DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Enokihara et al. (US PGPub 20010052833)
As per claim 1:
Enokihara et al. discloses in Figs. 5-6:
A TM mode resonator structure ([0089]) comprising at least two kinds of dielectric materials (high dielectric constant portion 21a and low dielectric constant portion 21b) having different dielectric constants, a first part of a first dielectric material constituting a first resonator, which is surrounded by a second part of at least a second dielectric material (as seen in Fig. 6), wherein the dielectric constant of the first dielectric material being greater than the dielectric constant of the second dielectric material, the first and second parts being bonded with each other into a single piece (dielectric 21), the outer surface of which is coated with a metal material (conductor film 22, [0090]).
As per claim 3:
Enokihara et al. discloses in Fig. 6:
one or both of an upper end face and a lower end face of the first part is/are formed as part of the outer surface of the single piece and coated with the metal material (as seen in Fig. 6), to provide a single-end grounding or a two-end grounding (being a conductor).
As per claim 8:
Enokihara et al. discloses in Fig. 6:
a cross-section of the first part as the first resonator has a shape selected from a circle, a polygon, or a cross (being cylindrical, [0089]).
As per claim 13:
Enokihara et al. discloses in Fig. 6:
the metal material is silver or copper ([0090]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 & 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enokihara et al. (US PGPub 20010052833) in view of Meng (US PGPub 20240030582).
As per claim 2:
Enokihara et al. discloses in Figs. 5-6:
The at least first dielectric material is a ceramic material ([0089]).
Enokihara et al. does not disclose:
the at least two kinds of dielectric materials are ceramic materials.
Meng discloses in Figs. 5-7:
The use of a ceramic dielectric material ([0025]) for a lower dielectric constant material (2, [0088]) surrounding a dielectric resonator (3).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the at least two kinds of dielectric materials to be ceramic materials as known dielectric materials used as a resonator and dielectric support material for a TM resonator as taught by Meng ([0075, 0078, 0088]).
As per claim 9:
Enokihara et al. discloses in Figs. 5-6:
The resonator is a cylindrical resonator ([0089]).
Enokihara et al. does not disclose:
a second resonator, wherein the second resonator and the first resonator are substantially orthogonal to each other.
Meng discloses in Fig. 3:
A resonator structure comprising 3 orthogonal resonators providing the benefit of changing the number of the fundamental mode and the Q value ([0101]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the resonator of Enokihara et al. with a second resonator, wherein the second resonator and the first resonator are substantially orthogonal to each other, as a known in the art configuration of cylindrical resonators as taught by Meng that provides the benefit of further changing the number of the fundamental mode and the Q value ([0101]).
As per claim 10:
Enokihara et al. discloses in Figs. 5-6:
The resonator is a cylindrical dielectric resonator ([0089]).
Enokihara et al. does not disclose:
the second resonator is made of a material which is the same as or different from the first dielectric material.
Meng discloses in Fig. 3:
A resonator structure comprising 3 orthogonal resonators providing the benefit of changing the number of the fundamental mode and the Q value ([0101]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 9, the second resonator is made of a material which is the same as or different from the first dielectric material.
As per claim 11:
Enokihara et al. discloses in Figs. 5-6:
The resonator is a cylindrical resonator ([0089]).
Enokihara et al. does not disclose:
a third resonator, the first, second and third resonators being substantially orthogonal to one another.
Meng discloses in Fig. 3:
A resonator structure comprising 3 orthogonal resonators providing the benefit of changing the number of the fundamental mode and the Q value ([0101]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the resonator of Enokihara et al. with a third resonator, the first, second and third resonators being substantially orthogonal to one another, as a known in the art configuration of cylindrical resonators as taught by Meng that provides the benefit of further changing the number of the fundamental mode and the Q value ([0101]).
As per claim 12:
Enokihara et al. discloses in Figs. 5-6:
The resonator is a cylindrical dielectric resonator ([0089]).
Enokihara et al. does not disclose:
the third resonator is made of a material which is the same as or different from the first dielectric material.
Meng discloses in Fig. 3:
A resonator structure comprising 3 orthogonal resonators providing the benefit of changing the number of the fundamental mode and the Q value ([0101]).
As a consequence of the combination of claim 9, the third resonator is made of a material which is the same as or different from the first dielectric material.
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Enokihara et al. (US PGPub 20010052833) in view of Kufa et al. (US PGPub 20210066774)
As per claim 4:
Enokihara et al. does not disclose:
a recess coated with the metal material is provided on an upper end face and a lower end face of the single piece.
Kufa et al. discloses in Figs. 3-5:
A TM mode ([0033, 0035, & 0036]) dielectric resonator (301, 401, 501) wherein a central axial cavity (319, 419, 519) is provided through the entirety of the resonator (as seen in Figs. 3-5) so as to provide a recess provided on an upper end face and a lower end face of the dielectric resonator (as seen in Figs. 3-5).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form a central axial cavity throughout the entirety of the resonator to provide the benefit of separating frequency modes as taught by Kufa et al. ([0030]).
As a consequence of the combination, a recess coated with the metal material is provided on an upper end face and a lower end face of the single piece.
As per claim 5:
Enokihara et al. does not disclose:
the recess is formed in the first part and the second part.
Kufa et al. discloses in Figs. 3-5:
A TM mode ([0033, 0035, & 0036]) dielectric resonator (301, 401, 501) wherein a central axial cavity (319, 419, 519) is provided through the entirety of the resonator (as seen in Figs. 3-5) so as to provide a recess provided on an upper end face and a lower end face of the dielectric resonator (as seen in Figs. 3-5).
As a consequence of the combination, the recess is formed in the first part and the second part.
As per claim 6:
Enokihara et al. does not disclose:
the first part is recessed at one or both of the upper and lower end relative to the second part to form the recess, the recess being delimited by the first and second parts.
Kufa et al. discloses in Figs. 3-5:
A TM mode ([0033, 0035, & 0036]) dielectric resonator (301, 401, 501) wherein a central axial cavity (319, 419, 519) is provided through the entirety of the resonator (as seen in Figs. 3-5) so as to provide a recess provided on an upper end face and a lower end face of the dielectric resonator (as seen in Figs. 3-5).
As a consequence of the combination, the first part is recessed at one or both of the upper and lower end relative to the second part to form the recess, the recess being delimited by the first and second parts.
As per claim 7:
Enokihara et al. does not disclose:
the metal material on one or both of an upper end face and a lower end face of the single piece is partially removed to form a metal-free region.
Kufa et al. discloses in Figs. 3-5:
A TM mode ([0033, 0035, & 0036]) dielectric resonator (301, 401, 501) wherein a central axial cavity (319, 419, 519) without an internal metal layer is provided through the entirety of the resonator (as seen in Figs. 3-5) so as to provide a recess provided on an upper end face and a lower end face of the dielectric resonator (as seen in Figs. 3-5).
As a consequence of the combination, the metal material on one or both of an upper end face and a lower end face of the single piece is partially removed to form a metal-free region (within the axial cavity).
Claim(s) 14-18 & 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rogozine et al. (US PGPub 20150295294) in view of Enokihara et al. (US PGPub 20010052833)
As per claim 14:
Rogozine discloses in Fig. 8:
A filter comprising a plurality of resonator structures (resonant sections, [0051, 0058] comprising blocks 156) each of the plurality of resonator structures comprising a ceramic dielectric ([0056]), the outer surface of which is coated with a metal material ([0059]); and two ceramic waveguide structures (blocks 152, 154, 900 [0042, 0090]), adjacent two of the resonator structures (multiple resonator structures formed of blocks 156) and ceramic waveguide structures being coupled with each other via a coupling window (185, [0052]), the first ceramic waveguide structure serving as a signal feed-in and the second ceramic waveguide structure serving as a signal feed-out (654 and 656 correspond to respective TX and RX signal input/outputs 50 & 52, with 642 corresponding to antenna signal input/output pad 42).
Rogozine does not disclose:
A filter comprising a plurality of TM mode resonator structures each of the plurality of TM mode resonator structures comprising at least two kinds of dielectric materials having different dielectric constants, a first part of a first dielectric material constituting a first resonator, which is surrounded by a second part of at least a second dielectric material, the dielectric constant of the first dielectric material being greater than the dielectric constant of the second dielectric material, the first and second parts being bonded with each other into a single piece, the outer surface of which is coated with a metal material; and two ceramic waveguide structures, adjacent two of the TM mode resonator structures and ceramic waveguide structures being coupled with each other via a coupling window, the first ceramic waveguide structure serving as a signal feed-in and the second ceramic waveguide structure serving as a signal feed-out.
Enokihara et al. discloses in Figs. 5-6:
A TM mode resonator structure ([0089]) comprising at least two kinds of dielectric materials (high dielectric constant portion 21a and low dielectric constant portion 21b) having different dielectric constants, a first part of a first dielectric material constituting a first resonator, which is surrounded by a second part of at least a second dielectric material (as seen in Fig. 6), wherein the dielectric constant of the first dielectric material being greater than the dielectric constant of the second dielectric material, the first and second parts being bonded with each other into a single piece (dielectric 21), the outer surface of which is coated with a metal material (conductor film 22, [0090]), and resonator connectivity through inter-stage coupling being provided by a window formed in the conductor film ([0083]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the resonators of Rogozine et al. as the TM resonators of Enokihara et al. as an art-recognized alternative/equivalent dielectric resonator able to provide the function of signal filtering using the same connectivity as Rogozine (a metallization window) and able to provide the benefit of using a TM mode as taught by Enokihara et al. ([0082])
As a consequence of the combination, the combination discloses A filter comprising a plurality of TM mode resonator structures each of the plurality of TM mode resonator structures comprising at least two kinds of dielectric materials having different dielectric constants, a first part of a first dielectric material constituting a first resonator, which is surrounded by a second part of at least a second dielectric material, the dielectric constant of the first dielectric material being greater than the dielectric constant of the second dielectric material, the first and second parts being bonded with each other into a single piece, the outer surface of which is coated with a metal material; and two ceramic waveguide structures, adjacent two of the TM mode resonator structures and ceramic waveguide structures being coupled with each other via a coupling window, the first ceramic waveguide structure serving as a signal feed-in and the second ceramic waveguide structure serving as a signal feed-out.
As per claims 15 & 21:
Rogozine discloses in Fig. 8:
a metallic shield is disposed over an upper end face of the filter ([0052]).
As per claims 16 & 22:
Rogozine discloses in Fig. 8:
the ceramic waveguide structures and the resonator structures are in a linear arrangement (as seen in Fig. 8, wherein a linear path is provided from each of 654 and 656 to 642), the plurality of resonator structures being located between the first and second ceramic waveguide structures.
Rogozine does not disclose:
the ceramic waveguide structures and the TM mode resonator structures are in a linear arrangement, the plurality of TM mode resonator structures being located between the first and second ceramic waveguide structures.
Enokihara et al. discloses in Figs. 5-6:
A TM mode resonator structure ([0089]) comprising at least two kinds of dielectric materials (high dielectric constant portion 21a and low dielectric constant portion 21b) having different dielectric constants, a first part of a first dielectric material constituting a first resonator, which is surrounded by a second part of at least a second dielectric material (as seen in Fig. 6), wherein the dielectric constant of the first dielectric material being greater than the dielectric constant of the second dielectric material, the first and second parts being bonded with each other into a single piece (dielectric 21), the outer surface of which is coated with a metal material (conductor film 22, [0090]), and resonator connectivity through inter-stage coupling being provided by a window formed in the conductor film ([0083]).
As a result of the combination of claim 14, the ceramic waveguide structures and the TM mode resonator structures are in a linear arrangement, the plurality of TM mode resonator structures being located between the first and second ceramic waveguide structures.
As per claim 17:
Rogozine discloses in Fig. 8:
the filter comprises at least two rows of resonator structures coupled via a connecting portion (block 900), wherein the first ceramic waveguide structure is coupled with one of a first row of resonator structures and the second ceramic waveguide structure is coupled with one of a second row of resonator structures (as seen in Fig. 8).
Rogozine does not disclose:
the filter comprises at least two rows of TM mode resonator structures coupled via a connecting portion, wherein the first ceramic waveguide structure is coupled with one of a first row of TM mode resonator structures and the second ceramic waveguide structure is coupled with one of a second row of TM mode resonator structures.
Enokihara et al. discloses in Figs. 5-6:
A TM mode resonator structure ([0089]) comprising at least two kinds of dielectric materials (high dielectric constant portion 21a and low dielectric constant portion 21b) having different dielectric constants, a first part of a first dielectric material constituting a first resonator, which is surrounded by a second part of at least a second dielectric material (as seen in Fig. 6), wherein the dielectric constant of the first dielectric material being greater than the dielectric constant of the second dielectric material, the first and second parts being bonded with each other into a single piece (dielectric 21), the outer surface of which is coated with a metal material (conductor film 22, [0090]), and resonator connectivity through inter-stage coupling being provided by a window formed in the conductor film ([0083]).
As a result of the combination of claim 14, the filter comprises at least two rows of TM mode resonator structures coupled via a connecting portion, wherein the first ceramic waveguide structure is coupled with one of a first row of TM mode resonator structures and the second ceramic waveguide structure is coupled with one of a second row of TM mode resonator structures.
As per claim 18:
Rogozine discloses in Fig. 8:
A duplexer comprising at least one filter, each of the at least one filter comprising:
a plurality of resonator structures (resonant sections, [0051, 0058] comprising blocks 156) each of the plurality of resonator structures comprising a ceramic dielectric ([0056]), the outer surface of which is coated with a metal material ([0059]);
and two ceramic waveguide structures (blocks 152, 154, 900 [0042, 0090]), adjacent two of the resonator structures (multiple resonator structures formed of blocks 156) and ceramic waveguide structures being coupled with each other via a coupling window (185, [0052]), the first ceramic waveguide structure serving as a signal feed-in and the second ceramic waveguide structure serving as a signal feed-out (654 and 656 correspond to respective TX and RX signal input/outputs 50 & 52, with 642 corresponding to antenna signal input/output pad 42).
Rogozine does not disclose:
Each of the at least one filter comprising a plurality of TM mode resonator structures each of the plurality of TM mode resonator structures comprising at least two kinds of dielectric materials having different dielectric constants, a first part of a first dielectric material constituting a first resonator, which is surrounded by a second part of at least a second dielectric material, the dielectric constant of the first dielectric material being greater than the dielectric constant of the second dielectric material, the first and second parts being bonded with each other into a single piece, the outer surface of which is coated with a metal material; and two ceramic waveguide structures, adjacent two of the TM mode resonator structures and ceramic waveguide structures being coupled with each other via a coupling window, the first ceramic waveguide structure serving as a signal feed-in and the second ceramic waveguide structure serving as a signal feed-out.
Enokihara et al. discloses in Figs. 5-6:
A TM mode resonator structure ([0089]) comprising at least two kinds of dielectric materials (high dielectric constant portion 21a and low dielectric constant portion 21b) having different dielectric constants, a first part of a first dielectric material constituting a first resonator, which is surrounded by a second part of at least a second dielectric material (as seen in Fig. 6), wherein the dielectric constant of the first dielectric material being greater than the dielectric constant of the second dielectric material, the first and second parts being bonded with each other into a single piece (dielectric 21), the outer surface of which is coated with a metal material (conductor film 22, [0090]), and resonator connectivity through inter-stage coupling being provided by a window formed in the conductor film ([0083]).
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the resonators of Rogozine et al. as the TM resonators of Enokihara et al. as an art-recognized alternative/equivalent dielectric resonator able to provide the function of signal filtering using the same connectivity as Rogozine (a metallization window) and able to provide the benefit of using a TM mode as taught by Enokihara et al. ([0082])
As a consequence of the combination, the combination discloses Each of the at least one filter comprising a plurality of TM mode resonator structures each of the plurality of TM mode resonator structures comprising at least two kinds of dielectric materials having different dielectric constants, a first part of a first dielectric material constituting a first resonator, which is surrounded by a second part of at least a second dielectric material, the dielectric constant of the first dielectric material being greater than the dielectric constant of the second dielectric material, the first and second parts being bonded with each other into a single piece, the outer surface of which is coated with a metal material; and two ceramic waveguide structures, adjacent two of the TM mode resonator structures and ceramic waveguide structures being coupled with each other via a coupling window, the first ceramic waveguide structure serving as a signal feed-in and the second ceramic waveguide structure serving as a signal feed-out.
Conclusion
/Samuel S Outten/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843