DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a flow path" in line 6. It is unclear whether this flow path is the same as the flow path recited in line 4. It is suggested to be “the flow path.”
Subsequent dependent claims 2-6 are rejected for their dependencies on rejected base claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aritome (US 2021/0341419).
Regarding claim 1, Aritome teaches a capillary electrophoresis device (Fig. 1; ¶19) comprising:
a capillary cartridge (Fig. 2; ¶32: the capillary array unit) in which a capillary (Fig. 1: capillary array 110; Fig. 2: capillary 201) is positioned;
a first structural body (Fig. 2; ¶23: load header 202) in which a flow path to which one end of the capillary is connected is formed (Fig. 2: indicating the capillary 201 having one end 206 passing through the load header 202); and
a second structural body (Fig. 2; ¶32: second frame 301) in which a flow path to which the other end of the capillary is connected is formed (Fig. 2: indicating the other end of the capillary 201 passing through the second frame 301 and toward the other capillary head 203), wherein
at least any one of the first structural body or the second structural body is movable within a predetermined range (Fig. 5, 6B; ¶45: the second frame 301 is linearly moved along the guides 311 and 312).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aritome in view of Ozawa (US 2009/0020429), and further in view of Roach (US 2018/0321189).
Regarding claim 4, Aritome discloses all limitations of claim 1, and further discloses the second frame 301 is linearly moved in the direction of A and B, i.e., the direction of the capillaries passing the detection section 205 (e.g., Fig. 6B; ¶39).
Aritome fails to teach wherein at least any one of the first structural body or the second structural body is movable in a horizontal direction within a predetermined range.
However, Ozawa teaches a capillary electrophoresis apparatus (Fig. 1; ¶31), including an oven unit 20, an irradiation and detection unit 50, and an auto sampler unit 60 (Fig. 1; ¶42). As shown in Fig. 1, the capillaries passing through the detection 50 is in the horizontal direction (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aritome by adjusting the moving direction of the first structural body in the horizontal direction as suggested by Ozawa because this direction is adjustable according to the positional relationship of the detection unit and oven unit. Here, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Aritome fails to teach at least any one of the first structural body or the second structural body has a latch-lock for fixing the capillary cartridge.
However, Roach teaches a system of capillary electrophoresis including a housing a cartridge retainer receiving a capillary cartridge having a capillary (¶7). In some embodiments, the cartridge retainer 1400 can include a latch mechanism suitable to form a friction fit, a snap fit, a threaded coupling, and/or the like with at least a portion of the cartridge 1500 to couple the cartridge 1500 to the cartridge retainer 1400 (Fig. 1; ¶84).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Aritome by incorporating a latch mechanism as taught by Roach because the latch-lock mechanism is a known device for fixing the cartridge into the cartridge retainer. Here, the claimed limitations are obvious because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results. MPEP 2143(I)(A). Further, use of known technique to improve similar devices in the same way is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2141(III)(C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 2-3 and 5-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim(s) 7-9 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose nor render obvious all of the cumulative limitations of claims 2-3 and 5-9 with particular attention to the limitations:
at least any one of the first structural body or the second structural body is rotatable about an axis portion (claim 2);
the heater insulation material shell has a guide structure for positioning the capillary, and a heater unit of the heater shell has a groove with which the guide structure engages (claim 5) or the heater insulation material shell has a guide structure for positioning the capillary, and the heater unit has a groove with which the guide structure engages (claim 7).
Here, Aritome teaches a capillary electrophoresis device (Fig. 1) comprising: a capillary cartridge (e.g., Fig. 2: the capillary array unit) in which a capillary (Fig. 1-2: capillary array 110; capillary 201) is positioned; a first structural body (Fig. 2: load header 202) in which a flow path to which one end of the capillary is connected is formed; and a second structural body (Fig. 2: second frame 301) in which a flow path to which the other end of the capillary is connected is formed, wherein at least any one of the first structural body or the second structural body is movable within a predetermined range (Fig. 5, 6B; ¶45: the second frame 301 is linearly moved along the guides 311 and 312), but does not teach neither the structural body is rotatable about an axis.
The pertinent art, Matsumura (US 2021/0356426), teaches a structure of the temperature control unit 62 (Fig. 11; ¶31), including a heat insulating sheet 80, a heater 81, a heat transfer plate 82, and a heat conduction sheet 83, all of which are fixed with one another through bonding, welding, screwing, and the like (Fig. 11; ¶61). Matsumura further discloses the order of arrangement of the heat transfer plate 82 and the heater 81 may be reversed so that members of the first temperature control unit 62 are arranged in the order of the heat insulating material 80, the heat transfer plate 82, the heater 81, and the heat conduction sheet 83 (¶63), and the capillary fixed on a plate before the heat conduction sheet (Fig. 11: the first front plate), but fails to teach the heater insulation sheet has a guide structure for positioning the capillary, and a heater unit of the heater shell has a groove with which the guide structure engages.
Conclusion
/C. SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795