DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-21 are pending and presented for examination.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-3, 13, 17 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 14 of copending Application No. 19/132429 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3 and 14 of Application No. 19/132429 anticipate claims 1-3, 13, 17 and 19.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
2. Claims 1, 13 and 19-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 19-21 of copending Application No. 19/132441 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 19-21 of Application No. 19/132441 anticipate claims 1, 13 and 19-21.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
3. Claims 1, 13 and 19-21 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12-14 of copending Application No. 19/132446 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 12-14 of Application No. 19/132446 anticipate claims 1, 13 and 19-21.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 10 recite the percentage of the light that is emitted in a certain wavelength range is given relative to the light that is emitted at 200 to 390 nm (claim 9) or 231 to 390 (claim 10). This language is indefinite. There is no antecedent basis for “the percentage of the light that is emitted” and it is unclear as to what light is being referred to. Additionally, these recitations don’t appear to provide an additional limitation to the claim, but appear to only provide a definition for a value that has no antecedent basis in the parent claim. Note that parent claim 1 refers to a percentage of the actinic radiation power and not a percentage of the light. Therefore, claims 9 and 10 are indefinite. For examination purposes, if the light used in step 2 meets the limitations with respect to the light having wavelengths essentially in the range from 231-280 as defined in claim 1, then that light will be interpreted as meeting the limitations of claims 9 and 10 as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 1-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehnert et al. (DE102017008353, reference is made to the English translation provided by Applicant) in view of Becker et al. (WO 2019/034675).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6-10, 12 and 19-21, Mehnert teaches a method for forming a cured coating (abstract) comprising: applying a radiation curable coating on a substrate (0094) and irradiating the radiation curable coating with UV light having a wavelength 185 nm and 254 nm (claim 1) wherein 80% of the radiation power is provided by the light at 254 nm (0043) which partially cures the surface (0028); and finish curing with actinic radiation to thereby fix the partially cured layer with reduced gloss and form a cured coating having a low gloss surface (claim 1). Mehnert teaches that the irradiation with 185 nm and 254 nm light is done in air (0096), the dose used in the step is 100 mJ/cm2 (0075) and conducted with ten low pressure mercury vapor lamps (0059) or with a single Ga-doped mercury medium pressure lamp (0072). Mehnert teaches the finish curing may be electron beam curing (claim 1). Mehnert further teaches the coating composition comprises Irgacure 184 (0093 and note that Irgacure 184 has absorption peaks at 246 nm and 330 nm). Mehnert also teaches the gloss of surface is less than 52 gloss units at 60º and less than 60 gloss units at 85º (see Tables) and that the full curing can be done with a medium pressure mercury vapor lamp (0089 and note that this is a type of broad band UV lamp). Mehnert fails to explicitly teach the final curing done in air.
However, Becker teaches a similar process for curing to form a matte coating (abstract) where a first irradiation is conducted to cause partial curing (abstract) and then a final curing is done potentially with electron beam irradiation (abstract) to result in full end curing (abstract). Becker further teaches that the full end curing step can be done in air (see Production of coatings section). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mehnert’s process by conducting the finish curing in air as disclosed by Becker. One would have been motivated to make this modification as it would simplify the process and alleviate the need for a special chamber and special atmospheric conditions.
II. Regarding claim 5, Mehnert in view of Becker make obvious claim 1 (see above), but fail to explicitly teach the irradiance from each lamp used in the irradiation with 185 nm and 254 nm light. However, adjusting the irradiance will adjust the dose delivered and will adjust the curing depth (see Mehnert at 0036) and ultimately the microfolding. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the instantly claimed range for irradiance from each lamp through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
III. Regarding claim 11, Mehnert in view of Becker make obvious claim 1 (see above), but fail to explicitly teach the radiation dose used for full curing. However, the dose is a result-effective variable as it will be necessary to optimize the dose for fully curing based on the specific composition that is being cured and the thickness of the coating. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the instantly claimed range for dose through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
IV. Regarding claims 13-17, Mehnert in view of Becker make obvious the process of claim 13 wherein there is no optional pre-curing step (see above). The limitations with respect to the optional step (1b) only provide further limitations when the prior art teaches the optional step. In this case, as the step is optional and Mehnert in view of Becker do not teach the optional step, Mehnert in view of Becker also make obvious claims 13-17.
III. Regarding claim 18, Mehnert in view of Becker make obvious claim 1 (see above), and Mehnert further teaches that the irradiation with 185 nm and 254 nm light creates a microfold pattern (0049). Further, as Mehnert in view of Becker are teaching an identical process using identical ranges of wavelength, then inherently the microfolded patterns with have an average spacing between adjacent peaks and/or valleys shorter than 100 microns. Therefore, Mehnert in view of Becker make obvious claim 18.
Conclusion
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claims 1-21 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
July 22, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717