 and 12:
Gangam in view of Guglani and Kido discloses the limitations shown above.
Gangam discloses receiving, by the server computer from the mobile device, information from the application when the application is executed on the mobile device (see paragraph [0029]; paragraph [0033]; Fig. 5; and paragraph [0050]); receiving, by the server computer, a selection of the digital wallet from the mobile device (see paragraph [0031]; paragraph [0043]; and paragraphs [0049]-[0050]); provisioning, by the server computer, data on a digital wallet (see paragraph [0002]; Fig. 4; and paragraph [0044]).
Guglani discloses receiving, by the server computer, the payload when an application is executed on the mobile device; decrypting, by the server computer, the encrypted credentials in the payload using the encryption key; identifying, by the server computer, the token associated with the credentials; and provisioning, by the server computer, the token on the digital wallet. (See paragraphs [0093]-[0097], “[t]he token server computer 160 may use an encryption key to decrypt the user data, identify an account associated with the decrypted user data, generate a token associated with the account, store the token and send the token to the token SDK 112. Additionally, in some embodiments, the token server computer 160 may determine a previously generated token associated with the decrypted user data, obtain information (e.g. a token key identifying the token) associated with the token, and return the token information to the mobile device 110 in response to a request from the mobile application 111 using the token SDK 112. At step 218, the token SDK 112 may receive the token associated with the encrypted user data from the token server computer 160.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Guglani in the Gangam system as modified. Moreover, in order to improve the practicality of the Gangam system as modified, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to receive payload, to decrypt the credentials, to identify a token, and to provision the token, so that the token can be effectively identified based on the decrypted payload and be effectively provisioned to the digital wallet.
Claim 4:
Gangam in view of Guglani and Kido discloses the limitations shown above.
Gangam disclose wherein provisioning a code associated with a transaction card on the digital wallet adds payment capability to the mobile device using the code. (See paragraph [0044].)
Guglani discloses provisioning a token on the digital wallet adds payment capability to the mobile device using the token. (See paragraphs [0095]-[0096]; paragraph [0104].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Guglani in the Gangam system as modified. Moreover, in order to improve the practicality of the Gangam system as modified, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provision the token on a digital wallet, so that the token can be effectively used for a payment transaction.
Examiner’s Note: Claim 4 recites “wherein provisioning the token on the digital wallet adds payment capability to the mobile device using the token.” This recites indented use of a token. The recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention does not serve to differentiate the claim from the prior art. MPEP § 2103 I C states that language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed or does not limit a claim to a particular structure does not limit the scope of a claim or claim limitation. An example of such language includes statements of intended use or field of use (MPEP § 2103 I C).
Claim 6:
Gangam in view of Guglani and Kido discloses the limitations shown above.
Gangam discloses wherein the application is a lightweight application configured to support provisioning a transaction card and/or data associated with the transaction card on the digital wallet. (See paragraph [0024]; paragraph [0029]; paragraph [0044]; and paragraph [0050].)
Guglani discloses an application configured to support provisioning the token. (See paragraphs [0093]-[0096].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Guglani in the Gangam system. Moreover, in order to protect the sensitive account information of the Gangam system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provision a token for an associated payment account, so that the sensitive information associated with the payment account can be protected by replacing the sensitive information with the token.
Claims 8 and 16:
Gangam in view of Guglani and Kido discloses the limitations shown above.
Gangam discloses wherein navigating the remote resource address on the mobile device executes the application on the mobile device. (See paragraphs [0006]-[007]; paragraph [0029], “[a]n alternative implementation sends a download hyperlink for downloading”; paragraphs [0048]-[0049], “[i]n some embodiments herein, the sender is sending to themselves as the receiver … at step 530, the transaction card instant app is transmitted to the receiver device either directly or indirectly via Google Play Store or Apple Store, or the like. Instant apps can be completely unique and generated on-the-fly for a user, or a prefab instant app is referred for download, based on vendor, type of transaction card, type of asset, and other factors. The receiver device executes the transaction card instant app in order to transfer the transaction card to an online digital wallet”; and claim 2, “sending an SMS via text message with a hyperlink to the transaction card app; and responsive to receiving a hyperlink click, sending the transaction card instant app.”)
Claim 9:
Gangam in view of Guglani and Kido discloses the limitations shown above.
Gangam discloses wherein the application is configured to vanish from the mobile device once the transaction card and/or data associated with the transaction card is provisioned on the digital wallet. (See paragraph [0024]; paragraph [0029]; and paragraph [0050].)
Guglani discloses provisioning the token. (See paragraphs [0093]-[0096].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Guglani in the Gangam system. Moreover, in order to protect the sensitive account information of the Gangam system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provision a token for an associated payment account, so that the sensitive information associated with the payment account can be protected by replacing the sensitive information with the token.
Claims 10 and 17:
Gangam in view of Guglani and Kido discloses the limitations shown above.
Gangam discloses wherein executing the application on the mobile device creates a communication channel between the mobile device and the server computer, wherein the server computer receives data from and transmits data to the mobile device via the communication channel. (See paragraph [0029]; paragraph [0033]; Fig. 5; and paragraph [0050].)
Guglani disclose wherein executing an application on the mobile device an encrypted communication channel for communicating between server computer and the mobile device. (See paragraph [0072], “[i]n some embodiments, the token SDK 112 may have various capabilities … and (4) manage the stored token and associated account parameters (e.g., using a token key), the user data, and API authorization and channel encryption”; paragraph [0094].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Guglani in the Gangam system. Moreover, in order to improve the security of the Gangam system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to create an encrypted channel and to communicate via the encrypted channel, so that the sensitive information can be protected during the communications between different devices and/or entities.
Claim 14:
Gangam in view of Guglani and Kido discloses the limitations shown above.
Gangam discloses wherein the application is a lightweight application configured to support provisioning a transaction card and/or data associated with the transaction card on the digital wallet and further configured to vanish from the mobile device one the transaction card and/or data associated with the transaction card is provisioned on the digital wallet. (See paragraph [0024]; paragraph [0029]; paragraph [0044]; and paragraph [0050].)
Guglani discloses an application configured to support provisioning the token. (See paragraphs [0093]-[0096].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Guglani in the Gangam system. Moreover, in order to protect the sensitive account information of the Gangam system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to provision a token for an associated payment account, so that the sensitive information associated with the payment account can be protected by replacing the sensitive information with the token.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gangam et al. (US 20220164786 A1) in view of Guglani et al. (AU 2019203959 A1), and further in view of Kido (WO 2010050192 A1) and VÄNSKÄ et al. (US 20150358305 A1).
Claims 5 and 13:
Gangam in view of Guglani and Kido discloses the limitations shown above.
None of Gangam, Guglani, and Kido explicitly discloses generating, by the server computer, a payload hash of the payload; and incorporating, by the server computer, the payload hash in the remote resource address.
However, VÄNSKÄ discloses generating, by the server computer, a payload hash of the payload; and incorporating, by the server computer, the payload hash in the remote resource address. (See paragraph [0044].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of VÄNSKÄ in the Gangam system as modified. Moreover, in order to improve the practicality in the Gangam system, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include the hash of a payload in a URL, so that the payload can be effectively validated via the hash value.
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gangam et al. (US 20220164786 A1) in view of Guglani et al. (AU 2019203959 A1), and further in view of Kido (WO 2010050192 A1) and Liu et al. (CN 111181928 A).
Claims 7 and 15:
Gangam in view of Guglani and Kido discloses the limitations shown above.
Gangam discloses authenticating, by the server computer, the mobile device and a user of the mobile device. (See paragraph [0033].)
Guglani discloses an encrypted communication channel between the mobile device and the server computer and receiving, by the server computer, the payload. (See paragraph [0072]; paragraphs [0093]-[0094].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Guglani in the Gangam system as modified. Moreover, in order to improve the security and practicality of the Gangam system as modified, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to encrypt the credentials and to receive the payload retrieved for an object, so that the transmitting of sensitive information can be protected via the encrypted channel and that the system can determine further actions based on the received payload.
None of Gangam, Guglani, and Kido explicitly discloses generating, by the server computer, session keys to communicate with the mobile device; transmitting, by the server computer, the session keys to the mobile device; initializing, by the server computer, a session with the mobile device using the session keys.
However, Liu discloses generating, by the server computer, session keys to communicate with the mobile device; transmitting, by the server computer, the session keys to the mobile device; initializing, by the server computer, a session with the mobile device using the session keys. (See Claim 5, pages 20-21. Examiner’s Note: Claims 7 and 15 recite session keys. Liu discloses a session key. Although Liu does not disclose multiple session keys, the mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) See MPEP 2144.04 VI B)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the subject matter of Liu in the Gangam system as modified. Moreover, in order to improve the security of the Gangam system as modified, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize session keys for a communicating session, so that the data transmitted during the session can be protected by encrypting the data via the session keys.
Conclusion
The prior art, made of record and not relied upon, is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Ragsdale et al. (US 20190215291 A1) discloses systems and methods for providing push notifications to a third-party application executing on a client device. An example can include encrypting user credentials, generating a callback Uniform Resource Locator (“URL”) with at least a portion of the encrypted credentials embedded into the URL, and requesting notifications from an email service to be provided at the callback URL. Upon receiving a notification at the callback URL, a system component can decrypt the credentials within the URL using a private key and log into the email account using those decrypted credentials. The system component can then generate a push notification based on any changes found in the email account and cause the notification to be delivered to the third-party application on the client device.
Ho et al. (WO 2024043835 A1) discloses sharing access to an electronic lock. An access unique resource locator (URL) associated with an instant application is generated. A user receives the access URL on the mobile device, the user can activate the access URL via an access request where upon activation, an instant application is launched on the mobile device. The instant application is an application that can be downloaded and run without the user having to install it on the mobile device, for example, Google Play Instant applications on Android devices or App Clips on iOS devices.
/CHUNLING DING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699