DETAILED ACTION
This is a non-final Office action in response to communications received on 5/06/2025. Claims 1-62 were cancelled via preliminary amendment. New claims 63-80 were added. Claims 63-80 are pending and are examined. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Drawings
The drawings filed 5/06/2025 are acknowledged.
Foreign Priority or Provisional
Priority to 11/07/2022 is recognized.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, second paragraph
Claims 64-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 64-65 are rejected as indefinite because it is unclear which “request” is being referred to from the independent claim – which has multiple requests.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 63-69 and 71-80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 20250184731).
Regarding claim 63, Hu discloses the limitations substantially as follows:
A method performed by communication equipment configured to invoke an application programming interface (API) to access a service, the method comprising:
transmitting, to network equipment, a request for an access token (paras. [0068], [0547], Figs. 4-5: transmitting to network elements such as an authorization function, common API framework core function (CCF) or API exposing function (AEF), an authorization request/access token request to obtain a token);
receiving, in response to the request, an access token that indicates whether a resource owner authorizes the communication equipment to access a protected resource of the resource owner (paras. [0028], [0114], [0336]-[0337], [0503], [0544], [0550]-[0551], Figs. 4-5: receiving, in response to a request sent from the network element API invoker, an authorization response including a first token with integrity protection and a target user identifier indicating that the API invoker has permission to access data of a target user and an including an identifier of the target user (i.e. resource owner));
transmitting, to API exposing equipment configured to expose the API, a request to invoke the API (paras. [0114], [0558], Figs. 4-5: transmit to API exposing function network element (AEF) a API invocation request message to invoke a target API); and
transmitting, to the API exposing equipment, the access token (paras. [0114], [0560], Figs. 4-5: transmitting to the AEF the first token as part of the invocation request)).
Hu does not explicitly disclose an access token indicating that the resource owner authorizes the communication equipment to access a protected resource of the resource owner, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing data of the invention that Hu discloses such functionality because Hu discloses receiving a first token with integrity protection and a target user identifier indicating that the API invoker has permission to access data of a target user, where including the target user identifier in the token increases the security of the system by enabling the generation of “a token of a finer granularity (including a user identifier 1), so that user consent information is considered in an authorization process, and a granularity can be that an NF 1 authorizes an NF2 to access an API and invoke data of a user” (Hu, para. [0587]) and enabling a message received with the token to be verified by comparing the user identifier in the message with the user identifier in the token.
Regarding claim 64, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 64 as follows:
The method of claim 63, wherein the access token is included in the request (paras. [0114]: transmitting to the AEF the first token as part of the invocation request)).
Regarding claim 65, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 65 as follows:
The method of claim 63, wherein transmitting the request and the access token comprises transmitting, to the API exposing equipment, a message that includes both the request and the access token (paras. [0114]: transmit to API exposing function network element AEF a API invocation request message to invoke a target API including the first token).
Regarding claim 66, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 66 as follows:
The method of claim 63, wherein transmitting the access token comprises transmitting the access token to the API exposing equipment before, or at the same time as, transmitting the request to the API exposing equipment (paras. [0114]: transmit to API exposing function network element AEF a API invocation request message to invoke a target API (i.e. the request with the first token (i.e. access token transmitted at same time)).
Regarding claim 67, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 67 as follows:
The method of claim 63, wherein the access token includes authorization information asserting that the resource owner authorizes, or does not authorize, the communication equipment to access the protected resource of the resource owner (paras. [0114], [0337] [0503], [0544], [0550]-[0551]: the first token includes an identifier of the target user/resource owner indicating that the target user authorizes the invocation of the target API (i.e. accessing protected resource of the resource owner) by the API Invoker).
Regarding claim 68, Hu discloses the limitations of claims 63 and 67.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 68 as follows:
The method of claim 67, wherein the authorization information is a claim asserting that the resource owner authorizes, or does not authorize, the communication equipment to access the protected resource of the resource owner (paras. [0114], [0503], [0544], [0550]-[0551]: the first token includes an identifier of the target user/resource owner indicating that the target user authorizes the invocation of the target API (i.e. accessing protected resource of the resource owner) by the API Invoker).
Regarding claim 69, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 69 as follows:
The method of claim 63, wherein the access token is an OAuth 2.0 access token (paras. [0185], [0342]: token is an 2.0 OAuth access token)).
Regarding claim 71, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 71 as follows:
The method of claim 63, wherein the communication equipment is a user equipment (paras. [0145], [0169]: API invoker may be user equipment).
Regarding claim 72, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 72 as follows:
The method of claim 63, wherein the resource owner is a user of the communication equipment (paras. [0168]: resource owner client).
Regarding claim 73, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 73 as follows:
The method of claim 63, wherein the communication equipment is network equipment that implements an application function (AF) (paras. [0168]-[0169], Fig. 1: API invoker is a UE or AF).
Regarding claim 74, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 74 as follows:
The method of claim 63, wherein the access token also asserts that the communication equipment is authorized to access the API (para. [0114]: receiving, in response to a request sent from the network element API invoker, an authorization response including a first token indicating that the API invoker has permission to access data of a target user and an including an identifier of the target user (i.e. resource owner)).
Regarding claim 75, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 75 as follows:
The method of claim 63, further comprising, before transmitting the request for the access token:
transmitting an authorization request to the network equipment (paras. [0531], [0533], Figs. 2c: transmitting an authorization request to the AuF/CCF prior to transmitting an access token request); and
receiving, in response to the authorization request, an authorization code that is a credential representing authorization of the resource owner (paras. [0272], [0503], [0544], [0553], Fig. 2c: receiving, in response to the response to the authorization request, a response to the authorization request including authorization code representing authorization of the user and a token with integrity protection including a user identifier of the target owner representing consent from the resource owner to access the user/owner data);
wherein the request for the access token includes the authorization code (paras. [0272], [0275], Fig, 2c: wherein the access token request message includes the authorization code authorization request includes an identifier of the target user).
Regarding claim 76, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 76 as follows:
The method of claim 63, wherein the network equipment implements a CAPIF Core Function (paras. [0168]-[0169]: API invoker implements CAPIF architecture).
Regarding claim 77, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 77 as follows:
The method of claim 63, wherein the network equipment is common API core equipment (paras. [0012], [0076]-[0077]: API invoker works with common API framework core function network elements)).
Regarding claim 78, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu discloses the limitations of claim 78 as follows:
The method of claim 63, wherein the network equipment is an authorization server (paras. [0168]-[0169]: API invoker may be implemented as third-party application provider/server).
Regarding claim 79, Hu discloses the limitation substantially as follows:
Communication equipment comprising:
processing circuitry and memory, the memory containing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the communication equipment is configured to:
transmit, to network equipment, a request for an access token (paras. [0068], [0547], Figs. 4-5: transmitting to network elements such as an authorization function, common API framework core function (CCF) or API exposing function (AEF), an authorization request/access token request to obtain a token);
receive, in response to the request, an access token that indicates whether a resource owner authorizes the communication equipment to access a protected resource of the resource owner (paras. [0028], [0114], [0336]-[0337], [0503], [0544], [0550]-[0551], Figs. 4-5: receiving, in response to a request sent from the network element API invoker, an authorization response including a first token with integrity protection and a target user identifier indicating that the API invoker has permission to access data of a target user and an including an identifier of the target user (i.e. resource owner));
transmit, to API exposing equipment configured to expose the API, a request to invoke the API (paras. [0114], [0558], Figs. 4-5: transmit to API exposing function network element (AEF) a API invocation request message to invoke a target API); and
transmit, to the API exposing equipment, the access token (paras. [0114], [0560], Figs. 4-5: transmitting to the AEF the first token as part of the invocation request)).
Hu does not explicitly disclose an access token indicating that the resource owner authorizes the communication equipment to access a protected resource of the resource owner, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing data of the invention that Hu discloses such functionality because Hu discloses receiving a first token with integrity protection and a target user identifier indicating that the API invoker has permission to access data of a target user, where including the target user identifier in the token increases the security of the system by enabling the generation of “a token of a finer granularity (including a user identifier 1), so that user consent information is considered in an authorization process, and a granularity can be that an NF 1 authorizes an NF2 to access an API and invoke data of a user” (Hu, para. [0587]) and enabling a message received with the token to be verified by comparing the user identifier in the message with the user identifier in the token.
Regarding claim 80, Hu discloses the limitation substantially as follows:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium on which is stored a computer program comprising instructions which, when executed by at least one processor of communication equipment, causes the communication equipment to:
transmit, to network equipment, a request for an access token (paras. [0068], [0547], Figs. 4-5: transmitting to network elements such as an authorization function, common API framework core function (CCF) or API exposing function (AEF), an authorization request/access token request to obtain a token);
receive, in response to the request, an access token that indicates whether a resource owner authorizes the communication equipment to access a protected resource of the resource owner (paras. [0028], [0114], [0336]-[0337], [0503], [0544], [0550]-[0551], Figs. 4-5: receiving, in response to a request sent from the network element API invoker, an authorization response including a first token with integrity protection and a target user identifier indicating that the API invoker has permission to access data of a target user and an including an identifier of the target user (i.e. resource owner));
transmit, to API exposing equipment configured to expose the API, a request to invoke the API (paras. [0114], [0558], Figs. 4-5: transmit to API exposing function network element (AEF) a API invocation request message to invoke a target API); and
transmit, to the API exposing equipment, the access token (paras. [0114], [0560], Figs. 4-5: transmitting to the AEF the first token as part of the invocation request)).
Hu does not explicitly disclose an access token indicating that the resource owner authorizes the communication equipment to access a protected resource of the resource owner, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing data of the invention that Hu discloses such functionality because Hu discloses receiving a first token with integrity protection and a target user identifier indicating that the API invoker has permission to access data of a target user, where including the target user identifier in the token increases the security of the system by enabling the generation of “a token of a finer granularity (including a user identifier 1), so that user consent information is considered in an authorization process, and a granularity can be that an NF 1 authorizes an NF2 to access an API and invoke data of a user” (Hu, para. [0587]) and enabling a message received with the token to be verified by comparing the user identifier in the message with the user identifier in the token.
Claim 70 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (US 20250184731), as applied to claim 63, further in view of Rajadurai (US 2019/0149576).
Regarding claim 70, Hu discloses the limitations of claim 63.
Hu does not disclose the limitations of claim 70 but, in the same field of endeavor, Rajadurai discloses the limitations of claim 70 as follows:
The method of claim 63, wherein the API is a Northbound API (paras. [0031]-[0032]: northbound API).
Rajadurai is combinable with Hu because both are from the same field of endeavor of OAuth authorization in order to transmit an access token to API exposing equipment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing data of the invention to integrate Rajadurai’s method of incorporating a Northbound API with the APIs of Hu in order to establish a clear, bidirectional architectural layer which encompasses interfaces facing outwards towards higher-level management and provide a single point of entry to enforce authentication.
Prior Art Considered But Not Relied Upon
Prior art considered but not relied upon includes:
1) Liang (US 2026/0039644) disclosing a method for authenticating an application program interface (API) invoker enhances secure communication between API invokers and a Common Application Program Interface Framework (CAPIF). An API invoker authentication apparatus is provided, which is performed by a CAPIF function, including: [0127] a receiving module, configured to receive first request information sent by an application program interface (API) invoker, where the first request information includes authentication information of the API invoker including at least one of: a token of the API invoker, a key pair of the API invoker, and a public key of the API invoker. Here, the token of the API invoker may be, but is not limited to, an OAuth 2.0 token. The API invoker sends the first request information to the CAPIF function, where the first request information includes the authentication information of the API invoker, and the authentication information is used for the CAPIF function to authenticate the identity of the API invoker. (paras. [0202]-[0203]).
Conclusion
For the above-stated reasons, claims 63-80 are rejected.
/SHARON S LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2438