Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 9, 10, 19, 21, 23, 26, and 27 contain the limitation of a “low ductility material”. Paragraph 0047 of Applicant’s specification provides the special definition of “low ductility material” as one or more materials which collectively have a ductility value of 1-30%. As such, the limitation of “low ductility material” is being interpreted in accordance with this special definition regardless of whether the claim includes a specific ductility value.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16, line 6 contains the limitation “the second oblique tensioning structure”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 17 additionally includes the limitation of “the second oblique tensioning structure” in lines 4-5. For examination purposes, it is assumed the second oblique tensioning structure of claims 16 and 17 is intended to refer to the “lower oblique tensioning structure” introduced in lines 2-3 of claim 16.
Additionally, claim 17 contains the limitation of “the at least one inner tensioning structure” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, it is assumed “the at least one inner tensioning structure” was intended to refer to the same structure as the “at least on tensioning structure arranged within the chamber” that is introduced in line 7 of claim 9.
Claim 18 contains the limitation of “the at least one inner tensioning structure” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, it is assumed “the at least one inner tensioning structure” was intended to refer to the same structure as the “at least on tensioning structure arranged within the chamber” that is introduced in line 7 of claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 9-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0196368) in view of Silvia (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0313027).
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches an inflatable bed body structure 10 comprising: a top panel 11; an enclosure belt 13 with a first edge coupled to the top panel 11, a bottom panel 12 coupled to a second edge of the enclosure belt 13 so that the bottom panel is positioned opposite from the top panel 11 (Figure 5) and the top panel 11, the enclosure belt 13, and the bottom panel 12 form an chamber therebetween (Figure 5); and an oblique panel 151 having: a first edge coupled to one of the top panel 11 and the bottom panel 12 (see annotated Figure 7, below); and a second edge coupled to the enclosure belt 13 (see annotated Figure 7, below).
Liu does not disclose wherein the oblique panel is formed from a low ductility material having a ductility value of from and including about 1% to and including about 30%.
Silvia teaches a low ductility material having a ductility value of from and including about 1% to and including about 30% (paragraph 0036 and Table 1, where the elongation at break percentage is 21% for the fabric).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Liu (directed to an inflatable mattress) with Silvia (directed to a material used for an inflatable mattress) such that the oblique panel is formed from a low ductility material having a ductility value of from and including about 1% to and including about 30%. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the multi-layered material of Silvia exhibits high screw puncture resistance and tensile strength compared to typical materials used in inflatable mattresses (paragraphs 0033 and 0064).
Regarding claim 2, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the oblique panel 151 is arranged at a lateral edge of the inflatable bed body structure 10 within the chamber (see Liu, Figure 5 and annotated Figure 7, above).
Regarding claim 3, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Liu, as modified, further discloses a second oblique panel 161 having a first edge coupled at the other of the top panel 11 and the bottom panel 12 and a second edge coupled to the enclosure belt 13 (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above).
Regarding claim 4, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 3. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the second oblique panel 161 is arranged vertically adjacent to the oblique panel 151 (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above).
Regarding claim 5, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Liu, as modified, further discloses an oblique tensioning structure 151 (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above) having a first edge coupled to one of the top panel 11 and the bottom panel and a second edge coupled to the enclosure belt 13 (see annotated Figure 7, above), the oblique tensioning structure 151 arranged at a longitudinal edge of the inflatable bed body structure 10 within the chamber (see Liu, Figure 5 and annotated Figure 7, above).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses an inflatable bed body structure 10 comprising: a top panel 11; an enclosure belt 13 with a first edge coupled to the top panel 11; a bottom panel 12 coupled to a second edge of the enclosure belt 13 so that the bottom panel 12 is positioned opposite from the top panel 11 (Figure 5) and the top panel 11, the enclosure belt 13, and the bottom panel 12 form an internal chamber (Figure 5, the chamber defined by the internal space enclosed by the top panel, bottom panel, and enclosure belt 13); at least one tensioning structure 14 arranged within the chamber, a first edge (defined by the top edge of panel 14) of the at least one tensioning structure 14 coupled to the top panel 11 and a second edge (defined by the bottom edge of panel 14) of the at least one tensioning structure 14 coupled to the bottom panel 12 (Figures 5-6) a first oblique panel 151 having a first edge coupled to the top panel 11 and a second edge coupled to the enclosure belt 13 (see annotated Figure 7, above); and a second oblique panel 151 having a first edge coupled to the enclosure belt 13 and a second edge coupled to the bottom panel 12;
Liu does not disclose at least one tensioning structure arranged within the chamber, a first edge of the at least one tensioning structure coupled to the top panel and a second edge of the at least one tensioning structure coupled to the bottom panel; wherein the first oblique panel and the second oblique panel are each formed of a low ductility material.
Silvia teaches a low ductility material (paragraph 0036 and Table 1, where the elongation at break percentage is 21% for the fabric).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Liu (directed to an inflatable mattress) with Silvia (directed to a material used for an inflatable mattress) such that the oblique panel is formed from a low ductility material. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the multi-layered material of Silvia exhibits high screw puncture resistance and tensile strength compared to typical materials used in inflatable mattresses (paragraphs 0033 and 0064).
Regarding claim 10, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 9. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the ductility value of the low ductility material is from and including about 1% to and including about 30% (see Silvia, paragraph 0036 and Table 1, where the elongation at break percentage is 21% for the fabric).
Regarding claim 11, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 9. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein at least one of the first oblique panel and the second oblique panel comprises an attachment layer 26 and 27 and a strand layer 11 coupled to the attachment layer (see Silvia, Figure 5 and paragraphs 0052-0054).
Regarding claim 12, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 9 and 11. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the attachment layer 26 and 27 comprises a first attachment layer 26 and a second attachment layer 27 (see Silvia, Figure 5 and paragraphs 0052-0054).
Regarding claim 13, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 9 and 11-12. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the strand layer 11 is positioned between the first attachment layer 26 and the second attachment layer 27 (see Silvia, Figure 5 and paragraphs 0052-0054).
Regarding claim 14, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 9 and 11. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the attachment layer 26 and 27 comprises at least one of PVC tape and TPU tape. (see Silvia, paragraphs 0039, 0042, 0043, and Table 2).
Regarding claim 15, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 9. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the inflatable bed body structure further comprises an oblique tensioning structure 151 and 161 arranged in the chamber (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above), the oblique tensioning structure 151 and 161 including: a first edge coupled to one of the top panel 11 and the bottom panel; and a second edge coupled to the enclosure belt 13 (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above).
Regarding claim 16, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 9 and 15. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the oblique tensioning structure 151 and 161 comprises a first oblique tensioning structure 151 and a lower oblique tensioning structure 161 (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above), and wherein: the first oblique tensioning structure 151 includes a first edge coupled to the top panel 11 and a second edge coupled to the enclosure belt 13 (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above); and the second oblique tensioning structure 161 includes a first edge coupled to the enclosure belt 13 and a second edge coupled to the bottom panel 12 (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above).
Claims 6-8, 19-24, and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Silvia and further in view of Jiang (Patent Publication No. CN 211511197 U).
Regarding claim 6, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Liu, as modified, does not disclose an inner enclosure belt arranged within the chamber, the inner enclosure belt including a first edge coupled to the top panel and a second edge coupled to the bottom panel so that the inner enclosure belt is concentric with and parallel to the enclosure belt and the top panel, the bottom panel, and the inner enclosure belt form an inner chamber therebetween.
Jiang teaches an inner enclosure belt 3 arranged within the chamber (Figure 3), the inner enclosure belt 3 including a first edge (defined by the top edge) coupled to the top panel 12 and a second edge (defined by the bottom edge) coupled to the bottom panel 13 so that the inner enclosure belt 3 is concentric with and parallel to the enclosure belt 11 (Figures 1-3) and the top panel 12, the bottom panel 13, and the inner enclosure belt 3 form an inner chamber therebetween (Figures 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Liu, as modified, with Jiang (both being directed to an inflatable mattress comprising inner tensioning structures) and arrived at an inner enclosure belt arranged concentrically and parallel to the enclosure belt within the chamber, including first and second edges coupled to the top and bottom panels, respectively and the top panel, the bottom panel, and the inner enclosure belt form an inner chamber therebetween. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the inner enclosure belt 3 provides support between the top and bottom panel (paragraph 0066) and the attached pull tab 4 prevents the enclosure belt from deforming excessively outward to improve support force of the tensioning structure (paragraph 0067).
Regarding claim 7, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 1 and 6. Liu, as modified, further discloses a spacer 4 with a first edge 3 coupled to the inner enclosure belt and a second edge coupled to the enclosure belt 11 (see Jiang, Figure 3).
Regarding claim 8, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 1. Liu, as modified, does not disclose a reinforced tensioning structure arranged within the chamber and further comprising a first edge coupled to the top panel and a second edge coupled to the bottom panel.
Jiang teaches a reinforced tensioning structure 3 and 4 arranged within the chamber and further comprising a first edge (defined by the top edge of inner belt 3) coupled to the top panel 12 and a second edge (defined by the bottom edge of inner belt 3) coupled to the bottom panel 13 (see Jiang, Figures 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Liu, as modified, with Jiang (both being directed to an inflatable mattress comprising inner tensioning structures) and arrived at a reinforced tensioning structure arranged within the chamber and further comprising a first edge coupled to the top panel and a second edge coupled to the bottom panel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the inner enclosure belt 3 provides support between the top and bottom panel (paragraph 0066) and the attached pull tab 4 prevents the enclosure belt from deforming excessively outward to improve support force of the tensioning structure (paragraph 0067).
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses an inflatable bed body structure 10, comprising: a top panel 11; an outer enclosure belt 13 with a first edge coupled to the top panel 11; a bottom panel 12 coupled to a second edge of the outer enclosure belt 13 so that the bottom panel 12 is arranged opposite of the top panel (Figure 5) so that the top panel 11, the outer enclosure belt 13, and the bottom panel 12 form a first chamber (Figure 5).
Liu does not disclose an inner enclosure belt having a first edge coupled to the top panel and a second edge coupled to the bottom panel, the inner enclosure positioned within the first chamber so that the inner enclosure belt, the top panel, and the bottom panel form a second chamber, the inner enclosure belt being formed of a low ductility material.
Jiang teaches an inner enclosure belt 3 arranged within the chamber and further comprising a first edge (defined by the top edge of inner belt 3) coupled to the top panel 12 and a second edge (defined by the bottom edge of inner belt 3) coupled to the bottom panel 13 (see Jiang, Figures 1-3) the inner enclosure positioned within the first chamber so that the inner enclosure belt 3, the top panel 12, and the bottom panel 13 form a second chamber (Figures 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Liu, as modified, with Jiang (both being directed to an inflatable mattress comprising inner tensioning structures) and arrived at an inner enclosure belt having a first edge coupled to the top panel and a second edge coupled to the bottom panel, the inner enclosure positioned within the first chamber so that the inner enclosure belt, the top panel, and the bottom panel form a second chamber. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the inner enclosure belt 3 provides support between the top and bottom panel (paragraph 0066) and the attached pull tab 4 prevents the enclosure belt from deforming excessively outward to improve support force of the tensioning structure (paragraph 0067).
Silvia teaches a low ductility material (paragraph 0036 and Table 1, where the elongation at break percentage is 21% for the fabric).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Liu (directed to an inflatable mattress) with Silvia (directed to a material used for an inflatable mattress) such that the inner enclosure belt is formed from a low ductility material having a ductility value of from and including about 1% to and including about 30%. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because a mattress constructed out of the multi-layered material of Silvia exhibits high screw puncture resistance and tensile strength compared to typical materials used in inflatable mattresses (paragraphs 0033 and 0064).
Regarding claim 20, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 19. Liu, as modified, further discloses a first oblique panel 151 arranged within the first chamber, the first oblique panel 151 having a first edge coupled to the top panel 11 and a second edge coupled to the outer enclosure belt 13 (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above); and a second oblique panel 161 arranged within the first chamber, the second oblique panel having a first edge coupled to the outer enclosure belt 13 and a second edge coupled to the bottom panel 12 (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above).
Regarding claim 21, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 19-20. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the first oblique panel and the second oblique panel are each formed of the low ductility material (see Silvia, paragraph 0036 and Table 1, where the elongation at break percentage is 21% for the fabric, see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above which discloses the first and second oblique panels 151 and 161).
Regarding claim 22, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 19. Liu, as modified, further discloses a spacer 4 arranged within the first chamber, the spacer 4 having a first edge coupled to the outer enclosure belt 11 and a second edge coupled to the inner enclosure belt 3 (see Jiang, Figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 23, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 19 and 22. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the spacer is formed of a low ductility material (see Silvia, paragraph 0036 and Table 1, where the elongation at break percentage is 21% for the fabric, see Jiang, Figures 1-3, above which teaches the spacer 4, as discussed above).
Regarding claim 24, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 19. Liu, as modified, further discloses a first oblique tensioning structure 151 arranged within the first chamber (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above), the first oblique tensioning structure 151 having a first edge coupled to the top panel 11 and a second edge coupled to the outer enclosure belt 13 (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above); and a second oblique tensioning structure 161 arranged within the first chamber (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above), the second oblique tensioning structure 161 having a first edge coupled to the outer enclosure belt 13 and a second edge coupled to the bottom panel 12 (see Liu, annotated Figure 7, above).
Regarding claim 26, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 19. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the ductility value of the low ductility material is from and including about 1% to and including about 30% (see Silvia, paragraph 0036 and Table 1, where the elongation at break percentage is 21% for the fabric).
Regarding claim 27, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 19. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the low ductility material comprises an attachment layer 26 and 27 and a strand layer 11 coupled to the attachment layer (see Silvia, Figure 5 and paragraphs 0052-0054).
Regarding claim 28, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 19 and 27. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the attachment layer 26 and 27 comprises a first attachment layer 26 and a second attachment layer 27 (see Silvia, Figure 5 and paragraphs 0052-0054).
Regarding claim 29, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 19 and 27-28. Liu, as modified, further discloses wherein the strand layer 11 is arranged between the first attachment layer 26 and the second attachment layer 27 (see Silvia, Figure 5 and paragraphs 0052-0054).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Silvia and further in view of Wilson (U.S. Publication No. 12,543,863).
Regarding claim 17, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claims 9 and 15-16. Liu, as modified, does not disclose a reinforced tensioning structure positioned between the at least one inner tensioning structure and the enclosure belt, the reinforced tensioning structure including a first edge coupled to the first oblique tensioning structure and a second edge coupled to the second oblique tensioning structure.
Wilson teaches a reinforced tensioning structure 630 positioned between the at least one inner tensioning structure 614 and the enclosure belt 606 (Figure 7), the reinforced tensioning structure 634 including a first edge 630 and 632 coupled to the first oblique tensioning structure 622 and a second edge 630 and 632 coupled to the second oblique tensioning structure 620 (Figure 7 and Col. 6, line 44-Col. 7, line 15, where the tensioning structure 634 extends between the top and bottom oblique tensioning structure 614).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Liu, as modified, with Wilson (both being directed to an inflatable mattress comprising inner tensioning structures) and arrived at a reinforced tensioning structure positioned between the at least one inner tensioning structure and the enclosure belt, the reinforced tensioning structure including a first edge coupled to the first oblique tensioning structure and a second edge coupled to the second oblique tensioning structure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the reinforced tensioning structure of Wilson provide additional support to the corners of the mattress (Col. 6, lines 44-60).
Regarding claim 18, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 9. Liu, as modified, does not disclose a reinforced tensioning structure positioned between the at least one inner tensioning structure and the enclosure belt, the reinforced tensioning structure including a first edge coupled to the top panel and a second edge coupled to the bottom panel.
Wilson teaches a reinforced tensioning structure 630 positioned between the at least one inner tensioning structure 614 and the enclosure belt 606 (Figure 7), the reinforced tensioning structure 634 including a first edge 630 and 632 coupled to the top panel 602 and a second edge 630 and 632 coupled to the bottom panel 604 (Figure 7 and Col. 6, line 44-Col. 7, line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Liu, as modified, with Wilson (both being directed to an inflatable mattress comprising inner tensioning structures) and arrived at a reinforced tensioning structure positioned between the at least one inner tensioning structure and the enclosure belt, the reinforced tensioning structure including a first edge coupled to the top panel and a second edge coupled to the bottom panel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the reinforced tensioning structure of Wilson provide additional support to the corners of the mattress (Col. 6, lines 44-60).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Silvia and Jiang and further in view of Wilson.
Regarding claim 25, Liu, as modified, discloses the subject matter as discussed above with regard to claim 19. Liu, as modified, does not disclose a reinforced tensioning structure arranged within the second chamber adjacent to the inner enclosure belt and having a first edge coupled to the top panel and a second edge coupled to the bottom panel.
Wilson teaches a reinforced tensioning structure 630 arranged within the second chamber adjacent to the inner enclosure belt 620 and having a first edge 630 and 632 coupled to the top panel 602 and a second edge 630 and 632 coupled to the bottom panel 604 (Figure 7 and Col. 6, line 44-Col. 7, line 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Liu, as modified, with Wilson (both being directed to an inflatable mattress comprising inner tensioning structures) and arrived at a reinforced tensioning structure arranged within the second chamber adjacent to the inner enclosure belt and having a first edge coupled to the top panel and a second edge coupled to the bottom panel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because the reinforced tensioning structure of Wilson provide additional support to the corners of the mattress (Col. 6, lines 44-60).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin (Patent Publication No. CN 203137719 U) which discloses an inflatable bed comprising an oblique tensioning structure.
Shi (Patent Publication No. CN 216494492 U) which discloses an inflatable bed comprising an inner enclosure belt and a spacer.
Xia (Patent Publication No. CN 215686219 U) which discloses an inflatable bed comprising an oblique tensioning structure and attached reinforced tensioning structure.
Wang (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0259434) which discloses an inflatable bed comprising oblique panels and an oblique tensioning structure.
/ALISON N LABARGE/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679