DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a control module (Claim 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 9746329 A1 in view of EP 0897760 A1 and in further view of WO 9723386 A1.
Claim 1
WO 9746329 A1 discloses a system (See Fig. 6) for the inspection of cylindrical containers (See Abstract; container Ref. 114), comprising: a conveyor device (Fig. 6, Ref. 198, 200; carry belts), comprising a first conveyor (Fig. 6, Ref. 198) and a second conveyor (Fig. 6, Ref. 200) which are disposed spaced apart, parallel (See Fig. 6), and which are configured to move one or more cylindrical containers (Fig. 3, Ref. 114) therebetween in a transport direction (See Fig. 6, Ref. 120, 198, 200 is the transport direction of moving the container); a control module (Fig. 1, Ref. 142; electronic control) configured to operate at least one of said first conveyor (Fig. 6, Ref. 198) and said second conveyor (Fig. 6, Ref. 200) at least one position mechanism (encoder; see translation page 7 with encoder mounted on the conveyor) attached to the first conveyor (Fig. 6, Ref. 198) and/or the second conveyor (Fig. 6, Ref. 200) to obtain location position thereof; a set of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168a-c), operatively connected with the control module (Fig. 1, Ref. 142), and comprising a first group of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168a, 168b) with a field of view oriented towards a lateral side of the cylindrical containers (Ref. 114) to acquire images of an outer side wall of the cylindrical containers (Ref. 114) according to a first inspection configuration (Page 6), and a second group of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168c) with a field of view oriented towards a base of the cylindrical containers (Ref. 114) to acquire images of the base of the cylindrical containers (Ref. 114) according to a second inspection configuration (Page 7; 168c constitutes a bottom inspection camera); a first type of light sources (Fig. 6, Ref. 170a, 170b), arranged facing the first group of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168a, 168b), on another side of the conveyor device (See Fig. 6; elements 168a-b and 170a-b are located on opposite sides of the conveyor Ref. 120), and configured to illuminate a lateral side view of the cylindrical containers (Ref. 114); and a second type of light sources (Fig. 6, Ref. 170c), arranged facing the second group of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168c), and configured to illuminate the base of the cylindrical containers (Ref. 114).
WO 9746329 A1 substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show an inclination of the conveyor with respect to each other to cause the first and second conveyor to move at different speeds, such that the one or more cylindrical containers can be rotated along their vertical axis in a stable and controlled manner while moving along the first and second conveyor. EP 0897760 A1 shows that it is known to provide an inclination of the conveyor (See Translation Page 5, the inclined guide connects the conveyor with adjustment arm for varying the inclination) with respect to each other to cause the first and second conveyor to move at different speeds, such that the one or more cylindrical containers can be rotated along their vertical axis in a stable and controlled manner while moving along the first and second conveyor (Page 4; belts are moving at different speeds or opposite directions) for a device conveying and inspecting a container. It would have been obvious to modify the device of WO 9746329 A1 with the inclination and different speeds of the conveyors of EP 0897760 A1 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing synchronization with camera capture windows, accommodate varying container characteristics, reduce motion blur, balance load, and maintain throughput, therefore this ensures both high-quality defect detection and efficient production flow.
WO 9746329 A1 when modified with EP 0897760 A1 substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show the conveyor is a chain conveyor. WO 9723386 A1 shows that it is known to provide parallel chain conveyors for guiding containers alone an assembly (See Abstract). It would have been obvious to modify the device of WO 9746329 A1 when modified with EP 0897760 A1 with the chain conveyor of WO 9723386 A1 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing consistent, repeatable movement, robust and clean operation, and easy integration with vision and automation systems. Therefore, the features ensure that each container is inspected under the same conditions, improving accuracy, efficiency, and product quality.
Claim 2
WO 9746329 A1 discloses each one of the first group of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168a-b) and the second group of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168c) comprises at least two cameras.
Claim 3
WO 9746329 A1 discloses the first inspection (Fig. 6, Ref. 168a-b, inspect the side of container) configuration is offset with respect to the second inspection configuration (Fig. 6, Ref. 168c inspects the bottom of the container).
Claim 4
WO 9746329 A1 discloses the first inspection configuration comprises acquiring a plurality of images of the cylindrical containers, each one of the images being acquired at a given rotation interval of the cylindrical containers using the first group of cameras (Cameras Ref. 168a-b provide images of the cylindrical bottle Ref. 114 during rotation through the conveyor system; See Page 6 of translation).
Claim 5
WO 9746329 A1 discloses the second inspection configuration (Fig. 6, Ref. 168c) comprises acquiring a plurality of images of the cylindrical containers (Ref. 114) that are acquired at different rotation intervals of the cylindrical containers (Ref. 114) using the second group of cameras (Cameras Ref. 168c provide images of the cylindrical bottle Ref. 114 during rotation through the conveyor system; See Page 7 of translation).
Claim 6
WO 9746329 A1 when modified with WO 9723386 A1 substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show either the first conveyor chain or the second conveyor chain is adjustable to different angles of inclination. EP 0897760 A1 shows that it is known to provide manually adjusting the inclination of the guide (See Page 5) for a device moving container along a conveyor. It would have been obvious to modify the device of WO 9746329 A1 in view with WO 9723386 A1 with the conveyor device of EP 0897760 A1 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing stability, alignment, and adaptability needed for accurate optical inspection of containers. It ensures consistent product orientation, and can be fine-tuned for different inspection setups, all while minimizing slippage and damage risks.
Claim 7
WO 9746329 A1, EP 0897760 A1, and EP 0897760 A1 when modified together discloses the claimed invention except for the second conveyor is disposed inclined with respect to the first conveyor, or vice versa, an angle of inclination being comprised between 0.5 and 5 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify WO 9746329 A1, WO 9723386 A1, and EP 0897760 A1 with the 0.5-5 degrees since it was well known in the art that such an incline provides efficient material transport, gentle handling of items, and energy efficiency therefore, achieves high operational flexibility and consistent throughput. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 8
WO 9746329 A1, EP 0897760 A1, and EP 0897760 A1 when modified together discloses the claimed invention except for an arrangement of magnets arranged under the conveyor chain that is disposed inclined with respect to the other, the arrangement of magnets comprising a plurality of magnets extending in the transport direction of the inclined conveyor chain. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify WO 9746329 A1, WO 9723386 A1, and EP 0897760 A1 with the placement of magnets since it was well known in the art that magnets are used to securely hold containers while enabling precise optical inspection above. Therefore, provide reliable, non-contact holding, prevent product movement during inspection, and protect the conveyor and inspection equipment. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 9
WO 9746329 A1, EP 0897760 A1, and EP 0897760 A1 when modified together discloses the claimed invention except for a motor drive and pulse encoder. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to combine WO 9746329 A1, WO 9723386 A1, and EP 0897760 A1 with the motor drive and pulse encoder since it was well known in the art that the motor drives moves the conveyors, and pulse encoders ensure that movement is exact and repeatable, which is essential for reliable optical inspection of containers. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 10
WO 9746329 A1 discloses a method for the inspection of cylindrical containers (See Fig. 6; Fig. 1, Ref. 114), comprising: moving one or more cylindrical containers (Fig. 1, Ref. 114) between a first conveyor (Fig. 6, Ref. 198) and a second conveyor (Fig. 6, Ref. 200) of a conveyor device in a transport direction (See Fig. 6, Ref. 120), the first conveyor (Fig. 6, Ref. 198) and the second conveyor (Fig. 6, Ref. 200) being disposed spaced from, parallel (See Fig. 6), a control module (Fig. 1, Ref. 142; electronic control), such that the one or more cylindrical containers (Fig. 1, Ref. 114) can be rotated along their vertical axis in a stable and controlled manner while moving (See Fig. 1 and 6, Ref. 114 are moved in a controlled and stable manner); providing, by a position mechanism (encoder; see translation page 7 with encoder mounted on the conveyor) attached to the first conveyor (Fig. 6, Ref. 198) and/or the second conveyor (Fig. 6, Ref. 200), location position thereof; and submitting the one or more cylindrical containers (Ref. 114) to two inspection configurations using a set of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168a-c), comprising a first group of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168a-b) and a second group of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168c), in cooperation with corresponding light sources (Fig. 6, Ref. 170a-c), a first inspection configuration (Fig. 6, Ref. 170a-b) comprising acquiring images of an outer side wall of the cylindrical containers (Ref. 114) using the first group of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168a-b), the latter having its field of view oriented towards a lateral side of the cylindrical containers (See Page 6 of translation), and a second inspection configuration (Fig. 6, Ref. 168c) comprising acquiring images of a base of the cylindrical containers (Ref. 114) using the second group of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168c), the latter having its field of view oriented towards the base of the cylindrical containers (Page 7; 168c constitutes a bottom inspection camera).
WO 9746329 A1 substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show an inclination of the conveyor with respect to each other to cause the first and second conveyor to move at different speeds, such that the one or more cylindrical containers can be rotated along their vertical axis in a stable and controlled manner while moving along the first and second conveyor. EP 0897760 A1 shows that it is known to provide an inclination of the conveyor (See Translation Page 5, the inclined guide connects the conveyor with adjustment arm for varying the inclination) with respect to each other to cause the first and second conveyor to move at different speeds, such that the one or more cylindrical containers can be rotated along their vertical axis in a stable and controlled manner while moving along the first and second conveyor (Page 4; belts are moving at different speeds or opposite directions) for a device conveying and inspecting a container. It would have been obvious to modify the device of WO 9746329 A1 with the inclination and different speeds of the conveyors of EP 0897760 A1 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing synchronization with camera capture windows, accommodate varying container characteristics, reduce motion blur, balance load, and maintain throughput, therefore this ensures both high-quality defect detection and efficient production flow.
WO 9746329 A1 when modified with EP 0897760 A1 substantially teaches the claimed invention except that it does not show the conveyor is a chain conveyor. WO 9723386 A1 shows that it is known to provide parallel chain conveyors for guiding containers alone an assembly (See Abstract). It would have been obvious to modify the device of WO 9746329 A1 when modified with EP 0897760 A1 with the chain conveyor of WO 9723386 A1 before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the purpose of providing consistent, repeatable movement, robust and clean operation, and easy integration with vision and automation systems. Therefore, the features ensure that each container is inspected under the same conditions, improving accuracy, efficiency, and product quality.
Claim 11
WO 9746329 A1 discloses each one of the first group of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168a-b) and the second group of cameras (Fig. 6, Ref. 168c) comprises at least two cameras.
Claim 12
WO 9746329 A1 discloses the first inspection (Fig. 6, Ref. 168a-b, inspect the side of container) configuration is offset with respect to the second inspection configuration (Fig. 6, Ref. 168c inspects the bottom of the container).
Claim 13
WO 9746329 A1 discloses the first inspection configuration comprises acquiring a plurality of images of the cylindrical containers, each one of the images being acquired at a given rotation interval of the cylindrical containers using the first group of cameras (Cameras Ref. 168a-b provide images of the cylindrical bottle Ref. 114 during rotation through the conveyor system; See Page 6 of translation).
Claim 14
WO 9746329 A1 discloses the second inspection configuration (Fig. 6, Ref. 168c) comprises acquiring a plurality of images of the cylindrical containers (Ref. 114) that are acquired at different rotation intervals of the cylindrical containers (Ref. 114) using the second group of cameras (Cameras Ref. 168c provide images of the cylindrical bottle Ref. 114 during rotation through the conveyor system; See Page 7 of translation).
Claim 15
WO 9746329 A1, EP 0897760 A1, and EP 0897760 A1 when modified together discloses the claimed invention except for the second conveyor is disposed inclined with respect to the first conveyor, or vice versa, an angle of inclination being comprised between 0.5 and 5 degrees. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify WO 9746329 A1, WO 9723386 A1, and EP 0897760 A1 with the 0.5-5 degrees since it was well known in the art that such an incline provides efficient material transport, gentle handling of items, and energy efficiency therefore, achieves high operational flexibility and consistent throughput. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
Claim 16
WO 9746329 A1, EP 0897760 A1, and EP 0897760 A1 when modified together discloses the claimed invention except for an arrangement of magnets arranged under the conveyor chain that is disposed inclined with respect to the other, the arrangement of magnets comprising a plurality of magnets extending in the transport direction of the inclined conveyor chain. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify WO 9746329 A1, WO 9723386 A1, and EP 0897760 A1 with the placement of magnets since it was well known in the art that magnets are used to securely hold containers while enabling precise optical inspection above. Therefore, provide reliable, non-contact holding, prevent product movement during inspection, and protect the conveyor and inspection equipment. The examiner takes Official Notice that the elements listed above are well-known, or to be common knowledge in the art are capable of instant and unquestionable demonstration as being well-known.
/MICHAEL P STAFIRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877 July 10, 2026