DETAILED ACTION
The following is a Non-Final Office Action in response to communications filed on May 5th 2025. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podhola (US 2024/0034443) in view of Norris et al. (WO 2017/123827) .
Regarding claim 1, Podhola teaches a method for adaptive dynamic positioning of a vessel during offshore charging from a power station, actively assisted by a cable management system, the method comprising the steps of:
(i) establishing a control link between said cable management system, configured to
control at least one characteristic parameter of a charging cable connected between the power station and the vessel (Para. [0142]… The power transfer interface ( 666b) can be
any type of wired/wireless interface configured to transfer power between the rechargeable power source and the water vessel [which can be a traction power transfer for a traction
motor of the water vessel, a power transfer for auxiliaries of the water vessel, and which can have different parameters from the charging/discharging power transfer via the dedicated
charging interface) , and a positioning control system, configured to control a propulsion system of the vessel so as to move the vessel relative to the power station (Para. [0107]… A dynamic anchoring system (not shown) can be used instead which can use any type of position sensors (not shown) and active propelling systems to maintain the position, orientation, to couple with water currents, to drive the station (131) into a port to be serviced, etc. A water vessel at least partially electrically driven (142) can be coupled in a bidirectional power flow with the charging interface (136) and become temporarily a part of the system) ;
(iii) monitoring any one of said at least one characteristic parameter of said charging cable , at least one performance parameter of said propulsion system, a vessel position and/or a vessel heading) relative to the power station (Para. [0107]… A dynamic anchoring system (not shown) can be used instead which can use any type of position sensors (not shown) and active propelling systems to maintain the position, orientation, to couple with water currents, to drive the station (131) into a port to be serviced, etc,) and at least one environmental parameter (Para. [0180]… The offshore charging stations may be situated offshore in the Arctic, the Antarctic, subpolar and cold seas. In that case, components of the OCSs may be designed to be conform with cold/extremely cold/temporarily cold conditions.);
Podhola fails to teach (ii) defining, relative to the power station and based on said at least one characteristic parameter of said charging cable, a first target zone, adapted to effect vessel movement (response) of a first type, and at least one second target zone containing said first target zone, adapted to effect vessel movement of at least one second type; (iv) selectively modifying said first target zone and/or said at least one second target zone in response to a predetermined change of any one of said at least one characteristic parameter of said charging cable, at least one performance parameter of said propulsion system, said vessel position relative to the power station, and said at least one environmental parameter; (v) controlling said positioning control system and said cable management system, so as to maintain the vessel within or move the vessel back towards said first target zone in accordance with said vessel movement of a first type and said vessel movement of a second type, respectively.
However, Norris teaches (ii) defining, relative to the power station and based on said at least one characteristic parameter of said charging cable, a first target zone, adapted to effect vessel movement (response) of a first type, and at least one second target zone containing said first target zone, adapted to effect vessel movement of at least one second type (Norris, Para. [0040]… dynamic positioning thrusters of the vessel may be operated at a first power level when the vessel is in the first response zone and at a higher level when the vessel drifts further away and into the second zone); (iv) selectively modifying said first target zone and/or said at least one second target zone in response to a predetermined change of any one of said at least one characteristic parameter of said charging cable, at least one performance parameter of said propulsion system, said vessel position relative to the power station, and said at least one environmental parameter ( Norris, Para. [0040]… A first response zone may then be established about the target location (see 630) as well as a second response zone about the first zone (640). Of course, in some embodiments further zones may be established concentrically in this same fashion to dictate additional different thruster power responses as described above and here);
(v) controlling said positioning control system and said cable management system, so as
to maintain the vessel within or move the vessel back towards said first target zone in accordance with said vessel movement of a first type and said vessel movement of a second type, respectively (Norris, Para. [0029-0030]… For example, a first low power response zone 250 is defined with a perimeter immediately about the target location 100 with the next outer region being a second moderate power response zone 275. In an embodiment where the entire predetermined region 200 includes a radius of 50 meters, the low power response zone 250 may have about a 30 foot radius with the remainder of the region 200 constituting the moderate power response zone. As the terms imply, the response zones 250, 275 are characterized by the power applied to thrusters of the vessel 110 in directing it back to the target location 100 in circumstances where it has drifted away…)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the offshore charging station as taught by Podhola with the dynamic offshore vessel positioning technique as taught by Norris to keep the vessel in the targeted zone of safety for delivery of materials (Norris, Para. [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, Podhola in view of Norris, teach a method according to claim 1, wherein said vessel movement of a first type is a passive vessel movement assisted by said cable management system via said charging cable (Norris, Para. [0008]…The system is used to automatically control the above mentioned thrusters in response to waves and general motion of the sea. Thus, the reliability of the system is particularly important during times of more severe weather.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the offshore charging station as taught by Podhola with the dynamic offshore vessel positioning technique as taught by Norris to keep the vessel in the targeted zone of safety for delivery of materials (Norris, Para. [0008])
Regarding claim 3, Podhola in view of Norris teach a method according to claim 1 , wherein said vessel movement of a second type is an active vessel movement actuated by said propulsion system and assisted by said cable management system via said charging cable (Norris, Para. [0030…the response zones 250, 275 are characterized by the power applied to thrusters of the vessel 110 in directing it back to the target location 100 in circumstances where it has drifted away.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the offshore charging station as taught by Podhola with the dynamic offshore vessel positioning technique as taught by Norris to keep the vessel in the targeted zone of safety for delivery of materials (Norris, Para. [0008])
Regarding claim 4, Podhola in view of Norris teach a method according to claim 1, wherein said at least one characteristic parameter of said charging cable comprises any one of a cable length, a cable tension and a cable catenary (Norris, Para. [0039]… a laterally movable weight 501 for centering of the hose 125 and controlling its amount of slack between the vessel 110 and the rig 150.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the offshore charging station as taught by Podhola with the dynamic offshore vessel positioning technique as taught by Norris to keep the vessel in the targeted zone of safety for delivery of materials (Norris, Para. [0008])
Regarding claim 5, Podhola in view of Norris teach a method according to claim 1, wherein said at least one performance parameter of said propulsion system comprises any one of an energy power, consumption rate, an energy charging rate, an energy storage capacity (Norris, Para. [0040]… dynamic positioning thrusters of the vessel may be operated at a first power level when the vessel is in the first response zone and at a higher level when the vessel drifts further away and into the second zone (see 670).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the offshore charging station as taught by Podhola with the dynamic offshore vessel positioning technique as taught by Norris to keep the vessel in the targeted zone of safety for delivery of materials (Norris, Para. [0008])
Regarding claim 6, Podhola in view of Norris teach a method according to claim 1 , wherein said cable management system is adapted to provide dynamic feedback to said position control system and vice versa, so as to operably coordinate actions of said cable management system with actions of said position control system (Podhola, Para. [0107]… A dynamic anchoring system (not shown) can be used instead which can use any type of position sensors (not shown) and active propelling systems to maintain the position, orientation, to couple with water currents, to drive the station (131) into a port to be serviced, etc)
Regarding claim 8, Podhola in view of Norris teach a method according claim 1, wherein said vessel position and said vessel heading relative to said power station is provided by any one of a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), an acoustic- or radar based position reference system and an optical- or laser based position reference system (Podhola, Para. [0107]… A dynamic anchoring system (not shown) can be used instead which can use any type of position sensors (not shown) and active propelling systems to maintain the position, orientation, to couple with water currents, to drive the station (131) into a port to be serviced, etc.
Regarding claim 13, Podhola in view of Norris teach a method according to claim 1, wherein the power station is any one of an off shore and onshore renewable energy station, configured to generate and/or transfer electric energy (Podhola, Para. [0189]… Hydrogen powering system using renewable sources ( arrays of solar cells, wind energy to electric energy
converters, wave energy to electric energy converters, water currents energy to electric energy converters, tidal energy to electric energy converters) may provide a power reserve to
be used for electricity production and supply by the OCS ( e.g. in peak load times) or may be a principal power source.)
Regarding claim 14, Please refer to the rejection of claim 1 which is commensurate in scope.
Regarding claim 15, Podhola in view of Norris teach a system according to claim 14, wherein said cable management system comprises an adaptive catenary and tension control system configured to monitor and control said at least one characteristic parameter of said charging cable (Norris, Para. [0039]… a laterally movable weight 501 for centering of the hose 125 and controlling its amount of slack between the vessel 110 and the rig 150)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the offshore charging station as taught by Podhola with the dynamic offshore vessel positioning technique as taught by Norris to keep the vessel in the targeted zone of safety for delivery of materials (Norris, Para. [0008])
Regarding claim 16, please refer to the rejection of claim 4, which is commensurate in scope.
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podhola (US 2024/0034443) in view of Norris et al. (WO 2017/123827) in further view of Lee (US 2015/0246711) .
Regarding claim 7, Podhola in view of Norris teach a method according to claim 1, Lee teaches further wherein step (ii) is based on at least one environmental parameter in addition to said characteristic parameter of said charging cable, said at least one environmental parameter being measured in real-time and/or provided from historical data, and/or provided from a predictive model (Lee, [0094]... the method being implemented on a system for static and dynamic positioning or motion control of a marine structure by using real-time monitoring of at least one of a mooring line, marine environments, 6-dof movement of a marine structure, a tank state, a ship topside, the seabed, or their combinations, the system including: a processor unit 100 having at least one interface; a light sensor measuring unit 200a to 200/ connected to the processor unit 100 to operate for at least one of a mooring line, marine environment….)
It would be to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Podhola in view of Norris with the system for controlling motion of marine structure to provide real-time monitoring of the seabed for optimal static and dynamic positioning of a marine structure. (Lee, Para. [0002-0007]).
Regarding claim 12, Podhola in view of Norris teach a method according to claim 1, Lee teaches further wherein step (ii) and/or step (iv) utilize artificial intelligence (Al) to define and/or selectively modify any one of said first target zone and at least one second target zone based on any one of said at least one characteristic parameter of said charging cable, said at least one performance parameter of said propulsion system, said vessel position relative to the power station, and said at least one environmental parameter (Lee, Para. [0150]… the algorithm controlling processor 600 changes all signals of the light sensor measuring unit 200a to 200/for a mooring line, marine environments, 6-dof movement of a marine structure, a tank state, a ship topside or the seabed and the data measuring unit 300a to 300/for a mooring line, marine environments, 6-dof movement of a marine structure, a tank state, a ship topside or the seabed. After that, the processor unit 100 pulls or releases the mooring line 7 connected to the motor winch 910 by means of a control algorithm of the algorithm controlling processor 600 by using the changed data…)
It would be to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Podhola in view of Norris with the system for controlling motion of marine structure to provide real-time monitoring of the seabed for optimal static and dynamic positioning of a marine structure. (Lee, Para. [0002-0007]).
Claim(s) 9-11 and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podhola (US 2024/0034443) in view of Norris et al. (WO 2017/123827) in further view of Popesco (US 2007/0251784).
Regarding claim 9, Podhola in view of Norris teach a method according to claim 1, Popesco further teaches wherein step (v) further comprises controlling a cable guide and/or a cable connector provided at the power station and/or at the vessel so as to optimize cable alignment between the power station and the vessel, during charging (Popesco, Para. [0043]… The MPS system 12 further comprises a pivotable cable guide 40 arranged near the dock-facing sidewall of the power supply container 14…)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Podhola in view of Norris with the maritime power supply system as taught by Popesco to provide improved maritime power supply for supplying power to a docked ship (Popesco, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 10, Podhola in view of Norris and Popesco teach a method according to claim 9, wherein said cable guide and/or said cable connector are actively actuatable (Popesco, Para. [0043]… The cable guide 40 is pivotable between an active position as shown in FIG. 4 and a rest position as shown in dotted lines in FIG. 4.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Podhola in view of Norris with the maritime power supply system as taught by Popesco to provide improved maritime power supply for supplying power to a docked ship (Popesco, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Podhola in view of Norris and Popesco teach a method according to claim 9, wherein said cable guide and/or said cable connector are passively actuatable (Popesco, Para. [0043]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Podhola in view of Norris with the maritime power supply system as taught by Popesco to provide improved maritime power supply for supplying power to a docked ship (Popesco, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 17, Podhola in view of Norris teach a system according to claim 15, Popesco further teaches wherein said adaptive catenary and tension control system comprises a motor driven reeling drum (Popesco, Para. [0041]… The cable management system 15 comprises a rotatably arranged reel 18 for receiving the power cable assembly 16 thereon. Upon rotation of the reel 18, generally by operating a motor coupled to a cable drum of the reel 18, the power cable assembly 16 is wound onto the reel 18 or unwound therefrom.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Podhola in view of Norris with the Maritime power supply system as taught by Popesco to provide improved maritime power supply for supplying power to a docked ship (Popesco, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 18, Podhola in view of Norris teach a system according to claim 14 , Popesco teaches further comprising at least one cable connector, adapted to operably connect to an end portion of said charging cable (Popesco, Para. [0034]… The power cable assembly 16 has, at a first end, first connection means (not shown) for connecting the cable management system 18 to the container ship 10 and, at an opposite second end, second connection means 22, preferably 6600 V electrical connectors, for connecting the cable management system 18 to a dockside power supply 24. The reel 18 is arranged such that the power cable assembly 16 can be wound thereon and wound therefrom as needed.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Podhola in view of Norris with the Maritime power supply system as taught by Popesco to provide improved maritime power supply for supplying power to a docked ship (Popesco, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 19, Podhola in view of Norris and Popesco teach a system according to claim 18, wherein said at least one cable connector is adapted to actively and/or passively rotate in line with the orientation of said charging cable, during use (Popesco, Para. [0042]…the reel 18 can be arranged in the power supply container 14 with its rotational axis perpendicular to a dock-facing sidewall of the container 14 or, as shown in FIG. 3, with its rotational axis parallel to the dock-facing sidewall.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Podhola in view of Norris with the Maritime power supply system as taught by Popesco to provide improved maritime power supply for supplying power to a docked ship (Popesco, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 20, Podhola in view of Norris teach a system according to claim 14, Popesco further teaches wherein said cable management system further comprises at least one cable guide adapted to provide for a predetermined rotational movement of said charging cable, during use (Popesco, Para. [0041])
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Podhola in view of Norris with the Maritime power supply system as taught by Popesco to provide improved maritime power supply for supplying power to a docked ship (Popesco, Para. [0005]).
Regarding claim 21, Podhola in view of Norris and Popesco teach a system according to claim 20, wherein said cable guide is actively and/or passively controllable (Popesco, Para. [0014]… The MPS system can further comprise a pendant or radio control unit for controlling the motor of the reel and/or the hydraulic pump of the cable guide.)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Podhola in view of Norris with the maritime power supply system as taught by Popesco to provide improved maritime power supply for supplying power to a docked ship (Popesco, Para. [0005]).
Conclusion
/JODI JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666