DETAILED ACTION
Claims 11 – 22 remain pending in the application and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 – 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Narashimhan et al. (US 2022/0289283).
Regarding Claim 11:
Narasimhan et al. teaches a method for controlling a vehicle steering device configured as a steer- by-wire system (110) and having a steering handle (141), a monitoring sensor (146, 147), and a drive (144) that is configured to apply a drive torque to the steering handle when the vehicle is in a parked state, the method comprising the steps of a) detecting a steering position of the steering handle when the vehicle is parked into a parked state, as a starting position (via 146, Block 415 to 416); b) monitoring, in the parked state of the vehicle, via the monitoring sensor, whether a steering torque is acting on the steering handle (Block 420 to 460); and c) producing a drive torque which is directed counter to the steering torque in the parked state of the vehicle via the drive (Block 426 to 467).
Regarding Claim 12:
Narasimhan et al. teaches wherein, in step c), the drive torque produced fully compensates for the steering torque (via 170, see also Fig 6A).
Regarding Claim 13:
Narashimhan et al. teaches further comprising the step of: d) reducing the drive torque to a value that is lower than the steering torque after the steering torque has been applied for a certain time period (Figs 6A – 6C, paragraph 0121).
Regarding Claim 14:
Narashimhan et al. teaches the reduction in the drive torque takes place continuously (Figs 6A to 6C).
Regarding Claim 15:
Narashimhan et al. teaches in step c), the drive torque produced fully compensates for the steering torque when the steering torque is less than or equal to a maximum value and/or partially compensates for the steering torque when the steering torque is greater than the maximum value (Figs 6A to 6C).
Regarding Claim 16:
Narasimhan et al. teaches further comprising the step of: restoring the steering handle to the starting position when no steering torque is effective any longer or when the steering torque is less than or equal to a maximum value (Figs 6A to 9).
Regarding Claim 17:
Narasimhan et al. teaches the restoring of the steering handle to the starting position when no steering torque is effective any longer or when the steering torque is less than or equal to a maximum value occurs after the steering handle has previously been deflected out of the starting position by a steering torque that exceeded the maximum value (Figs 6A to Fig 9).
Regarding Claim 18:
Narasimhan et al. teaches a vehicle steering device, comprising: a steer-by-wire steering system (110); a steering handle (141); a monitoring sensor (146, 147); a drive (144) that is configured to apply a drive torque to the steering handle, and a control unit (112) operatively configured to: a) detect a steering position of the steering handle when the vehicle is parked into a parked state, as a starting position (via 146, block 415 to 416); b) monitor, in the parked state of the vehicle, via the monitoring sensor, whether a steering torque is acting on the steering handle (Block 420 to 460); and c) produce a drive torque which is directed counter to the steering torque in the parked state of the vehicle via the drive (Block 426 to 467).
Regarding Claim 19:
Narasimhan et al. teaches the vehicle steering device has, in the parked state of the vehicle, a standby mode, in which the drive and the monitoring sensor are deactivated, and a monitoring mode, in which the drive is ready for operation and the monitoring sensor is active (Fig 4A, via Block 415, and via 105, paragraph 0103).
Regarding Claim 20:
Narasimhan et al. teaches wherein the vehicle steering device is put into monitoring mode when at least one of the following monitoring events occurs: a movement in a vehicle interior has been detected via a motion sensor, an unlocking of the vehicle, a driver's door of the vehicle has been opened, a seat sensor of a driver's seat of the vehicle has been triggered, or a proximity sensor or touch sensor of the steering handle has been triggered (via 105, paragraph 0103, Fig 4A, 6A to 9).
Regarding Claim 21:
Narasimhan et al. teaches wherein the vehicle steering device is put into standby mode after at least one of the following standby events has occurred: a locking of the vehicle, the driver's door of the vehicle has been closed, no movement has been detected in the vehicle interior via the motion sensor for a defined time period, no change in the state of the seat sensor of a driver's seat of the vehicle has been detected for a defined time period, or no change in the state of a proximity sensor or touch sensor of the steering handle has been detected for a defined time period (paragraphs 0103 – 0108).
Regarding Claim 22:
Narasimhan et al. teaches the vehicle steering device is put into standby mode after at least one of the following standby events has occurred: a locking of the vehicle, the driver's door of the vehicle has been closed, no movement has been detected in the vehicle interior via the motion sensor for a defined time period, no change in the state of the seat sensor of a driver's seat of the vehicle has been detected for a defined time period, no change in the state of a proximity sensor or touch sensor of the steering handle has been detected for a defined time period. (paragraphs 0103 – 0108), Figs 6A to 9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/LONG T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747